DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I in the reply filed on 14 September 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 4, 7, 9, 11 and 14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In the last two lines of the claim the recitation “part of the body portion that is adjacent to the second linking portion and the second linking portion” is misleading as to the comparison of the same portions. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Selden, U.S. 2,562,336.
Regarding claim 1 Selden discloses in the first embodiment figures 1-4 a fastening member (rivet 10; col. 2, lines 11-15) having a screw hole (any of the bore diameters of bore 19; col. 2, lines 37-46) extending in an axial direction, a fastening member body portion (body 16) extending in the axial direction,
a first end portion (portion 22; col. 2, line 50 – col. 3, line 20) located at one side of the body portion (body 16) in the axial direction,
a second end portion (portion 21; col. 2, lines 50 – col. 3, line 20) located at another side of the body portion (body 16) in the axial direction,
a first linking portion (area at portion 22 and backing shoulder 26) that links the body portion (body 16) and the first end portion (portion 22),
a second linking portion (area at portion 21 and side 23) that links the body portion (body 16) and the second end portion (portion 21),
wherein the screw hole (any of the bore diameters of bore 19; col. 2, lines 37-46) is provided axially throughout the body portion, second end portion, first linking portion,
the first linking portion (smaller area at portion 22) have different outer diameters from outer diameters of the first end portion (diametrical differences in portions of 22 and 26),
the first linking portion (portion at 22 near 26) is smaller than the outer diameter of the part of the body portion (body 16) that is adjacent to the first linking portion,
a part of the body portion that is adjacent to the second linking portion (area at portion 21 and side 23) and the second end portion have outer diameters with different values (at flange 17 of bore 19) and thicknesses (radial and/or axial thickness at least) of the first end portion (portion 22) in the axial direction is smaller than a thickness of the body portion (body 16 fig. 4).
As to claim 2, the reference discloses the thicknesses of the second end portion (portion 21) and the second linking portion (area at portion 21 at side 23) are larger (radially larger) than the thicknesses (radial thickness) of the first end portion (portion 22) and the first linking portion (portion of 22 at shoulder 26; col. 3, lines 47-62).
As to claim 3, the reference discloses in the axial direction, an outer diameter of a part of the second end portion (stepped inner diameter of bore 19) that is adjacent to the second linking portion (portion of 21 at side 23) is larger (larger at flange 17) than outer diameters of the part of the body portion (body 16) that is adjacent to the second linking portion.
As to claim 5, the reference discloses shapes of circumferential surfaces of the body portion (body 16) and the second linking portion (area at portion 21 at side 23) are uniform in the axial direction (col. 3, lines 47-53).
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hallett et al., U.S. 8,662,549.
Regarding claim 1 Hallett et al. discloses a fastening member (fig. 6b, shown below; col. 4, lines 58-66) having a screw hole (body through-hole “A” shown below is inherently capable of receiving at least a self-threading fastener) extending in an axial direction,
the fastening member having a body portion (60) extending in the axial direction,
a first end portion (1st end portion indicated below) located at one side of the body portion in the axial direction,
a second end portion (2nd end portion indicated below) located at another side of the body portion (60) in the axial direction,
a first linking portion (area at bush 61b) that links the body portion (60) and the first end portion as noted above,
a second linking portion (area at bush 61a) that links the body portion and the second end portion as noted above,
wherein the screw hole (“A” below) is provided in the body portion adjacent the first portion end and second end portion in the axial direction,
an adjacent part of the body portion (body 60) to the first linking portion (area at bush 61b) have different outer diameters,
outer diameters of the first end portion and the first linking portion are smaller than the outer diameter of the part of the body portion (the first end portion is smaller at the bushing 61b) that is adjacent to the first linking portion,
a part of the body portion (60) that is adjacent to the second linking portion and the second end portion have outer diameters with different values (the second end portion is larger at the bushing 61a),
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]and thicknesses of the first end portion (1st end portion shown below) and the first linking portion (area of bushing 61b) are axially smaller than the (outer circumferential) thickness of the body portion. [AltContent: textbox (2nd end portion)][AltContent: textbox (1st end portion)][AltContent: textbox (Body through-hole - A)]
As to claim 6, the reference discloses the body portion (60) has a body through-hole (same hole A),
the first end portion (1st end portion) and the first linking portion (area at 61b) communicate with the body through-hole (A),
a minimum value of a diameter of the first through-hole (A) is larger than a maximum value of a diameter of the body through-hole (the body through hole is tapered to the areas of the 1st and 2nd ends) in the axial direction,
alternatively in a case in which the body portion (60) has the screw hole (A) is provided.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 10, 12 and 13 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record having a filing date before the effective filing date of this application does not disclose nor suggest all the claimed subject matter including the respective diameters of the end portions and holes and the 2nd step of the method.
Conclusion
15 October 2026
/KENNETH L THOMPSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676