DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-14 are currently pending. Claims 1 and 9 have been currently amended. Claim 14 has been added as new.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 7, 8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “ The liquid-crystalline medium according to claim 1, comprising one or more compounds of the formula II. However, applicants failed to define or show a compound represented by formula II. The claim as written is indefinite and unclear. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 recites “ The liquid-crystalline medium according to claim 1, comprising one or more compounds of the formulae VI, VII, VIII, or IX. However, applicants failed to define or show compounds of the formulae VI, VII, VIII, or IX. The claim as written is indefinite and unclear. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 8 recites “ the total concentration the compounds of formula I in the medium..” However, the claim as written is indefinite and confusing. It is unclear if the medium of the instant claims may contained only one compound or more than one compounds. Independent claim 1 recites “one or more compounds of formula 1”; therefore, appropriate correction is required. Examiner suggests amending the claim to recite “ the one or more compounds of formula 1”.
Claim 13 recites “ A process for the preparation of a liquid-crystalline medium according to claim 1, comprising mixing one or more compounds of formula 1 with one or more compounds of the formulae II, III and VI to IX. However, applicants failed to define or show compounds of the formulae II, VI to IX. Also, the medium of claim 13 recites compounds outside the scope of claim 1. Therefore, the claim as written is indefinite and unclear. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claims 2 recites “ The liquid crystalline medium according to claim 1, comprising one or more compounds of the formula III.”; however, claim 1 recites “ A liquid crystalline medium having nematic phase, the medium comprising … and one or more additional compound of formula III. Therefore, claim 2 does not further limit claim 1. Claim 2 repeats same limitation recited in claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 8 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Laut et al. ( TW 202235593 Al ; citations from USPGPUB 2024/0376382 A1 for English Translation).
Regarding claims 1-4, 7, 8 and 10-14 , Laut et al. teach a liquid-crystalline medium having a nematic phase ( see abstract, claims and examples) , the medium comprising 5 to 50% by weight of one or more compounds of formula I ( see Compound of formula II
[0063-0069] wherein X2 denotes F or -OCF3 [0068] , more preferably formulae II-1a and II-1e [0171 ] in an amount of 2-60% by weight [0289 and 0303]) and one or more additional compounds of formula III ( see one or more compounds of Formula B [0054-0061] or formula I wherein n =0 [0270-0275]). The medium further comprises a compound represented by formulae II-1 i-1 and III-1 i-2 [0201-0202] meeting the limitation of formula V. Laut et al. further disclose the medium further comprises one or more compounds selected from one or more formulae II and VI to IX ( see formula IC [0391-0398]). Laut et al. teach an electro-optical lens or electro-optical display comprising a liquid crystalline medium ( abstract and [0039]) as well as an optical display [0315]. Laut et al. teach a process for the preparation of a liquid-crystalline medium comprising mixing one or more compounds of formula I with one or more compounds selected from formula III ( examples and [0152]).
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 8 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Laut et al. ( WO 2021/148421 A).
Regarding claims 1-4, 7, 8 and 10-14 , Laut et al. teach a liquid-crystalline medium having a nematic phase ( see abstract, claims, examples e.g. Mixture N-21)
, wherein PUQU-3-F in an amount of 14.5% meeting the limitation of formula (1) in an amount of 5 to 50% by weight as recited in claim 1 and 10 to 35% by weight as recited in claim 8 and B(S)-2O-O4 in 4.0% and B(S)-2O-O5 in 3.0% meeting the limitation of one or more additional compound of formula III as instantly claimed. Laut et al. further teaches the medium comprises CC-3-V meeting the limitation of formula IV, CCP-V-1 meeting the limitation of formula V and CPY-3-O2 meeting the limitation of formula VII as instantly claimed. Laut et al. teach a process for the preparation of a liquid-crystalline medium comprising mixing one or more compounds of formula I with one or more compounds of formulae II, II and VI to IX ( example and claim 15).
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Junge et al. (WO 2020/104563 A1).
Regarding claims 1-5 and 7-14 , Junge et al. teach a liquid-crystalline medium having a nematic phase ( see abstract, claims, page 84, line 5-16 and Examples), the medium comprising 5 to 50 % by weight of one or more compound of formula (I) ( see Formula IIa and Formula III in an amount of 10-40% by weight ( page 158, lines 21-25)) , wherein X20 each denotes F, CN, NCS, or SCN on page 136-138 , more specifically formula IIIb when X20 is CN meeting the limitation of formula I-13 as recited in claim 5 and formula 1 in claim 1 or CCQU-3-F in 10.0% or CCUQU-5-F in 11.0% in reference example 4 meeting the limitation of formula I in claim 1) and one or more additional compounds represented by formula BF and BSF ( see page 129, lines 25-35) meeting the limitation of formula III as instantly claimed. Junge et al. further teaches the medium comprises CY ( page 88, line 25) meeting the limitation of formula IV, PY ( page 88, line 30) meeting the limitation of formula V or PTP-1-O2 or PTP-2-O1 ( see page 219, reference example 7) meeting the limitation of formula V and formula V-7 and LY ( page 102, lines 5-25) meeting the limitation of formulae V1, VII and/or VIII as instantly claimed. Junge et al. teach a process for the preparation of a liquid-crystalline medium comprising mixing one or more compounds of formula I with one or more compounds of formulae II, II and VI to IX ( example and claims ).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laut et al. ( TW 202235593 Al ; citations from USPGPUB 2024/037638 A1 for English Translation) and/or Laut et al. ( WO 2021/148421 A) and/or Junge et al. (WO 2020/104563 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Brocke et al. (WO 2021/037962 A1).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, neither Laut et al.’638 nor Laut et al. ‘962 or Junge et al. teach wherein Z1 is -C≡C- and X1 is CN or SCN in the one or more compounds of formula I as recited by instant claim 6. However, the examiner has added Brocke et al. ( see abstract, claim and Examples, cf. Examples N46) to teach it is well-known to one of ordinary skilled in the art of liquid crystalline medium to include a compound represented by formula PPTU-n-S on page 26:
meeting the limitation of Z1 is -C≡C- and X1 is CN or SCN in the one or more compounds of formula I as recited by instant claim 6 as well formula I-5 in claim 5 in view of improving properties relevant for the application in the microwave range of the electromagnetic spectrum and shelf life and stability under operation in a device ( see page 2, lines 4-18). It is noted that a person skilled in the art would recognize the selection of Z1 is -C≡C- as taught by Brocke et al. in view of -CF2O- as recited for example by Laut et al.’638 or Laut et al. ‘962 or Junge et al. is routinely expected due to these compounds are generally known in the field of liquid crystals. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the general formula I of Laut et al.’638 or Laut et al. ‘962 or Junge et al. to include Z1 is -C≡C- and X1 is CN or SCN as taught by Brocke et al. in view of routine experimentation. - In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233, 235; 220 F2d 454 (CCPA 1955).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHANCEITY N ROBINSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737