DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 5, 8, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the term “optionally” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the term are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 5, the term “optionally” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the term are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 8, the term “optionally” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the term are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 12, the term “optionally” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the term are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 14, the term “optionally” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the term are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kalenborn (DE 102015016034 B3).
Re claim 1, Kalenborn shows a fuel injector (Fig. 1) of a fuel injection system for delivering gaseous fuel to an internal combustion engine, the fuel injector comprising:
an injector nozzle (3) having a valve needle (13) that is movable within a bore (35) of the injector nozzle (3) for controlling delivery of the gaseous fuel to the internal combustion engine;
a needle control valve (51) for controlling the movement of the valve needle (13) by controlling the pressure of a control fluid in a control chamber (49) of the needle control valve (51);
a first fluid supply network (53) for conveying the control fluid from a first injector inlet (end of 53) to an inlet (at 51) of the needle control valve (51);
a second fluid supply network (23) for conveying the gaseous fuel from a second injector inlet (25) to a delivery chamber (19), defined around the valve needle (13) in the bore (37) of the injector nozzle (3), for injection into the engine; and
one or more sealant chambers (27/49/59/89) for sealing respective leakage paths of the second fluid supply network (23), each leakage path extending between respective adjacent bodies (7/9/11) of the fuel injector and the respective sealant chamber (27/49/59/89) being defined at interfacing surfaces of those bodies (7/9/11) to enclose that leakage path, wherein each sealant chamber (27/49/59/89) is connected to the first fluid supply network (53) such that, in use, each sealant chamber (27/49/59/89) is supplied with the control fluid from the first fluid supply network (53) at a higher pressure (paragraph 0023) than the supply of fuel in the second fluid supply network (23), thereby substantially inhibiting leakage from the second fluid supply network (46) via the respective leakage path.
Re claims 2 & 16, Kalenborn shows at least one of the leakage paths of the second fluid supply network (23) is defined between interfacing surfaces of the valve needle (13) and the bore (35) of the injector nozzle (3), and the respective sealant chamber (59) is defined, at least in part, by a recess (paragraph 0043) in the bore (35) of the injector nozzle (3) at that interface.
Re claim 3, Kalenborn shows the valve needle (13) is matched to the bore (35) of the injector nozzle (3) such that a clearance between the interfacing surfaces of the valve needle (13) and the bore (35) of the injector nozzle (3) provides a lubricating flow of control fluid from the sealant chamber (59), defined at least partly by the recess (paragraph 0043) in the bore (35) of the injector nozzle (3), to the delivery chamber (19).
Re claim 4, Kalenborn shows at least one of the leakage paths of the second fluid supply network (23) is defined between interfacing surfaces of axially adjacent first and second bodies (9/11) of the fuel injector (3), in an area of connection between respective conduits of the second fluid supply network (23) in the first and second bodies (9/11), and wherein the respective sealant chamber (27) is defined, at least in part, by a recess in the interfacing surfaces of at least one of the first and second bodies (9/11), surrounding the area of connection, to seal the leakage path (through 23/93), in use.
Re claim 5, Kalenborn shows the one or more sealant chambers (27/49/59/89) includes a plurality of sealant chambers, optionally, wherein one or more of the plurality of sealant chambers (27/49/59/89) are configured to seal respective leakage paths of the second fluid supply network (23) at each mating face or controlled clearance of the fuel injector.
Re claim 6, Kalenborn shows at least one of the sealant chambers (27/49/59/89) includes an annular chamber enclosing the respective leakage path.
Re claim 7, Kalenborn discloses the gaseous fuel is hydrogen gas (paragraph 0007).
Re claim 8, Kalenborn discloses the control fluid is conveyed as a liquid fluid in the first fluid supply network (53), in use, optionally, wherein the control fluid is a hydraulic fluid or a diesel fuel (paragraph 0009).
Re claim 9, Kalenborn shows a return spring (43) urging the valve needle (13) against a valve seat (15) of the injector nozzle (3).
Re claim 10, Kalenborn shows the second fluid supply network (23) includes a first high pressure line (23) and a second high pressure line (37; paragraph 0043), each extending from the second injector inlet (25) to the delivery chamber (19).
Re claim 11, Kalenborn shows the first fluid supply network (51) includes: a first high pressure line (53) extending from the first injector inlet (end of 53) to the inlet (at 51) of the needle control valve (51), and respective branches extending from the first high pressure line (53) to each sealant chamber (27/49/59/89).
Re claim 13, Kalenborn shows control fluid in the control chamber (49) acts on a distal surface of the valve needle (13), and wherein the distal surface has a diameter (D2) that is greater than a diameter of the valve seat (15) of the injector nozzle (3).
Re claim 14, Kalenborn shows a fuel injection system for delivering gaseous fuel to an internal combustion engine comprising a fuel injector according to claim 1 (see above), optionally, wherein the internal combustion engine is a hydrogen engine (paragraph 0007).
Re claim 15, Kalenborn shows a method of controlling fuel injection from a fuel injection system comprising: a fuel injector according to claim 1 (see above); a first fluid delivery system (51) for delivering the control fluid to the fuel injector; and a second fluid delivery system (23) for delivering the fuel to the fuel injector; the method comprising:
supplying the first fluid supply network (51) with control fluid from the first fluid delivery system;
supplying the second fluid supply network (23) with fuel from the second fluid delivery system; and
controlling fuel injection from the fuel injector by:
operating the needle control valve (13) to:
reduce the pressure of the control fluid in the control chamber (47/49) of the needle control valve (51) and thereby initiate fuel injection; and subsequently increase the pressure of the control fluid in the control chamber (47/49) to thereby cut-off fuel injection; and
controlling at least one of the first and second fluid delivery systems to provide a pressure difference between the first and second fluid supply networks (51/23) during the fuel injection, such that each sealant chamber (47/49) is supplied with the control fluid from the first fluid supply network (51) at a higher pressure (paragraph 0023 & 0041) than the supply of fuel in the second fluid supply network (23), thereby substantially inhibiting leakage from the second fluid supply network (23) via the respective leakage path.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalenborn (DE 102015016034 B3) in view of Peters et al. (US Pat No 6,824,081 B2).
Re claim 12, Kalenborn discloses all aspects of the claimed invention but does not teach the needle control valve includes one or more electromagnetic valves.
However, Peters et al. disclose one or more electromagnetic valves (col. 4, lines 28-33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the motivation to have the control valve of Kalenborn be an electromagnet valve as taught by Peters et al. to provide a fast proportional actuator with which to move the valve member (Peters – col. 4, lines 28-33).
Conclusion
STEVEN MICHAEL CERNOCH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/STEVEN M CERNOCH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752