DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The title appears to be a literal translation into English.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Fig. 6b appears to be distorted on the right-hand side.
Reference character “20” has been used to designate both a bottom portion and a shoulder elevation molded segment.
They do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 89.
Claim Objections
Claims 19, 21, 23, 25, and 29-31 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 19, 21, 23, 25, 29 and 30 all include a limitation drawn to an “axial axis”. This limitation appears to be redundant. Does the Applicant intend to claim a longitudinal axis? A vertical axis? etc. Further clarification is required.
Claim 19 currently states “…a shoulder form structure element is molded which is respectively contoured vice versa to the bottom form structure element.” This limitation is unclear. The Examiner believes the claim is intended to state something along the lines of “…a shoulder form structure element is molded which is respectively contoured [[vice versa]] complementary to the bottom form structure element.”
Claim 25 currently states “…the bottom portion is molded polyhedral…” The Examiner believes the claim is intended to state “…the bottom portion is a molded polyhedral…”
Claim 31 references the container being made from a “thermoplastic plastic”. This is redundant.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 17-32 are rejected as failing to define the invention in the manner required by 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
The claim(s) are narrative in form and replete with indefinite language. The structure which goes to make up the device must be clearly and positively specified. The structure must be organized and correlated in such a manner as to present a complete operative device. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors. The claims have been interpreted as best the Examiner can understand below. Note the format of the claims in the patent(s) cited.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite in that it fails to point out what is included or excluded by the claim language. This claim is an omnibus type claim. For example, the “bottom-side” and “shoulder-side” limitations do not appear to make sense in the claim. It is unclear exactly what the Applicant is attempting to claim in claim 19. Due to this lack of clarity, claim 19 is unable to be examined further such that prior art is able to be applied.
Claims 22 and 24 are rejected for being indefinite as they appear to directly contradict claim 17, which they indirectly depend from. Claim 17 has a first container being above the second container, and then claims 22 and 24 state that the second container is above the first container. Further clarification is required. The claims have been interpreted below as best the Examiner can understand.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17, 18, 20-27, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sunohara (US 2020/0270023).
Regarding Claim 17
Sunohara teaches a molded container (below – Fig. 2a-c and 5) capable of containing a medical and/or pharmaceutical preparation and for vertical stacking during transport and/or storage, the molded container defining a container interior and comprising: a bottom portion (24) at a first end of a trunk section; and a shoulder portion (22) at a second end of the trunk section that is axially opposite the first end of the trunk section, the shoulder portion having an axial extension and comprising a container neck (21) in the axial extension; the bottom portion comprising a bottom hollow (shown below) axially recessed in an end of the bottom surface of the bottom portion, the bottom hollow being axially recessed into the container interior, the bottom hollow being configured to contactlessly accommodate a second container neck of a second molded container for stacking the molded container and the second molded container, the end of the bottom surface being molded as a relief-like bottom contour surface outside the bottom hollow, the relief-like bottom contour surface comprising at least one bottom recess molded segment (24b) that is axially recessed, the relief-like bottom contour surface further comprising bottom load contact segments (24a) adjacent to the at least one bottom recess molded segment and axially protruding from the at least one bottom recess molded segment so that the at least one bottom recess molded segment is exempted from a base area of the molded container (Paragraphs [0057]-[0059]).
[AltContent: textbox (Bottom hollow)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding Claim 18
Sunohara teaches the at least one bottom recess molded (24b) segment is configured to be spaced from a second shoulder portion of the second molded container by a gap dimension so that the bottom load contact segments form a load contact area exclusively at the second shoulder portion, as can be seen in Fig. 5 above.
Regarding Claim 20
Sunohara teaches a molded handle (below – Fig. 1a, 10) that is dimensionally stable and attached to the container neck (Fig. 5), wherein a distal molded handle grab section (13) of the molded handle extends substantially radially from the container neck (21); and at least one bottom recess molded segment (24b) is configured to be spaced from the second shoulder portion by at least a minimum gap dimension, wherein the minimum gap dimension exceeds a maximum axial molded handle outer dimension of the distal molded handle grab section, as can be seen in Fig. 5 above (Paragraph [0063]).
Regarding Claim 21
Sunohara teaches the at least one bottom recess molded segment (24b) extends radially; and/or the container neck (21) is arranged in a radially inner shoulder region of the shoulder portion around a central axis, as can be seen in the figures above.
Regarding Claim 22
Sunohara teaches the shoulder portion (22) is convexly molded outside of the container neck (21) with at least one shoulder elevation molded segment (Fig. 1b - shown at 22) between shoulder load contact segments (22a), the at least one shoulder elevation molded segment is configured to face, in a spaced manner, a third bottom recess molded segment (24b) of a third molded container so that a load contact area is divided between the shoulder load contact segments, as can be seen in Fig. 5 above.
Regarding Claim 23
Sunohara teaches the load contact area, in the shoulder load contact segments (22a), is formed flat in a cross-sectional plane of the shoulder portion perpendicular to the central axis, as can be seen in Fig. 5 above.
Regarding Claim 24
Sunohara teaches the at least one shoulder elevation molded segment is configured to engage in at least one third bottom recess molded segment (24b) in a form-locking manner.
Regarding Claim 25
Sunohara teaches the bottom portion (24) is a molded polyhedral with a plurality of corners in a cross-sectional plane perpendicular to a central axis, and wherein all of the corners comprise the bottom load contact segments (24a).
Regarding Claim 26
Sunohara teaches the bottom hollow (shown above) tapers in a direction of the container interior from an opening end, first bottom hollow diameter to a base, second bottom hollow diameter of the inner bottom hollow ground across a bottom hollow depth, as can be seen in Fig. 5.
Regarding Claim 27
Sunohara teaches the molded container comprises at least one rib (shown at 23) extending at least in portions around the trunk section, as can be seen in Fig. 1a above.
Regarding Claim 30
Sunohara teaches a stacking arrangement comprising at least two molded containers according to claim 17, with the at least two molded containers being stacked vertically, as can be seen in Fig. 5 above.
Claim(s) 17, 18, 21, 25, 26, and 28-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rosko et al. (US 2011/0100856) (hereinafter Rosko).
Regarding Claim 17
Rosko teaches a molded container (below – Fig. 1, 5, 9, and 9a) capable of containing a medical and/or pharmaceutical preparation and for vertical stacking during transport and/or storage, the molded container defining a container interior and comprising: a bottom portion (16) at a first end of a trunk section; and a shoulder portion (18) at a second end of the trunk section that is axially opposite the first end of the trunk section, the shoulder portion having an axial extension and comprising a container neck (30) in the axial extension; the bottom portion comprising a bottom hollow (56) axially recessed in an end of the bottom surface of the bottom portion, the bottom hollow being axially recessed into the container interior, the bottom hollow being configured to contactlessly accommodate a second container neck of a second molded container for stacking the molded container and the second molded container, the end of the bottom surface being molded as a relief-like bottom contour surface outside the bottom hollow, the relief-like bottom contour surface comprising at least one bottom recess molded segment (42a-d) that is axially recessed, the relief-like bottom contour surface further comprising bottom load contact segments (40a-d, and at the corners) adjacent to the at least one bottom recess molded segment and axially protruding from the at least one bottom recess molded segment so that the at least one bottom recess molded segment is exempted from a base area of the molded container, as can be seen in the figures below (Paragraphs [0027] – [0036]).
Regarding Claim 18
Rosko teaches the at least one bottom recess molded segment (42a-d) is configured to be spaced from a second shoulder portion of the second molded container by a gap dimension so that the bottom load contact segments form a load contact area exclusively at the second shoulder portion, as can be seen in the figures above.
Regarding Claim 21
Rosko teaches the at least one bottom recess molded segment (42a-d) extends radially; and the container neck (30) is arranged in a radially inner shoulder region of the shoulder portion around a central axis, as can be seen in the figures above.
Regarding Claim 25
Rosko teaches the bottom portion (16) is a molded polyhedral with a plurality of corners in a cross-sectional plane perpendicular to an axial axis, and wherein all of the corners comprise the bottom load contact segments, as can be seen in the figures above.
Regarding Claim 26
Rosko teaches the bottom hollow (56) tapers in a direction of the container interior from an opening end, first bottom hollow diameter to a base, second bottom hollow diameter of the inner bottom hollow ground across a bottom hollow depth, as can be seen in Fig, 9a above.
Regarding Claim 28
Rosko teaches a handhold handle (44) with two opposing handhold handle ends tangentially adjacent to two connection points (50a-b) of two opposing outer lateral surfaces of the molded container to form a handhold handle middle section (46) extending in a, arch-shape between the two opposing handhold handle ends and axially beyond the shoulder portion, as can be seen in the figures above.
Regarding Claim 29
Rosko teaches the handhold handle (44): is attached eccentrically with respect to the two connection points (50a-b); and/or is slanted in the two connection points respectively obliquely to a central axis.
Regarding Claim 30
Rosko teaches a stacking arrangement comprising at least two molded containers according to claim 17 with the at least two molded containers being stacked vertically, as can be seen in the figures above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 31 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sunohara as applied to claim 17 above.
Regarding Claims 31 and 32
Sunohara teaches all the limitations of claim 17 as stated above. Sunohara further teaches a method for manufacturing the molded container according to claim 17, the method comprising the steps of: molding of a thermoplastic that is suitable and/or inert with respect to the medical and/or pharmaceutical preparation (Paragraph [0057]).
Sunohara does not specifically teach molding of a thermoplastic in a thermoplastic flow state within a divisible molding tool formed and configured complementarily to the molded container; and cooling the molded container for removal in a solidified state, or filling of the molded container with the medical and/or pharmaceutical preparation.
Regarding the method including molding of the thermoplastic in a thermoplastic flow state within a divisible molding tool formed and configured complementarily to the molded container; and cooling the molded container for removal in a solidified state, these are commonly known method steps of blow-molding containers, and as such the limitations do not provide patentable distinction over the prior art of record. See MPEP 2143(I)(D).
Regarding the method step of filling the molded container, the step of filling a container after it is molded is exceptionally well known in the art. The container of Sunohara is more than capable of being filled with medical and/or pharmaceutical preparations, as a matter of intended use. See MPEP 2114.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Further pertinent prior art includes but is not limited to that which is listed in the attached Notice of References Cited.
/JENNIFER CASTRIOTTA/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/NATHAN J JENNESS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3733
27 March 2026