DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: On page 9, line 21, it appears that “layer 8” should be “layer 9”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 is written as a dependent claim, but it does not specify a claim from which it depends.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected based on their dependencies, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5-10, 13, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Trassl et al. (2025/0144954).
Trassl discloses a security element, comprising: at least one region (2, Fig. 1) with structures (4, Fig. 1), wherein at least one color-tilting optical effect layer (7, Fig. 1, paragraph 0064) is provided which produces a color-tilting effect when viewed from a first face of the security element in the at least one first region, and the structures are covered over the entire surface or partially by the at least one color-tilting optical effect layer (7, Fig. 1), wherein the structures are coated with at least one layer (11, Fig. 1) made of at least one metal (paragraph 0059), wherein the at least one layer made of the at least one metal is arranged between the structures and the optical effect layer as an adhesion promoter layer.
Regarding claim 2, see paragraph 0027.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, see Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 7, see paragraph 0023.
Regarding claim 8, see paragraph 0010.
Regarding claim 9, see paragraph 0023.
Regarding claims 10 and 15-17, see paragraph 0025.
Regarding claim 13, see Fig. 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trassl et al. (2025/0144954).
Trassl discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above. However, Trassl does not disclose the aspect ratio of the structures. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the aspect ratio of the structures 0.05 to 3 because it has been held that optimization within prior art conditions or through routine experimentation involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trassl et al. (2025/0144954) in view of Fuhse et al. (2012/0319395).
Trassl discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above. However, Trassl does not disclose that the structures are an embossed lacquer layer. Fuhse teaches making the structures of a security element an embossed lacquer layer (paragraph 0134). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the structures disclosed by Trassl an embossed lacquer layer, as taught by Fuhse, as a matter of design choice.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 12, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 11, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest an optical effect layer configured as a thin- film element that comprises at least one reflective layer and/or a second absorber layer, and wherein the spacer layer is arranged between the absorber layer and the reflective layer and/or the second absorber layer.
Claims 12 and 18 would be allowable based on their dependencies, respectively.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The relevance of each reference is explained below, unless the relevance is deemed to be readily apparent.
/GARY C HOGE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631