DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the Applicant’s communication filed on 01/15/2025. Claims 1 – 20 are pending in this application.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 38 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 38 in its last two lines states (italics by the Examiner) “a radius of the first non-tooth part is greater than a radius of the second non-tooth part.” Corresponding claim 6 from parent application PCT/CN2023/121648 states “a radian of the first non-tooth part (2365) is greater than a radian of the second non-tooth part (2366).” Support for this limitation may be found in paragraph 0204 of the specification as filed, which states the following:
“…a radian of the first non-tooth part 2365 is greater than a radian of the second non-tooth part 2366. The radian of the first non-tooth part 2365 is set to be greater than the radian of the second non-tooth part 2366, so that when the foldable mechanism 23 is in the unfolded state, a plurality of teeth of the second tooth part 2362 press against the bottom of the outer cover 2311. This helps reduce space occupied by the first synchronous gear 236 in the unfolded state in a thickness direction of the electronic device 100.”
As may be seen, the present claim listing recites “radius” while the parent application together with the supporting specification recite “radian”. These two things are entirely different. Therefore, it is not clear whether present claim 38 is supposed to state “radian” instead of “radius” thus making the claim indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Claim 41 recites the limitations "the first door plate", “the second door plate”, “the first support surface”, “the second support surface”, “the direction”, “the plane” multiple times. There is insufficient antecedent basis for each of these limitations in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 33 – 40, 42, 45 – 47 and 49 – 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021115462 (Liao) (references are given according to corresponding US 20220303371) in view of US 20220317730 (Cho).
Regarding claim 33, Liao teaches “An electronic device, comprising a first housing (FIG 1a and paragraph 0186: FIG. 1a is an exploded view of a foldable electronic device. The foldable electronic device may include a first housing 2000), a second housing (FIG 1a and paragraph 0186: The foldable electronic device may include a second housing 3000), a foldable mechanism (FIG 1a and paragraph 0186: The foldable electronic device may include a rotation shaft structure 1000), and a flexible display (FIG 1a and paragraph 0186: The foldable electronic device may include a flexible display 4000), wherein the first housing, the second housing, and the foldable mechanism jointly carry the flexible display (paragraph 0189: The first surface 2001 of the first housing 2000 and the third surface 3001 of the second housing 3000 may jointly support the flexible display 4000. Rotation shaft structure 1000 also supports the flexible display);
the foldable mechanism comprises a main shaft (FIG 9 – 11 and paragraphs 0224 – 0225: The following describes each assembly of the rotation shaft structure 1000 in detail. The main shaft assembly 100 may be a solid integrated structure, and may be used as a base for supporting rotation of the first folding assembly 200 and the second folding assembly 300.), a first bracket (FIG 9 and 11 and paragraph 0226: a first housing mounting bracket 20), a second bracket (FIG 9 and 11 and paragraph 0228: a second housing mounting bracket 50), a first swing arm (FIG 11, 21, 25a-b and paragraph 0236: a first driven arm 33), a second swing arm (FIG 11, 25a-b and paragraph 0249: a second driven arm 63), a first synchronous gear, and a second synchronous gear (paragraph 0312: The rotation shaft structure 1000 may further include a synchronization assembly 400, to implement synchronous opposite rotation (synchronous rotation toward each other and synchronous rotation against each other) between the first folding assembly 200 and the second folding assembly 300. Paragraph 0315: as shown in FIG. 25a and FIG. 25b, driven gears 403 that are engaged with each other. As may be seen from FIG 25b, there are two wheels in the gear);
the first swing arm (FIG 11, 21, 25a-b and paragraph 0236: a first driven arm 33) comprises a first rotating end (paragraph 0314: The first gear 401 (“a first rotating end”) may be directly formed at an end of the first rotation assembly 30. FIG 25b clearly shows the first gear 401 to be part of first driven arm 33 (“the first swing arm”)) and a first sliding end (paragraph 0236: One end of the first driven arm 33 is slidably connected to the first housing mounting bracket 20, therefore, this particular end of arm 33 is “a first sliding end”), the first rotating end is rotatably connected to the main shaft (paragraph 0314: an axis center of the first gear 401 may coincide with a rotation axis of the first rotation assembly 30 on the main shaft assembly 100. Paragraph 0236: the other end of the first driven arm 33 is rotationally connected to the main shaft assembly 100.), the first sliding end is slidably connected to the first bracket (paragraph 0236: One end of the first driven arm 33 is slidably connected to the first housing mounting bracket 20), and the first housing is fastened to the first bracket (paragraph 0226: the first housing mounting bracket 20 may be fastened to the first housing 2000 through a plurality of fasteners that are in a one-to-one correspondence to the plurality of fastening holes.);
the second swing arm (FIG 11, 25a-b and paragraph 0249: a second driven arm 63) comprises a second rotating end (paragraph 0314: The second gear 402 (“a second rotating end”) may be directly formed at an end of the second rotation assembly 60). FIG 25b clearly shows the second gear 402 to be part of second driven arm 63 (“the second swing arm”)) and a second sliding end (paragraph 0249: One end of the second driven arm 63 is slidably connected to the second housing mounting bracket 50, therefore, this particular end of arm 63 is “a second sliding end”), the second rotating end is rotatably connected to the main shaft (paragraph 0314: An axis center of the second gear 402 may coincide with the rotation axis center of the second rotation assembly 60 on the main shaft assembly 100. Paragraph 0249: the other end of the second driven arm 63 is rotationally connected to the main shaft assembly 100.), the second sliding end is slidably connected to the second bracket (paragraph 0249: One end of the second driven arm 63 is slidably connected to the second housing mounting bracket 50.), and the second housing is fastened to the second bracket (paragraph 0228: the second housing mounting bracket 50 may be fastened to the second housing 3000 through a plurality of fasteners that are in a one-to-one correspondence to the plurality of fastening holes.);
the first synchronous gear and the second synchronous gear are configured to synchronously move the first swing arm and the second swing arm (paragraph 0206: The synchronization mechanism is configured to implement synchronous rotation of the first folding assembly 200 and the second folding assembly 300, so that either the first folding assembly 200 or the second folding assembly 300 moves, and the folding assembly on the other side is driven to move in an approaching direction or an opposite direction. Paragraph 0031: The synchronization assembly may be drivingly connected to the first driven arm and the second driven arm, to implement synchronous opposite rotation between the first folding assembly and the second folding assembly.);
the first synchronous gear (may be mapped to the left wheel 403 in FIG 25b) is rotatably connected to the main shaft (paragraph 0335: the driven gears 403 may rotate around middle shafts 504), the first synchronous gear comprises a first tooth part and a second tooth part (there are multiple teeth shown in the left wheel 403 in FIG 25b)…”
“…the second synchronous gear (may be mapped to the right wheel 403 in FIG 25b) is rotatably connected to the main shaft (paragraph 0335: the driven gears 403 may rotate around middle shafts 504), the second synchronous gear comprises a third tooth part and a fourth tooth part (there are multiple teeth shown in the right wheel 403 in FIG 25b)…”
Liao does not teach that “a radius of a tip circle of the first tooth part is different from a radius of a tip circle of the second tooth part; and” that “a radius of a tip circle of the third tooth part is different from a radius of a tip circle of the fourth tooth part, and the third tooth part is engaged with the second tooth part.” In Liao, the wheels 403 are round so that all teeth are equidistant from the center of the respective wheel.
Cho teaches a similar construction of a folding mobile device hinge. FIG 9 and 11 – 13 with corresponding description disclose a configuration which is similar to the one shown in Liao’s FIG 25b. Cho’s design includes gears 233 and 234 which correspond to the left and right wheels 403 of Liao. As may be seen, Cho teaches “the first synchronous gear (gear 234) comprises a first tooth part (tooth 234_1) and a second tooth part (tooth 234_2), and a radius of a tip circle of the first tooth part is different from a radius of a tip circle of the second tooth part (it may clearly be seen from FIG 9 and 11 – 13 that the radius of the tooth 234_1 is greater than that one of the tooth 234_2)”, and “the second synchronous gear (gear 233) comprises a third tooth part (tooth 233_2) and a fourth tooth part (tooth 233_1), a radius of a tip circle of the third tooth part is different from a radius of a tip circle of the fourth tooth part (it may clearly be seen from FIG 9 and 11 – 13 that the radius of the tooth 233_1 is greater than that one of the tooth 233_2), and the third tooth part is engaged with the second tooth part (teeth 233_2 and 234_2 are engaged with each other – see FIG 13 showing rotation of the gear depending on whether the device is opened or closed).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to utilize disclosed by Cho configuration for the synchronous gear having different radii for different teeth, in the device of Liao instead of the wheels 403 shown in Liao’s FIG 25b. Doing so would have provided a hinge structure having a compound gear that achieves slimness for the foldable electronic device (see Cho, paragraph 0006). Doing so would have also provided a hinge structure having a compound structure that may reduce damage to the display due to impact by sufficiently providing a specific space between the display and a gear structure as the display is folded (see Cho, paragraph 0007).
Regarding claim 49, this claim is rejected because of the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 33 because claim 49 has similar but broader limitations.
Regarding claims 34 and 50, Liao in combination with Cho teaches “wherein the first tooth part is engaged with the first rotating end (as may be seen from Cho’s FIG 9 and 11 – 13, and as mapped in the rejection of claim 33 above, “the first tooth part” corresponds to the tooth 234_1 which is engaged with rotary shaft 232. When combined with the structure of Liao, the rotary shaft 232 would correspond to the first gear 401 representing “the first rotating end”), and the fourth tooth part is engaged with the second rotating end (as may be seen from Cho’s FIG 9 and 11 – 13, and as mapped in the rejection of claim 33 above, “the fourth tooth part” corresponds to the tooth 233_1 which is engaged with rotary shaft 231. When combined with the structure of Liao, the rotary shaft 231 would correspond to the second gear 402 representing “the second rotating end”).”
Regarding claims 35 and 51, Liao in combination with Cho teaches “wherein the main shaft comprises a first side and a second side that are disposed opposite to each other, the first side is an appearance side of the main shaft, and the second side is closer to the flexible display than the first side (see Sketch 1 below representing Liao’s FIG 25 with the Examiner’s annotations, as well as Sketch 2 representing Cho’s FIG 13 with the Examiner’s annotations showing positions of the claimed components);
the radius of the tip circle of the first tooth part is greater than the radius of the tip circle of the second tooth part (it may clearly be seen from Cho’s FIG 9 and 11 – 13 that the radius of the tooth 234_1 (“the first tooth part”) is greater than that one of the tooth 234_2 (“the second tooth part”)), and the radius of the tip circle of the fourth tooth part is greater than the radius of the tip circle of the third tooth part (it may clearly be seen from Cho’s FIG 9 and 11 – 13 that the radius of the tooth 233_1 (“the fourth tooth part”) is greater than that one of the tooth 233_2 (“the third tooth part”)); and
during a process in which the foldable mechanism is folded from an unfolded state to a folded state, the second tooth part moves in a direction closer towards the second side, and the third tooth part moves in a direction closer towards the second side (may be seen from Cho’s FIG 13 that any of the teeth 234_2 and 233_2 move in the direction of the upper side (“the second side”) when the device is folded).”
Sketch 1
Sketch 2
Regarding claims 36 and 52, Liao in combination with Cho teaches “wherein the radius of the tip circle of the first tooth part is greater than a radius of a tip circle of the first rotating end (this may clearly be seen from Cho’s FIG 11 and 13: the radius of the tip circle of the tooth 234_1 (“the first tooth part”) is greater than a radius of a tip circle of the tooth 232_2 (representing “the first rotating end”)), and the radius of the tip circle of the fourth tooth part is greater than a radius of a tip circle of the second rotating end (this may clearly be seen from Cho’s FIG 11 and 13: the radius of the tip circle of the tooth 233_1 (“the fourth tooth part”) is greater than a radius of a tip circle of the tooth 231_2 (representing “the second rotating end”)).”
Regarding claim 37, Liao in combination with Cho teaches “wherein a spacing from a rotation center of the first rotating end to a rotation center of the first synchronous gear is a first spacing (represented in Cho’s FIG 11 and 13 by the first distance between the center of the wheel 232 (“a rotation center of the first rotating end”) and the center of the wheel 234 (“a rotation center of the first synchronous gear”)), a spacing from the rotation center of the first synchronous gear to a rotation center of the second synchronous gear is a second spacing (represented in Cho’s FIG 11 and 13 by the second distance between the center of the wheel 234 (“a rotation center of the first synchronous gear”) and the center of the wheel 233 (“a rotation center of the second synchronous gear”)), and the first spacing is greater than the second spacing (it may clearly be seen that the first distance is greater than the second distance).”
Regarding claim 38, Liao in combination with Cho teaches or fairly suggests “wherein the first synchronous gear (Cho’s wheel 234 in FIG 11 and 13) comprises a first non-tooth part and a second non-tooth part, the first tooth part and the second tooth part are spaced apart, both the first non-tooth part and the second non-tooth part are located between the first tooth part and the second tooth part, the first non-tooth part and the second non-tooth part are spaced apart from each other (see Sketch 3 below representing Cho’s FIG 11 with the Examiner’s annotations showing position of all the recited parts), the first non-tooth part is closer to the first side than the second non-tooth part, the second non-tooth part is closer to the second side than the first non-tooth part (see Sketch 4 below representing a portion of Cho’s FIG 13 with the Examiner’s annotations showing relative position of all the recited parts), and a radius of the first non-tooth part is greater than a radius of the second non-tooth part (first, it is not clear whether it is “radius” or “radian”, as explained in the rejection of same claim under 35 USC 112(b) above in this office action. Second, this appears to be merely a matter of design choice. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to use the relationship recited by claim or its opposite simply as design choice with predictable results since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).).”
Sketch 3
Sketch 4
Regarding claim 39, Liao in combination with Cho teaches or fairly suggests “wherein the first synchronous gear comprises a first non-tooth part and a second non-tooth part, the first tooth part and the second tooth part are spaced apart, both the first non-tooth part and the second non-tooth part are located between the first tooth part and the second tooth part, the first non-tooth part and the second non-tooth part are spaced apart from each other, the first non-tooth part is closer to the first side than the second non-tooth part, and the second non-tooth part is closer to the second side than the first non-tooth part (this portion of the claim is rejected because of the same reasons as explained in the rejection of claim 38 above because of the similarity of limitations, the explanation, including Sketches 3 and 4, being incorporated herein by reference); and
a tooth that is of the first tooth part and that is connected to the first non-tooth part is a first tooth, a tooth that is of the second tooth part and that is connected to the first non-tooth part is a second tooth, a tooth that is of the first tooth part and that is connected to the second non-tooth part is a third tooth, a tooth that is of the second tooth part and that is connected to the second non-tooth part is a fourth tooth (see Sketch 5 below representing Cho’s FIG 11 with the Examiner’s annotations showing position of all the recited parts), and a spacing between a tip of the first tooth and a tip of the second tooth is greater than a spacing between a tip of the third tooth and a tip of the fourth tooth (although such a relationship is not disclosed by Cho, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to use the relationship recited by claim or its opposite simply as design choice with predictable results since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).).”
Sketch 5
Regarding claim 40, Liao teaches or fairly suggests “wherein the foldable mechanism comprises a first door plate and a second door plate (Liao, paragraph 0212: the first folding assembly 200 may include a first support plate 40 (also referred to as a door plate). The second folding assembly 300 may include a second support plate 70.), and the first door plate and the second door plate are located on the second side (as may be seen from Liao’s FIG 8, both first and second support plates 40 and 70 are on the upper side (“the second side”) of the main shaft);
when the foldable mechanism is in the unfolded state, a first support surface of the first door plate is flush with a second support surface of the second door plate (Liao, paragraph 0215: As shown in FIG. 1a, when the first housing 2000 and the second housing 3000 are in the flattened state (“the unfolded state”), the flexible display 4000 is in a flattened state. As shown in FIG. 7, the first support plate 40 has a first surface 40a disposed toward the flexible display 4000. Similarly, the second support plate 70 has a third surface 70a disposed toward the flexible display 4000. In this case, as shown in FIG. 1a and FIG. 7, the first support plate 40 and the second support plate 70 rotate to a second position, and a support surface 100a that is of the main shaft assembly 100 and that faces toward the flexible display 4000 may be flush with the first surface 2001 of the first housing 2000, the first surface 40a of the first support plate 40 (“a first support surface of the first door plate”), the third surface 70a of the second support plate 70 (“a second support surface of the second door plate”), and the third surface 3001 of the second housing 3000.);
when the foldable mechanism is in the folded state, the first support surface of the first door plate and the second support surface of the second door plate are disposed opposite to each other, and the first support surface of the first door plate and the second support surface of the second door plate face away from each other and are positioned along a direction of the main shaft (exactly this position of the first support plate 40 and the second support plate 70 is shown in Liao’s FIG 8a-b); and
when the foldable mechanism is in the folded state, the rotation center of the first rotating end is located on a side that is of a plane on which the first door plate is located and wherein the plane on which the first door plate is located is at an end of the flexible display when in the folded state, and a rotation center of the second rotating end is located on a side that is of a plane on which the second door plate is located and wherein the plane on which the second door plate is located is at the end of the flexible display when in the folded state (as best understood, this arrangement appears to be shown in Liao’s FIG 18 and described in paragraph 0280. Also may be inferred from FIG 25b).”
Regarding claim 42, Liao teaches or fairly suggests “wherein the main shaft comprises an outer cover, and the first side is an outer side of the outer cover (FIG 25a and paragraph 0225: The main shaft assembly 100 may include an outer housing 10. The outer housing 10 of the main shaft assembly 100 may protect parts in the receptacle. A surface that is of the outer housing 10 and that is away from the inner housing may be used as an appearance surface, to ensure a beautiful and neat appearance of the entire electronic device. In addition, the outer housing 10 and the inner housing 11 may be fastened through a screw, or may be connected through another manner such as clamping, welding, or bonding.);
the foldable mechanism comprises a first clamping member, a second clamping member, a fastening element, and an elastic piece,
wherein the second clamping member is located between the first clamping member and the fastening element, the first synchronous gear and the second synchronous gear are located between the first clamping member and the second clamping member, the elastic piece is located between the second clamping member and the fastening element (FIG 37 as well as Sketch 6 which is based on FIG 37 with the Examiner’s annotations showing positions of all the recited parts), and both the first clamping member and the fastening element are fastened to the outer cover (these components either directly or indirectly, through other parts, are attached to the outer housing 10).”
Sketch 6
Regarding claim 45, Liao teaches or fairly suggests “wherein the foldable mechanism comprises a first moving member (in the first mapping, paragraph 0236: a first swing arm 32 (also referred to as a rotation arm, a sliding arm, or the like). In the second mapping, “a first moving member” corresponds to the first rotation assembly 30 comprising both a first driven arm 33 and a first swing arm 32), the first moving member is rotatably connected to the first bracket, and the first moving member is rotatably connected to the main shaft (paragraph 0236: One end of the first swing arm 32 (which is also a part of “the first moving member” in the second mapping)) is rotationally connected to the first housing mounting bracket 20, and the other end is rotationally connected to the main shaft assembly 100.).”
Regarding claim 46, Liao teaches or fairly suggests “wherein the first moving member is slidably connected to the first bracket (paragraph 0236: One end of the first driven arm 33 (which is a part of “the first moving member” in the second mapping)) is slidably connected to the first housing mounting bracket 20.).”
Regarding claim 47, Liao teaches or fairly suggests “wherein the foldable mechanism comprises a first moving member (“a first moving member” corresponds to disclosed in paragraph 0236 the first rotation assembly 30 comprising both a first driven arm 33 and a first swing arm 32), the first moving member is slidably connected to the first bracket, and the first moving member is rotatably connected to the main shaft (paragraph 0236: One end of the first driven arm 33 (which is a part of “the first moving member”) is slidably connected to the first housing mounting bracket 20, and the other end is rotationally connected to the main shaft assembly 100.).”
Claims 33 and 35, alternatively, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 114697416 (Yu) (of record) (references are given according to corresponding EP 4246941) in view of US 20220317730 (Cho).
Regarding claim 33, Yu teaches “An electronic device, comprising a first housing (FIG 1 and paragraph 0047: FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram of an exploded
structure of an electronic device 100 in an unfolded state. The electronic device 100 includes a flexible display 2 and a support apparatus 3. The support apparatus 3 includes a first frame body 31), a second housing (FIG 1 and paragraph 0047: The support apparatus 3 includes a second frame body 32), a foldable mechanism (FIG 1 and paragraph 0047: The support apparatus 3 includes a folding mechanism 33. The folding mechanism 33 is located between the first frame body 31 and the second frame body 32), and a flexible display (FIG 1 and paragraph 0047: The electronic device 100 includes a flexible display 2), wherein the first housing, the second housing, and the foldable mechanism jointly carry the flexible display (paragraph 0047: The electronic device 100 includes a
flexible display 2 and a support apparatus 3. The support apparatus 3 is configured to carry the flexible display 2, and the support apparatus 3 can drive the flexible display 2 to fold or unfold.);
the foldable mechanism comprises a main shaft (FIG 7 and paragraph 0062: The folding mechanism 33 includes a shaft base 331), a first bracket (FIG 7 and paragraph 0062: The folding mechanism 33 includes a first support 332), a second bracket (FIG 7 and paragraph 0062: The folding mechanism 33 includes a second support 333), a first swing arm (FIG 7 and paragraph 0062: The folding mechanism 33 includes a first synchronous arm 338), a second swing arm (FIG 7 and paragraph 0062: The folding mechanism 33 includes a second synchronous arm 339), a first synchronous gear, and a second synchronous gear (FIG 7 and paragraph 0062: The folding mechanism 33 includes a synchronization apparatus 337. Paragraph 0066: The synchronization apparatus 337 may be mounted on the shaft base 331, and the synchronization apparatus 337 is rotatably connected to the shaft base. Paragraph 0102: The synchronization apparatus 337 may include a plurality of synchronous gears 3371. As may be seen from FIG 19, there are two wheels in the gear);
the first swing arm (FIG 7 and paragraph 0062: The folding mechanism 33 includes a first synchronous arm 338) comprises a first rotating end (paragraph 0066: the other end of the first synchronous arm 338 is rotatably connected to the shaft base 331; therefore, this particular end of arm 338 is “a first rotating end”) and a first sliding end (paragraph 0066: one end of the first synchronous arm 338 is slidably connected to the first support 332; therefore, this particular end of arm 338 is “a first sliding end”), the first rotating end is rotatably connected to the main shaft (paragraph 0066: the other end of the first synchronous arm 338 (“a first rotating end”) is rotatably connected to the shaft base 331), the first sliding end is slidably connected to the first bracket (paragraph 0066: one end of the first synchronous arm 338 is slidably connected to the first support 332 (“the first bracket”)), and the first housing is fastened to the first bracket (paragraph 0063: The first support 332 is fixedly connected to the first frame body 31.);
the second swing arm (FIG 7 and paragraph 0062: The folding mechanism 33 includes a second synchronous arm 339) comprises a second rotating end (paragraph 0066: the other end of the second synchronous arm 339 is rotatably connected to the shaft base 331; therefore, this particular end of arm 339 is “a second rotating end”) and a second sliding end (paragraph 0066: One end of the second synchronous arm 339 is slidably connected to the second support 333; therefore, this particular end of arm 339 is “a second sliding end”), the second rotating end is rotatably connected to the main shaft (paragraph 0066: the other end of the second synchronous arm 339 (“a second rotating end”) is rotatably connected to the shaft base 331.), the second sliding end is slidably connected to the second bracket (paragraph 0066: One end of the second synchronous arm 339 is slidably connected to the second support 333 (“the second bracket”).), and the second housing is fastened to the second bracket (paragraph 0063: the second support 333 is fixedly connected to the second frame body 32.);
the first synchronous gear and the second synchronous gear are configured to synchronously move the first swing arm and the second swing arm (paragraph 0066: The synchronization apparatus 337 is configured to make the first synchronous arm 338 and the second synchronous arm 339 synchronously move during movement of the support apparatus 3. The first synchronous arm 338 and the second synchronous arm 339 drive the first support 332 and the second support 333 to synchronously move, and the first support 332 and the second support 333 drive the first frame body 31 and the second frame body 32 to move synchronously, so as to synchronously fold or unfold the first frame body 31 and the second frame body 32 relative to each other.);
the first synchronous gear (may be mapped to the left wheel 3771 in FIG 28 and/or 52) is rotatably connected to the main shaft (Paragraph 0066: The synchronization apparatus 337 may be mounted on the shaft base 331, and the synchronization apparatus 337 is rotatably connected to the shaft base.), the first synchronous gear comprises a first tooth part and a second tooth part (there are multiple teeth shown in the left wheel 3771 in FIG 28 and/or 52)…”
“…the second synchronous gear (may be mapped to the right wheel 3771 in FIG 28 and/or 52) is rotatably connected to the main shaft (Paragraph 0066: The synchronization apparatus 337 may be mounted on the shaft base 331, and the synchronization apparatus 337 is rotatably connected to the shaft base.), the second synchronous gear comprises a third tooth part and a fourth tooth part (there are multiple teeth shown in the right wheel 3771 in FIG 28 and/or 52)…”
Yu does not teach that “a radius of a tip circle of the first tooth part is different from a radius of a tip circle of the second tooth part; and” that “a radius of a tip circle of the third tooth part is different from a radius of a tip circle of the fourth tooth part, and the third tooth part is engaged with the second tooth part.” In Yu, the wheels 3771 are round so that all teeth are equidistant from the center of the respective wheel.
However, these limitations are rejected in view of Cho as explained in the rejection of claim 33 above in the previous section as unpatentable over a combination of Liao and Cho, the explanation being incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding claim 35, Yu in combination with Cho teaches “wherein the main shaft comprises a first side (for example, lower side of the shaft base 331 and/or housing 341 in Yu’s FIG 7) and a second side (for example, upper side of the shaft base 331 in Yu’s FIG 7) that are disposed opposite to each other (implicit), the first side is an appearance side of the main shaft (applies to the lower side of the housing 341), and the second side is closer to the flexible display than the first side (implicit);
the radius of the tip circle of the first tooth part is greater than the radius of the tip circle of the second tooth part (it may clearly be seen from Cho’s FIG 9 and 11 – 13 that the radius of the tooth 234_1 (“the first tooth part”) is greater than that one of the tooth 234_2 (“the second tooth part”)), and the radius of the tip circle of the fourth tooth part is greater than the radius of the tip circle of the third tooth part (it may clearly be seen from Cho’s FIG 9 and 11 – 13 that the radius of the tooth 233_1 (“the fourth tooth part”) is greater than that one of the tooth 233_2 (“the third tooth part”)); and
during a process in which the foldable mechanism is folded from an unfolded state to a folded state, the second tooth part moves in a direction closer towards the second side, and the third tooth part moves in a direction closer towards the second side (may be seen from Cho’s FIG 13 that any of the teeth 234_2 and 233_2 move in the direction of the upper side “the second side” when the device is folded).”
Regarding claim 41, Yu in combination with Cho teaches “wherein the foldable mechanism comprises the first door plate (Par. 0062: The folding mechanism 33 includes a first support plate 335) and the second door plate (Par. 0062: The folding mechanism 33 includes a second support plate 336), and the first door plate and the second door plate are located on the second side (may be seen from FIG. 7);
when the foldable mechanism is in the unfolded state, the first support surface of the first door plate is flush with the second support surface of the second door plate (Par. 0071: When the electronic device 100 is completely in the unfolded state, a support surface 3341 of the door plate 334 is flush with a support surface 3351 of the first support plate 335 and a support surface 3361 of the second support plate 336. Thus, the first support plate 335 is flush with the second support plate 336);
when the foldable mechanism is in the folded state, the first support surface of the first door plate and the second support surface of the second door plate are disposed opposite to each other, and face away from each other with respect to the direction of the main shaft (exactly this position of the first support plate 335 and the second support plate 336 is shown in Yu’s FIG 38, 47, 49, 53, 55);
when the foldable mechanism is in the unfolded state, a vertical projection, on the plane on which the first door plate is located, of the first synchronous gear at least partially overlaps the first door plate; when the foldable mechanism is in the unfolded state, a vertical projection, on the plane on which the second door plate is located, of the second synchronous gear at least partially overlaps the second door plate (as best understood, please see Sketch 7 which is based on Yu’s FIG 52 with the Examiner’s annotations); and
in the process in which the foldable mechanism is folded from the unfolded state to the folded state, the first tooth part moves toward the first side, and the fourth tooth part moves toward the first side (may be seen from Cho’s FIG 13 that any of the teeth 234_1 and 233_1 move in the direction of the lower side (“the first side”) when the device is folded).”
Sketch 7
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 43, 44 and 48 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/GENNADIY TSVEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648