DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the drive wheel having a spiral contour AND a toothed contour as in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-8 and 16 were previously rejected under 35 USC § 112. Applicant has successfully addressed these issues in the amendments filed on 05/29/2026. Accordingly, the rejection to the claims have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9-10, and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 6386599 to Chevalier. [Note: This is a new interpretation of Chevalier].
Regarding claim 1, Chevalier discloses:
A drive unit for motor vehicle applications (fig 11), comprising an electromotive drive (70) comprising an electric motor (70), and a drive wheel (60,61), an actuating element (50) acted upon by the drive wheel, and a crown gear transmission stage (71) implemented between a pinion (31) on an output shaft (25) of the electric motor and the drive wheel, wherein the drive wheel has a spiral contour and/or a toothed contour (teeth of 61) for acting upon the actuating element, wherein the drive wheel comprises a crown toothing (62) on a first surface (bottom surface of 60) of the drive wheel, wherein the spiral contour (54) is rotationally fixed on a second surface (top surface of 60) of the drive wheel opposite the first surface, and wherein the toothed contour is provided on the first surface of the drive wheel (fig 11).
Regarding claim 9, Chevalier discloses:
The drive unit according to claim 1, wherein the electric motor with the output shaft and the pinion thereon forms a right-hand angle of engagement with the drive wheel with the crown toothing (right hand angle formed in fig 11).
Regarding claim 10, Chevalier discloses:
The drive unit according to claim 1, wherein the electric motor with the output shaft has a longitudinal extension (25) which is aligned in a direction of a center of the drive wheel (fig 11) in the center.
Regarding claim 12, Chevalier discloses:
The drive unit according to claim 1, wherein at least the drive wheel and the actuating element are each designed as plastic injection-molded parts (fig 1). [NOTE: The italicized limitation recites a product by process limitation. Even though product by process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production, only the end result. See MPEP2113. Since Haas teaches a drive wheel and an actuating element, the end result is the same regardless of the method used to produce the elements.]
Regarding claim 13, Chevalier discloses:
The drive unit according to claim 1, wherein the actuating element includes a gear wheel arch (16), and wherein the electric motor with the output shaft has a longitudinal extension (71) which is largely oriented tangentially in comparison to the gear wheel arch on the actuating element (fig 11).
Regarding claim 14, Chevalier discloses:
The drive unit according to claim 1, wherein the actuating element acts upon a transmission lever (20) of a motor vehicle latch (see abstract).
Regarding claim 15, Chevalier discloses:
A motor vehicle latch (fig 11, see abstract), comprising- the drive unit according to claim 1, and a locking mechanism (20) acted upon by the drive unit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6386599 to Chevalier in view of US 20200325706 to Inan.
Regarding claim 16, Chevalier does not explicitly disclose:
The drive unit according to claim 8, wherein the spiral contour is a helical spiral surface wound around an axis of the drive wheel.
However, Inan teaches that it is well known in the art for a spiral contour to be a helical spiral surface (17) wound around an axis of the drive wheel. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Inan into Chevalier at least because doing so requires the simple substitution of one known feature for another and could be accomplished without undue experimentation and would yield the same result, providing a drive wheel. See MPEP 2143, subsection I.B. (3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8, 11, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Y.S./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675