DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/15/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: [ in claims 1-13: a virtual viewpoint image generation unit, a failure region acquisition unit, a re-synthesis unit, a correction information determination unit, a color synthesis weight visualization unit, a correction information propagation unit, a correction case learning unit, a learning correction unit, a quality improvement unit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a program per se.
Thus, in giving the term its plain meaning (see MPEP 2111.03), the claimed program is considered to include data signals per se. Data signals per se are not statutory as they fail to fall into one of the four statutory categories of invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US. Patent App. Pub. No. 2021/0368153, “Wang”, hereinafter) in view of Martin Brualla et al. (US. Patent App. Pub. No. 2022/0398705, “Brualla”, hereinafter).
As per claim 1, Wang teaches an information processing system comprising:
a virtual viewpoint image generation unit that generates a virtual viewpoint image by synthesizing multi-viewpoint images on a basis of a color synthesis weight set for each of the multi-viewpoint images according to a virtual viewpoint position (Fig. 3B, ¶ [9], synthesizing by weighting calculation on the color map of each viewpoint);
a failure region acquisition unit that receives an input of a failure region designated by a user as a region in which a failure occurs in the virtual viewpoint image (¶ [27], receiving an erroneous edge region);
a re-synthesis unit that receives a correction input of the color synthesis weight of the failure region in each of the multi-viewpoint images used for synthesis of the virtual viewpoint image, corrects the color synthesis weight to a plurality of the color synthesis weights based on the correction input, and re-synthesizes a plurality of the virtual viewpoint images as a correction candidate image on a basis of the plurality of color synthesis weights (Fig. 1, step 109, ¶ [41-42], performing weighting calculation and blendering on the third color map to obtain a composite image based on the error input in step 107, ¶ [38]).
Wang does not expressly teach a correction information determination unit that receives selection information of the correction candidate image selected from a plurality of the correction candidate images as the failure is regarded as being corrected, and on a basis of the selection information, determines the color synthesis weights applied to the selected correction candidate image as correction information for correcting the failure.
Brualla teaches a similar method of synthesizing images (see Abstract), in which the method further includes the above features, i.e., a correction information determination unit that receives selection information of the correction candidate image selected from a plurality of the correction candidate images as the failure is regarded as being corrected, and on a basis of the selection information, determines the color synthesis weights applied to the selected correction candidate image as correction information for correcting the failure (¶ [93-94], and ¶ [125-126] referring to Fig. 4 and 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the method as taught by Brualla to the method as taught by Wang as addressed above, the advantage of which is to provide the advantage of generating synthesized images that exhibit reduced view and/or image-dependent effects and a reduced number of image artifacts (¶ [3]).
As per claim 2, the combined teachings of Wang and Brualla substantially teaches a color synthesis weight visualization unit that generates weight visualization information visualizing a magnitude of the color synthesis weight of the failure region in each of the multi-viewpoint images used for synthesis of the virtual viewpoint image, wherein the re-synthesis unit receives a correction input, using the weight visualization information, of the color synthesis weight of the failure region in each of the multi-viewpoint images used for synthesis of the virtual viewpoint image (see Brualla, ¶ [125], and also ¶ [30], referring to Fig. 1, virtual view 104’ based on the correction input addressed above or such as one described at ¶ [72]). Thus, claim 2 would have been obvious over the combined references for the reason above.
As per claim 3, as addressed in claim 2, the combined Wang-Brualla does also impliedly teach wherein the color synthesis weight visualization unit generates a weight map visualizing a magnitude of the color synthesis weight of the failure region in each of the multi-viewpoint images used for synthesis of the virtual viewpoint image, and the re-synthesis unit receives a correction input, using the weight map, of the color synthesis weight of the failure region in each of the multi-viewpoint images used for synthesis of the virtual viewpoint image (Wang, ¶ [51], Brualla, ¶ [30], ¶ [72], ¶ [125]). Thus, claim 3 would have been obvious over the combined references for the reason above.
As per claim 4, as also addressed above, the combined Wang-Brualla does also impliedly teach wherein the color synthesis weight visualization unit generates the weight map visualized with at least one of a color and a pattern according to a magnitude of the color synthesis weight of the failure region, and the re-synthesis unit receives a correction input associated with correction of at least one of the color and the pattern of the weight map (Wang, ¶ [51], Brualla, ¶ [30], ¶ [72], ¶ [125]). Thus, claim 4 would have been obvious over the combined references for the reason above.
As per claim 5, as addressed, the combined Wang-Brualla does impliedly teach wherein the color synthesis weight visualization unit visualizes, with a slidack, a magnitude of the color synthesis weight of the failure region in each of the multi-viewpoint images used for synthesis of the virtual viewpoint image, and the re-synthesis unit receives a correction input, using the slidack, of the color synthesis weight of the failure region in each of the multi-viewpoint images used for synthesis of the virtual viewpoint image (Noted that the term “slidack” is not properly defined, and also not a well-known term in the art to refer to. Therefore, it is given the broadest reasonable interpretation as the correction values addressed in claims 2-4 above). Thus, claim 5 would have been obvious over the combined references for the reason above.
As per claim 6, the combined Wang-Brualla also impliedly teach a correction information propagation unit that stores the correction information determined by the correction information determination unit, wherein when the correction information is stored in the correction information propagation unit (at least temporarily for the correction process), the virtual viewpoint image generation unit generates a virtual viewpoint image by synthesizing the multi-viewpoint images using the color synthesis weights as the correction information (as addressed above). Thus, claim 6 would have been obvious over the combined references for the reason above.
As per claim 7, the combined Wang-Brualla also teaches wherein the multi-viewpoint images are generated on a basis of a shape (Brualla, ¶ [74]) and texture data of a three-dimensional model (Brualla, ¶ [77]), and the virtual viewpoint image generation unit performs, to generate a virtual viewpoint image in time series, tracking of a position of a subject in the failure region in which the correction input is made (Brualla, ¶ [85], “At least a portion of the synthesized view 250 may be determined based on output from a neural network (e.g., NN 224) using system 214 each time the user moves a head position while viewing the display and/or each time a particular image changes on the display”) on a basis of the shape and the texture data of the three- dimensional model supplied in time series to generate the multi-viewpoint images (Brualla, ¶ [110]), and generates a virtual viewpoint image by synthesizing the multi-viewpoint images using the color synthesis weights as the correction information according to a tracked position of the subject (Brualla, ¶ [85] addressed above). Thus, claim 7 would have been obvious over the combined references for the reason above.
As per claim 8, the combined Wang-Brualla impliedly teaches wherein the virtual viewpoint image generation unit specifies a type of the failure according to the tracked position of the subject (Brualla, ¶ [48], such as 2D or distortion), and generates a virtual viewpoint image by synthesizing the multi-viewpoint images using the color synthesis weights as the correction information according to the type of the failure (addressed above). Thus, claim 8 would have been obvious over the combined references for the reason above.
As per claim 10, the combined Wang-Brualla also impliedly teaches wherein the tracking includes Mesh-tracking (at best understood by the examiner as the mesh proxy geometry described at ¶ [74] of Brualla). Thus, claim 10 would have been obvious over the combined references for the reason above.
As per claim 11, as addressed in claim 7, the combined Wang-Brualla does also teach a correction case learning unit that acquires the shape and the texture data of the three-dimensional model and the correction information as correction cases, and learns learning information for realizing detecting a failure region of a virtual viewpoint image generated by synthesizing multi-viewpoint images generated from the shape and texture data of the three-dimensional model and correction of the detected failure region by learning using the correction cases (as addressed in claim 7. The correction case learning unit is interpreted as the neural network described at ¶ [91], referring to Fig. 4 of Brualla. Thus, claim 11 would have been obvious over the combined references for the reason above.
As per claim 12, as addressed in claim 11, the combined Wang-Brualla does also impliedly teach a learning correction unit that detects the failure region on a basis of the learning information for a virtual viewpoint image generated by synthesizing the multi-viewpoint images and generated by the virtual viewpoint image generation unit, and corrects the detected failure region. Thus, claim 12 would have been obvious over the combined references for the reason above.
As per claim 13, the combined Wang-Brualla does also teach a quality improvement unit that improves quality of the multi-viewpoint images when the multi-viewpoint images used to generate the virtual viewpoint image have quality lower than a predetermined level of quality (Brualla, ¶ [31]). Thus, claim 13 would have been obvious over the combined references for the reason above.
Claim 14, which is similar in scope to claim 1 as addressed above, is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 15, which is similar in scope to claim 1 as addressed above, is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art taken singly or in combination does not teach or suggest, an information processing system, among other things, comprising:
…wherein the type of the failure includes a failure caused by low quality of the multi-viewpoint images having the large color synthesis weights, a failure in which a background is reflected in a portion of a foreground, and a failure in which a foreground is reflected in a portion of a background.
Conclusion
The fax number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/HAU H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611