DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 4,038,184 to Svanteson, hereinafter “Svanteson”.
Regarding claim 1, Svanteson discloses a bag breaking device for tearing a waste accommodating bag body, using a drum-type washing machine (drum-type washing machine shown in Figs. 1 and 2; col. 2, line 10-19) which comprises
a water tank for storing washing water (water tank drum 10 in Figs. 1 and 2; col. 2, line ), a rotary tub of a bottomed cylindrical shape which is rotatably supported inside the water tank such that a rotation axis thereof is substantially horizontal and which accommodates laundry (rotary tub agitator comprising elongated elements 11 connected to plates 12 and 42 in Figs. 1 and 2; col. 2, line 25-38), and a motor for rotating the rotary tub (motor 13 in Fig. 1; col. 2, line 39-41), wherein
a blade for bag breaking is provided on an inner circumferential surface of the rotary tub (elongated elements 11 in Figs. 1 and 2 have knife-shaped blades projecting into the inner circumference of the rotary tub which are capable of breaking and tearing bags containing waste; col. 1, line 30-62).
Regarding claim 2, Svanteson anticipates the bag breaking device according to claim 1 as explained above. Svanteson further discloses a protrusion extending in a direction parallel to an axis line of the rotary tub is provided on the inner circumferential surface of the rotary tub (elongated elements 11 are protrusions extending in a direction parallel to the rotational axis of the rotary tub provided on its inner circumferential surface), and the blade is attached to the protrusion (elongated elements 11 terminate in a blade knife-shape).
Regarding claim 3, Svanteson discloses a method for processing a waste accommodating bag body, comprising: tearing a waste accommodating bag body using the bag breaking device according to claim 1 (col. 3, line 5-14 disclose solid waste, i.e. bags containing waste, is cut up (torn) in drum 10); and subsequently performing washing of waste and a bag residue inside the rotary tub (liquid is mixed with the solid waste to perform a “washing” action inside the rotary tub).
Regarding claim 4, Svanteson anticipates the method for processing a waste accommodating bag body according to claim 3 as explained above. Svanteson further discloses performing a heat treatment. See col. 3, line 25-34.
Regarding claim 5, Svanteson anticipates the method for processing a waste accommodating bag body according to claim 4 as explained above. Svanteson further discloses a chemical treatment wherein the chemical comprises a cleaning agent. See col. 2, line 66 through col. 3, line 2 and line 35-43.
Regarding claim 6, Svanteson anticipates the method for processing a waste accommodating bag body according to claim 3 as explained above. Svanteson further discloses the waste comprises a used diaper. Column 1, line 30-62 discloses the system is used to process all solid waste generated on ships which would include used paper diapers.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Japanese Patent Document No. JP 2003-19169 A by Kikushima et al.; and
U.S. Patent No. 2,595831 to De Nie et al.
/P DEREK PRESSLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3725