DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 23-25, 28-34 and 36-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Schmidt et al., US Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0109466 (hereinafter referred to as Schmidt).
Regarding claims 23-25, 28-34 and 36-42, Schmidt discloses that biodiesel is typically derived from vegetable or animal origin. The feedstock used to make biodiesel can therefore be unrefined vegetable oils, such as, palm nut oil, coconut oil, soya, rapeseed, sunflower, corn, peanut, etc. These feedstocks primarily are comprised of triglycerides, which comprise of three fatty acid chains linked by a glycerol backbone.
The feeds used in transesterification reactions for making biodiesel contain, or are processed to contain, mostly triglycerides. The triglyceride feed may also contain free fatty acid, typically comprising up to 1% by weight free fatty acid. The triglyceride feedstock is then contacted with alcohol in the presence of transesterification catalyst and conditions to produce a fatty acid alkyl ester. The alcohol added to the reactor can be one or a mixture of two or more alcohols conventionally used to convert triglyceride-containing feedstocks to esters. Suitable alcohols include those having one to six carbons, and typically are monoalcohols. Methanol is frequently suitable. The molar ratio of alcohol to triglyceride in a transesterification reaction is generally in the range of 3:1 to 30:1.
The catalyst used in the transesterification reaction can be a homogeneous or heterogeneous catalyst. Suitable homogeneous catalysts include alkali methoxide, alkali hydroxides and mixtures thereof, including but not limited to, sodium methoxide, potassium methoxide, sodium hydroxide, and potassium hydroxide.
The ester derivative produced depends on the number of carbons in the alcohol. Frequently, methanol is used in the transesterification reaction and reactions using methanol produce fatty acid methyl esters, also known as FAME. The transesterification reaction is carried out in the presence of the catalyst under conventional conditions. The reaction can be carried out in batch reactors, in a continuous (e.g. stirred) tank reactor, as well as in fixed-bed reactors. The transesterification conditions include a temperature in the range of 40°C to 250°C. Typical pressures would be in the range of 1 to 100 atmospheres (atm), and the residence time for the reactant triglyceride and alcohol is usually between 5 and 100 minutes. Once the triglycerides and alcohol react in the transesterification reactor, the effluent is further processed to recover fatty acid alkyl ester product. The product esters are present primarily in a phase that is not water soluble (also referred to herein as the "oil phase"), and any glycerol (also known as glycerin) produced and most of the unreacted methanol are primarily in the water-soluble phase. The separation process comprises separating the glycerol phase and oil phase comprising the ester and subsequently removing the remaining alcohol through a flash drying or stripping step.
The removal of the water-soluble glycerol-rich phase by means of phase separation is preferably carried out at temperatures between 60°C and 150°C. The phase separation is likewise preferably carried out at a pressure corresponding to the vapor pressure of the alcohol. The separation can be conducted by distillation or decantation. The separation process can be conducted in a batch or continuous manner (as recited in claim 23 and reads on claims 24-25, 28-34 and 36-42) (Para. [0053]-[0066]).
Schmidt discloses all the limitations discussed above which includes a process for forming fatty acid methyl esters from an organic oil source as recited in instant claim 23. The process discussed above in Schmidt reads on the claims as instantly recited and would therefore lead to the same product recited in claim 23.
Regarding claims 26-27 and 35, Schmidt discloses the batch reactor experiments were conducted as follows. The impure biodiesel sample used for the tests was a palm-based biodiesel containing negligible levels of methanol but appreciable levels of the impurities, monoglycerides (0.66 by weight) and sterol glycosides (69 ppm). 330 ml of this biodiesel sample was added to a beaker and heated up in an oil bath to 140°C. The powder catalyst was dried for 1.5 h at 200°C and then added to the biodiesel at 3 wt%. The test was carried out at 140°C at ambient pressure for 60 min with the final 15 min being under vacuum. At the completion of the reaction, the catalyst was separated from the biodiesel using a glass fiber filter either at 140°C or at 21°C.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: International Publication No. WO/2020/074435 discloses a method of producing fatty acid alkyl ester from an organic oil source containing at least one free fatty acid, wherein the method comprises the steps of a) reacting the oil source with glycerol at a temperature, which does not exceed 180°C during the reaction, in the presence of a catalyst comprising at least one alkyl or aryl sulfonic acid or an homoanhydride thereof and a basic catalyst, such as, potassium and sodium methoxide; and b) transesterification of the reaction product from step a) with an alkanol; and c) isolating the fatty acid alkyl ester from the reaction product of step b) (see Abstract and Page 8/L. 42-44).
International Publication No. WO/2005/063954 discloses fatty acid alkyl esters suitable for use as biodiesel are produced by a single step esterification of free fatty acids and transesterification of triglycerides from vegetable oils or animal fats or combinations thereof with a lower alcohol (e.g. methanol) in presence of alkyl Tin oxide as catalyst. The ester thus produced is purified by distillation, treatment with an adsorbent, washing with water or combination thereof to give esters suitable for use as biodiesel.
International Publication No. WO/2007/060993 discloses a process for producing a fatty acid alkyl ester by transesterification of a fat-and-oil with an alcohol in the presence of an alkaline catalyst. The process is characterized in that such a fat-and-oil is subjected to the transesterification that is obtained in a pretreatment step comprising mixing an alkali-containing glycerin produced in the transesterification as a by-product with a raw fat-and-oil to neutralize a free fatty acid contained in the raw fat-and-oil with an alkaline catalyst contained in the alkali-containing glycerin. The fatty acid alkyl ester can be suitably used as a biomass-derived diesel fuel or the like.
There was an unused X reference from the ISR report. The examiner is of the position that the prior art cited adequately reads on the claims as instantly recited.
/VISHAL V VASISTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771