DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 01/14/2025. These drawings are acceptable.
Preliminary Amendments
Prior to the examining, The applicant has amended the application. Claims 18-35 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 18, 19, 20, 23, 24, 25, 26, 29, 30, 31, 32 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Li (Hereinafter “Li”, US 20220057888).
Regard to Claim 18, 24 and 30: Li discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium having processor-executable instructions stored thereon, wherein the processor-executable instructions, when executed by at least one processor in an electronic device.
An electronic device, comprising at least one processor, an optical proximity sensor, and a touch panel, wherein: (i.e., According to a fourth aspect, an embodiment of the present application provides a terminal, including a processor, a memory, a touchscreen, a proximity sensor, a motion sensor, and the like.. As described in paragraph [0018]).
A method, applied to an electronic device, the method comprising:
when the electronic device is in a screen-off state, an optical proximity sensor in the electronic device detects that the electronic device is currently in an uncovered state, and a quantity of times that a touch panel of the electronic device receives a touch event within a specified duration reaches a specified quantity of times: (i.e., [0007] The method includes: The proximity sensor and the motion sensor separately monitor data. The terminal may first obtain data detected by the motion sensor, and obtain motion data of the terminal based on the data detected by the motion sensor. The terminal determines whether the motion data is less than a first threshold. If the motion data is less than the first threshold, the terminal determines that no external object is currently approaching. As described in paragraph [0007]). Wherein the indicative of uncovered state is when the motion data is less than the first threshold, the terminal determines that no external object is currently approaching.
obtaining a current pose and a current motion status of the electronic device; (i.e., The motion sensor may detect a posture, an angle, or a motion status of the terminal.: As described in paragraph [0063]).
And when the current motion status of the electronic device is a non-stationary state and the current pose of the electronic device is a target pose: determining not to turn on the touch panel of the electronic device. (i.e., If either the data detected by the proximity sensor or the data detected by the touchscreen indicates that an external object is approaching or in contact, the terminal keeps the screen off….If the terminal determines again within the delay time that an object is approaching, the terminal remains at a screen-off state. As described in paragraph [0009]). This is an indicative of the user is walking. Wherein (i.e., [0129] Step 403: The terminal determines, based on the data detected by the motion sensor, whether a current tilt angle of the terminal is less than a first threshold, and performs step 404 if the tilt angle is less than the first threshold, or performs step 405 if the tilt angle is greater than or equal to the first threshold. As described in paragraph [0129]). (indicative of target pose). And (i.e., Step 403′: The terminal determines, based on the data detected by the motion sensor, whether a current motion range of the terminal is less than a second threshold, and performs step 404 if the motion range is less than the second threshold, or performs step 405 if the motion range is greater than or equal to the second threshold. (indicative of stationary or not). As described in paragraph [0146])
wherein the target pose represents that an included angle between a plane on which the electronic device is located and a straight line perpendicular to a horizontal plane is less than or equal to a specified angle threshold. (i.e., [0012] The motion data may include a tilt angle of the terminal, and the tilt angle of the terminal is an included angle between the terminal and a horizontal plane. [0191]. Provided that the terminal detects that the tilt angle is less than the first threshold, the terminal determines that a current status is that an object is far away (that is, no object is approaching), as described in paragraph [0012] and [0191]).
Regard to claim 19, 25, and 31: Li disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, and Li further discloses:
the method further comprising:
when the current motion status of the electronic device is a stationary state: determining to turn on the touch panel of the electronic device. (i.e., [0162] Step 708: Determine whether determining results in step 706 and step 707 are both that no object is approaching or no object is in contact, that is, whether the determining results are both “no”; and if yes, that is, it is reported that no object is approaching in step 706, and it is reported that no object is in contact in step 707, turn on the screen. As described in paragraph [0162]). Wherein “yes” is an indicative of stationary state.
Regard to claim 20, 26, and 32: Li disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, and Li further discloses:
the method further comprising:
when the current pose of the electronic device is not the target pose: determining to turn on the touch panel of the electronic device. (i.e., [0129] Step 403: The terminal determines, based on the data detected by the motion sensor, whether a current tilt angle of the terminal is less than a first threshold, and performs step 404 if the tilt angle is less than the first threshold, or performs step 405 if the tilt angle is greater than or equal to the first threshold.. [0143] After step 406, step 403 is repeated. In the call screen-off scenario, when step 403 is repeated, if it is determined that step 404 needs to be performed, the terminal turns on the screen when determining that no object is currently approaching, so that the user can see and operate the screen. As described in paragraph [0129] and [0143]). Wherein target pose is when the angle is greater than or equal to the threshold.
Regard to claim 23, 29, and 35: Li disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, and Li further discloses:
the method further comprising:
when the optical proximity sensor in the electronic device detects that the electronic device is currently in a covered state: controlling the electronic device to enter a mistouch prevention mode, (i.e., [0144] In the pocket mistouch prevention solution, if the motion sensor detects that the tilt angle is less than the first threshold, an upper-layer application invokes data reported by the virtual sensor C, to learn of a status that an object is far away; or if the motion sensor detects that the tilt angle is greater than or equal to the first threshold, an upper-layer application invokes data reported by the virtual sensor B, and determines, based on the medium-sensitivity data detected by the virtual sensor B, whether an object is approaching. As described in paragraph [0144]).
wherein the covered state represents that an object exists within a specified range of the electronic device. (i.e., if the motion sensor detects that the tilt angle is greater than or equal to the first threshold, an upper-layer application invokes data reported by the virtual sensor B, and determines, based on the medium-sensitivity data detected by the virtual sensor B, whether an object is approaching. As described in paragraph [0144]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 27, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious by Li (Hereinafter “Li”, US 20220057888), and further in view of Xu (hereinafter “Xu”, US 20200374386).
Regard to claim 21, 27, and 33: Li disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, But it does not expressly disclose the features of these claims:
the method further comprising: when the current motion status of the electronic device is a stationary state: stopping obtaining the current pose and the current motion status of the electronic device.
In similar endeavor, Xu discloses:
the method further comprising: when the current motion status of the electronic device is a stationary state: stopping obtaining the current pose and the current motion status of the electronic device. (i.e., [0141]The proximity sensor may turn off the display when the mobile phone 100 moves to an ear. As a type of motion sensor, an accelerometer sensor may detect acceleration magnitudes in all directions (generally tri-axis), and when the accelerometer sensor is stationary, may detect a magnitude and a direction of gravity, and may be used in a posture recognition application of the mobile phone (for example, switching between landscape orientation and portrait orientation, a related game, or magnetometer posture calibration), a function related to vibration recognition (for example, a pedometer or a stroke), or the like. As described in paragraph [0141]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Xu into the invention of Li in order to provide more mistouch detection and reduce power consumption on the device.
Claims 22, 28, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious by Li (Hereinafter “Li”, US 20220057888), and further in view of Joo et al. (Hereinafter “Joo”, US 20150003691).
Regard to claim 22, 28, and 34: Li disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, But it does not expressly disclose the features of these claims:
wherein the touch event is an event of continuously double-tapping of the touch panel of the electronic device.
In similar endeavor, Joo discloses:
wherein the touch event is an event of continuously double-tapping of the touch panel of the electronic device. (i.e., [0052] In one embodiment, after the display unit 170 displays the lock screen, the iris recognition portable device 100 may clear the lock screen in response to a predetermined input from the first user 210 (Step S720). For example, the predetermined input may include a touch of the display unit 170, a continuous double touch of the display unit 170, or the like. As described in paragraph [0052]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Joo into the invention of Li in order to provide more mistouch detection and reduce power consumption on the device.
Conclusion
/Eric M. Vo/Examiner, Art Unit 2644
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644