Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Katsumi et al. (US 6157794).
With respect to claims 1 and 11, Katsumi et al. disclose a high-power supply apparatus (e.g., item(s) 103 and/or 105) and method of operating such, to supply power in an image forming apparatus (e.g., figs. 1 and/or 2), the high-voltage power supply apparatus comprising: a charging circuit (e.g., “charge high-voltage source”) to output a charging high voltage to a charging device (2) of the image forming apparatus (as shown at least by fig. 2); a developing circuit (e.g., item 105) to output a developing high voltage to a developing device (e.g., item(s) 4 and/or 7) of the image forming apparatus (as shown at least by figs. 1 and/or 2); and a protecting circuit to control output of the developing circuit (4 and/or 7) to be stopped when an error occurs in the charging circuit, and to control output of the charging circuit (2) to be stopped when an error occurs in the developing circuit (as discussed at least in col. 5, line 63 – col. 10, line 47).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katsumi et al. (US 6157794) in view of Miyamoto (US 2018/0335713).
With respect to claims 2, 12 and 13, Katsumi et al. disclose the high voltage power supply apparatus and operating method of claims 1 and 11 as discussed above, and further disclose wherein the protecting circuit comprises circuitry to determine an error and to stop the output of the developing circuit and the charging circuit when the error is detected (as shown at least by figs. 1-2 and/or as discussed at least in col. 5, line 63 – col. 10, line 47), but do not disclose wherein the error is an over-current of the charging circuit or the developing circuit.
With further respect to claims 2, 12 and 13, Miyamoto teaches a protecting circuit comprising: a first protecting circuit to determine whether the charging circuit outputs an over-current and a second protecting circuit to determine whether the developing circuit outputs an over-current (as shown at least by figs. 5 and/or 6 and/or as discussed at least in paragraphs 48-59).
With further respect to claims 3 and 14, Katsumi et al. do not disclose the details of the charging and/or protecting circuitry.
With further respect to claims 3 and 14, Miyamoto teaches wherein the charging circuit (300) and/or protecting circuit comprises: a first comparator to control output of a first base voltage that is a basis to generate the charging high voltage (as shown at least by figs. 5 and/or 6 and/or as discussed at least in paragraphs 48-87), a first signal outputter to receive an output signal of the first comparator and output a charging high voltage including a direct current (as shown at least by figs. 5 and/or 6 and/or as discussed at least in paragraphs 26 and/or 48-87); a sensing circuit to sense whether the charging circuit outputs an over-current from an output current of the first signal outputter (as shown at least by figs. 5 and/or 6 and/or as discussed at least in paragraphs 48-87); and a first over-current protection (OCP) circuit to stop output of the charging circuit based on a sensing result of the sensing circuit (as shown at least by figs. 5 and/or 6 and/or as discussed at least in paragraphs 48-87).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time the invention was effectively filed to detect as the error of Katsumi et al. an over-current of the developing and/or charging unit(s) as taught by Miyamoto at least because there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in protecting the image forming apparatus.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-10 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating allowable subject matter: The prior art of record does not disclose or suggest the claimed developing circuit comprises: a second comparator to receive a developing input signal and control output of a second base voltage that is a basis to generate the developing high voltage, a second signal outputter to receive an output signal of the second comparator and output a developing high voltage including a DC, and a second OCP circuit to stop output of the developing circuit when the developing circuit outputs an over-current from an output current of the second signal outputter, in combination with the remaining claim elements as set forth in the claims.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH S WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852
JSW