DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant’s Communication received 15 January 2025 for application number 18/995,004. The Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Specification, Drawings, Abstract, Oath/Declaration, Claims.
Claims 1-15 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on the following dates are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and are being considered by the Examiner: 4/16/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US 2020/0413096).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a method of transmitting point cloud data, the method comprising: encoding point cloud data (pars. 62-68); and transmitting a bitstream containing the point cloud data (par. 68).
Regarding claim 2, see teaching of claim 1. Zhang further discloses wherein the encoding of the point cloud data comprises: encoding an attribute of the point cloud data, wherein the encoding of the attribute comprises: generating a layer group based on a level of detail (LOD) for the attribute (pars. 45-47); and searching for a neighbor candidate of the attribute based on neighbor nodes of a subgroup in the layer group (pars. 55-58).
Regarding claim 3, see teaching of claims 1 and 2. Zhang further discloses wherein the encoding of the attribute further comprises: searching for the neighbor candidate of the attribute based on neighbor nodes of a parent subgroup of the subgroup in the layer group (pars. 55-57).
Regarding claim 4, see teaching of claims 1-3. Zhang further discloses wherein: based on the neighbor candidate being in the subgroup, a geometry position of the neighbor candidate is considered based on the subgroup; and based on the neighbor candidate being out of the subgroup, the geometry position of the neighbor candidate is considered based on the parent subgroup of the subgroup (pars. 45-47, 76-85).
Regarding claim 5, see teaching of claims 1-4. Zhang further discloses wherein the encoding of the attribute further comprises: aligning a start position of nodes included in the subgroup and a start position of nodes included in the parent subgroup of the subgroup, wherein atlas information is shifted to the attribute (pars. 45-47, 76-85).
Regarding claim 6, see teaching of claims 1-4. Zhang further discloses wherein the encoding of the attribute further comprises: performing predicting transform on the attribute based on a quantization weight, wherein the quantization weight is generated based on whether a current node is referenced as a neighbor node (pars. 45-47, 76-85).
Regarding claim 7, see teaching of claims 1-4 and 6. Zhang further discloses wherein the quantization weight is generated based on the number of nodes referencing the current node as the neighbor node, a maximum number of related nodes in a current subgroup, and a coefficient related to the weight (pars. 45-47, 76-85).
Regarding claim 8, see teaching of claim 1. Zhang further discloses wherein the bitstream contains coefficient information related to the weight for a subgroup including the point cloud data (par. 57).
Regarding claim 9, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1. It recites the apparatus that implements the method in claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, xxx discloses a method of receiving point cloud data, the method comprising: receiving a bitstream containing point cloud data (pars. 69-72); and decoding the point cloud data (pars. 69-72).
Regarding claim 11, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 10. It recites the apparatus that implements the method in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the weight" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The examiner notices that claim 6 recites “a weight”. Claim 8 should be a dependent claim of claim 6 or claim 7.
Prior Art not relied upon: Please refer to the references listed in attached PTO-892, which are not relied upon for the claim rejections, since these references are pertinent to the disclosure.
Conclusion
/NGUYEN T TRUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486