DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Calderone (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0039440).
Regarding claim 1, Calderone discloses a manifold fluid module (figs 12-15) comprising:
a manifold plate (702) having therein a plurality of fluid flow paths through which fluids having different temperatures move (¶0062-0065); and
a heat transfer inhibitor (see annotated fig 12 below) provided between a high-temperature fluid flow path and a low-temperature fluid flow path to block heat transfer from a flow path, through which a high-temperature fluid moves, to a flow path through which the low-temperature fluid moves (as the refrigerant and coolant operate at different temperatures),
wherein the high-temperature fluid flow path and the low-temperature fluid flow path are connected by a connection part (730).
Regarding claim 2, Calderone further discloses wherein the connection part (730) connects parts of the manifold plate separated by the heat transfer inhibitor (see annotated fig 12 above), and the fluid moves to the connection part (730).
Regarding claim 5, Calderone further discloses a first heat exchanger (706a) coupled to the manifold plate (702) and configured to allow a first fluid and a second fluid to exchange heat with each other; and a second heat exchanger (706b) coupled to the manifold plate and configured to allow the first fluid, which is discharged from the first heat exchanger, to exchange heat with the second fluid (¶0062-0065).
Regarding claim 6, Calderone further discloses wherein the manifold plate (702) comprises: a main plate (702b) having therein the plurality of fluid flow paths; and a bottom plate (702a) coupled to one surface of the main plate and configured to cover the fluid flow path.
Regarding claim 16, Calderone further discloses wherein the manifold plate (702) has an opening portion (728) formed in a portion where the second heat exchanger (706b) is disposed, and the heat transfer inhibitor comprises a first heat transfer inhibitor and a second heat transfer inhibitor respectively formed above and below the opening portion (see annotated fig 13 below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Calderone alone.
Regarding claim 3, Calderone further discloses wherein in a thermal management system comprising a compressor (704), a plurality of heat exchangers (706a, 706b), and an expansion valve (for the evaporators 706a, 706b), at least one heat exchanger, and the expansion valve are coupled to the manifold plate (702).
Calderone does not explicitly disclose a plurality of valves. However, the Examiner takes Official Notice that providing valves in a cooling system is old and well known in the art of cooling systems and it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Calderone to provide valves in order to optimally channel the coolant. This would result in at least one valve be coupled to the manifold plate.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-15 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HARRY E ARANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763