DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements filed on 01/15/2025, 01/14/2026 and 04/25/2026 have been considered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
For claim 9,
a. a signal interaction module configured to transmit… on lines 8-11.
For claim 10,
a. the photoelectric conversion module is configured to convert…on lines 5-7.
For claim 11,
a. the differential conversion module is configured to… on lines 9-13.
a. the photoelectric conversion module includes a photoelectric converter, see paragraph 15.
b. Differential conversion module, see figure 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 9, applicant claims, “signal interaction module”. Applicant discloses signal interaction module but fails to disclose the structure of the claimed apparatus and thus making the claim vague and indefinite.
Examiner’s Note: Claims 10-12 are also rejected 35 USC 112b for being dependent upon the rejected independent claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4,6,8,9 and 12 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al, (CN112994830A) in view of Andrea et al; (RINGO: A DEMONSTRATOR OF
WDM OPTICAL PACKET NETWORK ON A RING TOPOLOGY – 2003 attached).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a communication method, applied to a processor in a carriage of a train, wherein the processor is connected to an optical fiber ring network, ;(rail vehicle network system based on optical fiber wavelength division multiplexing, see page 3, lines 20-23 and figure 2) and the communication method comprises: after obtaining a first light beam in the optical fiber ring network, obtaining all carrier optical signals containing communication data in the first light beam; (wavelength division multiplexer is set in each carriage; the wavelength division multiplexer is communicated with the optical fibre communication channel, see page 4, lines 33,34 and figure 2) determining a carrier optical signal required by a train communication device in the carriage where the processor is located;( the wavelength division multiplexer is communicated with the ethernet switch in the carriage through the photoelectric conversion module; see page 4, lines 34,35 and figure 2) transmitting the carrier optical signal required by the train communication device to the train communication device, (the Ethernet switch communicates with different vehicle network devices in the carriage through communication cable, see page 4, lines 35,36 and figure 2) wherein the train communication device generates a feedback optical signal based on the carrier optical signal; and synthesizing the feedback optical signal and all carrier optical signals not required by the train communication device to a second light beam, and transmitting the second light beam to the optical fiber ring network ;(synthesizing the optical signal of different vehicle network into one path by wavelength division multiplexing technology, transmitting between different carriages through the optical fiber communication
channel; at the same time, receiving the optical signal from the optical fibre communication channel, decomposing according to different set wavelength; see page 5, lines 42-44 and page 6, line and figure 2).
However, Liu does not explicitly disclose optical fiber ring network.
In a related field of endeavor, Andrea discloses an optical fiber ring network ;( a unidirectional fiber ring with N nodes implementing the interface between electronic and optical domains and the number N of nodes in the network is equal to the number N of used wavelengths, see page 3, section 2 and paragraph 2).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the optical ring network of Andrea with Liu closed loop to connect multiple network nodes and the motivation is to provide high speed and long-distance capabilities of fiber optics with a topology that provides built-in redundancy and fault tolerance
Regarding claim 2, Liu discloses the communication method according to claim 1, wherein the determining a carrier optical signal required by a train communication device in the carriage where the processor is located and transmitting the carrier optical signal required by the train communication device to the train communication device ;(rail vehicle network system based on optical fiber wavelength division multiplexing, see page 3, lines 20-23 and figure 2) comprises: determining a first wavelength of each of the carrier optical signals; determining a second wavelength of the carrier optical signal required by the train communication device ;( the wavelength division multiplexer is communicated with the ethernet switch in the carriage through the photoelectric conversion module; see page 4, lines 34,35 and figure 2) and transmitting a carrier optical signal, having a first wavelength same as the second wavelength, among the carrier optical signals to the train communication device; (synthesizing the optical signal of different vehicle network into one path by wavelength division multiplexing technology, transmitting between different carriages through the optical fiber communication channel; at the same time, receiving the optical signal from the optical fibre communication channel, decomposing according to different set wavelength; see page 5, lines 42-44 and page 6, line and figure 2).
Regarding claim 3, Liu discloses the communication method according to claim 2, wherein the obtaining all carrier optical signals containing communication data in the first light beam comprises: decomposing the first light beam into the carrier optical signals based on a corresponding relationship between predetermined wavelengths and communication data ;(receiving the optical signal from the optical fibre communication channel, decomposing according to different set wavelength; see page 5, lines 42-44 and page 6, line and figure 2).
Regarding claim 4, Liu discloses the communication method according to claim 3, wherein the decomposing the first light beam into the carrier optical signals comprises: decomposing the first light beam into the carrier optical signals by performing wavelength division de-multiplexing ;(receiving the optical signal from the optical fibre communication channel, decomposing (de-multiplexing) according to different set wavelength; see page 5, lines 42-44 and page 6, line and figure 2) and the synthesizing the feedback optical signal and all carrier optical signals not required by the train communication device to a second light beam comprises: synthesizing the feedback optical signal and all the carrier optical signals not required by the train communication device to the second light beam by performing wavelength division multiplexing (synthesizing the optical signal of different vehicle network into one path by wavelength division multiplexing technology, transmitting between different carriages through the optical fiber communication channel; at the same time, receiving the optical signal from the optical fibre communication channel, decomposing according to different set wavelength; see page 5, lines 42-44 and page 6, line and figure 2).
Regarding claim 6, Liu discloses the communication method according to claim 1, wherein the carriage further comprises a first optical fiber interface and a second optical fiber interface,( the rail vehicle network is a multi-communication node series bus network; see page 3, line 3 and figure 2) the first optical fiber interface is connected to a second optical fiber interface of a carriage adjacent to the carriage, and the second optical fiber interface is connected to a first optical fiber interface of another carriage adjacent to the carriage; ,( the rail vehicle network is a multi-communication node series bus network with plurality of nodes coupled with the optical bus interface, see page 3, line 3 and figure 2) and before obtaining all the carrier optical signals containing the communication data in the first light beam, the communication method further comprises: configuring the second optical fiber interface of the carriage to operate in a virtual disconnection mode, wherein then the obtaining all the carrier optical signals containing the communication data in the first light beam is performed ;(the Ethernet switch communicates with different vehicle network devices in the carriage through communication cable and the Ethernet switch reserved re-coupled ETB bus, so as to realize inter-group reconnection data interaction; see page 4, lines 35-38 and figure 2)
However, Liu does not explicitly disclose through the optical fiber ring network.
In a related field of endeavor, Andrea discloses an optical fiber ring network ;( a unidirectional fiber ring with N nodes implementing the interface between electronic and optical domains and the number N of nodes in the network is equal to the number N of used wavelengths, see page 3, section 2 and paragraph 2).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the optical ring network of Andrea with Liu closed loop to connect multiple network nodes and the motivation is to provide high speed and long-distance capabilities of fiber optics with a topology that provides built-in redundancy and fault tolerance
Regarding claim 8, Liu does not explicitly disclose a communication device, comprising: a memory, storing a computer program; and a processor, configured to, when executing the computer program, perform the communication method according to claim 1.
In a related field of endeavor, Andrea discloses communication device, comprising: a memory, storing a computer program; and a processor, configured to, when executing the computer program, perform the communication method according to claim 1 ;(node controller for controlling the node in an optical fiber ring, see figure 2).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the node controller of Andrea with Liu to control the connection of multiple network nodes in an optical network and the motivation is to process the data transmission and/or reception.
Regarding claim 9, Liu discloses a communication system, comprising the communication device according to claim 8, and further comprising: and a signal interaction module, configured to transmit a carrier optical signal transmitted by the communication device to a train communication device of a train,(rail vehicle network system based on optical fiber wavelength division multiplexing, see page 3, lines 20-23 and figure 2 and wavelength division multiplexer is set in each carriage; the wavelength division multiplexer is communicated with the optical fibre communication channel, see page 4, lines 33,34 and figure 2) and transmit communication data generated by the train communication device based on the carrier optical signal to the communication device (the Ethernet switch communicates with different vehicle network devices in the carriage through communication cable, see page 4, lines 35,36 and figure 2)
However, Liu does not explicitly disclose optical fibers, configured to form an optical fiber ring network; an optical transceiver, configured to obtain a first light beam in the optical fiber ring network through the optical fibers and transmit the first light beam to the communication device, and transmit a second light beam emitted by the communication device to the optical fiber ring network through the optical fibers.
In a related field of endeavor, Andrea discloses optical fibers, configured to form an optical fiber ring network;(RINGO is based on a unidirectional fiber ring with N nodes implementing the interface between electronic and optical domains, see figure 1) an optical transceiver, configured to obtain a first light beam in the optical fiber ring network through the optical fibers and transmit the first light beam to the communication device and transmit a second light beam emitted by the communication device to the optical fiber ring network through the optical fibers, (each node optical interface is equipped with a tunable transmitter, and with a fixed receiver operating on a given wavelength λi that identifies the node itself; in order to communicate to node k each node must remove the information carried by its wavelength Ai from the ring, see page 3, section 2 and figures 1 and 2). Motivation same as claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, Liu discloses a train, comprising: a plurality of carriages; and the communication system according to claim 9, wherein the communication system is arranged in each of the carriages ;(rail vehicle network system based on optical fiber wavelength division multiplexing, see page 3, lines 20-23 and figure 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as reproduced below.
a. Chan et al; (US 10447423) discloses a bidirectional, multi-wavelength fiber optical network that enables communication between electrical components at high data transmission rates, see figure 2.
b. Ding et al; (CN 211720556U) discloses high speed railway free space optical multi-beam diversity emitting device, comprising a signal box and a light emitting device; the outer side of the top of each train carriage is provided with one or more light receiving device; the cross arm of each contact net on the upper part of the rail is provided with two or more light emitting devices; see figure 1.
c. Kun (CN108933618A) discloses broadband communication technology of high-speed railway with a plurality of track base relay device. distributed along the high-speed railway track, and are set in the track building boundary, used for realizing signal relay between the external communication network, see figure 1.
/AMRITBIR K SANDHU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634