DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lucas (2015/0345497).
With respect to claim 1, Lucas teaches a silencing unit (Figures 1-3, defined by one of resonators #21 oriented at a top of ring #20), comprising: a main body (defined by outer walls/body of resonator, as seen in the view of resonators #30B in Figure 3 – [0016]-[0017]), comprising a cavity (46) and a drain outlet (106), wherein the drain outlet (defined by external end of opening #40 facing away from cavity #46) is arranged on a side wall of the main body and communicates with the cavity (46); and a neck (42), arranged on a side portion of the main body and connected to the main body (clearly seen), wherein the neck (42) comprises a drain channel (defined by channel/passageway of neck #42), wherein the drain channel communicates with the cavity (46) through the drain outlet (defined by external end of opening #40 facing away from cavity #46), and a bottom of the cavity (46) is not lower than a bottom of the drain channel (defined by channel/passageway of neck #42).
With respect to claim 2, Lucas teaches wherein the drain channel (defined by channel/passageway of neck #42) and the cavity (46) extend along a first direction (direction defined by centerline #44).
With respect to claim 4, Lucas teaches wherein the bottom of the cavity (46) is flush with the bottom of the drain channel (defined by channel/passageway of neck #42). This occurs when the resonator #21 is located at a top portion of the ring #20
With respect to claim 8, Lucas teaches a silencing structure (Figures 1-3, #30) comprising a wall (defined by inner annular wall having openings #40 therein, and surrounding internal passage #22) comprising a wall surface (defined by wall surface facing passage #22 having openings #40); and at least one silencing unit (21) of claim 1, wherein an inlet (defined by opening #40) of the drain channel (defined by channel/passageway of neck #42) is arranged on the wall surface.
With respect to claim 9, Lucas teaches wherein the silencing structure comprises drain channels (defined by channel/passageway of necks #42 or two of resonators units #21) of at least two silencing units, and volumes of cavities (46) of the drain channels (defined by channel/passageway of neck #42) of the at least two silencing units or sizes of the drain channels are different ([0015]).
With respect to claim 10, Lucas teaches wherein the wall surface (defined by wall surface facing passage #22 having openings #40) is non-planar, and extending directions of the cavity (46) and the drain channel (defined by channel/passageway of neck #42) of each of the at least one silencing unit (21) are perpendicular to a tangent line at the wall surface where the cavity and the drain channel are disposed (clearly seen by annular shape of wall surface facing passage #22 having openings #40).
Claims 1-3 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (KR 10-2013-0039164 A).
With respect to claim 1, Kim teaches a silencing unit (Figures 3-4, #20), comprising: a main body (25’/26/28), comprising a cavity (22) and a drain outlet (defined by externally facing open end of drain hole #24), wherein the drain outlet is arranged on a side wall of the main body (25’/26/28) and communicates with the cavity (22); and a neck (defined by drain hole #24), arranged on a side portion of the main body and connected to the main body (clearly seen), wherein the neck (24) comprises a drain channel (defined by channel/passageway of #24), wherein the drain channel communicates with the cavity (22) through the drain outlet (defined by externally facing open end of drain hole #24), and a bottom of the cavity (22) is not lower than a bottom of the drain channel (defined by channel/passageway of #24).
With respect to claim 2, Kim teaches wherein the drain channel (defined by channel/passageway of #24) and the cavity (22) extend along a first direction (broadly defined by the right to left direction of Figure 3).
With respect to claim 3, Kim teaches wherein the bottom of the drain channel (defined by channel/passageway of #24) is inclined.
With respect to claim 5, Kim teaches wherein the bottom of the cavity (22) is higher than the bottom of the drain channel (defined by channel/passageway of #24).
With respect to claim 6, Kim teaches wherein the silencing unit (20) further comprises: a communication neck (10) arranged on the side portion of the main body (25’/26/28), wherein the communication neck (10) is connected to the main body (25’/26/28), the communication neck (10) comprises a communication channel (2), and the communication channel (2) communicates with the cavity (22).
With respect to claim 7, Kim teaches wherein the communication channel (2), the drain channel (defined by channel/passageway of #24), and the cavity (22) extend along a first direction (broadly defined by the right to left direction of Figure 3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Pertinent arts of record relating to Applicant’s disclosure are disclosed in the PTO-892.
/JEREMY A LUKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837