Objection to the Specification
2. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Non-Art Rejection
4. Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 21-23 are invalid multiple dependent claims because they depend on another multiple dependent claim, e.g., claim 6.
Art Rejection
7. Claims 1, 17 and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rochberger, U.S. pat. No. 6,760,309, in view of Le Pallec, U.S. pat. Appl. Pub. No. 2014/0043992.
Per claim 1, Rochberger discloses a message processing method, applied to a network forwarding node, comprising:
a) encapsulating a received message to obtain an encapsulated message, e.g., encoding a message using H.225.0 standard (see col 2, ln 65-67 and col 4, ln 33-41);
b) wherein the encapsulated message comprises current-node stay time information, e.g., a TTL value (see col 6, ln 57-65).
Rochberger does not teach that the encapsulated message comprises current-node entry and exit timestamp information. However, such use of entry time and exit time to compute the time (i.e., resident time) that the packet spends at the network node is well known in the art as disclosed by Le Pallec, wherein the current-node entry time and exit time are recorded in the packet (see Le Pallec, par 0035-0041).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rochberger with Le Pallec’s teaching because it would have enabled computing the time the packet spends at the network entity (see Rochberger, col 6, ln 57-65).
Per claim 17, Rochberger teaches:
a) determining a forwarding path of the packet, e.g., using routers (see col 5, ln 38-44);
b) determining latency information of the message according to the forwarding path (see col 7, ln 26-39); and
c) distributing the latency information to a network forwarding node on the forwarding path such that the network forwarding node encapsulates the received message according to the latency information to obtain an encapsulated message, wherein the encapsulated message comprises current-node stay time information (see col 7, ln 13-15).
Rochberger does not teach that the encapsulated message comprises current-node entry and exit timestamp information. However, such use of entry time and exit time to compute the time (i.e., resident time) that the packet spends at the network node is well known in the art as disclosed by Le Pallec, wherein the current-node entry time and exit time are recorded in the packet (see Le Pallec, par 0035-0041).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rochberger with Le Pallec’s teaching because it would have enabled computing the time the packet spends at the network entity (see Rochberger, col 6, ln 57-65).
Per claim 20, Rochberger teaches writing the latency information into the message wherein the latency information indicates a total latency value of the packet on the forwarding path (see col 6, ln 57-65), distributing the latency information message and the packet to a network forwarding node on the forwarding path (see col 7, ln 13-15).
Per claims 21-23, Le Pallec further teaches implementing the method with a computer program stored in a memory to be executed by a processor (see par 0060).
8. Claims 4, 6-8, 13, 16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rochberger and Le Pallec, and further in view of Filsfils, U.S. pat. Appl. Pub. No. 2006/0193248.
Per claims 4 and 18-19, Rochberger and Le Pallec teach:
a) acquiring previous-node stay time information T1 from the packet field/label, e.g., TTL value is extracted from the packet (see col 7, ln 34-35);
b) acquiring previous-hop entry and exit time information from the packet field/label and computing resident time R1 (see Le Pallec, par 0041);
c) determining the current-node stay time information T2 according to the previous-hop stay time information and the previous-hop entry and exit timestamp information, e.g., T2=T1-R1 (see col 7, ln 13-15);
d) replacing the previous-hop stay time information with the current-node stay time information (see col 7, ln 37-39).
Neither Rochberger nor Le Pallec teach storing time and routing information in a guide label. However such use of guide label or service label for routing packets is well-known in the art as disclosed by Filsfils (see Filfils, par 0018-0019).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Rochberger with Filsfils’s teaching because it would have enabled switching packets more effectively.
Per claims 6-8, Filsfils also teaches determining hop count information of the current node and writing the hop count information of the current node into a hop count field included in the packet label, wherein the label field is used to identify the service label through a fixed label value (see par 0048-0049).
Per claims 13 and 16, Filsfils teaches that the packet comprises a plurality of segment labels, i.e., label stack, each label corresponds to each network forwarding node on the packet forwarding path (see par 0020), wherein hop count information of current node is determined and written into a hop count field included in a stack bottom label of the label stack (see par 0049).
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 2-3, 5, 9-12, 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Viet D Vu/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455
8/10/26