DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-6 are pending and examined in the current application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al., (USPatPub. 2020/0323234 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 3 and 4: Watanabe discloses a chocolate composition comprising fat that does not bloom, where the fat comprises 70wt% or more of palm kernel oil (i.e., lauric fat) that is fractionated and interesterified, where the fat comprises triglycerides where 35 mass% is saturated fatty acid having 14 or less carbons, 10 mass% or more of saturated fatty acids having 16-18 carbons (see Waanabe abstract; paragraphs [0013], [0021], [0025] and [0026]), which overlaps the contents of saturated fatty acid having 14 and 16-18 carbons, and the unsaturated to saturated ratio recited in claim 1, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP §2144.05).
As to the total number of carbons in the triglycerides recited in 1(e): Watanabe discloses a fat composition that does not bloom and comprises palm kernel oil that is fractionated and interesterified, but fails to disclose the total number in the triglycerides; However, given the fact the applicant contemplates triglycerides from the same lauric fat source that comprise similar constituents (see Specification paragraphs [0012], [0033]-[0035] and [0042]-[0044]), it is examiner’s position the total number of carbons in the triglycerides recited in 1(e), is inherently present in the fat composition in Watanabe. As set forth in MPEP §2112.01, "where...the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on "inherency" under 35 USC 102, on "prima facie obviousness" under 35 USC 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO's inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products. See In re Brown, 59 CCPA 1036, 459 F.2d 531,173 USPQ 685 (1972)." In re Best, Bolton and Shaw 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claims 2, 5 and 6: While Watanabe fails to disclose the mass ratio of the palmitic acid content to stearic acid content recite in claim 2, Watanabe discloses a chocolate composition comprising fat that does not bloom, where the fat comprises 70wt% or more of palm kernel oil (i.e., lauric fat) that is fractionated and interesterified, where the fat comprises triglycerides with similar constituents of the fat contemplated by Applicant (see Watanabe abstract; paragraphs [0013], [0021], [0022], [0025] and [0026]; and Specification paragraphs [0012], [0033]-[0035] and [0042]-[0044]). Accordingly, it is examiner’s position the mass ratio of the palmitic acid content to stearic acid content recited in claim 2, is inherently present in the fat composition in Watanabe. As set forth in MPEP §2112.01, "where...the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on "inherency" under 35 USC 102, on "prima facie obviousness" under 35 USC 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO's inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products. See In re Brown, 59 CCPA 1036, 459 F.2d 531,173 USPQ 685 (1972)." In re Best, Bolton and Shaw 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977).
Conclusion
/ASSAF ZILBERING/Examiner, Art Unit 1792