DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 refers to “a pump” in line 1 and once again refers to “a pump” in line 4. It is unclear if these two instance refer to the same pump or if they are different pumps. For the purposes of examination, they will be assumed to be the same pump such that the second instance will be referred to as “the pump” to establish antecedent basis.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the axis of rotation" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 5 recites the broad recitation “a fixed electromagnet (22) integrally joined to the support body”, and the claim also recites “in particular to the bell member” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. Claim 5 also recites the broad recitation “a mechanical rotor”, and the claim also recites “preferably with an L-shaped cross-section” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. Furthermore, claim 6 recites the broad recitation “an auxiliary spindle (202) keyed onto an inner race of a rear bearing (224) mounted on the rear end of the support body, and the claim also recites “in particular on the rear foot (113c),” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "said auxiliary spindle" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that claim 7 depends on claim 6 which mentions the auxiliary spindle.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the front electric drive" in line 2. Claim 12 recites the limitation "the armature" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. For the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that claim 12 depends on claim 5 which mentions the armature.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the auxiliary spindle" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the electric rotor" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Furthermore, it is unclear if the electric motor (30) mentioned in this claim is the same as the electric drive mentioned in parent claim 1 or if it is different. They will be considered to be the same for examination purposes.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the impeller shaft" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination this will be assumed to be the driven shaft.
Claims 2-17 are also rejected by virtue of their dependence on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boffelli et al. (herein Boffelli) (US 2020/0056533). Regarding Claim 1:In Figure 2, Boffelli discloses an operating assembly for operating a pump for recirculating a cooling fluid of a vehicle (see abstract), comprising: a driven shaft (2) extending axially with a front end (front end connected to impeller 1, henceforth referred to as FE) designed to carry the impeller (1) of the pump (recirculation pump); an electromagnetic friction clutch (friction clutch 60 with electromagnet 61, see paragraphs [0029]-[0034]) arranged between a movement take-up element (63, 63a) for taking up a rotational movement (see paragraph [0033]) and the driven shaft (as seen in Figure 2); an electric drive (electric motor 51, 52) for driving the driven shaft (2), independent of the movement take-up element (see paragraphs [0042]-[0046]); a support body (11, 66) extending axially between a front part (11) which carries the front end of the shaft (front end of the shaft is supported by bearing 13 which is carried by 11, see Figures 1-2) and a rear end (66) which rotationally supports said movement take-up element (66 rotationally supports the movement take-up element 63 via bearing 64, see paragraph [0033]); wherein the electric drive (51,52) and the electromagnetic clutch (60) are axially arranged between the front end (FE) of the shaft and said movement take-up element (as seen in Figure 2, the electric drive 51, 52 and the electromagnetic clutch 60 are axially between the front end FE and the movement take-up element 63, 63a).Regarding Claim 2:In Figure 2, Boffelli discloses an operating assembly, wherein the support body (11, 66) is made in two parts and comprises a first front body part (depicted as FP in Figure A below) which supports said front end (FE) of the shaft (via bearing 13) and is designed to be secured to a fixed base (11a), and a bell member (66) secured to the first body part (secured to 11 via shaft 2, see Figure 2) and comprising a radially inner and axially extending rear foot (as seen in Figure 2, 66 is a radially inner sleeve that extends axially. Depicted as F in Figure A below) which forms said rear end (66) designed to support the movement take-up element (66 rotationally supports the movement take-up element 63 via bearing 64, see paragraph [0033]) for taking up the movement.
Regarding Claim 3:In Figure 2, Boffelli discloses the operating assembly, wherein a first bearing (13) is arranged between the shaft (2) and the first body part (FP) of the support body.Regarding Claim 4:In Figure 2, Boffelli discloses the operating assembly, wherein said bell member (66) comprises: a front and radially outer axial arm (depicted as OA in annotated Figure A above) secured to the first body part (secured to 11 via shaft 2) of the support body (as seen in Figure A); a radial arm (RA, see Figure A) extending from the axial arm towards the axis of rotation of the shaft (2) and said foot (F, see Figure A) extending from the radial arm and axially distal from the impeller (as seen in Figure A).Regarding Claim 5:In Figure 2, Boffelli discloses the operating assembly, wherein the electromagnetic clutch (60, 61) comprises: a fixed electromagnet (61) integrally joined to the support body (integrally joined to support body as seen in Figure A), in particular to the bell member (as seen in Figure A); a mechanical rotor (62), preferably with an L-shaped cross-section (partially forms an L-shape with arm 62a); an armature (65) arranged facing the electromagnet (faces 61 as seen in Figure A), with a radial front surface of the rotor (surface of 62a) arranged between the electromagnet (61) and the armature (as seen in Figure 2, 62a is between 61 and 65).Regarding Claim 9:In Figure 2, Boffelli discloses the operating assembly, comprising a rotor flange (62a, 66) rotationally integral with a rear end (see paragraph [0032]) of the shaft (2) opposite to the end supporting the impeller (as seen in Figure 2).Regarding Claim 10:In Figure 2, Boffelli discloses the operating assembly, wherein said electric drive (51, 52) comprises: a radially inner stator (51) supported by the support body (as seen in Figure A), and a radially outer rotor (52) mounted on a rotor flange (62a, 66) rotationally integral with the shaft (see paragraph [0032]) and configured to arrange the rotor in a radially outer position concentric with the stator for radial coupling therewith (as evident from Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 11:In Figure 2, Boffelli discloses the operating assembly, wherein the armature (65) of the electromagnetic clutch (60) is rotationally coupled with a rotor flange (62a) with the possibility of being displaced axially by means of an elastic plate (resilient membrane 65a, see paragraph [0034]), so as to couple or decouple a rear end surface of the armature and said front surface of the mechanical rotor (see paragraphs [0042]-[0046]).Regarding Claim 12:In Figure 2, Boffelli discloses the operating assembly, wherein a rotor flange (62a) is axially arranged between the front electric drive (51, 52) and the armature (65) of the electromagnetic clutch (as seen in Figure 2).
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Buchholz et al. (herein Buccholz) (US 2015/0037177).Regarding Claim 1:In Figure 8, Buchholz discloses an operating assembly for operating a pump (150) for recirculating a cooling fluid of a vehicle (see paragraph [0018]), comprising: a driven shaft (162) extending axially with a front end (162-A) designed to carry the impeller (156) of the pump (150); an electromagnetic friction clutch (170, 180) arranged between a movement take-up element (152, 154) for taking up a rotational movement and the driven shaft (as seen in Figure 8); an electric drive (192, 194) for driving the driven shaft (see paragraph [0071]), independent of the movement take-up element (see paragraph [0073]); a support body (160) extending axially between a front part (196) which carries the front end (162-A) of the shaft (as seen in Figure 2) and a rear end (rear end carrying bearing 158) which rotationally supports said movement take-up element (via bearing 158, see paragraph [0068]); wherein the electric drive (192, 194) and the electromagnetic clutch (170, 180) are axially arranged between the front end (162-A) of the shaft (162) and said movement take-up element (152, 152, as seen in Figure 8).Regarding Claim 2:In Figure 8, Buchholz discloses the operating assembly, wherein the support body (160) is made in two parts and comprises a first front body part (FB, see annotated Figure B below) which supports said front end (162-A) of the shaft (via bearing 174 as evident from Figure 8 and paragraph [0071]) and is designed to be secured to a fixed base (4), and a bell member (BM, see Figure B) secured to the first body part (160 is attached to a vehicle engine or another component which forms the fixed base, see paragraph [0069]) and comprising a radially inner and axially extending rear foot (RF, see Figure B) which forms said rear end (RE, see Figure B designed to support the movement take-up element (152, 154) for taking up the movement.
Regarding Claim 5:In Figure 8, Buchholz discloses the operating assembly, wherein the electromagnetic clutch (170, 180) comprises: a fixed electromagnet (180) integrally joined to the support body (as seen in Figure 8, 180 is joined to 160), in particular to the bell member (as seen in Figure B); a mechanical rotor (170), preferably with an L-shaped cross-section (as seen in Figure 8, 170 forms an L-shape at the center portion attached to the shaft 162); an armature (armature A, see Figure B) arranged facing the electromagnet (as seen in Figure 8), with a radial front surface of the rotor (RFS, see Figure B) arranged between the electromagnet (180) and the armature (A).Regarding Claim 7:In Figure 8, Buchholz discloses the operating assembly, wherein the mechanical rotor (170) of the electromagnetic clutch (170, 180) is supported by said auxiliary spindle (152) and rotationally integral therewith (when the clutch 170 is closed, the rotor 170 becomes rotationally integral with the spindle 152 and is rotated and supported by it, see paragraph [0073]).Regarding Claim 13:In Figure 8, Buchholz discloses the operating assembly, wherein the bell member (BM) of the support body extends in the axial direction over a length such as to contain inside it both the electromagnetic clutch (170) and the electric drive (192, 194, as seen in Figure B).Regarding Claim 14:In Figure 8, Buchholz discloses the operating assembly, wherein the movement take-up element (152, 154) comprises a movement take-up flange (MTF, see Figure B), fixed to the rear end of the auxiliary spindle (as seen in Figure B), the flange (MTF) having a radially outer axial arm (ROA, see Figure B, with an outer side surface (outer side surface of 154) which forms a movement take-up pulley (154 forms a pulley member, see paragraph [0067]), and a radial arm (RA, see Figure B) connected to the spindle (152).Regarding Claim 15:In Figure 8, Buchholz discloses the operating assembly, wherein the movement take-up flange (MTF) defines an internal volume (V, see Figure B) between the outer axial arm (ROA) and the auxiliary spindle (152), inside which a rear foot (RF, see Figure B) of the support body (160) is at least partially housed (as seen in Figure B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buchholz et al. (herein Buccholz) (US 2015/0037177) as evidenced by Fournier (US 2011/0293210). Regarding Claim 6:In Figure 8, Buchholz discloses the operating assembly, further comprising an auxiliary spindle (152) on an inner race of a rear bearing (as seen in Figure 8, the inner race of the bearing 158 supports the spindle 152) mounted on the rear end of the support body (as seen in Figure 8), in particular on a rear foot (portion of 160 supporting 158 forms a rear foot as seen in Figure 8), wherein the movement take-up element (152, 154) is rotationally integral with the spindle (as seen in Figure 8 and mentioned in paragraph [0067]).Buchholz is silent regarding whether the auxiliary spindle (152) is keyed onto the inner race of the rear bearing (158).However, it is extremely well known in the art that spindles can be keyed onto the inner race of bearing in order to securely attach the bearing to the spindle. This is further evidenced by Fournier in paragraph [0005].Hence, based on common knowledge in the art and the evidence provided by Fournier, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have keyed Buccholz’s auxiliary spindle (152) onto the inner race of the rear bearing (158) in order to provide a secure attachment between these two elements. Regarding Claim 8:In Figure 8, Buchholz discloses the operating assembly, wherein said auxiliary spindle (152) is coaxial with the driven shaft (162) supporting the impeller (as seen in Figure 8).
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buchholz et al. (herein Buccholz) (US 2015/0037177).Regarding Claim 16:In Figure 8, Buchholz discloses the operating assembly, further comprising an arrangement which comprises, in sequence in the axial direction along the axis of rotation of the driven shaft (axis not shown but along shaft 162 as seen in Figure B above): the front end (162-A) supporting the impeller (1), an electric motor (192, 194), a rotor flange (RF, see Figure B) which carries the electric rotor (via bearing 172 and shaft 162), an armature (A, see Figure B) of the electromagnetic clutch, a mechanical rotor (170) of the electromagnetic clutch, an electromagnet (180) and said movement take-up element (152, 154).The following elements are not in the claimed sequence: an armature (A, see Figure B) of the electromagnetic clutch, a mechanical rotor (170) of the electromagnetic clutch, an electromagnet (180).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearranged the armature (A, see Figure B) of the electromagnetic clutch, the mechanical rotor (170) of the electromagnetic clutch, and the electromagnet (180) in the claimed axial sequence, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.Regarding Claim 17:In Figure 8, Buchholz discloses the operating assembly, wherein the electric rotor (194) and the armature (A) are rotationally coupled to the impeller shaft (as seen in Figure B), and the mechanical rotor (170) and the movement take-up element (154) are rotationally coupled to an auxiliary spindle (when the clutch 170 is closed, the rotor 170 becomes rotationally coupled with the spindle 152 and is rotated by it, see paragraph [0073])), separate from the shaft (162) supporting the impeller (as seen in Figure 8).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20220213833 – Hybrid pump with a clutchUS 20210079831 – Pump driven by engine and/or motor
US 20210079830 – Coolant pump with clutchUS 20170037853 - Cooling fluid pump with clutchUS 20160040676 – Hybrid coolant pump.US 20140174874 – Cooling pump with electric drive and clutch.
/DOMINICK L PLAKKOOTTAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746