DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 5-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (US 20220264060 A1) in view of D2 (US 10277838 B2) and D3 (JP 2020051982 A).
With regards to claims 1, 8, 9, 11, and 12, D1 discloses an imager comprising:
an imaging element including, in a single pixel
array 14 (Fig. 1), a visible-light receiving element that receives visible light and an infrared-light receiving element that receives infrared light [0114-0118; 0121-0123; 0130; 0191-0200]; and
a processing circuit 105 that generates a first image illustrating an image an object in a visible region and a second image illustrating an image of the object in an infrared region from data acquired by the imaging element, and inspects the object from the first image and the second image that have been generated [0144-0149; 0166-0170; 0182; 0201-0202].
D1 does not teach receiving infrared light in at least a short-wavelength infrared band, but instead teaches receiving NIR light [0124, 0191-0196]. However, D2 teaches a hybrid imaging sensor comprising a pixel array having both visible light receiving elements and SWIR receiving elements (Fig. 1; column 2, lines 12-22). It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify D1 with the claimed wavelength range as taught by D2 in order to extend the infrared wavelength range of the imaging system and obtain additional spectral information.
D1 also does not teach imaging dried food. However, D3 teaches it was known to image dried food using visible and infrared wavelengths [0019-0020] to detect defects or foreign matter [0022-0024] using a learned model [0009, 0022, 0031-0033]. It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify D1 with the teachings of D3 to determine characteristics of food products.
With regards to claim 2, D3 teaches detecting a moisture content of the dried food [0053].
With regards to claim 5, D3 teaches detecting a moisture content of the dried food [0053] and using a learned model for inspection and classification [0009, 0022, 0031-0033], but not expressly teach the claimed configuration. However, it would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to apply the learned model approach to moisture content estimation as a predictable use of the known technique to improve accuracy.
With regards to claims 6, 7, and 10, the combination of D1-D3 teach the invention according to claims 1, 5, and 8 above, but does not teach detecting a protein content or color tone. However, those skilled in the art would have recognized protein content and color tone as predictable parameters derivable from VIS-SWIR image analysis related to food products as an obvious modification.
With regards to claim 13, D1 does not teach the claimed configuration. However, D2 teaches a SIWR sensor sensitive to SWIR (Fig. 1; column 2, lines 12-22) and D3 teaches an infrared light source 103 that emits infrared light toward an inspection object and a camera that receives infrared light reflected from the inspection object for inspection [0052], wherein the inspection object may be dried food [0019]. It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify D1 with the teachings of D2 and D3 to allow enhanced detection of material characteristics, such as moisture related properties.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
None of the prior art teach wherein the processing circuit compares the moisture content with a predetermined threshold and issues a notification that the dried food having the moisture content higher than the predetermined threshold is subject to a re-drying process.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MARCUS H TANINGCO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884