DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-9, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui et al. (US 20240171325 A1) in view of Greer et al. (US 9026434 B2).
Regarding Claim 1 , Cui et al. teach A method of a user equipment (UE) (Cui [0009] an electronic device on side of a user device), comprising:
determining whether a packet coding condition When the repetitive transmissions are enabled [0065] In the non-limiting example shown in FIG. 4, it is assumed that repK is set to 4, i.e. the UE may repetitively transmit the same user data 4 times over the allocated consecutive slots)
in response to determining that the packet coding condition is satisfied (Cui [0064] When the repetitive transmissions are enabled, repK-RV may also be provided in the ConfiguredGrantConfig, which indicates a Redundancy Version (RV) sequence to be used), generating redundant packets from the the UE may repetitively transmit the TB containing the same user data 4 times, such as TB #0, TB #1, TB #2, TB #3 shown in FIG. 4.);
generating transport blocks including the ] the first transport block TB #0 will be transmitted in the first slot scheduled by the configured grant after undergoing Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) addition to the transport block); and
transmitting the transport blocks to a base station (Cui [0070] The base station, which is the receiver, sequentially receives signals carrying TB #0, TB #1, TB #2, TB #3 and stores the signals in the HARQ buffer).
Cui et al. do not teach
The packet coding for voice packets.
In a similar endeavor, Greer et al. teach
The packet coding for voice packets (Greer col 3 lines 30-35 the EVS codec may be configured to respectively encode audio from each of the at least one neighboring frame, as the encoded audio, and include the respectively encoded audio from each of the at least one neighboring frame in separate packets from the current packet).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have applied Cui et al. uplink repetitive transmissions to Greer et al. voice packets to arrive at the invention .
The motivation of doing so would have improved the voice latency performance.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Cui et al. and Greer et al. teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining of whether the packet coding condition for voice packets is satisfied comprises:
receiving a coding application indication signal for the voice packets from the base station (CUI [0063] the base station semi-statically configures PUSCH resource allocation for the UE in the manner of configured grant. For example, the base station may configure the ConfiguredGrantConfig parameter in the BWP information element for the UE, [0064] configuring a parameter repK to a value greater than 1 (e.g., 2, 4, 8, etc.), the value of repK indicating the number of repetitions. When the repetitive transmissions are enabled, repK-RV may also be provided in the configuredGrantConfig, which indicates a Redundancy Version (RV) sequence to be used) ; and
in response to receipt of the coding application indication signal (Cui [0064] When the repetitive transmissions are enabled, repK-RV may also be provided in the ConfiguredGrantConfig, which indicates a Redundancy Version (RV) sequence to be used), determining whether the packet coding condition is satisfied (Cui [0065] In the non-limiting example shown in FIG. 4, it is assumed that repK is set to 4, i.e. the UE may repetitively transmit the same user data 4 times over the allocated consecutive slots).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Cui et al. and Greer et al. teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the coding application indication signal (Cui [0064] the ConfiguredGrantConfig may also schedule repetitive transmissions over consecutive slots by configuring a parameter repK) includes a coding application indicator (Cui [0064] configuring a parameter repK to a value greater than 1 (e.g., 2, 4, 8, etc.), the value of repK indicating the number of repetitions) and an application time (Cui [00567] scheduling a number of consecutive slots (aggregated slots) for the downlink or uplink data transmission for the UE at one time), the UE receives the coding application indication signal using one of a radio resource control (RRC) signaling (Cui [0057] configuring the parameter repK in the RRC layer signaling), medium access control (MAC)-control element (CE), and downlink/uplink control information (DCI/UCI), and the UE determines that the packet coding condition is satisfied when the coding application indicator indicates enabling (Cui [0064] When the repetitive transmissions are enabled, repK-RV may also be provided in the ConfiguredGrantConfig, which indicates a Redundancy Version (RV) sequence to be used) and the application time arrives (Cui [0066] for the nth transmission occasion (i.e., the transmission on the nth slot) in repK=4 repetitions, the redundancy version to be applied to the TB corresponds to the (mod (n−1,4)+1) value in the configured sequence of redundancy versions).
Regarding Claim 8 , Cui et al. teach A method of a base station (Cui [0063] the base station) , comprising:
transmitting a coding application indication signal to a user equipment (UE) (Cui [0063]-0064] the base station may configure the ConfiguredGrantConfig parameter in the BWP information element for the UE... the ConfiguredGrantConfig may also schedule repetitive transmissions over consecutive slots by configuring a parameter repK);
receiving, from the UE, first transport blocks respectively including voice packets and cyclical redundancy check (CRC) bits (Cui [0067] the first transport block TB #0 will be transmitted in the first slot scheduled by the configured grant after undergoing Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) addition to the transport block, Cui [0070] The base station, which is the receiver, sequentially receives signals carrying TB #0);
receiving, from the UE, second transport blocks including redundant packets (Cui [0070] The base station, which is the receiver, sequentially receives signals carrying TB #0, TB #1, TB #2, TB #3 and stores the signals in the HARQ buffer) generated based on the voice packets (Cui [0066] the transport blocks TB #0, TB #1, TB #2 and TB #3 to be transmitted in corresponding repetitions comprise the same user data and the respective redundancy versions, respectively);
detecting at least one first transport block that fails a CRC check among the first transport blocks (Cui [0071] If the decoding using the signal for TB #0 fail),; and
recovering the at least one first transport block using the first transport blocks and the second transport blocks. (Cui [0071] If the decoding using the signal for TB #0 fails, the base station may combine the signal for TB #0 stored in the HARQ buffer and the signal for TB #1 subsequently received, and perform a joint decoding using the combined signals)
Cui et al. do not teach
The coding application indication signal for voice packet.
In a similar endeavor, Greer et al. teach
The coding application indication signal for voice packet (Greer col 3 lines 30-35 the EVS codec may be configured to respectively encode audio from each of the at least one neighboring frame, as the encoded audio, and include the respectively encoded audio from each of the at least one neighboring frame in separate packets from the current packet, Greer col 6 lines 12-19 The terminal may receive information indicating that the analysis of at least one of the FFB information, the HARQ feedback, the SFB information, and ISB information has been previously performed based upon a received flag in a packet indicating that the current frame in the current packet is coded according the High FER mode or indicating that an encoding of the current packet should be performed by the codec in the High FER mode)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have applied Cui et al. uplink repetitive transmissions to Greer et al. voice packets to arrive at the invention .
The motivation of doing so would have improved the voice latency performance.
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Cui et al. and Greer et al. teaches the method according to claim 8, wherein the coding application indication signal includes an indicator of whether coding is applied (Cui [0064] When the repetitive transmissions are enabled, repK-RV may also be provided in the ConfiguredGrantConfig, which indicates a Redundancy Version (RV) sequence to be used.) and an application time (Cui [0066] for the nth transmission occasion (i.e., the transmission on the nth slot) in repK=4 repetitions, the redundancy version to be applied to the TB corresponds to the (mod (n−1,4)+1) value in the configured sequence of redundancy versions), and the base station transmits the coding application indication signal to the UE using one of radio resource control (RRC) signaling (Cui [0057] configuring the parameter repK in the RRC layer signaling), medium access control (MAC)-control element (CE), and downlink/uplink control information (DCIIUCI),
Regarding Claim 13, Cui et al. teach A user equipment (UE) (Cui [0095] The electronic device 100 may be a UE ) comprising at least one processor (Cui [0096] the electronic device 100 includes a processing circuitry 101), wherein the at least one processor causes the UE to perform:
determining whether a packet coding condition When the repetitive transmissions are enabled [0065] In the non-limiting example shown in FIG. 4, it is assumed that repK is set to 4, i.e. the UE may repetitively transmit the same user data 4 times over the allocated consecutive slots)
in response to determining that the packet coding condition is satisfied (Cui [0064] When the repetitive transmissions are enabled, repK-RV may also be provided in the ConfiguredGrantConfig, which indicates a Redundancy Version (RV) sequence to be used), generating redundant packets from the the UE may repetitively transmit the TB containing the same user data 4 times, such as TB #0, TB #1, TB #2, TB #3 shown in FIG. 4.);
generating transport blocks including the ] the first transport block TB #0 will be transmitted in the first slot scheduled by the configured grant after undergoing Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) addition to the transport block); and
transmitting the transport blocks to a base station (Cui [0070] The base station, which is the receiver, sequentially receives signals carrying TB #0, TB #1, TB #2, TB #3 and stores the signals in the HARQ buffer).
Cui et al. do not teach
The packet coding for voice packets.
In a similar endeavor, Greer et al. teach
The packet coding for voice packets (Greer col 3 lines 30-35 the EVS codec may be configured to respectively encode audio from each of the at least one neighboring frame, as the encoded audio, and include the respectively encoded audio from each of the at least one neighboring frame in separate packets from the current packet).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have applied Cui et al. uplink repetitive transmissions to Greer et al. voice packets to arrive at the invention .
The motivation of doing so would have improved the voice latency performance.
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Cui et al. and Greer et al. teaches the UE according to claim 13, wherein in the determining of whether the packet coding condition for voice packets is satisfied, the at least one processor causes the UE to perform:
receiving a coding application indication signal for the voice packets from the base station (CUI [0063] the base station semi-statically configures PUSCH resource allocation for the UE in the manner of configured grant. For example, the base station may configure the ConfiguredGrantConfig parameter in the BWP information element for the UE, CUI [0064] configuring a parameter repK to a value greater than 1 (e.g., 2, 4, 8, etc.), the value of repK indicating the number of repetitions. When the repetitive transmissions are enabled, repK-RV may also be provided in the configuredGrantConfig, which indicates a Redundancy Version (RV) sequence to be used) ; and
in response to receipt of the coding application indication signal, determining whether the packet coding condition is satisfied (Cui [0065] In the non-limiting example shown in FIG. 4, it is assumed that repK is set to 4, i.e. the UE may repetitively transmit the same user data 4 times over the allocated consecutive slots).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7, 10-12, and 15-16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: .
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Cui et al. and Greer et al. teaches the method according to claim 1, but does not teach further comprising:
receiving, from the base station, information on a packet coding related parameter table including indicators each indicating a packet coding scheme and a redundancy packet generation periodicity, and the determining of whether the packet coding condition for the voice packets is satisfied comprises:
receiving, from the base station, a coding application indication signal including one indicator from among the indicators; and
in response to receipt of the coding application indication signal including the one indicator, determining whether the packet coding condition is satisfied.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Cui et al. and Greer et al. does not teach the method according to claim 4, wherein the UE generates the redundancy packets from the voice packets in a packet coding scheme indicated by the one indicator in the packet coding related parameter table, and determines that the packet coding condition is satisfied when an application time according to a redundancy packet generation periodicity indicated by the one indicator in the packet coding related parameter table arrives.
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Cui et al. and Greer et al. does not teach the method according to claim 4, wherein the packet coding scheme includes information on a range of adjacent voice packets and information on an operation scheme for each of the redundancy packets.
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Cui et al. and Greer et al. does not teach the method according to claim 6, wherein the operation scheme is a bitwise XOR operation between voice packets.
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Cui et al. and Greer et al. teaches the method according to claim 8, but does not teach further comprising:
generating a packet coding related parameter table including indicators each indicating a packet coding scheme and a redundancy packet generation periodicity; and
transmitting the packet coding related parameter table to the UE, wherein the coding application indication signal includes one indicator selected from the indicators.
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Cui et al. and Greer et al. does not teach the method according to claim 10, wherein the packet coding scheme includes information on a range of adjacent voice packets and information on an operation scheme for each of the redundancy packets.
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Cui et al. and Greer et al. does not teach the method according to claim 10, wherein the operation scheme is a bitwise XOR operation between voice packets.
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Cui et al. and Greer et al. teaches the UE according to claim 13, but does not teach wherein the at least one processor causes the UE to perform:
receiving, from the base station, information on a packet coding related parameter table including indicators each indicating a packet coding scheme and a redundancy packet generation periodicity, and in the determining of whether the packet coding condition for the voice packets is satisfied, the at least one processor causes the UE to perform
:receiving, from the base station, a coding application indication signal including one indicator from among the indicators; and
in response to receipt of the coding application indication signal including the one indicator, determining whether the packet coding condition is satisfied.
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Cui et al. and Greer et al. does not teach the UE according to claim 15, wherein the UE generates the redundancy packets from the voice packets in a packet coding scheme indicated by the one indicator in the packet coding related parameter table, and determines that the packet coding condition is satisfied when an application time according to a redundancy packet generation periodicity indicated by the one indicator in the packet coding related parameter table arrives
Conclusion
/SAID M ELNOUBI/Examiner, Art Unit 2644