DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on July 16, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 4-8 and 10-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 16, 2026.
Claims 1-3 and 9 are pending; claim 1 is independent.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided. Specifically, “Provided is” is language that can be implied.
Examiner’s Note
Examiner notes that as presently rejected claims 3 and 9 are optional limitations as the lower limit of 50 mass% or less is inclusive of 0.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, it is indefinite if the thickness cited is on one side of the base steel sheet or a total thickness for both sides. For purposes of examination, either shall be considered to meet this claim limitation.
Regarding claims 2, 3 and 9, these claims are rejected for their respective incorporations of the above due to their dependencies on claim 1.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-3 and 9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of copending Application No. 18729887 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they contain the following overlapping subject matter.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding instant claims 1 and 2, and ‘887 claim 1, these recite a steel sheet for hot pressing, comprising a base steel sheet and a coating layer provided on both sides of the base steel sheet, wherein the coating layer is made of Ni or a Ni-based alloy and overlapping Zn contents in the coating layer. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, (MPEP 2144.05 I). The proportions disclosed by the prior art overlap applicants claimed proportions and therefore establish a prima facie case of obviousness, where one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to select from the proportions disclosed by the prior art, including those proportions, which satisfy the presently claimed requirements (MPEP 2144.05 I). As of the writing of this Office Action, no objective evidence of criticality to the claimed ranges has been presented.
Regarding the thickness of the coating layer in ‘887 it has a lower limit of 7 microns and the upper limit of the instant claim is 6.0 microns. The courts have held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A)). It is the examiner’s opinion that there is no distinction between a lower limit of 7 micron and an upper limit of 6.0 micron.
Regarding instant claims 3 and 9 and claim ‘2 of ‘887, these claims recite further metals and masses that overlap each other. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, (MPEP 2144.05 I). The proportions disclosed by the prior art overlap applicants claimed proportions and therefore establish a prima facie case of obviousness, where one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to select from the proportions disclosed by the prior art, including those proportions, which satisfy the presently claimed requirements (MPEP 2144.05 I). As of the writing of this Office Action, no objective evidence of criticality to the claimed ranges has been presented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. (JP 2011-122207 A Machine translation provided herewith, original of record), hereinafter Nakamura.
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Nakamura teaches a steel sheet with a plating layer containing Ni on its surface that is hot pressed (steel sheet for hot pressing) ([0021]), where the plating layer has Ni with an adhesion amount of 10-90,000mg/m2 ([0022]; corresponds to a thickness of up to about 10 microns from ~9 g/m2 corresponding to 1 micron), where the coating contains Ni-10 mass% Zn and is on both sides of the steel sheet ([0048]; i.e. a Ni based alloy). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, (MPEP 2144.05 I). The proportions disclosed by the prior art overlap applicants claimed proportions and therefore establish a prima facie case of obviousness, where one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to select from the proportions disclosed by the prior art, including those proportions, which satisfy the presently claimed requirements (MPEP 2144.05 I). As of the writing of this Office Action, no objective evidence of criticality to the claimed ranges has been presented.
Regarding claims 3 and 9, Nakamura teaches each limitation of claims 1 and 2, as discussed above and further teaches where the coating contains Ni-10 mass% Zn and is on both sides of the steel sheet ([0048]; i.e. optionally no other elements beyond Zn and Ni-see above Examiner’s Note).
Examiner notes that additionally Nakamura teaches the coating may contain other elements such as Co, Cr, Mn and Mo ([0018]), although an amount is not specified.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nakajima et al. (EP 3015572 A1, of record) teaches a steel sheet for hot press forming with a coating layer of 60% or more by mass Ni and a remainder of Zn and incidental impurities and a coating mass of 5-50g/m2 per side (i.e. on both sides) (Abstract).
/KATHERINE A CHRISTY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784