Priority
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application JP2022-11-277 to overcome any rejection herein because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1 and a2) as being anticipated
by Kikkawa (WO2022050104, rejection based on corresponding English document USPub20230312402).
Regarding claims 1-5: Kikkawa teaches an inorganic composition article obtained by strengthening a crystallized glass, wherein the crystallized glass comprises α-cristobalite as a main crystal phase (abstract).
The glass comprises in mass % an oxide composition meeting that claimed (see 0012-0015, 0018, 0022-0023, 0026-0032, 0035-0037, 0064 and Examples).
While Kikkawa does teach that their article includes a compressive stress layer on the surface following strengthening (see 0039), Kikkawa just does not explicitly discuss making the CT fall within the range of claim 1. However, the following is noted.
Initially, as discussed above, Kikkawa’s glass meets that claim having the same composition as Applicants.
Additionally, Applicants disclose their glass having a thickness of 0.1-2mm (see published specification par 0093) and Kikkawa similarly teaches their glass having a thickness of 0.1-2mm (0081).
Applicants disclose that their glass is made by first crystallizing the composition with the following 1-stage or a 2-stage treatment (see published specification par 0096-0099 and 0101),
1stage
2-stage
600-800 or 630-770C
60-400min
1
450-750, 500-720 or 550-680C
30-2000 or 180-1440min
2
550-850 or 600-800C
30-600 or 60-400min
and then ion exchanging the crystallized glass with the following 1-stage or 2-stage treatment (see published par 0105 and 0107 but note for the record that K, Na and Li salts are disclosed throughout as being that of KNO3, NaNO3 and LiNO3).
1-stage
2-stage
K salt and/or Na salt and/or Li salt
350-550C
30-500min
1
K+Na salt, Na salt, or K+Na+Li salt
350-500C
1-1440, 15-500 or 30-300min
2
K salt or K+Na salt or K+Li salt or K+Na+Li salt
350-550C
1-1400 or 60-600min
Kikkawa similarly discloses that their glass is made by first crystallizing the composition with the following 1-stage or a 2-stage treatment (see 0084-0088),
1stage
2-stage
600-800 or 630-770C
30-500 or 60-400min
1
450-750, 500-720 or 550-680C
30-2000 or 180-1440min
2
550-850 or 600-800C
30-600 or 60-400min
and then ion exchanging the crystallized glass with the following 1-stage or 2-stage treatment (see 0090-0092 but note for the record that K, Na and Li salts are disclosed throughout as being that of KNO3, NaNO3 and LiNO3).
1-stage
2-stage
K and/or Na salt
350-550C
1-1400min
1
K+Na salt,
350-500C
1-1440, 30-500min
2
K salt or K+Na salt,
350-550C
1-1400 or 60-600min
Given the similarities between that of Kikkawa’s article structure and Applicants’, Kikkawa’s crystallized glass having the same crystal phase, composition and thickness as Applicants and Kikkawa’s method of making being substantially similar to Applicants’ using crystallization temps and durations as well as similar salts, temperatures and durations used in ion exchange, one skilled in the art would reasonably conclude the same CT properties to result (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 6: Kikkawa does teach their article having a Tg of less than 610C (0050) but they just do not explicitly mention said Tg being of the glass prior to crystallization. However, as it was mentioned above that Kikkawa’s glass composition is the same as Applicants’, one skilled in the art would reasonably conclude the same Tg prior to crystallization to be present (MPEP 2112).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
2. Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1 and a2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kikkawa (WO2022050104, rejection based on corresponding English document USPub20230312402) or alternatively, in further view of any one of USPub20110151282, USPub20110135963, USPub20190300426, or USPub20200055764.
Regarding claim 7: Note that claim 7 is a product by process claim as it defines the use of a Li containing salt bath during manufacture and it has been held by the courts that while a product claim may be defined by a process, patentability is based on the product itself and not its method of manufacture. Specifically, if a product of the prior art meets the product claimed, the claim will be considered to be met regardless of whether or not the prior art uses a different method (MPEP 2113). In the instant case, as discussed above, Kikkawa teaches the product of claim 1 and as such, the claim is met.
However, in the instance Applicants argue and/or show that the process limitation of claim 7 provides additional structure to the article claimed, the following is noted.
Initially, Kikkawa does not appear to place limits on salt baths used in their ion exchange step and instead, only generally teaches chemically strengthening their lithium containing crystallized glass using potassium and/or sodium salts.
As it is well known in the art of chemically strengthened lithium containing crystallized glass which are strengthened using potassium and/or sodium salts to add LiNO3 into the salt bath for a variety of benefits such as, but not limited to, providing uniform in-plane distribution in the strengthened compressive surface layer and suppression of change in glass shape after strengthening (see abstract and 0063 in ‘963 and 0080 in ‘282), poisoning the salt bath with the lithium salt to improve salt bath chemistry (see 0097 in ‘426 and 0094-0095 in ‘764), etc., it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify Kikkawa to include LiNO3 in the ion exchange salt bath for providing uniform in-plane distribution in the strengthened compressive surface layer and suppression of change in glass shape after strengthening, improving bath chemistry, etc.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogasawara (WO2020179872, rejection using corresponding English document US11,807,568).
Regarding claims 1-5: ‘568 teaches crystallized glass containing an alpha cristobalite or alpha cristobalite solid solution as a main crystal phase (abstract) and comprises the following in mass% (see Ogasawara claims).
SiO2
50-75
Al2O3
5 to <15
Li2O
3-10
P2O5
0-10
ZrO2
1.2-10
K2O
0-10
Na2O
0-10
MgO
0-10
CaO
0-10
SrO
0-10
BaO
0-10
ZnO
0-10
Sb2O3
0-3
Nb2O5
0-10
Ta2O5
0-10
TiO2
0 to <7
Al2O3+ZrO2
>16.2
‘568 also teaches that 0-2 mass% B2O3 can be added as desired (Col. 6, lines 5-9).
The above composition and teaching allow for overlap with the conditions presently claimed (MPEP 2144.05).
‘568 teaches their glass having a compressive stress layer on the surface (abstract, Examples).
While ‘568 does teach that their article includes a compressive stress layer on the surface following strengthening (see entire document), they do not explicitly discuss making the CT fall within the range of claim 1. However, the following is noted.
Initially, as discussed above, ‘568’s glass meets that claim having a composition meeting Applicants.
Additionally, ‘568’s glass thickness of 10mm (see document) falls within Applicants allowed for thickness range of 0.5mm or more (see published specification par 0093).
Further, Applicants disclose that their glass is made by first crystallizing the composition with the following 1-stage or a 2-stage treatment (see published specification par 0096-0099 and 0101),
1stage
2-stage
600-800 or 630-770C
60-400min
1
450-750, 500-720 or 550-680C
30-2000 or 180-1440min
2
550-850 or 600-800C
30-600 or 60-400min
and then ion exchanging the crystallized glass with the following 1-stage or 2-stage treatment (see published par 0105 and 0107 but note for the record that K, Na and Li salts are disclosed throughout as being that of KNO3, NaNO3 and LiNO3).
1stage
2-stage
K salt and/or Na salt and/or Li salt
350-550C
30-500min
1
K+Na salt, Na salt, or K+Na+Li salt
350-500C
1-1440, 15-500 or 30-300min
2
K salt or K+Na salt or K+Li salt or K+Na+Li salt
350-550C
1-1400 or 60-600min
‘568 similarly discloses that their glass is made by first crystallizing the composition with the following 2-stage treatment (see Col. 7, lines 4-14 and Examples 7-9, 11-15, 17-20, 21-24, 26-28),
2-stage
1
450-750, 500-720 or even 550-680
30-2000min or even 180-1440min
2
600-800C
30-600 or 60-400min
and then ion exchanging the crystallized glass with the following 2-stage treatment (see Col. 7, lines 45-62).
2-stage
1
NaNO3 salt,
350-550C
1-1440, 90-500min
2
KNO3 salt
350-550C
1-1400 or 60-600min
Given the similarities between that of ‘568 article structure and Applicants’, ‘568’s crystallized glass having the same crystal phase, overlapping composition and thickness as Applicants and ‘568’s method of making being substantially similar to Applicants’ using crystallization temps and durations as well as similar salts, temperatures and durations used in ion exchange, one skilled in the art would reasonably conclude the same CT properties to result (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 6: Given that ‘568’s crystallized glass meets that claimed, the glass transition properties would be expected to be the same (MPEP 2112).
4. Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogasawara (WO2020179872, rejection using corresponding English document US11,807,568) or alternatively, in further view of any one of USPub20110151282, USPub20110135963, USPub20190300426, or USPub20200055764.
Regarding claim 7: Note that claim 7 is a product by process claim as it defines the use of a Li containing salt bath during manufacture and it has been held by the courts that while a product claim may be defined by a process, patentability is based on the product itself and not its method of manufacture. Specifically, if a product of the prior art meets the product claimed, the claim will be considered to be met regardless of whether or not the prior art uses a different method (MPEP 2113). In the instant case, as discussed above, ‘568 teaches the product of claim 1 and as such, the claim is met.
However, in the instance Applicants argue and/or show that the process limitation of claim 7 provides additional structure to the article claimed, the following is noted.
Initially, ‘568 does not appear to place limits on salt baths used in their ion exchange step and instead, only generally teaches chemically strengthening their lithium containing crystallized glass using potassium and/or sodium salts.
As it is well known in the art of chemically strengthened lithium containing crystallized glass which are strengthened using potassium and/or sodium salts to add LiNO3 into the salt bath for a variety of benefits such as, but not limited to, providing uniform in-plane distribution in the strengthened compressive surface layer and suppression of change in glass shape after strengthening (see abstract and 0063 in ‘963 and 0080 in ‘282), poisoning the salt bath with the lithium salt to improve salt bath chemistry (see 0097 in ‘426 and 0094-0095 in ‘764), etc., it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify ‘568 to include LiNO3 in the ion exchange salt bath for providing uniform in-plane distribution in the strengthened compressive surface layer and suppression of change in glass shape after strengthening, improving bath chemistry, etc.
5. Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto (USPub20080248316) in view of any one of (USPN8,071,493), (USPub20010056021) or (WO2020179872, rejection using corresponding English document US11,807,568).
Regarding claims 1-5: Goto teaches a crystallized glass substrate which can include alpha cristobalite solid solution as a main crystal phase (see Goto claim 2) and comprise the following in mass% (see Got claims 9-10).
SiO2
50-90
Al2O3
2-20
Li2O
4-15
P2O5
0-3
ZrO2
0-10
K2O
0-3
Na2O
0-2
MgO
0-3
CaO
0-7
SrO
0-7
BaO
0-7
ZnO
0-10
Sb2O3
0-2
TiO2
0-5
As shown above, Goto’s glass includes 0-5 TiO2 overlapping the claimed range (MPEP 2144.05) and does not disclose the presence of Nb2O5 or Ta2O5 thereby, corresponding to 0% of these oxides.
While the above composition fails to include B2O3 as required by the claims, ‘316 does not appear to exclude such an oxide but instead, only generally teaches a crystallized glass wherein the crystallized glass.
As ‘493, ‘021 and ‘568, who each similarly teach crystallized glass, disclose that B2O3 can be desirably added to such glasses in contents of less than 5mass% for realization of low viscosity and enhanced dissolution and moldability (see ‘493 Col. 8, lines 66-67 bridged to Col. 9, lines 1-8), 0.1-5mass% to act as a former and accelerating crystal deposition and growth while having improved melting characteristics (see 0036 in ‘021) or even 0-2% as desired (Col. 6, lines 3-9 in ‘568), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of invention to modify Goto to include 5mass% or less for realization of low viscosity and enhanced dissolution and moldability, 0.1-5mass% to act as a former and accelerating crystal deposition and growth while having improved melting characteristics or even 0-2% as desired with a reasonable expectation of success.
The above modification will provide Goto with the following,
SiO2
50-90
Al2O3
2-20
Li2O
4-15
B2O3
<5, 0.1-5 or 0-2
P2O5
0-3
ZrO2
0-10
K2O
0-3
Na2O
0-2
MgO
0-3
CaO
0-7
SrO
0-7
BaO
0-7
ZnO
0-10
Sb2O3
0-2
TiO2
0-5
The above composition allows for overlap with that claimed providing a prima facie case of obviousness (MPEP 2144.05).
While Goto’s crystallized glass can have a compressive stress layer on the surface (see entire document), they just don’t disclose a CT value. However, the following is noted.
Initially, as discussed above, Goto’s glass as modified meets that claim having a composition meeting Applicants.
Additionally, Goto’s glass thickness of 0.635mm (0092, 0138) falls within Applicants allowed for thickness range of 0.5mm or more (see published specification par 0093).
Further, Applicants disclose that their glass is made by first crystallizing the composition with the following 1-stage or a 2-stage treatment (see published specification par 0096-0099 and 0101),
1stage
2-stage
600-800 or 630-770C
60-400min
1
450-750, 500-720 or 550-680C
30-2000 or 180-1440min
2
550-850 or 600-800C
30-600 or 60-400min
and then ion exchanging the crystallized glass with the following 1-stage or 2-stage treatment (see published par 0105 and 0107 but note for the record that K, Na and Li salts are disclosed throughout as being that of KNO3, NaNO3 and LiNO3).
1stage
2-stage
K salt and/or Na salt and/or Li salt
350-550C
30-500min
1
K+Na salt, Na salt, or K+Na+Li salt
350-500C
1-1440, 15-500 or 30-300min
2
K salt or K+Na salt or K+Li salt or K+Na+Li salt
350-550C
1-1400 or 60-600min
Goto similarly discloses that their glass is made by first crystallizing the composition with the following 2-stage treatment (0064, 0126),
2-stage
1
450-620 or 520-620
1-20hr (60-1,200min)
2
620-800
0.5-10hr (30-600min)
and then ion exchanging the crystallized glass with the following 2-stage treatment (0087, 0136).
1-stage
NaNO3 salt,
300-600C
0.5-12hr (30-720min)
Given the similarities between that of Goto’s article structure and Applicants’, Goto’s crystallized glass having the same crystal phase, overlapping composition and thickness as Applicants and Goto’s method of making being substantially similar to Applicants’ using crystallization temps and durations as well as similar salts, temperatures and durations used in ion exchange, one skilled in the art would reasonably conclude the same CT properties to result (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 6: Given that Goto’s crystallized glass meets that claimed, the glass transition properties would be expected to be the same (MPEP 2112).
6. Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto or alternatively, in further view of any one of USPub20110151282, USPub20110135963, USPub20190300426, or USPub20200055764.
Regarding claim 7: Note that claim 7 is a product by process claim as it defines the use of a Li containing salt bath during manufacture and it has been held by the courts that while a product claim may be defined by a process, patentability is based on the product itself and not its method of manufacture. Specifically, if a product of the prior art meets the product claimed, the claim will be considered to be met regardless of whether or not the prior art uses a different method (MPEP 2113). In the instant case, as discussed above, ‘Goto teaches the product of claim 1 and as such, the claim is met.
However, in the instance Applicants argue and/or show that the process limitation of claim 7 provides additional structure to the article claimed, the following is noted.
Initially, Goto does not appear to place limits on salt baths used in their ion exchange step and instead, only generally teaches chemically strengthening their lithium containing crystallized glass using potassium and/or sodium salts.
As it is well known in the art of chemically strengthened lithium containing crystallized glass which are strengthened using potassium and/or sodium salts to add LiNO3 into the salt bath for a variety of benefits such as, but not limited to, providing uniform in-plane distribution in the strengthened compressive surface layer and suppression of change in glass shape after strengthening (see abstract and 0063 in ‘963 and 0080 in ‘282), poisoning the salt bath with the lithium salt to improve salt bath chemistry (see 0097 in ‘426 and 0094-0095 in ‘764), etc., it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify Goto to include LiNO3 in the ion exchange salt bath for providing uniform in-plane distribution in the strengthened compressive surface layer and suppression of change in glass shape after strengthening, improving bath chemistry, etc.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 18024491 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope and any additional limitations would have been rendered obvious in view of the prior art above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 18/024490 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope and any additional limitations would have been rendered obvious in view of the prior art above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/713168 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope and any additional limitations would have been rendered obvious in view of the prior art above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of copending Application No. 18/834606 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope and any additional limitations would have been rendered obvious in view of the prior art above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 17/735055 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope and any additional limitations would have been rendered obvious in view of the prior art above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 19/114540 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope and any additional limitations would have been rendered obvious in view of the prior art above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 19/144511 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope and any additional limitations would have been rendered obvious in view of the prior art above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 19/475428 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope and any additional limitations would have been rendered obvious in view of the prior art above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
LAUREN ROBINSON COLGAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1784
/LAUREN R COLGAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784