DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement of 01/15/2025 has been received and reviewed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-8 and 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 7-8 recites the limitation "the pivot lever" in lines 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 8 recites the limitation "the axis" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 is rejected due to its dependency on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 6386599 to Chevalier.
Regarding claim 1, Chevalier discloses:
A drive unit for motor vehicle applications (fig 11), comprising an electromotive drive (70) comprising an electric motor (70), and a drive wheel (40), an actuating element (11) acted upon by the drive wheel, and a crown gear transmission stage (60) implemented between a pinion (31) on an output shaft (25) of the electric motor and the drive wheel, wherein the drive wheel has a spiral contour and/or a toothed contour for acting upon the actuating element (via 40).
Regarding claim 2, Chevalier discloses:
The drive unit according to claim 1, wherein the drive wheel comprises a crown toothing (62) on a first respective surface (surface of 40 that connects to 60) of the drive wheel, and wherein the spiral contour is provided on a second respective surface of the drive wheel, opposite the first respective surface of the drive wheel equipped with the crown toothing.
Regarding claim 3, Chevalier discloses:
The drive unit according to claim 1, wherein the toothed contour is provided on the first respective surface of the drive wheel equipped with the crown toothing (62).
Regarding claim 4, Chevalier discloses:
The drive unit according to claim 1, wherein the actuating element is designed as a pivot lever (11) mounted to rotate about an axis (15) of the pivot lever.
Regarding claim 5, Chevalier discloses:
The drive unit according to claim 4, wherein the axis of the pivot lever is defined by a bearing pin (15), standing vertically on a housing cover (see col 11 lines 23-25).
Regarding claim 6, Chevalier discloses:
The drive unit according to claim 4, wherein the pivot lever rests with a stop (16) on a head side (right side seen in fig 11) of the pivot lever against the spiral contour.
Regarding claim 7, Chevalier discloses:
The drive unit according to claim 1, wherein the spiral contour in an undeflected end position at least partially overlaps the pivot lever (fig 11).
Regarding claim 8, Chevalier discloses:
The drive unit according to claim 7, wherein an axis of the drive wheel and the axis of the pivot lever are arranged perpendicular to each other (fig 11).
Regarding claim 9, Chevalier discloses:
The drive unit according to claim 1, wherein the electric motor with the output shaft and the pinion thereon forms a right-hand angle of engagement with the drive wheel with the crown toothing (right hand angle formed in fig 11).
Regarding claim 10, Chevalier discloses:
The drive unit according to claim 1, wherein the electric motor with the output shaft has a longitudinal extension (25) which is aligned in a direction of a center of the drive wheel (fig 11) in the center.
Regarding claim 11, Chevalier discloses:
The drive unit according to claim 4, wherein the electric motor with the output shaft has a longitudinal extension (71) which forms an acute angle with the axis of the pivot lever (angle formed between 15 and 71).
Regarding claim 12, Chevalier discloses:
The drive unit according to claim 1, wherein at least the drive wheel and the actuating element are each designed as plastic injection-molded parts (fig 1). [NOTE: The italicized limitation recites a product by process limitation. Even though product by process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production, only the end result. See MPEP2113. Since Haas teaches a drive wheel and an actuating element, the end result is the same regardless of the method used to produce the elements.]
Regarding claim 13, Chevalier discloses:
The drive unit according to claim 1, wherein the actuating element includes a gear wheel arch (16), and wherein the electric motor with the output shaft has a longitudinal extension (71) which is largely oriented tangentially in comparison to the gear wheel arch on the actuating element (fig 11).
Regarding claim 14, Chevalier discloses:
The drive unit according to claim 1, wherein the actuating element acts upon a transmission lever (20) of a motor vehicle latch (see abstract).
Regarding claim 15, Chevalier discloses:
A motor vehicle latch (fig 11, see abstract), comprising- the drive unit according to claim 1, and a locking mechanism (20) acted upon by the drive unit.
Regarding claim 17, Chevalier discloses:
The drive unit according to claim 4, wherein the toothed contour of the drive wheel interacts with an associated toothed contour (16) on the pivot lever, wherein an axis of the drive wheel and an axis of the pivot lever run parallel to one another (fig 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6386599 to Chevalier in view of US 20200325706 to Inan.
Regarding claim 16, Chevalier does not explicitly disclose:
The drive unit according to claim 8, wherein the spiral contour is a helical spiral surface wound around an axis of the drive wheel.
However, Inan teaches that it is well known in the art for an a spiral contour to be a helical spiral surface (17) would around an axis of the drive wheel. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Inan into Chevalier at least because doing so requires the simple substitution of one known feature for another and could be accomplished without undue experimentation and would yield the same result, providing a drive wheel. See MPEP 2143, subsection I.B. (3).
Conclusion
/Y.S./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675