DETAILED ACTION
This is a Final Office action in response to communications received July 31, 2026. Claims 7, and 17-23 have been canceled. Claims 1-6 and 8-16 have been amended. Claim 24 has been added. Therefore, claims 1-6, 8-16, and 24 are pending and addressed below.
Title
The amendment to the Titel filed 07/31/2026 has been reviewed and accepted.
Response to Amendments
Applicants amendments to claims 1-15 are sufficient to overcome the 35 USC 112 rejections of claims 1-15, rejections set forth in previous office action. Therefore the rejections are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8-10, 12, 14-16, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hama et al. (US2019/0065710 A1, publish date 02/28/2019) in view of Pasula et al. (US 2020/0311889 A1, publish date 10/01/2020) further in view of Mojaver et al. (US2022/0132052 A1, file date 10/25/2021).
Claims 1, 16:
With respect to claims 1, 16, Hama et al. discloses an information processing apparatus/method (an image processing device comprising an image acquisition unit, a determination unit, a registration verification unit, and a storage unit, Figure 1) comprising:
at least one memory configured to store instructions (memory 2002, Figure 10); and
at least one processor (processor 2001, Figure 10) configured to execute the instructions to:
obtain a positional relationship between a target of biometric authentication and an imaging apparatus that images the target, ambient light information including at least one of illumination light irradiated to the target by an illumination apparatus and ambient light around the target (when the acquired biometric image cannot be used for registration and verification of biometric information and the biometric image is re-captured, the image acquisition unit switches the contents of control for the biometric sensor device and the touch panel device according to the reason for not being able to use the acquired biometric image for registration and verification of biometric information. For example, if the distance ( corresponding to the "positional relationship" in the invention as in claim 1) from the biometric sensor device to the body part is shorter than an appropriate distance, the image acquisition unit causes the display unit of the touch panel device to display information indicating that the distance from the biometric sensor device to the body part should be increased, and for example, if the captured biometric image is affected by strong external light ( corresponding to the "ambient light around the subject" in the invention as in claim 1, and the "factor that can affect the illuminance" in the invention as in claim 18), the image acquisition unit changes the control information for the imaging unit and the light projecting unit of the biometric sensor device ( corresponding to "controls at least one of the illumination device and the imaging device" in the invention as in claim 1) and causes the biometric sensor device to re-capture the biometric image. 0027), and brightness information at the target in an imaged image imaged by the imaging apparatus (the image acquisition unit, for example, controls the imaging conditions (for example, gain, exposure time, etc.) of the imaging unit of the biometric sensor device and the output (brightness) of the light projecting unit on the basis of control information stored in the storage unit. 0024-0025);
control at least one of the illumination apparatus and the imaging apparatus, based on the positional relationship, the ambient light information, and the brightness information (the image acquisition unit acquires, from an imaging unit of a biometric sensor device ( corresponding to the "imaging device" in the invention as in claim 1), an image (hereinafter referred to as "biometric image") in which a body part is captured; the biometric sensor device includes the imaging unit that captures the body part and a light projecting unit (corresponding to the "illumination device" in the invention as in claim 1) that projects light onto (irradiates with light) the body part when the body part is being captured; and the image acquisition unit, for example, controls the imaging conditions (for example, gain, exposure time, etc.) of the imaging unit of the biometric sensor device and the output (brightness) of the light projecting unit on the basis of control information stored in the storage unit. 0024-0025) (if the distance ( corresponding to the "positional relationship" in the invention as in claim 1) from the biometric sensor device to the body part is shorter than an appropriate distance, the image acquisition unit causes the display unit of the touch panel device to display information indicating that the distance from the biometric sensor device to the body part should be increased, and for example, if the captured biometric image is affected by strong external light ( corresponding to the "ambient light around the subject" in the invention as in claim 1, and the "factor that can affect the illuminance" in the invention as in claim 18), the image acquisition unit changes the control information for the imaging unit and the light projecting unit of the biometric sensor device ( corresponding to "controls at least one of the illumination device and the imaging device" in the invention as in claim 1) and causes the biometric sensor device to re-capture the biometric image. 0027).
Pasula et al. teaches illumination light at an article worn by the target (reflections ( e.g. specular reflections) of the illumination source from a user's eyeglasses decreases the quality of the image taken, and thus interferes with a biometric authentication process or the like based on detection of the iris pattern or the ocular vasculature, and in the example in fig. 2, which illustrates the removal of specular reflections from images of the eyeglasses, the upper image represents an image captured under illumination with a specific polarization state (Pl), the lower image represents an image taken under illumination with a different polarization state (P2), and the polarization states Pl and P2 correspond to two different sources that are spatially separated. Therefore, specular reflections corresponding to the two sources appear in different portions of the corresponding images, and the specular reflection in one image can be removed, for example, by replacing corresponding pixel values in the image with similar pixel values from another image within a timeframe in which the two images are sufficiently close. 0025, Figure 2).
Hama et al. and Pasula et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of user/biometric authentication.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Pasula et al. in Hama et al. for allowing removing reflections (e.g., specular reflections) from images captured in the presence of one or more artificial illumination sources such as light emitting diode (LED) lights. Such specular reflections may be detrimental to the underlying biometric authentication process, for example, by occluding eye or facial features that may otherwise be used by the process. In some cases, this may affect the accuracy and/or efficiency of the underlying biometric authentication system, for example by adversely affecting the false positive and/or the false negative rates. (see 0017 Pasula et al.)
Mojaver et al. teaches imaging systems that allow measuring a variety of biometric parameters of subjects. (0002), a multi-spectral light source configured to emit light in a first spectral wavelength range for illuminating at least a portion of the human operator, the biometric measurement module is configured to: receive the image data; and based on the image data, perform at least one biometric measurement on the human operator; the risk detection module is configured to: based on the biometric measurements establish a safety risk associated with the human operator; and the risk response module is configured to: based on the safety risk generate a risk response (0017),
determine, based on the imaged image, a transmission state of the illumination light at an article worn by the target (The visible camera (i.e., adapted to detect primarily in the visible light spectrum) typically has millions of pixels in resolution and is used for face detection and identification, 0100) (a visible spectrum imaging device can detect a person's pose and/or face occlusions and provide information for correcting the temperature data from the IRT imaging device. By more effectively identifying occlusions such as face masks, eyeglasses, facial hair, and other coverings, the emissivity can be more accurately corrected, and thus a person's body temperature can be more accurately determined. (0123),
wherein the at least one processor is configured to control at least one of an irradiation wavelength range of the illumination light of the illumination apparatus and a reception wavelength range in the imaging apparatus, based on a determination result of the transmission state (An emissivity exhibited by a subject can be affected by the subject's reflectivity. A strong source of illumination (for example sunlight entering a window) reflecting from a subject can impact the temperature measurement. AI algorithms can detect the presence, type, and location of a strong illumination source through deep learning of shadow data sets, 0124) (The light source may be a multi-spectral light source that is configured to emit light in a first spectral wavelength range to illuminate some portions of the body of the operator. The camera may be configured to detect light in a second spectral wavelength range, detect light received from some portions of the body of the operator, The received light may include reflections of the light emitted by the light source.… The imaging data generator may be configured to generate image data based on the emitted light and the detected light. The image data may, for example, include the values of the wavelengths included in the emitted light and in the detected light. The image data may further include, for example, the intensities of those wavelengths. The biometric measurement module 3920 may be configured to receive the image data from the imaging module 3910 and, based on the image data, perform one or more biometric measurements on the human operator, 0169-0172).
Hama et al. Pasula et al., and Mojaver et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of user/biometric authentication.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Mojaver et al. in Hama et al. and Pasula et al. for obtaining direct and accurate distance measurements to the subjects being monitored, to estimate/obtain more accurate emissivity, illumination conditions (incident angle of light), geometric properties of the space surrounding a subject, and age of the subject may be considered. The presence of eyeglasses, masks, facial hair, make-up, or perspiration as well as facing direction will impact the temperature readings. Asking a person to alter their head coverings for the purpose of a temperature measurement is sometimes impractical or even unsafe, and will certainly disrupt the normal flow of traffic if the measurement station is set up at a location where there is a flow of traffic. (see Mojaver et al. 0122, 0124, 0201)
Claim 8:
With respect to claim 8, the combination of Hama et al. Pasula et al., and Mojaver et al. the limitations of claim 1, as addressed.
Pasula et al. teaches a kiosk machine that can be utilized for various purposes that require identification/verification of a user via one or multiple biometric authentication processes. (0020, Figure 1), wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
determine, based on the imaged image, a reflection state of the illumination light at an article worn by the target, and control at least one of the illumination apparatus and the imaging apparatus based on the reflection state (reflections ( e.g. specular reflections) of the illumination source from a user's eyeglasses decreases the quality of the image taken, and thus interferes with a biometric authentication process or the like based on detection of the iris pattern or the ocular vasculature, and in the example in fig. 2, which illustrates the removal of specular reflections from images of the eyeglasses, the upper image represents an image captured under illumination with a specific polarization state (Pl), the lower image represents an image taken under illumination with a different polarization state (P2), and the polarization states Pl and P2 correspond to two different sources that are spatially separated. Therefore, specular reflections corresponding to the two sources appear in different portions of the corresponding images, and the specular reflection in one image can be removed, for example, by replacing corresponding pixel values in the image with similar pixel values from another image within a timeframe in which the two images are sufficiently close. 0025, Figure 2).
Hama et al. and Pasula et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of user/biometric authentication.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Pasula et al. in Hama et al. for allowing removing reflections (e.g., specular reflections) from images captured in the presence of one or more artificial illumination sources such as light emitting diode (LED) lights. Such specular reflections may be detrimental to the underlying biometric authentication process, for example, by occluding eye or facial features that may otherwise be used by the process. In some cases, this may affect the accuracy and/or efficiency of the underlying biometric authentication system, for example by adversely affecting the false positive and/or the false negative rates. (see 0017 Pasula et al.)
Claim 9:
With respect to claim 9, the combination of Hama et al. Pasula et al., and Mojaver et al. the limitations of claim 1, as addressed.
Hama et al. discloses the positional relationship (when the acquired biometric image cannot be used for registration and verification of biometric information and the biometric image is re-captured, the image acquisition unit switches the contents of control for the biometric sensor device and the touch panel device according to the reason for not being able to use the acquired biometric image for registration and verification of biometric information. For example, if the distance (corresponding to the "positional relationship" in the invention as in claim 1) from the biometric sensor device to the body part is shorter than an appropriate distance, the image acquisition unit causes the display unit of the touch panel device to display information indicating that the distance from the biometric sensor device to the body part should be increased, and for example, if the captured biometric image is affected by strong external light ( corresponding to the "ambient light around the subject" in the invention as in claim 1, and the "factor that can affect the illuminance" in the invention as in claim 18), the image acquisition unit changes the control information for the imaging unit and the light projecting unit of the biometric sensor device ( corresponding to "controls at least one of the illumination device and the imaging device" in the invention as in claim 1) and causes the biometric sensor device to re-capture the biometric image. 0027).
Pasula et al. teaches illumination light at an article worn by the target (reflections ( e.g. specular reflections) of the illumination source from a user's eyeglasses decreases the quality of the image taken, and thus interferes with a biometric authentication process or the like based on detection of the iris pattern or the ocular vasculature, and in the example in fig. 2, which illustrates the removal of specular reflections from images of the eyeglasses, the upper image represents an image captured under illumination with a specific polarization state (Pl), the lower image represents an image taken under illumination with a different polarization state (P2), and the polarization states Pl and P2 correspond to two different sources that are spatially separated. Therefore, specular reflections corresponding to the two sources appear in different portions of the corresponding images, and the specular reflection in one image can be removed, for example, by replacing corresponding pixel values in the image with similar pixel values from another image within a timeframe in which the two images are sufficiently close. 0025, Figure 2).
Mojaver et al. teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
determine, based on the imaged image, each of whether or not an article worn by the target is present (a visible spectrum imaging device can detect a person's pose and/or face occlusions and provide information for correcting the temperature data from the IRT imaging device. By more effectively identifying occlusions such as face masks, eyeglasses, facial hair, and other coverings, the emissivity can be more accurately corrected, and thus a person's body temperature can be more accurately determined. Most prior art systems determine the temperature of a person by averaging all the pixels on a person's face (as detected by the visible camera AI algorithm) which can be inaccurate if the face is partly occluded. 0123), and whether or not a shadow of the article is present on a body part of the target (An emissivity exhibited by a subject can be affected by the subject's reflectivity. A strong source of illumination (for example sunlight entering a window) reflecting from a subject can impact the temperature measurement. AI algorithms can detect the presence, type, and location of a strong illumination source through deep learning of shadow data sets, 0124); and
learn a relationship among whether or not the article is present, and whether or not the shadow is present, control at least one of the illumination apparatus and the imaging apparatus based on a learned result (AI processor is “trained” with reference data sets of known objects (for example, people with different head and face coverings in different poses) with image data captured in mono and stereo configurations using different illumination conditions both polarized and unpolarized light to establish a ground truth (e.g., a training dataset). The AI-based feedback system is then used to construct the basis for correction via machine-learning of measured temperatures extended with mathematical models of known distances, known temperatures and humidity values, etc.0121) (AI algorithms can detect the presence, type, and location of a strong illumination source through deep learning of shadow data sets. The age and sex of a subject are also determined using AI, typically inferred from the ground truth established during labeling of subjects., These data relating to the emissivity of the subjects may be analyzed by the AI processor and be used to compensate the nominal temperature measurements, e.g., by employing a scaling factor as a ratio of the measured emissivity and an assumed emissivity. This method uses the standard AI training approach with the ground truth established using direct temperature measurements of a large sample set using a thermometer., 0124).
Hama et al. Pasula et al., and Mojaver et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of user/biometric authentication.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Mojaver et al. in Hama et al. and Pasula et al. for obtaining direct and accurate distance measurements to the subjects being monitored, to estimate/obtain more accurate emissivity, illumination conditions (incident angle of light), geometric properties of the space surrounding a subject, and age of the subject may be considered. The presence of eyeglasses, masks, facial hair, make-up, or perspiration as well as facing direction will impact the temperature readings. Asking a person to alter their head coverings for the purpose of a temperature measurement is sometimes impractical or even unsafe, and will certainly disrupt the normal flow of traffic if the measurement station is set up at a location where there is a flow of traffic. (see Mojaver et al. 0122, 0124, 0201)
Claim 10:
With respect to claim 10, the combination of Hama et al. Pasula et al., and Mojaver et al. the limitations of claim 1, as addressed.
Hama et al. discloses the positional relationship (when the acquired biometric image cannot be used for registration and verification of biometric information and the biometric image is re-captured, the image acquisition unit switches the contents of control for the biometric sensor device and the touch panel device according to the reason for not being able to use the acquired biometric image for registration and verification of biometric information. For example, if the distance (corresponding to the "positional relationship" in the invention as in claim 1) from the biometric sensor device to the body part is shorter than an appropriate distance, the image acquisition unit causes the display unit of the touch panel device to display information indicating that the distance from the biometric sensor device to the body part should be increased, and for example, if the captured biometric image is affected by strong external light ( corresponding to the "ambient light around the subject" in the invention as in claim 1, and the "factor that can affect the illuminance" in the invention as in claim 18), the image acquisition unit changes the control information for the imaging unit and the light projecting unit of the biometric sensor device ( corresponding to "controls at least one of the illumination device and the imaging device" in the invention as in claim 1) and causes the biometric sensor device to re-capture the biometric image. 0027).
Pasula et al. teaches illumination light at an article worn by the target (reflections ( e.g. specular reflections) of the illumination source from a user's eyeglasses decreases the quality of the image taken, and thus interferes with a biometric authentication process or the like based on detection of the iris pattern or the ocular vasculature, and in the example in fig. 2, which illustrates the removal of specular reflections from images of the eyeglasses, the upper image represents an image captured under illumination with a specific polarization state (Pl), the lower image represents an image taken under illumination with a different polarization state (P2), and the polarization states Pl and P2 correspond to two different sources that are spatially separated. Therefore, specular reflections corresponding to the two sources appear in different portions of the corresponding images, and the specular reflection in one image can be removed, for example, by replacing corresponding pixel values in the image with similar pixel values from another image within a timeframe in which the two images are sufficiently close. 0025, Figure 2), a reflection state of the illumination light at the article (reflections ( e.g. specular reflections) of the illumination source from a user's eyeglasses decreases the quality of the image taken, and thus interferes with a biometric authentication process or the like based on detection of the iris pattern or the ocular vasculature, and in the example in fig. 2, which illustrates the removal of specular reflections from images of the eyeglasses, the upper image represents an image captured under illumination with a specific polarization state (Pl), the lower image represents an image taken under illumination with a different polarization state (P2), and the polarization states Pl and P2 correspond to two different sources that are spatially separated. Therefore, specular reflections corresponding to the two sources appear in different portions of the corresponding images, and the specular reflection in one image can be removed, for example, by replacing corresponding pixel values in the image with similar pixel values from another image within a timeframe in which the two images are sufficiently close. 0025, Figure 2).
Mojaver et al. teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: determine, based on the imaged image, each of whether or not an article worn by the target is present (a visible spectrum imaging device can detect a person's pose and/or face occlusions and provide information for correcting the temperature data from the IRT imaging device. By more effectively identifying occlusions such as face masks, eyeglasses, facial hair, and other coverings, the emissivity can be more accurately corrected, and thus a person's body temperature can be more accurately determined. Most prior art systems determine the temperature of a person by averaging all the pixels on a person's face (as detected by the visible camera AI algorithm) which can be inaccurate if the face is partly occluded. 0123), and whether or not a shadow of the article is present on a body part of the target
(An emissivity exhibited by a subject can be affected by the subject's reflectivity. A strong source of illumination (for example sunlight entering a window) reflecting from a subject can impact the temperature measurement. AI algorithms can detect the presence, type, and location of a strong illumination source through deep learning of shadow data sets, 0124);
learn a relationship among whether or not the article is present, and whether or not the shadow is present, control, based on a learned result, at least one of the illumination apparatus and the imaging apparatus so that reflection is eliminated. (A strong source of illumination (for example sunlight entering a window) reflecting from a subject can impact the temperature measurement. AI algorithms can detect the presence, type, and location of a strong illumination source through deep learning of shadow data sets. These data relating to the emissivity of the subjects may be analyzed by the AI processor and be used to compensate the nominal temperature measurements, e.g., by employing a scaling factor as a ratio of the measured emissivity and an assumed emissivity. This method uses the standard AI training approach with the ground truth established using direct temperature measurements of a large sample set using a thermometer., 0124).
Hama et al. Pasula et al., and Mojaver et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of user/biometric authentication.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Mojaver et al. in Hama et al. and Pasula et al. for obtaining direct and accurate distance measurements to the subjects being monitored, to estimate/obtain more accurate emissivity, illumination conditions (incident angle of light), geometric properties of the space surrounding a subject, and age of the subject may be considered. The presence of eyeglasses, masks, facial hair, make-up, or perspiration as well as facing direction will impact the temperature readings. Asking a person to alter their head coverings for the purpose of a temperature measurement is sometimes impractical or even unsafe, and will certainly disrupt the normal flow of traffic if the measurement station is set up at a location where there is a flow of traffic. (see Mojaver et al. 0122, 0124, 0201)
Claim 12:
With respect to claim 12, Hama et al. discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to calculate a quality value of the imaged image based on a comparison result between the brightness information and predetermined registered brightness information, and request an authentication apparatus to perform the biometric authentication based on the quality value (the determination unit determines whether the acquired biometric image may be used for registration and verification of biometric information, for example, determines whether it is possible to extract appropriate biometric information from the biometric image on the basis of the ratio of pixels with a luminance value ( corresponding to the "luminance information of the subject in the captured image" in the invention as in claim 1) equal to or greater than a first threshold value among all the pixels in one biometric image, and if the ratio (corresponding to the "quality value" in the invention as in claim 12) of pixels with a luminance value equal to or greater than the first threshold value is higher than a second threshold value, the determination unit determines that there is a saturated region of luminance in the biometric image and that it is difficult to extract appropriate biometric information, and in such a case, the determination unit further determines whether the occurrence of the saturated region is due to proximity to the body part or due to being affected by external light. 0028-0029).
Claim 14:
With respect to claim 14, Hama et al. discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to control at least one of the illumination apparatus and the imaging apparatus, based on a change in the positional relationship in the biometric authentication that has already been performed (when the acquired biometric image cannot be used for registration and verification of biometric information and the biometric image is re-captured, the image acquisition unit switches the contents of control for the biometric sensor device and the touch panel device according to the reason for not being able to use the acquired biometric image for registration and verification of biometric information. For example, if the distance (corresponding to the "positional relationship" in the invention as in claim 1) from the biometric sensor device to the body part is shorter than an appropriate distance, the image acquisition unit causes the display unit of the touch panel device to display information indicating that the distance from the biometric sensor device to the body part should be increased, and for example, if the captured biometric image is affected by strong external light ( corresponding to the "ambient light around the subject" in the invention as in claim 1, and the "factor that can affect the illuminance" in the invention as in claim 18), the image acquisition unit changes the control information for the imaging unit and the light projecting unit of the biometric sensor device ( corresponding to "controls at least one of the illumination device and the imaging device" in the invention as in claim 1) and causes the biometric sensor device to re-capture the biometric image. 0027), illuminance of the illumination light
irradiated by the illumination apparatus (when the acquired biometric image cannot be used for registration and verification of biometric information and the biometric image is re-captured, the image acquisition unit switches the contents of control for the biometric sensor device and the touch panel device according to the reason for not being able to use the acquired biometric image for registration and verification of biometric information. For example, if the distance (corresponding to the "positional relationship" in the invention as in claim 1) from the biometric sensor device to the body part is shorter than an appropriate distance, the image acquisition unit causes the display unit of the touch panel device to display information indicating that the distance from the biometric sensor device to the body part should be increased, and for example, if the captured biometric image is affected by strong external light ( corresponding to the "ambient light around the subject" in the invention as in claim 1, and the "factor that can affect the illuminance" in the invention as in claim 18), the image acquisition unit changes the control information for the imaging unit and the light projecting unit of the biometric sensor device ( corresponding to "controls at least one of the illumination device and the imaging device" in the invention as in claim 1) and causes the biometric sensor device to re-capture the biometric image. 0027), and brightness information (the image acquisition unit, for example, controls the imaging conditions (for example, gain, exposure time, etc.) of the imaging unit of the biometric sensor device and the output (brightness) of the light projecting unit on the basis of control information stored in the storage unit. 0024-0025).
Claim 15:
With respect to claim 15, Hama et al. discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to control at least one of the illumination apparatus and the imaging apparatus, based on a change in each of a comparison score in the biometric authentication that has already been performed and the positional relationship (the determination unit determines whether the acquired biometric image may be used for registration and verification of biometric information, for example, determines whether it is possible to extract appropriate biometric information from the biometric image on the basis of the ratio of pixels with a luminance value ( corresponding to the "luminance information of the subject in the captured image" in the invention as in claim 1) equal to or greater than a first threshold value among all the pixels in one biometric image, and if the ratio (corresponding to the "quality value" in the invention as in claim 12) of pixels with a luminance value equal to or greater than the first threshold value is higher than a second threshold value, the determination unit determines that there is a saturated region of luminance in the biometric image and that it is difficult to extract appropriate biometric information, and in such a case, the determination unit further determines whether the occurrence of the saturated region is due to proximity to the body part or due to being affected by external light. 0028-0029).
Claim 24:
With respect to claim 24, Hama et al. discloses an information processing apparatus (an image processing device comprising an image acquisition unit, a determination unit, a registration verification unit, and a storage unit, Figure 1) comprising:
at least one memory configured to store instructions (memory 2002, Figure 10); and
at least one processor (processor 2001, Figure 10) configured to execute the instructions to:
obtain a positional relationship between a target of biometric authentication and an imaging apparatus that images the target, ambient light information including at least one of illumination light irradiated to the target by an illumination apparatus and ambient light around the target (when the acquired biometric image cannot be used for registration and verification of biometric information and the biometric image is re-captured, the image acquisition unit switches the contents of control for the biometric sensor device and the touch panel device according to the reason for not being able to use the acquired biometric image for registration and verification of biometric information. For example, if the distance ( corresponding to the "positional relationship" in the invention as in claim 1) from the biometric sensor device to the body part is shorter than an appropriate distance, the image acquisition unit causes the display unit of the touch panel device to display information indicating that the distance from the biometric sensor device to the body part should be increased, and for example, if the captured biometric image is affected by strong external light ( corresponding to the "ambient light around the subject" in the invention as in claim 1, and the "factor that can affect the illuminance" in the invention as in claim 18), the image acquisition unit changes the control information for the imaging unit and the light projecting unit of the biometric sensor device ( corresponding to "controls at least one of the illumination device and the imaging device" in the invention as in claim 1) and causes the biometric sensor device to re-capture the biometric image. 0027)
and brightness information at the target in an imaged image imaged by the imaging apparatus (the image acquisition unit, for example, controls the imaging conditions (for example, gain, exposure time, etc.) of the imaging unit of the biometric sensor device and the output (brightness) of the light projecting unit on the basis of control information stored in the storage unit. 0024-0025);
control at least one of the illumination apparatus and the imaging apparatus, based on the positional relationship, the ambient light information, and the brightness information (the image acquisition unit acquires, from an imaging unit of a biometric sensor device ( corresponding to the "imaging device" in the invention as in claim 1), an image (hereinafter referred to as "biometric image") in which a body part is captured; the biometric sensor device includes the imaging unit that captures the body part and a light projecting unit (corresponding to the "illumination device" in the invention as in claim 1) that projects light onto (irradiates with light) the body part when the body part is being captured; and the image acquisition unit, for example, controls the imaging conditions (for example, gain, exposure time, etc.) of the imaging unit of the biometric sensor device and the output (brightness) of the light projecting unit on the basis of control information stored in the storage unit. 0024-0025) (if the distance ( corresponding to the "positional relationship" in the invention as in claim 1) from the biometric sensor device to the body part is shorter than an appropriate distance, the image acquisition unit causes the display unit of the touch panel device to display information indicating that the distance from the biometric sensor device to the body part should be increased, and for example, if the captured biometric image is affected by strong external light ( corresponding to the "ambient light around the subject" in the invention as in claim 1, and the "factor that can affect the illuminance" in the invention as in claim 18), the image acquisition unit changes the control information for the imaging unit and the light projecting unit of the biometric sensor device ( corresponding to "controls at least one of the illumination device and the imaging device" in the invention as in claim 1) and causes the biometric sensor device to re-capture the biometric image. 0027).
Pasula et al. teaches illumination light at an article worn by the target (reflections ( e.g. specular reflections) of the illumination source from a user's eyeglasses decreases the quality of the image taken, and thus interferes with a biometric authentication process or the like based on detection of the iris pattern or the ocular vasculature, and in the example in fig. 2, which illustrates the removal of specular reflections from images of the eyeglasses, the upper image represents an image captured under illumination with a specific polarization state (Pl), the lower image represents an image taken under illumination with a different polarization state (P2), and the polarization states Pl and P2 correspond to two different sources that are spatially separated. Therefore, specular reflections corresponding to the two sources appear in different portions of the corresponding images, and the specular reflection in one image can be removed, for example, by replacing corresponding pixel values in the image with similar pixel values from another image within a timeframe in which the two images are sufficiently close. 0025, Figure 2).
Hama et al. and Pasula et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of user/biometric authentication.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Pasula et al. in Hama et al. for allowing removing reflections (e.g., specular reflections) from images captured in the presence of one or more artificial illumination sources such as light emitting diode (LED) lights. Such specular reflections may be detrimental to the underlying biometric authentication process, for example, by occluding eye or facial features that may otherwise be used by the process. In some cases, this may affect the accuracy and/or efficiency of the underlying biometric authentication system, for example by adversely affecting the false positive and/or the false negative rates. (see 0017 Pasula et al.)
Mojaver et al. teaches imaging systems that allow measuring a variety of biometric parameters of subjects. (0002), a multi-spectral light source configured to emit light in a first spectral wavelength range for illuminating at least a portion of the human operator, the biometric measurement module is configured to: receive the image data; and based on the image data, perform at least one biometric measurement on the human operator; the risk detection module is configured to: based on the biometric measurements establish a safety risk associated with the human operator; and the risk response module is configured to: based on the safety risk generate a risk response (0017),
determine, based on the imaged image, each of whether or not an article worn by the target is present (a visible spectrum imaging device can detect a person's pose and/or face occlusions and provide information for correcting the temperature data from the IRT imaging device. By more effectively identifying occlusions such as face masks, eyeglasses, facial hair, and other coverings, the emissivity can be more accurately corrected, and thus a person's body temperature can be more accurately determined. Most prior art systems determine the temperature of a person by averaging all the pixels on a person's face (as detected by the visible camera AI algorithm) which can be inaccurate if the face is partly occluded. 0123), and whether or not a shadow of the article is present on a body part of the target (An emissivity exhibited by a subject can be affected by the subject's reflectivity. A strong source of illumination (for example sunlight entering a window) reflecting from a subject can impact the temperature measurement. AI algorithms can detect the presence, type, and location of a strong illumination source through deep learning of shadow data sets, 0124); and
learn a relationship among whether or not the article is present, the positional relationship, and whether or not the shadow is present (AI processor is “trained” with reference data sets of known objects (for example, people with different head and face coverings in different poses) with image data captured in mono and stereo configurations using different illumination conditions both polarized and unpolarized light to establish a ground truth (e.g., a training dataset). The AI-based feedback system is then used to construct the basis for correction via machine-learning of measured temperatures extended with mathematical models of known distances, known temperatures and humidity values, etc.0121) (AI algorithms can detect the presence, type, and location of a strong illumination source through deep learning of shadow data sets. The age and sex of a subject are also determined using AI, typically inferred from the ground truth established during labeling of subjects., These data relating to the emissivity of the subjects may be analyzed by the AI processor and be used to compensate the nominal temperature measurements, e.g., by employing a scaling factor as a ratio of the measured emissivity and an assumed emissivity. This method uses the standard AI training approach with the ground truth established using direct temperature measurements of a large sample set using a thermometer., 0124).
wherein the at least one processor is configured to control at least one of the illumination apparatus and the imaging apparatus based on a learned result (An emissivity exhibited by a subject can be affected by the subject's reflectivity. A strong source of illumination (for example sunlight entering a window) reflecting from a subject can impact the temperature measurement. AI algorithms can detect the presence, type, and location of a strong illumination source through deep learning of shadow data sets, 0124) (The light source may be a multi-spectral light source that is configured to emit light in a first spectral wavelength range to illuminate some portions of the body of the operator. The camera may be configured to detect light in a second spectral wavelength range, detect light received from some portions of the body of the operator, The received light may include reflections of the light emitted by the light source.… The imaging data generator may be configured to generate image data based on the emitted light and the detected light. The image data may, for example, include the values of the wavelengths included in the emitted light and in the detected light. The image data may further include, for example, the intensities of those wavelengths. The biometric measurement module 3920 may be configured to receive the image data from the imaging module 3910 and, based on the image data, perform one or more biometric measurements on the human operator, 0169-0172).
Hama et al. Pasula et al., and Mojaver et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of user/biometric authentication.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Mojaver et al. in Hama et al. and Pasula et al. for obtaining direct and accurate distance measurements to the subjects being monitored, to estimate/obtain more accurate emissivity, illumination conditions (incident angle of light), geometric properties of the space surrounding a subject, and age of the subject may be considered. The presence of eyeglasses, masks, facial hair, make-up, or perspiration as well as facing direction will impact the temperature readings. Asking a person to alter their head coverings for the purpose of a temperature measurement is sometimes impractical or even unsafe, and will certainly disrupt the normal flow of traffic if the measurement station is set up at a location where there is a flow of traffic. (see Mojaver et al. 0122, 0124, 0201)
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hama et al. (US2019/0065710 A1, publish date 02/28/2019) ) in view of Pasula et al. (US 2020/0311889 A1, publish date 10/01/2020) further in view of Mojaver et al. (US2022/0132052 A1, file date 10/25/2021) further in view of WO 2009/016846 A1 (PANASONIC CORP.) 05 February 2009 (2009-02-05).
Claim 2:
With respect to claim 2, the combination of Hama et al. Pasula et al., and Mojaver et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1, as addressed.
Hama et al. discloses the image processing device may be a device used in combination with a biometric sensor device that extracts biometric information (for example, a face, an iris, or the like) other than the veins in the palm of a hand (0076).
PANASONIC CORP. teaches wherein the ambient light information is associated in advance with the positional relationship, and wherein at ;east one processor is configured to update the ambient light information based on an imaging condition of the imaged image, and a result of the biometric authentication performed based on the imaged image (an iris authentication device provided with a re-authentication function for a to-be-authenticated person (user) for which iris authentication has failed, in which the iris authentication device is provided with a second iris camera for capturing the iris of the user for which iris authentication (corresponding to the "biometric authentication results" in the invention as in claim 2) has failed, and installed near the iris authentication device is a re-authentication area for performing re-authentication of the user for which iris authentication has failed, and the second iris camera for re-authentication is a close-up camera, the iris camera for normal authentication is a long-distance camera, and an illumination control is performed so as to turn on the lower side of an illumination unit if performing illumination for re-authentication (short distance illumination) and to turn on the upper side of the illumination unit if performing illumination for normal iris authentication (long distance illumination) (corresponding to "updates the ambient light information" in the invention as in claim 2, and corresponding to "controls ... the illumination device" in the invention as in claim 3). The normal iris authentication and re-authentication correspond to the "type of biometric authentication" in the invention as in claim 4. 0101, 0103, 0104, Figure 21 and 22).
Hama et al., Pasula et al., and Mojaver et al. and PANASONIC CORP are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of user/biometric authentication.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use PANASONIC CORP in Hama et al. Pasula et al., and Mojaver et al. for providing an iris recognition device/user authentication that can accurately perform iris recognition in the natural behavior of the user. (see 0009 PANASONIC CORP).
Claim 3:
With respect to claim 3, the combination of Hama et al. Pasula et al., and Mojaver et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1, as addressed.
Hama et al. discloses the image processing device may be a device used in combination with a biometric sensor device that extracts biometric information (for example, a face, an iris, or the like) other than the veins in the palm of a hand (0076).
PANASONIC CORP. teaches wherein at least one processor is configured to control at least one of the illumination apparatus and the imaging apparatus based on an imaging condition of the imaged image, the positional relationship at a time of imaging, and a result of the biometric authentication performed based on the imaged image (an iris authentication device provided with a re-authentication function for a to-be-authenticated person (user) for which iris authentication has failed, in which the iris authentication device is provided with a second iris camera for capturing the iris of the user for which iris authentication ( corresponding to the "biometric authentication results" in the invention as in claim 2) has failed, and installed near the iris authentication device is a re-authentication area for performing re-authentication of the user for which iris authentication has failed, and the second iris camera for re-authentication is a close-up camera, the iris camera for normal authentication is a long-distance camera, and an illumination control is performed so as to turn on the lower side of an illumination unit if performing illumination for re-authentication (short distance illumination) and to turn on the upper side of the illumination unit if performing illumination for normal iris authentication (long distance illumination) (corresponding to "updates the ambient light information" in the invention as in claim 2, and corresponding to "controls ... the illumination device" in the invention as in claim 3). The normal iris authentication and re-authentication correspond to the "type of biometric authentication" in the invention as in claim 4. 0101, 0103, 0104, Figure 21 and 22).
Hama et al., Pasula et al., and Mojaver et al. and PANASONIC CORP are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of user/biometric authentication.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use PANASONIC CORP in Hama et al. Pasula et al., and Mojaver et al. for providing an iris recognition device/user authentication that can accurately perform iris recognition in the natural behavior of the user. (see 0009 PANASONIC CORP).
Claim 4:
With respect to claim 4, the combination of Hama et al. Pasula et al., and Mojaver et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1, as addressed.
Hama et al. discloses the image processing device may be a device used in combination with a biometric sensor device that extracts biometric information (for example, a face, an iris, or the like) other than the veins in the palm of a hand (0076).
PANASONIC CORP. teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to turn on the illumination apparatus among a plurality of the illumination apparatuses that corresponds to a type of the biometric authentication performed in the positional relationship (an iris authentication device provided with a re-authentication function for a to-be-authenticated person (user) for which iris authentication has failed, in which the iris authentication device is provided with a second iris camera for capturing the iris of the user for which iris authentication ( corresponding to the "biometric authentication results" in the invention as in claim 2) has failed, and installed near the iris authentication device is a re-authentication area for performing re-authentication of the user for which iris authentication has failed, and the second iris camera for re-authentication is a close-up camera, the iris camera for normal authentication is a long-distance camera, and an illumination control is performed so as to turn on the lower side of an illumination unit if performing illumination for re-authentication (short distance illumination) and to turn on the upper side of the illumination unit if performing illumination for normal iris authentication (long distance illumination) (corresponding to "updates the ambient light information" in the invention as in claim 2, and corresponding to "controls ... the illumination device" in the invention as in claim 3). The normal iris authentication and re-authentication correspond to the "type of biometric authentication" in the invention as in claim 4. 0101, 0103, 0104, Figure 21 and 22).
Hama et al., Pasula et al., and Mojaver et al. and PANASONIC CORP are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of user/biometric authentication.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use PANASONIC CORP in Hama et al. Pasula et al., and Mojaver et al. for providing an iris recognition device/user authentication that can accurately perform iris recognition in the natural behavior of the user. (see 0009 PANASONIC CORP).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hama et al. (US2019/0065710 A1, publish date 02/28/2019) ) in view of Pasula et al. (US 2020/0311889 A1, publish date 10/01/2020) further in view of Mojaver et al. (US2022/0132052 A1, file date 10/25/2021) further in view of JP 2014/184002 A (FUJITSU LTD.) 02 October 2014 (2014-10-02),
Claim 5:
With respect to claim 5, the combination of Hama et al. Pasula et al., and Mojaver et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1, as addressed.
FUJITSU LTD. teaches wherein at least one processor is configured to control at least one of the illumination apparatus and the imaging apparatus based on a color of a body part of the target indicated by the brightness information (a biometric detection device that executes a biometric detection process for determining whether a face area is part of a living body on the basis of whether a pulse wave, i.e., variation in the volume of blood accompanying the pulsation of the heart, is detected from a face area included in an image, in which the biometric detection process is, as an example, applied to an image captured when executing facial authentication if facial authentication is used for logging into various devices or various systems, or for entering/exiting a facility or the like. 0013-0014) (biometric detection results can be used for digital camera imaging, etc., and, for example, an imaging device can be configured to extract one or multiple face candidates from an image captured by a camera, execute biometric detection for each face candidate, and execute a focusing process for focusing on a face candidate detected as part of a living body or execute a luminance or hue adjustment process (corresponding to "controls ... the imaging device" in the invention as in claim 5) such that the brightness or color (corresponding to the "color of the body part of the subject indicated by luminance information" in the invention as in claim 5) of the face candidate is optimized. 0098).
Hama et al., Pasula et al., and Mojaver et al. and FUJITSU LTD. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of user/biometric authentication
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use FUJITSU LTD. in Hama et al., Pasula et al., and Mojaver et al. for providing biometric detection devices, facial recognition devices, imaging devices, biodetection methods and biodetection programs that can improve resistance to counterfeiting. (see 0008 FUJITSU LTD.).
Claims 6, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hama et al. (US2019/0065710 A1, publish date 02/28/2019) ) in view of Pasula et al. (US 2020/0311889 A1, publish date 10/01/2020) further in view of Mojaver et al. (US2022/0132052 A1, file date 10/25/2021) further in view of Wang et al. (US2017/0155829 A1, publish date 06/01/2017).
Claim 6:
With respect to claim 6, the combination of Hama et al. Pasula et al., and Mojaver et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1, as addressed.
Wang et al. teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to control at least one of the illumination apparatus and the imaging apparatus based on at least one of a position of a face of the target in a three-dimensional space specified from the imaged image, moving speed of the target specified from the positional relationship, and a gait of the target specified from the positional relationship (a camera head imaging angle adjustment method, the method including: a step for identifying a human body position within a range in which a camera head can capture; a step for adjusting the imaging angle of the camera head so that the image in which the human body position is located is present at the center of a screen of a video captured by the camera head; a step for identifying a human face position on the screen of the video captured by the camera head; and a step for finely adjusting the imaging angle of the camera head in accordance with the human face position such that the image in which the human face position is located is present at the center of the screen of the video captured by the camera head. discloses matters corresponding to the feature of "controls ... an imaging device on the basis of ... the position of the face of the subject in a three-dimensional space identified from the captured image" in the invention as in claim 6. 0005).
Hama et al., Pasula et al., and Mojaver et al. and Wang et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of user/biometric authentication.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Wang et al. in Hama et al., Pasula et al., and Mojaver et al. for automatically fine-adjusted based on the position of the human face, without the need for users to manually adjust the shooting angle of the camera, thereby reducing the complexity of users' operations and improving the accuracy of adjusting the shooting angle. (see 0004, 0039 Wang et al.)
Claim 11:
With respect to claim 11, the combination of Hama et al. Pasula et al., and Mojaver et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1, as addressed.
Mojaver et al. teaches learn a relationship among displacement in the brightness information, whether or not an article worn by the target is present, whether or not a shadow of the article is present on a body part of the target, and a reflection state of the illumination light at the article, (An emissivity exhibited by a subject can be affected by the subject's reflectivity. A strong source of illumination (for example sunlight entering a window) reflecting from a subject can impact the temperature measurement. AI algorithms can detect the presence, type, and location of a strong illumination source through deep learning of shadow data sets, 0124), and control at least one of the illumination apparatus and the imaging apparatus based on a learned result (AI processor is “trained” with reference data sets of known objects (for example, people with different head and face coverings in different poses) with image data captured in mono and stereo configurations using different illumination conditions both polarized and unpolarized light to establish a ground truth (e.g., a training dataset). The AI-based feedback system is then used to construct the basis for correction via machine-learning of measured temperatures extended with mathematical models of known distances, known temperatures and humidity values, etc.0121) (AI algorithms can detect the presence, type, and location of a strong illumination source through deep learning of shadow data sets. The age and sex of a subject are also determined using AI, typically inferred from the ground truth established during labeling of subjects., These data relating to the emissivity of the subjects may be analyzed by the AI processor and be used to compensate the nominal temperature measurements, e.g., by employing a scaling factor as a ratio of the measured emissivity and an assumed emissivity. This method uses the standard AI training approach with the ground truth established using direct temperature measurements of a large sample set using a thermometer., 0124).
Hama et al. and Mojaver et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of user/biometric authentication.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Mojaver et al. in Hama et al. for obtaining direct and accurate distance measurements to the subjects being monitored, to estimate/obtain more accurate emissivity, illumination conditions (incident angle of light), geometric properties of the space surrounding a subject, and age of the subject may be considered. The presence of eyeglasses, masks, facial hair, make-up, or perspiration as well as facing direction will impact the temperature readings. Asking a person to alter their head coverings for the purpose of a temperature measurement is sometimes impractical or even unsafe, and will certainly disrupt the normal flow of traffic if the measurement station is set up at a location where there is a flow of traffic. (see Mojaver et al. 0122, 0124, 0201)
Wang et al. teaches a relationship among displacement in an imaging angle
of the imaging apparatus (a camera head imaging angle adjustment method, the method including: a step for identifying a human body position within a range in which a camera head can capture; a step for adjusting the imaging angle of the camera head so that the image in which the human body position is located is present at the center of a screen of a video captured by the camera head; a step for identifying a human face position on the screen of the video captured by the camera head; and a step for finely adjusting the imaging angle of the camera head in accordance with the human face position such that the image in which the human face position is located is present at the center of the screen of the video captured by the camera head. discloses matters corresponding to the feature of "controls ... an imaging device on the basis of ... the position of the face of the subject in a three-dimensional space identified from the captured image" in the invention as in claim 6. 0005).
Hama et al., Pasula et al., and Mojaver et al. and Wang et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of user/biometric authentication.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Wang et al. in Hama et al., Pasula et al., and Mojaver et al. for automatically fine-adjusted based on the position of the human face, without the need for users to manually adjust the shooting angle of the camera, thereby reducing the complexity of users' operations and improving the accuracy of adjusting the shooting angle. (see 0004, 0039 Wang et al.)
Pasula et al. teaches illumination light at an article worn by the target (reflections ( e.g. specular reflections) of the illumination source from a user's eyeglasses decreases the quality of the image taken, and thus interferes with a biometric authentication process or the like based on detection of the iris pattern or the ocular vasculature, and in the example in fig. 2, which illustrates the removal of specular reflections from images of the eyeglasses, the upper image represents an image captured under illumination with a specific polarization state (Pl), the lower image represents an image taken under illumination with a different polarization state (P2), and the polarization states Pl and P2 correspond to two different sources that are spatially separated. Therefore, specular reflections corresponding to the two sources appear in different portions of the corresponding images, and the specular reflection in one image can be removed, for example, by replacing corresponding pixel values in the image with similar pixel values from another image within a timeframe in which the two images are sufficiently close. 0025, Figure 2), a reflection state of the illumination light at the article (reflections ( e.g. specular reflections) of the illumination source from a user's eyeglasses decreases the quality of the image taken, and thus interferes with a biometric authentication process or the like based on detection of the iris pattern or the ocular vasculature, and in the example in fig. 2, which illustrates the removal of specular reflections from images of the eyeglasses, the upper image represents an image captured under illumination with a specific polarization state (Pl), the lower image represents an image taken under illumination with a different polarization state (P2), and the polarization states Pl and P2 correspond to two different sources that are spatially separated. Therefore, specular reflections corresponding to the two sources appear in different portions of the corresponding images, and the specular reflection in one image can be removed, for example, by replacing corresponding pixel values in the image with similar pixel values from another image within a timeframe in which the two images are sufficiently close. 0025, Figure 2).
Hama et al., Pasula et al., and Mojaver et al. and Wang are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of user/biometric authentication.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Pasula et al. in Hama et al. for allowing removing reflections (e.g., specular reflections) from images captured in the presence of one or more artificial illumination sources such as light emitting diode (LED) lights. Such specular reflections may be detrimental to the underlying biometric authentication process, for example, by occluding eye or facial features that may otherwise be used by the process. In some cases, this may affect the accuracy and/or efficiency of the underlying biometric authentication system, for example by adversely affecting the false positive and/or the false negative rates. (see 0017 Pasula et al.)
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hama et al. (US2019/0065710 A1, publish date 02/28/2019) ) in view of Pasula et al. (US 2020/0311889 A1, publish date 10/01/2020) further in view of Mojaver et al. (US2022/0132052 A1, file date 10/25/2021) further in view of WO 2021/176544 Al (FUJITSU LTD.) 10 September 2021 (2021-09-10),
Claim 13:
With respect to claim 13, the combination of Hama et al. Pasula et al., and Mojaver et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1, as addressed.
FUJITSU LTD. teaches an information processing device, and indicate that the information processing device generates representative data per individual which is used for authentication of individuals, the representative data is generated on the basis of imaging data in which biometric features of an individual are captured, the biometric features include physical features and behavioral characteristics of the individual, and examples of the physical features include fingerprints, veins, irises, the face, and the like (0012, Figure 1), wherein the at least one processor is configured to correct a quality value of the imaged image based on a displacement amount of illuminance of the illumination light per unit time, and request an authentication apparatus to perform the biometric authentication based on the quality value (the information processing device has a storage unit and a processing unit, the storage unit stores multiple pieces of imaging data of an individual captured in advance by a sensor and multiple pieces of quality information corresponding to the multiple pieces of imaging data, and the quality information includes an index value indicating the quality of each piece of imaging data. 0013-0014) (the quality of the imaging data differs depending on the sensing conditions of the imaging data, and elements that affect the quality of the imaging data can include, for example, for facial images, blurring at the time of imaging and the inclination of the face with respect to the illumination angle and with respect to the imaging direction at which a lens such as a camera is directed. Thus, in the case of facial images, the index value indicating the quality may be, for example, the degree by which the face is inclined with respect to the imaging direction, which is estimated from coordinate data of feature points on the face, the degree of variation in illumination between the coordinates (corresponding to the "amount of displacement of the illuminance of the illumination light" in the invention as in claim 13), and the degree of blur. 0015).
Hama et al., Pasula et al., and Mojaver et al. and FUJITSU LTD. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of user/biometric authentication.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use FUJITSU LTD. in Hama et al. for improving authentication accuracy. (see 0005, 0006, 0009 FUJITSU LTD.)
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on July 31, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In the remarks, Applicant argues that:
1) Mojaver neither discloses nor suggests controlling "at least one of an irradiation wavelength range of the illumination light of the illumination apparatus and a reception wavelength range in the imaging apparatus, based on a determination result of the transmission state," as recited by claim 1. Mojaver thus corrects emissivity for a temperature measurement; it does not determine a transmission state of illumination light at an article worn by the target, and it does not control an irradiation or reception wavelength range based on such a determination. Neither Hama nor Pasula supplies this feature.
In response to remark/arguments (1), Examiner respectfully disagrees. Mojaver discloses “The visible camera (i.e., adapted to detect primarily in the visible light spectrum) typically has millions of pixels in resolution and is used for face detection and identification” (0100), “a visible spectrum imaging device can detect a person's pose and/or face occlusions and provide information for correcting the temperature data from the IRT imaging device. By more effectively identifying occlusions such as face masks, eyeglasses, facial hair, and other coverings, the emissivity can be more accurately corrected, and thus a person's body temperature can be more accurately determined.” (0123), “The light source may be a multi-spectral light source that is configured to emit light in a first spectral wavelength range to illuminate some portions of the body of the operator. The camera may be configured to detect light in a second spectral wavelength range, detect light received from some portions of the body of the operator, The received light may include reflections of the light emitted by the light source. … The imaging data generator may be configured to generate image data based on the emitted light and the detected light. The image data may, for example, include the values of the wavelengths included in the emitted light and in the detected light. The image data may further include, for example, the intensities of those wavelengths. The biometric measurement module 3920 may be configured to receive the image data from the imaging module 3910 and, based on the image data, perform one or more biometric measurements on the human operator” (0169-0172). Therefore, Examiner maintains that combination of Hama et al. Pasula et al., and Mojaver et al. are analogous does teach and suggest this limitation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HELAI SALEHI/
Examiner, Art Unit 2433
/JEFFREY C PWU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2433