DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-8 and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hristov et al (US 2017/0228062; provided by Applicant).
In regards to claims 1 and 16, Hristov discloses a touch-sensitive system for sensing one or more touches or objects at a sensing surface (Figs. 2-3 and paragraph 45), the touch-sensitive system comprising:
an electrode array (touch sensor 10) comprising at least one electrode (drive/sense electrode X lines 512, sense electrode Y lines 512), the electrode array defining the sensing surface (Fig. 3 and paragraphs 46, 61);
receiver circuitry (sense unit 504, sense units 504A/B) configured to couple to the electrode array and receive signals from the electrode array (Fig. 3 and paragraphs 57-61);
a controller (processor unit 512) configured to receive signals from the receiver circuitry and determine a property of a touch or object sensed at the sensing surface (Fig. 3 and paragraphs 57-61, 64); and
first drive circuitry (signal source 33) configured to generate a first drive signal (signal source 52) to be applied to the electrode array (Fig. 2 and paragraphs 41-45),
wherein the first drive circuitry is remote from the electrode array and arranged to apply the first drive signal to a user of the touch-sensitive system such that when a user of the touch-sensitive system touches or approaches, directly or via a held object, the sensing surface, the first drive signal is subsequently coupled to the electrode array (Fig. 2 and paragraphs 41-45), and
wherein the receiver circuitry is configured to receive a signal from the electrode array corresponding to the first drive signal applied to the sensing surface via the user (Fig. 2 and paragraphs 41-45).
In regards to claim 2, Hristov discloses the touch-sensitive system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to determine a property of the touch or object sensed at the sensing surface on the basis of the received signal from the electrode array corresponding to the first drive signal applied to the sensing surface via the user (Figs. 2-3 and paragraphs 41-45, 63-67).
In regards to claim 3, Hristov discloses the touch-sensitive system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to determine, as a property of the touch or object sensed at the sensing surface, at least one of: the presence of a touch or object; a position on the sensing surface of the touch or object; a distance relative to the sensing surface of the touch or object; and an origin of the touch or object (Figs. 2-3 and paragraphs 41-45, 63-67).
In regards to claim 6, Hristov discloses the touch-sensitive system of claim 4, wherein the touch-sensitive system further comprises third driving circuitry (drive unit 502), the third driving circuitry configured to couple to the electrode array and apply a third driving signal directly to the electrode array, wherein the receiving circuitry is further configured to receive a signal from the electrode array based on the third drive signal, and the controller is configured to determine the position of the touch or object relative to the sensing surface on the basis of the received signal based on the third drive signal (Figs. 2-3 and paragraphs 41-45, 63-67).
In regards to claim 7, Hristov discloses the touch-sensitive system of claim 1, wherein the controller, on the basis of the received signal from the electrode array corresponding to the first drive signal applied to the sensing surface via the user, is configured to determine the position of the touch or object relative to the sensing surface as the property of the touch or object sensed at the sensing surface (Figs. 2-3 and paragraphs 41-45, 63-67).
In regards to claim 8, Hristov discloses the touch-sensitive system of claim 1, wherein the system further comprises second drive circuitry configured to generate a second drive signal to be applied to the electrode array, wherein the second drive circuitry is remote from the electrode array and arranged to apply the second drive signal to a second user of the touch-sensitive system such that when the second user of the touch-sensitive system touches or approaches directly, or via a held object, the sensing surface, the second drive signal is subsequently coupled to the electrode array (Figs. 2-3 and paragraphs 38, 41-45, 63-67; each chair can have an electrode. Therefore each chair has a signal source applying a signal to the electrode which couples to the user in the chair).
In regards to claim 11, Hristov discloses the touch-sensitive system of claim 8, wherein the controller is configured to determine whether a received signal from the receiver circuitry is based on the first drive signal or the second drive signal, and to determine an origin of a corresponding touch or object based on whether the received signal from the receiver circuitry is based on the first drive signal or the second drive signal (paragraph 45).
In regards to claim 12, Hristov discloses the touch-sensitive system of claim 1, wherein the touch-sensitive system comprises:
a touch-sensitive apparatus comprising the electrode array, the receiver circuitry, and the controller (Fig. 3 and paragraphs 63-67); and
a first transmitter apparatus comprising the first drive circuitry (Fig. 2 and paragraphs 41-45),
wherein the touch-sensitive apparatus and the first transmitter apparatus are physically separate from one another (Figs. 2-3 and paragraphs 37, 41-45, 63-67; As can be seen in Fig. 2, the touch sensitive apparatus and first transmitter apparatus are physically separated. Touch-sensitive apparatus is interacted with while the first transmitter apparatus applies a signal to the electrode in the chair).
In regards to claim 13, Hristov discloses the touch-sensitive system of claim 1, wherein the touch-sensitive system further comprises:
a second transmitter apparatus comprising the second drive circuitry (Fig. 2 and paragraphs 38, 41-45),
wherein the touch-sensitive apparatus, the first transmitter apparatus and the second transmitter apparatus are all physically separate from one another (Figs. 2-3 and paragraphs 37-38, 41-45, 63-67; As can be seen in Fig. 2, the touch sensitive apparatus and first transmitter apparatus are physically separated. Touch-sensitive apparatus is interacted with while the first transmitter apparatus and second transmitter apparatus apply signals to the electrodes in the chairs).
In regards to claim 14, Hristov discloses the touch-sensitive system of claim 1, wherein the first drive circuitry and/or the second drive circuitry are configured to be operated independently of the controller (paragraph 44).
In regards to claim 15, Hristov discloses a vehicle comprising the touch-sensitive system of claim 12, wherein the first transmitter apparatus is mounted to an electrically conductive component of a seat, wherein the electrically conductive component is arranged to contact a user when the user is sitting in the seat (Fig. 2 and paragraphs 36, 38).
In regards to claim 17, Hristov discloses a vehicle comprising the touch-sensitive system of claim 13, wherein the first transmitter apparatus and/or second transmitter apparatus are each mounted to an electrically conductive component of a seat, wherein the electrically conductive component is arranged to contact a user when the user is sitting in the seat (Fig. 2 and paragraphs 36, 38).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hristov et al (US 2017/0228062; provided by Applicant) in view of Bachfischer et al (US 2011/0175843).
In regards to claim 4, Hristov does not disclose the touch-sensitive system of claim 1, wherein the controller, on the basis of the received signal from the electrode array corresponding to the first drive signal applied to the sensing surface via the user, is configured to determine a distance of the touch or object from the sensing surface as the property of the touch or object sensed at the sensing surface.
Bachfischer discloses wherein the controller, on the basis of the received signal from the electrode array corresponding to the first drive signal applied to the sensing surface via the user, is configured to determine a distance of the touch or object from the sensing surface as the property of the touch or object sensed at the sensing surface (Fig. 2 and paragraph 36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hristov with the teachings of Bachfischer, determining the distance of a finger based on the signal strength received, because it allows the device to be able to determine the location of a user in three dimensions giving more ways for the device to enter input and control the touch sensor.
In regards to claim 5, Hristov does not disclose the touch-sensitive system of claim 4, wherein the distance of the touch or object from the sensing surface is determined based on the strength of the received signal from the electrode array corresponding to the first drive signal applied to the sensing surface via the user.
Bachfischer discloses wherein the distance of the touch or object from the sensing surface is determined based on the strength of the received signal from the electrode array corresponding to the first drive signal applied to the sensing surface via the user (Fig. 2 and paragraph 36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hristov with the teachings of Bachfischer, determining the distance of a finger based on the signal strength received, because it allows the device to be able to determine the location of a user in three dimensions giving more ways for the device to enter input and control the touch sensor.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hristov et al (US 2017/0228062; provided by Applicant) in view of Segame Technologies LLC (WO 2018/057534; provided by Applicant).
In regards to claim 9, Hristov does not disclose the touch-sensitive system of claim 8, wherein the first drive signal and second drive signal are different from one another.
Segame discloses wherein the first drive signal and second drive signal are different from one another (Fig. 3A and paragraph 52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hristov and Segame, both being in the same field of endeavor of applying signals to electrodes in chairs and coupling those signals to users sitting in the chairs and using those signals to detect touches, because by having the signals different from each other the more users can be distinguished from each other which allows more users to use the device at the same time.
In regards to claim 10, Hristov does not disclose the touch-sensitive system of claim 9, wherein the first drive signal and second drive signal are sinusoidal signals each having a different frequency.
Segame discloses wherein the first drive signal and second drive signal are sinusoidal signals each having a different frequency (Fig. 3A and paragraph 52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hristov and Segame, both being in the same field of endeavor of applying signals to electrodes in chairs and coupling those signals to users sitting in the chairs and using those signals to detect touches, because by having the signals different from each other the more users can be distinguished from each other which allows more users to use the device at the same time.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lin et al (US 2025/0370570) discloses a touch device including a touch panel and an electronic circuit is provided. The touch panel is configured to detect a touch event of at least two objects. The at least two objects are coupled to different signal sources. The electronic circuit is coupled to the touch panel. The electronic circuit is configured to distinguish touch operations of the at least two objects according to the signal sources (abstract).
/MICHAEL PERVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629 August 3, 2026