Detailed Action
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-6 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over SADAKANE (US 20220032744 A1) in view of HAYASHI (US 20220171273 A1).
Regarding claim 1, SADAKANE (Figs. 1-5) discloses a vehicle window glass (Fig. 5, vehicle window glass 140) suitable for cooperating with a projection device (projection device 16; [0025]) to provide a projection function, wherein the vehicle window glass comprises a first glass body (glass substrate 141; [0034]), a second glass body (glass substrate 142; [0034]), and an imaging layer and a dimming film (scattering layer 150 acts as a dimming layer, surface layer 150b of the scattering layer 150 acts as an imaging layer; [0042]-[0043] and [0045]) sandwiched between the first glass body (glass substrate 141) and the second glass body (glass substrate 142), and wherein an image projected by the projection device (projection device 16) on one side of the vehicle window glass displays the projected image on the other side via the vehicle window glass (e.g., Figs. 1-3), and the dimming film (scattering layer 150) is configured to be capable of adjusting light transmittance and/or haze to enhance a projection effect of the imaging layer and/or provide privacy effect (Fig. 8; light transmittance), wherein the vehicle window glass has a first side configured to face a vehicle interior and a second side configured to face a vehicle exterior (e.g., Figs. 1-3; vehicle and window glass), wherein the dimming film is switchable between a transparent state and a haze state in which the dimming film scatters light, and wherein the imaging layer and the dimming film are configured such that, in the haze state of the dimming film, an image projected by the projection device from the first side is intercepted by both the imaging layer and the dimming film such that the image is displayed on the second side via the imaging layer with a projection effect enhanced by superposition of the image on the imaging layer and the dimming film, while direct viewing of the vehicle interior through the vehicle window glass from the second side is reduced or prevented ([0045]-[0046] and Figs. 6-8; PDLC film can be used as the scattering layer or dimming layer 150, PDLC is a well-known electro-optic device, which is switchable between a transparent state and a haze state or light scattering state using an electrical power. When the power is off, it scatters light, and when the power is on, it becomes transparent. Therefore, when PDLC film is a haze state or light scattering state, the image light from the projection device 16 is scattered when passing through scattering layer 150 and imaging layer 150b, and an image displayed via the imaging layer 150b. A controlled light scattering enhances the image visibility. In addition, due to light scattering of the scattering layer 150, visibility of the vehicle interior through the vehicle window glass from the exterior is reduced).
SADAKANE (Figs. 1-5) discloses different materials, including PDLC, can be used to form the dimming film. PDLC is well known in the art. As a reference, HAYASHI (Figs. 1 and 3-5) discloses a vehicle window glass 1 comprising a scattering film or dimming film 40, wherein the scattering film or dimming film 40 is formed by using PDLC ([0079]), the PDLC dimming film 40 is switchable between a transparent state and a haze state in which the dimming film scatters light ([0079]), an image light L projected by the projection device 100 is scattered when passing through the PDLC dimming layer, which enhance the visibility of the image to be display (Fig. 2 and tables 1-3 and [0056]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from HAYASHI to the dimming film of the vehicle window glass of SADAKANE. The combination/motivation would be to provide a vehicle window glass with a controlled light scattering to improve an image quality and a privacy protection.
Regarding claim 2, SADAKANE in view of HAYASHI discloses the vehicle window glass according to claim 1, SADAKANE (Figs. 1-5) discloses wherein the vehicle window glass (e.g., Fig. 5; vehicle window glass 140) further comprises a first intermediate layer (first intermediate layer denoted as 143-1) for attaching the dimming film (dimming film 150) to the first glass body (glass substrate 141), and the imaging layer (projection image layer 150b) is attached to the second glass body (glass substrate 142) directly (alternative limitation, it is interpreted as optional) or through a second intermediate layer (second intermediate layer denoted as 143-2).
Regarding claim 3, SADAKANE in view of HAYASHI discloses the vehicle window glass according to claim 2, SADAKANE (Figs. 1-5) discloses wherein the imaging layer (image layer 150b) is directly attached to the second glass (Fig. 9; glass substrate 142) body by back adhesive (second intermediate layer 143-2) or coating (alternative limitation, it is interpreted as optional).
Regarding claim 4, SADAKANE in view of HAYASHI discloses the vehicle window glass according to claim 2, SADAKANE (Figs. 1-5) discloses wherein the imaging layer (Fig. 5; image layer 150b) is directly attached to the dimming film (Fig. 5; dimming layer 150) or attached to the dimming film through a third intermediate layer (alternative limitation, it is interpreted as optional).
Regarding claim 5, SADAKANE in view of HAYASHI discloses the vehicle window glass according to claim 4, SADAKANE (Figs. 1-5) discloses wherein the imaging layer is directly attached to the dimming film by coating ([0045]; coating).
Regarding claim 6, SADAKANE in view of HAYASHI discloses the vehicle window glass according to claim 2, SADAKANE (Figs. 1-5) discloses wherein the imaging layer is formed as a portion of the dimming film (e.g., Fig. 5; imaging layer 150b is a part of a dimming film 150; [0042]-[0043]).
Regarding claim 11, SADAKANE in view of HAYASHI discloses the vehicle window glass according to claim 1, SADAKANE (Figs. 1-5) discloses wherein the imaging layer is configured as a back projection imaging layer of any one of film layer, coating layer and micro-structure layer (Fig. 5; back projection image layer 150b of dimming layer 150; [0042]-[0043]).
Regarding claim 12, SADAKANE in view of HAYASHI discloses the vehicle window glass according to claim 1, SADAKANE (Figs. 1-5) discloses wherein the dimming film is configured as any one of polymer dispersed liquid crystal, polymer network liquid crystal, guest-host liquid crystal and electrochromic ([0045]-[0046]; dimming layer 150 is formed of PDLC).
Regarding claim 13, SADAKANE in view of HAYASHI discloses the vehicle window glass according to claim 1, SADAKANE (Figs. 1-5) discloses wherein the dimming film is configured as polymer dispersed liquid crystal (Fig. 5 and [0045]-[0046]; PDLC dimming layer 150), and the imaging layer (projection image layer 150b) is closer to or farther from the projection device (projection device 16) than the dimming film (dimming layer 150).
Regarding claim 14, SADAKANE in view of HAYASHI discloses a vehicle-mounted projection system, HAYASHI (Figs. 1-7) discloses wherein the vehicle-mounted projection system comprises a projection device, a human-machine interaction unit and a vehicle window glass (Figs. 6-7) according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, SADAKANE in view of HAYASHI discloses the vehicle-mounted projection system according to claim 14, HAYASHI (Figs. 1-7) discloses wherein the projection device is arranged inside or outside the vehicle so as to project image to outside or inside the vehicle (e.g., Fig. 5).
5. Claims 1-4 and 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over CHEN (CN 111660769 A) in view of HAYASHI (US 20220171273 A1) or TETSUSHI (JP 2020067497 A).
Regarding claim 1, CHEN discloses a vehicle window glass (Figs. 1-4; vehicle window glass) suitable for cooperating with a projection device (projection device 7) to provide a projection function, wherein the vehicle window glass comprises a first glass body (glass substrate 6), a second glass body (glass substrate 1), and an imaging layer (projection image layer 2) and a dimming film (dimming film 3) sandwiched between the first glass body (glass substrate 6) and the second glass body (glass substrate 1), and wherein an image projected by the projection device (projection device 7) on one side of the vehicle window glass displays the projected image on the other side via the vehicle window glass (Figs. 1-3), and the dimming film (dimming film 3) is configured to be capable of adjusting light transmittance and/or haze to enhance a projection effect of the imaging layer and/or provide privacy effect ([0034]-[0035]), wherein the vehicle window glass has a first side configured to face a vehicle interior and a second side configured to face a vehicle exterior (e.g., Fig. 2 is reproduced below for reference), wherein the dimming film is switchable between a transparent state and a haze state in which the dimming film scatters light, and wherein the imaging layer and the dimming film are configured such that, in the haze state of the dimming film, an image projected by the projection device from the first side is intercepted by both the imaging layer and the dimming film such that the image is displayed on the second side via the imaging layer with a projection effect enhanced by superposition of the image on the imaging layer and the dimming film, while direct viewing of the vehicle interior through the vehicle window glass from the second side is reduced or prevented (Fig. 2 and [0016], [0034]-[0035], [0040]; Different materials can be used to form dimming film 3, including suspended particle device (SPD), electrochromic material (EC), liquid crystal material (LC), or polymer dispersed liquid crystal (PDLC). For example, PDLC can be used to form the dimming layer 3, although it is not a best choice. PDLC is a well-known electro-optic device, which is switchable between a transparent state and a haze state or light scattering state using an electrical power. When the power is off, it scatters light, and when the power is on, it becomes transparent. Therefore, when PDLC film is a haze state or light scattering state, the image light from the projection device 7 is scattered when passing through the imaging layer 2 and the dimming layer 3. An image is displayed via the imaging layer 2, and a controlled light scattering enhances the image visibility. In addition, due to light scattering of the dimming film 3, visibility of the vehicle interior through the vehicle window glass from the exterior is reduced).
Annotated version of Chen’s Fig. 2
CHEN (Figs. 1-4) discloses different materials can be used to form the dimming film, including suspended particle device (SPD), electrochromic material (EC), liquid crystal material (LC), or polymer dispersed liquid crystal (PDLC). Those electro-optic materials are well known in the field. As a reference, HAYASHI (Figs. 1 and 3-5) discloses a vehicle window glass 1 comprising a scattering film or dimming film 40, wherein the scattering film or dimming film 40 is formed by using PDLC ([0079]), the PDLC dimming film 40 is switchable between a transparent state and a haze state in which the dimming film scatters light ([0079]), an image light L projected by the projection device 100 is scattered when passing through the PDLC dimming layer, which enhance the visibility of the image to be display (Fig. 2 and tables 1-3 and [0056]). As another reference, TETSUSHI (Figs. 1-8 and [0056]) discloses a vehicle window glass comprising a scattering film or dimming film 10, wherein the scattering film or dimming film 10 is formed by using suspended particle device (SPD), electrochromic material (EC), liquid crystal material (LC), or polymer dispersed liquid crystal (PDLC) ([0025]-[0026]), and the PDLC dimming film 40 is switchable between a transparent state and a haze state in which the dimming film scatters light ([0025]-[0029] and [0030]-[0033]), an image light projected by the projection device 61 is scattered when passing through the dimming layer, which enhances the visibility of the image to be display ([0025]-[0029] and [0030]-[0033]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from HAYASHI and TETSUSHI to the dimming film of the vehicle window glass of CHEN. The combination/motivation would be to provide a vehicle window glass with a controlled light scattering to improve an image quality and a privacy protection.
Regarding claim 2, CHEN in view of HAYASHI and TETSUSHI discloses the vehicle window glass according to claim 1, CHEN discloses wherein the vehicle window glass (Figs. 1-4; vehicle window glass) further comprises a first intermediate layer (intermediate layer 4) for attaching the dimming film (dimming film 3) to the first glass body (glass substrate 6), and the imaging layer (projection image layer 2) is attached to the second glass body (glass substrate 1) directly (Fig. 2) or through a second intermediate layer (alternative limitation, it is interpreted as optional, in addition, Figs. 2 and 4 teach a second intermediate layer 21).
Regarding claim 3, CHEN in view of HAYASHI and TETSUSHI discloses the vehicle window glass according to claim 2, CHEN discloses wherein the imaging layer (Figs. 2 and 4; projection image layer 22) is directly attached to the second glass (Figs. 2 and 4; glass substrate 1) body by back adhesive (Figs. 2 and 4; bonding layer 21) or coating (alternative limitation, it is interpreted as optional).
Regarding claim 4, CHEN in view of HAYASHI and TETSUSHI discloses the vehicle window glass according to claim 2, CHEN discloses wherein the imaging layer (Fig. 2; projection image layer 2) is directly attached to the dimming film (Fig. 2; dimming film 3) or attached to the dimming film through a third intermediate layer (alternative limitation, it is interpreted as optional, in addition, Figs. 2 and 4 teach the third intermediate layer 23).
Regarding claim 7, CHEN in view of HAYASHI and TETSUSHI discloses the vehicle window glass according to claim 2, CHEN discloses wherein the imaging layer (Fig. 4; projection image layer 22) is formed as a portion of the second intermediate layer (Fig. 4; second intermediate layer 21).
Regarding claim 8, CHEN in view of HAYASHI and TETSUSHI discloses the vehicle window glass according to claim 7, CHEN discloses wherein the imaging layer (Fig. 4; projection image layer 22) is formed as a portion of the second intermediate layer (Fig. 4; second intermediate layer 21) by being coated on or fused with the second intermediate layer (Fig. 4 and [0040]).
Regarding claim 9, CHEN in view of HAYASHI and TETSUSHI discloses the vehicle window glass according to claim 4, CHEN discloses wherein the imaging layer (Fig. 4; projection image layer 22) is formed as a portion of the third intermediate layer (Fig. 4; third intermediate layer 23).
Regarding claim 10, CHEN in view of HAYASHI and TETSUSHI discloses the vehicle window glass according to claim 4, CHEN discloses wherein the imaging layer (Fig. 4; projection image layer 22) is formed as a portion of the third intermediate layer (Fig. 4; third intermediate layer 23) by being coated on or fused with the third intermediate layer (Fig. 4 and [0040]).
Regarding claim 11, CHEN in view of HAYASHI and TETSUSHI discloses the vehicle window glass according to claim 1, CHEN discloses wherein the imaging layer is configured as a back projection imaging layer of any one of film layer, coating layer and micro-structure layer (e.g., Fig. 2; back projection image layer 2; [0035]).
Regarding claim 12, CHEN in view of HAYASHI and TETSUSHI discloses the vehicle window glass according to claim 1, CHEN discloses wherein the dimming film is configured as any one of polymer dispersed liquid crystal, polymer network liquid crystal, guest-host liquid crystal and electrochromic ([0034]; dimming layer 3, e.g., PDLC).
Regarding claim 13, CHEN in view of HAYASHI and TETSUSHI discloses the vehicle window glass according to claim 1, CHEN discloses wherein the dimming film is configured as polymer dispersed liquid crystal ([0034]; dimming layer 3, e.g., PDLC), and the imaging layer (Fig. 2; projection image layer 2) is closer to or farther from the projection device (Fig. 2; projection device 7) than the dimming film (Fig. 2; dimming film 3).
Regarding claim 14, CHEN in view of HAYASHI and TETSUSHI discloses a vehicle-mounted projection system, CHEN (Figs. 1-4) discloses wherein the vehicle-mounted projection system comprises a projection device (projection device 7), a human-machine interaction unit ([0005], [0035], and [0038]) and a vehicle window glass (Figs. 1-4) according to claim 1. HAYASHI (Figs. 1-7) discloses the same features as claimed.
Regarding claim 15, CHEN in view of HAYASHI and TETSUSHI discloses the vehicle-mounted projection system according to claim 14, CHEN (Figs. 1-4) discloses wherein the projection device (projection device 7/8) is arranged inside or outside the vehicle so as to project image to outside or inside the vehicle (e.g., Figs. 2-3). HAYASHI (Figs. 1-7) discloses the same features as claimed.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant's amendments and arguments have been fully considered. In view of amendments, the reference of HAYASHI (US 20220171273 A1) and TETSUSHI (JP 2020067497 A) has been used for new ground rejection.
Inquiry
/YUZHEN SHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623