Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“wave measurement module” in claims 1 and 30.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-10 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 7, 9 and 18-20, the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ) due to dependency on claim 7.
Claim 20 is further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ) because the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-7, 14-18, 20, 29-30 and 33-35 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boubekri (2016. MHz ultrasound induced roughness of fluid interfaces. Langmuir, 32(40), pp.10177-10183.) in view of Shrivastava (US20210167868A1).
Regarding claim 1, Boubekri teaches a spectroscopic ellipsometry apparatus for characterizing an interaction between a stimulus and a liquid, the apparatus comprising: a stimulator , configured to provide a stimulus (ultrasound) to a liquid (liquid-gas and liquid-liquid interfaces) disposed on a volume of liquid to generate a wave in the liquid, the liquid and the volume of liquid having an interface therebetween (page 1: a fluid interface is exposed to an US wave perpendicular to it), light beam optics for illuminating an area of the liquid with a light beam (page 1: the amplitudes of surface fluctuations have been measured by light reflectivity and ellipsometry), the light beam having a first polarization (page 3, figure 1: p-polarized laser beam of intensity I0 hits the surface), and a light collector coupled to a detector for receiving the light beam after reflection by the liquid (page 3, figure 1: the reflected intensity Ip is detected), the light beam having a second polarisation after reflection by the liquid (ellipsometry inherently measures the change in polarization state of light upon reflection);a wave measurement module coupled to the light collector and configured to provide surface wave data (page 1: “the amplitudes of surface fluctuations have been measured …. We found a dramatic enhancement of surface roughness, roughly linear with intensity, with vertical displacements of the interface as high as 50-100 nm” the system that processes the detected light to determine surface roughness is the wave measurement module that provides surface wave data), but fails to disclose to characterize a Lucassen wave in the liquid thin film based on the second polarisation.
However, Shrivastava (US20210167868A1), which relates to characterization of liquid thin film, thus from the same field of endeavor as Boubekri, teaches to characterize a Lucassen wave (solitary wave, non-linear, compressible) in the liquid thin film ([0020], [0023], [0025]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Boubekri by incorporating to characterize a Lucassen wave in the liquid thin film based on the second polarization for adiabatic, energy efficient signal propagation.
Regarding claim 6, Boubekri, when modified by Shrivastava, teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the surface wave data is based on: an s-polarisation component of the second polarisation and on a p-polarisation component of the second polarisation (Boubekri :ellipsometry inherently measures both s- and p- polarization components).
Regarding claim 7, Boubekri, when modified by Shrivastava, teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the surface wave data comprises a first time series of samples, for example wherein the samples are collected from the liquid thin film (Boubekri: page 2: The acoustic wave is emitted for times of several seconds (about 1 minute))
Regarding claim 14, Boubekri, when modified by Shrivastava, teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the liquid thin film comprises at least one of a protein and a lipid (Shrivastava: [0016]).
Regarding claim 15, Boubekri, when modified by Shrivastava, teaches the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the light beam comprises wavelengths selected according to a component of the thin film (Boubekri uses wavelength of 533 nm in page 3, and in ellipsometry, wavelength is chosen relative to a sample’s optical dispersion)
Regarding claim 16, Boubekri, when modified by Shrivastava, teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the light beam is provided to the surface at an angle of incidence selected according to a component of the thin film (Boubekri: pages 3, 5:The angle of incidence of the laser beam could be finely varied and the reflected)
Regarding claim 17, Boubekri, when modified by Shrivastava, teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the stimulator comprises a test substance provider configured to contact the surface of the liquid with a test substance (chemo-mechanical (e.g. a mechanical wave excited by a chemical signal)) thereby to provide the stimulus (Shrivastava: [0033]).
Regarding claim 18, Boubekri, when modified by Shrivastava, teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the stimulator is configured to provide an electrical stimulus to the surface of the liquid, for example to the thin film (Shrivastava: [0032]-[0035]).
Regarding claim 20, Boubekri, when modified by Shrivastava, teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the stimulator generates a plurality of wave modes, such as surface wave modes, for example in the liquid thin film (Boubekri: page 8: ultrasound generates surface modes).
Regarding claim 29, Boubekri teaches a reservoir computing unit comprising: a reservoir (container) for holding a liquid (page 3), a spectroscopic ellipsometry apparatus configured to measure the response of a liquid held in the reservoir to a stimulus based on the input signal (page 5: The profile of fluid interfaces under ultrasound has been investigated by light reflectivity and ellipsometry.), but fails to disclose an input for receiving an input signal, and an output for providing an output signal based on the measured response.
However, Shrivastava teaches an input for receiving an input signal ([0005]), and an output for providing an output signal based on the measured response ([0005]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Boubekri by incorporating an input for receiving an input signal, and an output for providing an output signal based on the measured response for improved measurement.
Regarding claim 30, Boubekri, when modified by Shrivastava, teaches the apparatus of claim 29, wherein the spectroscopic ellipsometry apparatus comprises: a stimulator, configured to provide a stimulus (ultrasound) to a liquid to generate a wave at the surface of the liquid (page 1) light beam optics for illuminating an area of the liquid thin film with a light beam (Boubekri: page 1: the amplitudes of surface fluctuations have been measured by light reflectivity and ellipsometry), the light beam having a first polarization (Boubekri: page 3, figure 1: p-polarized laser beam of intensity I0 hits the surface), and a light collector coupled to a detector for receiving the light beam after reflection by the surface (Boubekri: page 3, figure 1: the reflected intensity Ip is detected), the light beam having a second polarisation after reflection by the wave (ellipsometry inherently measures the change in polarization state of light upon reflection); a wave measurement module coupled to the light collector and configured to provide surface wave data based on the second polarization (Boubekri: page 1: “the amplitudes of surface fluctuations have been measured …. We found a dramatic enhancement of surface roughness, roughly linear with intensity, with vertical displacements of the interface as high as 50-100 nm” the system that processes the detected light to determine surface roughness is the wave measurement module that provides surface wave data); an output for providing an output signal based on the surface wave data (Shrivastava: [0006]).
Regarding claim 33, Boubekri, when modified by Shrivastava, teaches the apparatus of claim 29, teaches wherein the surface of the liquid carries a liquid thin film, the liquid thin film and the liquid having an interface therebetween (Shrivastava [0016]).
Regarding claim 34, Boubekri, when modified by Shrivastava, teaches the apparatus of claim 30, but fails to disclose wherein the stimulator is configured to provide the stimulus based on an output signal provided from another reservoir computing unit.
However, Shrivastava teaches wherein the stimulator is configured to provide the stimulus based on an output signal provided from another reservoir computing unit ([0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Boubekri by incorporating wherein the stimulator is configured to provide the stimulus based on an output signal provided from another reservoir computing unit providing a cascaded signal processing system.
Regarding claim 35, Boubekri, when modified by Shrivastava, teaches the apparatus of claim 30, wherein the apparatus is configured such that effects of Lucassen waves are determinable from the surface wave data (Shrivastava: solitary wave, non-linear, compressible [0020], [0023], [0025]).
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boubekri (2016. MHz ultrasound induced roughness of fluid interfaces. Langmuir, 32(40), pp.10177-10183.) in view of Shrivastava (US20210167868A1), further in view Garvey (US20140324367).
Regarding claim 8, Boubekri, when modified by Shrivastava, teaches the apparatus of claim 7, but fails to disclose wherein the wave measurement module is configured to provide, based on the first time series, a second time series wherein the second time series has a lower sample rate than the first time series.
Garvey, which relates to data analysis, thus an analogous art, teaches wherein a measurement module (data decimator module 118) is configured to provide, based on the first time series (oversampled data), a second time series (decimated waveform) wherein the second time series has a lower sample rate than the first time series ([0254]-[0259, [0274], claim 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Boubekri by incorporating wherein the wave measurement module is configured to provide, based on the first time series, a second time series wherein the second time series has a lower sample rate than the first time series in order to reduce data rate to a more manageable data rate.
Regarding claim 9, Boubekri, when modified by Shrivastava and Garvey, teaches the apparatus of claim 8, but fails to disclose wherein the second time series has a sample rate of at least 2kHz, for example at least 10 kHz.
However, Garvey teaches that sample rates can be adjusted based on characteristics of the measured signal ([0337]), and selecting a sample rate of at least 2 kHz or at least 10kHz is a routine design choice.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Boubekri by incorporating wherein the second time series has a sample rate of at least 2kHz, for example at least 10 kHz as desired in order to satisfy Nyquist criterion.
Regarding claim 10, Boubekri, when modified by Shrivastava and Garvey, teaches the apparatus of claim 9, but fails to disclose wherein the second sample rate is selected based on the size of the area.
However, Boubekri teaches the laser spot is about 0.5 mm size (page 10), and Garvey teaches sampling rate and sampling interval can be adjusted based on characteristics of the measured signal ([0337]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Boubekri by incorporating wherein the second sample rate is selected based on the size of the area as desired in order to satisfy Nyquist criterion.
Claims 12-13 and 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boubekri (2016. MHz ultrasound induced roughness of fluid interfaces. Langmuir, 32(40), pp.10177-10183.) in view of Shrivastava (US20210167868A1), further in view of Klieber (2012. Optical generation and detection of gigahertz-frequency longitudinal and shear acoustic waves in liquids: Theory and experiment. Journal of Applied Physics, 112(1)).
Regarding claim 12, Boubekri, when modified by Shrivastava, teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the light beam optics focus the beam of light.
However, Kleiber, which relates to acoustic wave propagating through liquid layers, thus from the same field of endeavor as Boubekri teaches the light beam optics focus the beam of light (page 6: The pump pulses focused to a spot size of about 100 micrometers on the front of the sample).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Boubekri by incorporating wherein the light beam optics focus the beam of light for higher spatial resolution.
Regarding claim 13, Boubekri, when modified by Shrivastava and Klieber, teaches the apparatus of claim 12, but fails to disclose wherein a focal point of the beam is positioned so that the beam is diverging when it meets the light collector.
However, wherein a focal point of a beam is positioned so that the beam is diverging when it meets the light collector is an optical design choice.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Boubekri by incorporating wherein a focal point of the beam is positioned so that the beam is diverging when it meets the light collector in order to lower the peak intensity to avoid saturation of the detector.
Regarding claim 19, Boubekri, when modified by Shrivastava, teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein operation of the light collector is coupled to operation of the stimulator such that surface wave data can be determined at selected times after the stimulus, for example wherein the said times are selected based on a location of the stimulus on the surface.
However, Kleiber teaches operation of the light collector (probe) is coupled to operation of the stimulator (pump) such that surface wave data can be determined at selected times after the stimulus (fig. 3, page 5, right col.: a front-back optical pump-probe experimental setup, page 6, left col.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Boubekri as modified by Shrivastava by incorporating operation of the light collector is coupled to operation of the stimulator such that surface wave data can be determined at selected times after the stimulus, for example wherein the said times are selected based on a location of the stimulus on the surface to achieve predictable improvements in measurement capability.
Conclusion
/MOHAMED DOUMBIA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/MICHELLE M IACOLETTI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877