DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (US 2010/0003515), hereinafter Tanaka.
Regarding claim 1, Tanaka discloses a method for producing a carbon fiber precursor (par. 0010), comprising, using as a spinning dope (par. 0005-0010), an acrylonitrile-based polymer (par. 0014-0015) that would necessarily have an intrinsic molecular weight that can be measured by gel permeation chromatography.
Tanaka does not explicitly disclose that the gel permeation chromatography peaks represent area ratios as is claimed. However, Tanaka does explain (par. 0039-0041) that the distribution of molecular weight of the polymer is result-effective upon the quality of the spinning solution (see par. 0042-0050) and in turn, the quality of the polymer produced in terms of extrusion stability. A broad distribution results in a degree of improvement in the extrusion stability of the solution (par. 0048).
Tanaka further teaches (par. 0057) that the molecular weight and the weight ratio is determined by peak splitting of peaks of molecular weight distribution measured by GPC into shoulders and peak portions to calculate the molecular weight and the area ratio of the peaks, demonstrating that this method was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for evaluation of the molecular weight of a similar polymer. As such, these “peak” values in a chromatograph would be adjusted by adjusting the values of the molecular weight of the polymer.
Additionally, it has been held that the optimization of a result-effective variable is within routine skill in the art and supports a case of prima facie obviousness. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have specified that the distribution of molecular weight results in a GPC curve that has the properties as is recited in the claim as an optimization of the distribution of molecular weight of the polymer.
Regarding claim 2, Tanaka discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses that the viscosity is 0-1000 (par. 0095), and the polymer concentration is 17-25% (par. 0092).
Regarding claim 3, Tanaka discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses that the acrylonitrile-based polymer is obtained by removing a polymerization inhibitor (par. 0091) and polymerized by a solution polymerization method (par. 0021-0023; 0049).
Conclusion
/ANDREW D GRAHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742