Detailed Action
Response to Amendment
2. The Amendment filed on 03/18/2026 has been entered. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 1-15 remain pending in the application. Objections to the drawings are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the new limitations “… wherein the vehicle window glass has a first side configured to face a vehicle interior and a second side configured to face a vehicle exterior, and wherein the imaging layer and the dimming film are configured such that, in a haze state or opaque state of the dimming film, an image projected by the projection device from the first side is displayed on the second side with enhanced projection effect via the imaging layer, …”, which are not supported by the original disclosure. According to Fig. 6 of the drawing, which is reproduced below for reference, when the dimming film 160 is in a haze state or opaque state, it blocks light transmission, as a result, no projected image light transmits through the dimming film 160 and is displayed on the exterior side or second side of the vehicle. In another word, when the dimming film 160 is in a haze state or opaque state, it is impossible to see image 190 from outside of the vehicle. Furthermore, the specification filed on 03/18/2026 discloses “when the power supply to the PDLC dimming film 160 is stopped to make it hazed (opaque), both the hazed PDLC film and the transparent back projection film are good outward scattering media, and the image projected by the projection device in the vehicle are intercepted by the imaging layer 170 and the PDLC dimming film 160 at the same time. The enhanced superposition of the image makes the image brighter and clearer, and enhances the brightness of the image displayed by the outward projection, thus enhancing the effect of the outward projection ……”. According to the specification, the projected image passes through the dimming film 160 when the dimming film 160 is not in a hazed or opaque state. Therefore, the new limitations in claim 1 is in contradictory with the specification, and claim 1 contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 2-14 are rejected as being dependent upon rejected base claims.
Annotated version of Applicant’s Fig. 6
5. Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 1 recites the new limitations “… wherein the vehicle window glass has a first side configured to face a vehicle interior and a second side configured to face a vehicle exterior, and wherein the imaging layer and the dimming film are configured such that, in a haze state or opaque state of the dimming film, an image projected by the projection device from the first side is displayed on the second side with enhanced projection effect via the imaging layer, …”, which are not supported by the original disclosure. According to Fig. 6 of the drawing, which is reproduced below for reference, when the dimming film 160 is in a haze state or opaque state, it blocks light transmission, as a result, no projected image light transmits through the dimming film 160 and is displayed on the exterior side or second side of the vehicle. In another word, when the dimming film 160 is in a haze state or opaque state, it is impossible to see image 190 from outside of the vehicle. Furthermore, the specification filed on 03/18/2026 discloses “when the power supply to the PDLC dimming film 160 is stopped to make it hazed (opaque), both the hazed PDLC film and the transparent back projection film are good outward scattering media, and the image projected by the projection device in the vehicle are intercepted by the imaging layer 170 and the PDLC dimming film 160 at the same time. The enhanced superposition of the image makes the image brighter and clearer, and enhances the brightness of the image displayed by the outward projection, thus enhancing the effect of the outward projection ……”. According to the specification, the projected image passes through the dimming film 160 when the dimming film 160 is not in a hazed or opaque state. Therefore, the new limitations in claim 1 is in contradictory with the specification, and the claimed subject matters in claim 1 are not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-4 and 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CHEN (CN 111660769 A).
Regarding claim 1, CHEN discloses a vehicle window glass (Figs. 1-4; vehicle window glass) suitable for cooperating with a projection device (projection device 7) to provide a projection function, wherein the vehicle window glass comprises a first glass body (glass substrate 6), a second glass body (glass substrate 1), and an imaging layer (projection image layer 2) and a dimming film (dimming film 3) sandwiched between the first glass body (glass substrate 6) and the second glass body (glass substrate 1), and wherein an image projected by the projection device (projection device 7) on one side of the vehicle window glass displays the projected image on the other side via the vehicle window glass (Figs. 1-3), and the dimming film (dimming film 3) is configured to be capable of adjusting light transmittance and/or haze to enhance a projection effect of the imaging layer and/or provide privacy effect ([0034]-[0035]), wherein the vehicle window glass (e.g., Fig. 2 is reproduced below for reference) has a first side configured to face a vehicle interior and a second side configured to face a vehicle exterior, and wherein the imaging layer and the dimming film are configured such that, in a haze state or opaque state of the dimming film, an image projected by the projection device from the first side is displayed on the second side with enhanced projection effect via the imaging layer, while direct viewing of the vehicle interior through the vehicle window glass from the second side is reduced or prevented ([0034]-[0035]; Chen (e.g., Fig. 2) discloses a vehicle window glass, which has a same structure and a same position relationship with respect to the projection device as that disclosed by applicant (e.g., Fig. 6)).
Annotated version of Chen’s Fig. 2
Annotated version of Applicant’s Fig. 6
Regarding claim 2, CHEN discloses the vehicle window glass according to claim 1, wherein the vehicle window glass (Figs. 1-4; vehicle window glass) further comprises a first intermediate layer (intermediate layer 4) for attaching the dimming film (dimming film 3) to the first glass body (glass substrate 6), and the imaging layer (projection image layer 2) is attached to the second glass body (glass substrate 1) directly (Fig. 2) or through a second intermediate layer (alternative limitation, it is interpreted as optional, in addition, Figs. 2 and 4 teach a second intermediate layer 21).
Regarding claim 3, CHEN discloses the vehicle window glass according to claim 2, wherein the imaging layer (Figs. 2 and 4; projection image layer 22) is directly attached to the second glass (Figs. 2 and 4; glass substrate 1) body by back adhesive (Figs. 2 and 4; bonding layer 21) or coating (alternative limitation, it is interpreted as optional).
Regarding claim 4, CHEN discloses the vehicle window glass according to claim 2, wherein the imaging layer (Fig. 2; projection image layer 2) is directly attached to the dimming film (Fig. 2; dimming film 3) or attached to the dimming film through a third intermediate layer (alternative limitation, it is interpreted as optional, in addition, Figs. 2 and 4 teach the third intermediate layer 23).
Regarding claim 7, CHEN (Figs. 1-4) discloses the vehicle window glass according to claim 2, wherein the imaging layer (Fig. 4; projection image layer 22) is formed as a portion of the second intermediate layer (Fig. 4; second intermediate layer 21).
Regarding claim 8, CHEN (Figs. 1-4) discloses the vehicle window glass according to claim 7, wherein the imaging layer (Fig. 4; projection image layer 22) is formed as a portion of the second intermediate layer (Fig. 4; second intermediate layer 21) by being coated on or fused with the second intermediate layer (Fig. 4 and [0040]).
Regarding claim 9, CHEN (Figs. 1-4) discloses the vehicle window glass according to claim 4, wherein the imaging layer (Fig. 4; projection image layer 22) is formed as a portion of the third intermediate layer (Fig. 4; third intermediate layer 23).
Regarding claim 10, CHEN (Figs. 1-4) discloses the vehicle window glass according to claim 4, wherein the imaging layer (Fig. 4; projection image layer 22) is formed as a portion of the third intermediate layer (Fig. 4; third intermediate layer 23) by being coated on or fused with the third intermediate layer (Fig. 4 and [0040]).
Regarding claim 11, CHEN discloses the vehicle window glass according to claim 1, wherein the imaging layer is configured as a back projection imaging layer of any one of film layer, coating layer and micro-structure layer (e.g., Fig. 2; back projection image layer 2; [0035]).
Regarding claim 12, CHEN discloses the vehicle window glass according to claim 1, wherein the dimming film is configured as any one of polymer dispersed liquid crystal, polymer network liquid crystal, guest-host liquid crystal and electrochromic ([0034]; dimming layer 3, e.g., PDLC).
Regarding claim 13, CHEN discloses the vehicle window glass according to claim 1, wherein the dimming film is configured as polymer dispersed liquid crystal ([0034]; dimming layer 3, e.g., PDLC), and the imaging layer (Fig. 2; projection image layer 2) is closer to or farther from the projection device (Fig. 2; projection device 7) than the dimming film (Fig. 2; dimming film 3).
Regarding claim 14, CHEN (Figs. 1-4) discloses a vehicle-mounted projection system, wherein the vehicle-mounted projection system comprises a projection device (projection device 7), a human-machine interaction unit ([0005], [0035], and [0038]) and a vehicle window glass (Figs. 1-4) according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, CHEN (Figs. 1-4) discloses the vehicle-mounted projection system according to claim 14, wherein the projection device (projection device 7/8) is arranged inside or outside the vehicle so as to project image to outside or inside the vehicle (e.g., Figs. 2-3).
8. Claims 1-4 and 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SADAKANE (US 20220032744 A1).
Regarding claim 1, SADAKANE (Figs. 1-3, 5-7, and 9) discloses a vehicle window glass (Fig. 5, vehicle window glass 140; Fig. 9, vehicle window glass 240) suitable for cooperating with a projection device (projection device 16) to provide a projection function, wherein the vehicle window glass comprises a first glass body (glass substrate 141; [0034]), a second glass body (glass substrate 142; [0034]), and an imaging layer (e.g., Fig. 9; projection image layer 150; [0038]) and a dimming film (e.g., Fig. 9; dimming film 160; [0147]) sandwiched between the first glass body (glass substrate 141) and the second glass body (glass substrate 142), and wherein an image projected by the projection device (projection device 16) on one side of the vehicle window glass displays the projected image on the other side via the vehicle window glass (e.g., Figs. 1-3), and the dimming film (dimming film 160) is configured to be capable of adjusting light transmittance and/or haze to enhance a projection effect of the imaging layer and/or provide privacy effect ([0147]), wherein the vehicle window glass has a first side configured to face a vehicle interior and a second side configured to face a vehicle exterior (e.g., Figs. 1-3; vehicle and window glass), and wherein the imaging layer (projection image layer 150) and the dimming film (dimming film 160) are configured such that, in a haze state or opaque state of the dimming film ([0147]), an image projected by the projection device (projection device 16) from the first side is displayed on the second side with enhanced projection effect via the imaging layer (projection image layer 150), while direct viewing of the vehicle interior through the vehicle window glass from the second side is reduced or prevented (e.g., Fig. 9 and [0147]).
Regarding claim 2, SADAKANE (Figs. 1-3, 5-7, and 9) discloses the vehicle window glass according to claim 1, wherein the vehicle window glass (e.g., Fig. 9; vehicle window glass 240) further comprises a first intermediate layer (first intermediate layer denoted as 143-1) for attaching the dimming film (dimming film 160) to the first glass body (glass substrate 141), and the imaging layer (projection image layer 150) is attached to the second glass body (glass substrate 142) directly (alternative limitation, it is interpreted as optional) or through a second intermediate layer (second intermediate layer denoted as 143-2).
Regarding claim 3, SADAKANE (Figs. 1-3, 5-7, and 9) discloses the vehicle window glass according to claim 2, wherein the imaging layer (Fig. 9; projection image layer 150) is directly attached to the second glass (Fig. 9; glass substrate 142) body by back adhesive (Fig. 9; second intermediate layer 143-2) or coating (alternative limitation, it is interpreted as optional).
Regarding claim 4, SADAKANE (Figs. 1-3, 5-7, and 9) discloses the vehicle window glass according to claim 2, wherein the imaging layer (Fig. 9; projection image layer 150) is directly attached to the dimming film (alternative limitation, it is interpreted as optional) or attached to the dimming film (Fig. 9; dimming film 160) through a third intermediate layer (Fig. 9; third intermediate layer denoted as 143-3).
Regarding claim 6, SADAKANE (Figs. 1-3, 5-7, and 9) discloses the vehicle window glass according to claim 2, wherein the imaging layer is formed as a portion of the dimming film (e.g., Fig. 5; imaging layer 150b is a part of a dimming structure 150; [0042]-[0043]).
Regarding claim 7, SADAKANE (Figs. 1-3, 5-7, and 9) discloses the vehicle window glass according to claim 2, wherein the imaging layer (Fig. 9; projection image layer 150) is formed as a portion of the second intermediate layer (Fig. 9; second intermediate layer 143-2).
Regarding claim 8, SADAKANE (Figs. 1-3, 5-7, and 9) discloses the vehicle window glass according to claim 7, wherein the imaging layer (Fig. 9; projection image layer 150) is formed as a portion of the second intermediate layer (Fig. 9; second intermediate layer 143-2) by being coated on or fused with the second intermediate layer (Fig. 9 and [0037]-[0038], [0045], [0053]).
Regarding claim 9, SADAKANE (Figs. 1-3, 5-7, and 9) discloses the vehicle window glass according to claim 4, wherein the imaging layer (Fig. 9; projection image layer 150) is formed as a portion of the third intermediate layer (Fig. 9; third intermediate layer 143-3).
Regarding claim 10, SADAKANE (Figs. 1-3, 5-7, and 9) discloses the vehicle window glass according to claim 4, wherein the imaging layer (Fig. 9; projection image layer 150) is formed as a portion of the third intermediate layer (Fig. 9; third intermediate layer 143-3) by being coated on or fused with the third intermediate layer (Fig. 9 and [0037]-[0038], [0045], [0053]).
Regarding claim 11, SADAKANE (Figs. 1-3, 5-7, and 9) discloses the vehicle window glass according to claim 1, wherein the imaging layer is configured as a back projection imaging layer of any one of film layer, coating layer and micro-structure layer (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 5; back projection image layer 150).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over CHEN (CN 111660769 A) in view of SADAKANE (US 20220032744 A1).
Regarding claim 5, CHEN discloses the vehicle window glass according to claim 4, wherein the imaging layer (projection image layer 2) is directly attached to the dimming film (dimming film 3). CHEN does not disclose wherein the imaging layer is directly attached to the dimming film by coating. However, SADAKANE (Figs. 1-7) discloses a vehicle window glass, wherein the imaging layer is formed by coating ([0045]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from SADAKANE to the vehicle window glass of CHEN. The combination/motivation would be to provide a vehicle window glass with an improved performance.
Response to Arguments
11. Applicant's arguments filed 03/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim 1 recites the new limitations “… wherein the vehicle window glass has a first side configured to face a vehicle interior and a second side configured to face a vehicle exterior, and wherein the imaging layer and the dimming film are configured such that, in a haze state or opaque state of the dimming film, an image projected by the projection device from the first side is displayed on the second side with enhanced projection effect via the imaging layer, …”, which are not supported by the original disclosure. According to Fig. 6 of the drawing, which is reproduced below for reference, when the dimming film 160 is in a haze state or opaque state, it blocks light transmission, as a result, no projected image light transmits through the dimming film 160 and is displayed on the exterior side or second side of the vehicle. In another word, when the dimming film 160 is in a haze state or opaque state, it is impossible to see image 190 from outside of the vehicle. Furthermore, the specification filed on 03/18/2026 discloses “when the power supply to the PDLC dimming film 160 is stopped to make it hazed (opaque), both the hazed PDLC film and the transparent back projection film are good outward scattering media, and the image projected by the projection device in the vehicle are intercepted by the imaging layer 170 and the PDLC dimming film 160 at the same time. The enhanced superposition of the image makes the image brighter and clearer, and enhances the brightness of the image displayed by the outward projection, thus enhancing the effect of the outward projection ……”. According to the specification, the projected image passes through the dimming film 160 when the dimming film 160 is not in a hazed or opaque state. Therefore, the new limitations in claim 1 is in contradictory with the specification.
Furthermore, Chen (e.g., Figs. 1-4 and [0034]-[0035]) discloses a vehicle window glass (Fig. 2 is reproduced below for reference), which has a same structure and a same position relationship with respect to the projection device as that disclosed by applicant (e.g., Fig. 6)).
Annotated version of Chen’s Fig. 2
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiry
/YUZHEN SHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623