DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 10-11, 13-14, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keighran et al. (US 2017/0094360) and Domm et al. (US 2020/0304863).
Regarding claim 1, Keighran teaches a video processing method, comprising:
determining whether a video to be played in a current video stream carries a target video identification, wherein the target video identification is configured to identify a video that has been favorited by a current user and a playback progress for which has not reached a preset progress ([0214], “FIG. 10E illustrates selection of watchlist section indicator 1008 in navigation bar 1002 (from, for example, FIG. 10A or 10D). When watchlist section indicator 1008 is selected, the electronic device optionally maintains display of navigation bar 1002 in the user interface, and optionally replaces display of the live content in the content display area 1004 with watchlist content (e.g., content selected based on prior user interactions with a collection of media content, such as content that a user of the electronic device has previously indicated should be added to the watchlist). The watchlist content optionally includes live content (e.g., corresponding to representations 1022-1 and 1022-2) and on-demand content (e.g., corresponding to representations 1022-3, 1022-4 and 1022-5). In some embodiments, the watchlist content includes watched content items and unwatched content items (e.g., content item E, corresponding to representation 1022-5, is a previously-watched content item).” [0215], “In some embodiments, a user is able to select a content item in the content display area 1004 to play that content item in the content display area 1004.”); and
displaying identification information corresponding to the target video identification in response to the video to be played carrying the target video identification, wherein the identification information is configured to prompt that the video to be played is the video that has been favorited by the current user and the playback progress for which has not reached the preset progress ([0214], “FIG. 10E illustrates selection of watchlist section indicator 1008 in navigation bar 1002 (from, for example, FIG. 10A or 10D). When watchlist section indicator 1008 is selected, the electronic device optionally maintains display of navigation bar 1002 in the user interface, and optionally replaces display of the live content in the content display area 1004 with watchlist content (e.g., content selected based on prior user interactions with a collection of media content, such as content that a user of the electronic device has previously indicated should be added to the watchlist). The watchlist content optionally includes live content (e.g., corresponding to representations 1022-1 and 1022-2) and on-demand content (e.g., corresponding to representations 1022-3, 1022-4 and 1022-5). In some embodiments, the watchlist content includes watched content items and unwatched content items (e.g., content item E, corresponding to representation 1022-5, is a previously-watched content item).” [0215], “In some embodiments, a user is able to select a content item in the content display area 1004 to play that content item in the content display area 1004.”).
While Keighran teaches displaying identification information corresponding to the target video identification in response to the video to be played carrying the target video identification, Keighran does not expressly teach displaying, on a video playback page of the video to be played, identification information corresponding to the target video identification in response to the video to be played carrying the target video identification.
Domm teaches displaying, on a video playback page of a video to be played, identification information corresponding to a target video identification in response to a video to be played carrying the target video identification ([0316], “In FIG. 10E, user input 1003 corresponding to a rightward navigation (e.g., rightward swipe) is received. In some embodiments, in response to user input 1003, focus is moved to icon 1015-2 corresponding to item B. In some embodiments, because content display region 1014 is displaying a still frame of item A after fullscreen playback of item A, moving the focus to 1015-2 does not cause content display region 1014 to update or change to display content from item B. In some embodiments, content display region 1014 continues to display a still frame of item A at the 15 minute and 30 second playback position.”).
In view of Domm’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Keighran to include displaying, on a video playback page of the video to be played, identification information corresponding to the target video identification in response to the video to be played carrying the target video identification. The modification would enable users to continue viewing content while receiving information pertaining to other content of interest.
Regarding claims 4 and 18, the combination further teaches further comprising:
acquiring the playback progress of the video to be played for the current user in response to the video to be played carrying the target video identification (Keighran: [0214], “FIG. 10E illustrates selection of watchlist section indicator 1008 in navigation bar 1002 (from, for example, FIG. 10A or 10D). When watchlist section indicator 1008 is selected, the electronic device optionally maintains display of navigation bar 1002 in the user interface, and optionally replaces display of the live content in the content display area 1004 with watchlist content (e.g., content selected based on prior user interactions with a collection of media content, such as content that a user of the electronic device has previously indicated should be added to the watchlist). The watchlist content optionally includes live content (e.g., corresponding to representations 1022-1 and 1022-2) and on-demand content (e.g., corresponding to representations 1022-3, 1022-4 and 1022-5). In some embodiments, the watchlist content includes watched content items and unwatched content items (e.g., content item E, corresponding to representation 1022-5, is a previously-watched content item).” [0215], “In some embodiments, a user is able to select a content item in the content display area 1004 to play that content item in the content display area 1004.”); and
resuming playback of the video to be played based on the playback progress (Domm: [0277], “In some embodiments, indicator 832-1 indicates that the user has partially watched ‘item B’ and selection of icon 815-2 will resume playback of item B (e.g., ‘Resume’).”).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, the combination further teaches further comprising:
acquiring the playback progress of the video to be played for the current user in response to the video to be played carrying the target video identification; and displaying, on a playback progress bar of the video to be played, a node identification corresponding to the playback progress, wherein the node identification is configured to prompt the playback progress of the video to be played for the current user (Keighran: [0214], “FIG. 10E illustrates selection of watchlist section indicator 1008 in navigation bar 1002 (from, for example, FIG. 10A or 10D). When watchlist section indicator 1008 is selected, the electronic device optionally maintains display of navigation bar 1002 in the user interface, and optionally replaces display of the live content in the content display area 1004 with watchlist content (e.g., content selected based on prior user interactions with a collection of media content, such as content that a user of the electronic device has previously indicated should be added to the watchlist). The watchlist content optionally includes live content (e.g., corresponding to representations 1022-1 and 1022-2) and on-demand content (e.g., corresponding to representations 1022-3, 1022-4 and 1022-5). In some embodiments, the watchlist content includes watched content items and unwatched content items (e.g., content item E, corresponding to representation 1022-5, is a previously-watched content item).” [0215], “In some embodiments, a user is able to select a content item in the content display area 1004 to play that content item in the content display area 1004.”).
Regarding claims 6, 14, and 19, the combination further teaches wherein after the acquiring the playback progress of the video to be played for the current user, the method further comprises: displaying, on the video playback page of the video to be played, progress prompt information corresponding to the playback progress of the video to be played for the current user (Domm: [0316], “In FIG. 10E, user input 1003 corresponding to a rightward navigation (e.g., rightward swipe) is received. In some embodiments, in response to user input 1003, focus is moved to icon 1015-2 corresponding to item B. In some embodiments, because content display region 1014 is displaying a still frame of item A after fullscreen playback of item A, moving the focus to 1015-2 does not cause content display region 1014 to update or change to display content from item B. In some embodiments, content display region 1014 continues to display a still frame of item A at the 15 minute and 30 second playback position.”).
Regarding claim 10, Keighran teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, having instructions stored therein, wherein the instructions, when executed by a processor ([0027], [0127], Figs. 1A, 3, 5A). The grounds of rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC §103 are similarly applied to the remaining limitations of claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, Keighran teaches a video processing device, comprising:
a memory, a processor, wherein instructions are stored on the memory and executable by the processor ([0027], [0127], Figs. 1A, 3, 5A). The grounds of rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC §103 are similarly applied to the remaining limitations of claim 11.
Claim(s) 2-3, 7-8, 12, 15-17, and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combination of Keighran, Domm, and Beals et al. (US 2016/0203843).
Regarding claims 2 and 17, the combination further teaches wherein the identification information is displayed on a preset control (Keighran: [0214], “FIG. 10E illustrates selection of watchlist section indicator 1008 in navigation bar 1002 (from, for example, FIG. 10A or 10D). When watchlist section indicator 1008 is selected, the electronic device optionally maintains display of navigation bar 1002 in the user interface, and optionally replaces display of the live content in the content display area 1004 with watchlist content (e.g., content selected based on prior user interactions with a collection of media content, such as content that a user of the electronic device has previously indicated should be added to the watchlist). The watchlist content optionally includes live content (e.g., corresponding to representations 1022-1 and 1022-2) and on-demand content (e.g., corresponding to representations 1022-3, 1022-4 and 1022-5). In some embodiments, the watchlist content includes watched content items and unwatched content items (e.g., content item E, corresponding to representation 1022-5, is a previously-watched content item).” [0215], “In some embodiments, a user is able to select a content item in the content display area 1004 to play that content item in the content display area 1004.”),
However, the combination does not expressly teach jumping from the video playback page of the video to be played to a personal homepage of the current user in response to a trigger operation on the preset control, wherein the personal homepage displays the video that has been favorited by the current user.
Beals teaches jumping from a video playback page of a video to be played to a personal homepage of a current user in response to a trigger operation, wherein the personal homepage displays a video that has been favorited by the current user ([0074], “the bookmarks may be accessed via a bookmarks display window on the display screen, which might appear in response to the user selecting a button on the screen and/or pressing a button on a remote control.” [0078], “In other examples, the BVR icon 610 may be selectable and open up to the bookmarks display 602.”).
In view of Beals’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination to include jumping from the video playback page of the video to be played to a personal homepage of the current user in response to a trigger operation on the preset control, wherein the personal homepage displays the video that has been favorited by the current user. The modification would serve to facilitate user navigation to favorited content. The modification would thereby improve the user experience.
Regarding claims 3 and 12, the combination further teaches further comprising:
displaying a video cover of the video to be played at a preset playback position of the video playback page of the video to be played in response to the video to be played carrying the target video identification (Keighran: [0214], “FIG. 10E illustrates selection of watchlist section indicator 1008 in navigation bar 1002 (from, for example, FIG. 10A or 10D). When watchlist section indicator 1008 is selected, the electronic device optionally maintains display of navigation bar 1002 in the user interface, and optionally replaces display of the live content in the content display area 1004 with watchlist content (e.g., content selected based on prior user interactions with a collection of media content, such as content that a user of the electronic device has previously indicated should be added to the watchlist). The watchlist content optionally includes live content (e.g., corresponding to representations 1022-1 and 1022-2) and on-demand content (e.g., corresponding to representations 1022-3, 1022-4 and 1022-5). In some embodiments, the watchlist content includes watched content items and unwatched content items (e.g., content item E, corresponding to representation 1022-5, is a previously-watched content item).” [0215], “In some embodiments, a user is able to select a content item in the content display area 1004 to play that content item in the content display area 1004.”).
However, the combination does not expressly teach jumping from the video playback page of the video to be played to a personal homepage of the current user in response to a trigger operation on the video cover, wherein the personal homepage displays the video that has been favorited by the current user.
Beals teaches jumping from a video playback page of a video to be played to a personal homepage of a current user in response to a trigger operation, wherein the personal homepage displays a video that has been favorited by the current user ([0074], “the bookmarks may be accessed via a bookmarks display window on the display screen, which might appear in response to the user selecting a button on the screen and/or pressing a button on a remote control.” [0078], “In other examples, the BVR icon 610 may be selectable and open up to the bookmarks display 602.”).
In view of Beals’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination to include jumping from the video playback page of the video to be played to a personal homepage of the current user in response to a trigger operation on the preset control, wherein the personal homepage displays the video that has been favorited by the current user. The modification would serve to facilitate user navigation to favorited content. The modification would thereby improve the user experience.
Regarding claims 7, 15, and 20, the combination further teaches wherein after the jumping from the video playback page of the video to be played to the personal homepage of the current user, the method further comprises:
displaying, on the personal homepage of the current user, a preset first state identification for the video that has been favorited by the current user and the playback progress for which has not reached the preset progress, wherein the preset first state identification is configured to prompt that the playback progress of the current user for the video does not reach the preset progress (Keighran: [0214], “FIG. 10E illustrates selection of watchlist section indicator 1008 in navigation bar 1002 (from, for example, FIG. 10A or 10D). When watchlist section indicator 1008 is selected, the electronic device optionally maintains display of navigation bar 1002 in the user interface, and optionally replaces display of the live content in the content display area 1004 with watchlist content (e.g., content selected based on prior user interactions with a collection of media content, such as content that a user of the electronic device has previously indicated should be added to the watchlist). The watchlist content optionally includes live content (e.g., corresponding to representations 1022-1 and 1022-2) and on-demand content (e.g., corresponding to representations 1022-3, 1022-4 and 1022-5). In some embodiments, the watchlist content includes watched content items and unwatched content items (e.g., content item E, corresponding to representation 1022-5, is a previously-watched content item).” [0215], “In some embodiments, a user is able to select a content item in the content display area 1004 to play that content item in the content display area 1004.”).
Regarding claims 8, 16, and 21, the combination further teaches wherein after the jumping from the video playback page of the video to be played to the personal homepage of the current user, the method further comprises: displaying, on the personal homepage of the current user, a preset second state identification for the video to be played, wherein the preset second state identification is configured to prompt playback time information of the current user for the video to be played (Fig. 10E, element 1028-2 includes text “1 hr 5 min left”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Poslinski et al. (US 2006/0048184) discloses the display of one or more progress bars, and/or a multi-level progress bar to be displayed on the main window of the display and/or in the program guide showing the progress of currently viewed live programs, the progress of one or more playbacks of previously recorded programs, and/or the progress of one or more recordings of programs. [0099].
/MICHAEL R TELAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426