DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 30, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regard to claim 1, Applicant submits that the cited prior art does not teach the amended claims. Remarks, p. 9
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 USC §103 over a combination of Keighran et al. (US 2017/0094360) and Beals et al. (US 2016/0203843).
Regarding claim 1, Keighran teaches a video processing method, comprising:
determining whether a first video in a current video stream carries a video identification, wherein the video identification is configured to identify a video that has been favorited by a current user and a playback progress for which has not reached a preset progress ([0214], “FIG. 10E illustrates selection of watchlist section indicator 1008 in navigation bar 1002 (from, for example, FIG. 10A or 10D). When watchlist section indicator 1008 is selected, the electronic device optionally maintains display of navigation bar 1002 in the user interface, and optionally replaces display of the live content in the content display area 1004 with watchlist content (e.g., content selected based on prior user interactions with a collection of media content, such as content that a user of the electronic device has previously indicated should be added to the watchlist). The watchlist content optionally includes live content (e.g., corresponding to representations 1022-1 and 1022-2) and on-demand content (e.g., corresponding to representations 1022-3, 1022-4 and 1022-5). In some embodiments, the watchlist content includes watched content items and unwatched content items (e.g., content item E, corresponding to representation 1022-5, is a previously-watched content item).” [0215], “In some embodiments, a user is able to select a content item in the content display area 1004 to play that content item in the content display area 1004.”);
displaying identification information corresponding to the video identification in response to the first video carrying the video identification, wherein the identification information is configured to prompt that the first video is a video that has been favorited by the current user and the playback progress for which has not reached the preset progress ([0214], “FIG. 10E illustrates selection of watchlist section indicator 1008 in navigation bar 1002 (from, for example, FIG. 10A or 10D). When watchlist section indicator 1008 is selected, the electronic device optionally maintains display of navigation bar 1002 in the user interface, and optionally replaces display of the live content in the content display area 1004 with watchlist content (e.g., content selected based on prior user interactions with a collection of media content, such as content that a user of the electronic device has previously indicated should be added to the watchlist). The watchlist content optionally includes live content (e.g., corresponding to representations 1022-1 and 1022-2) and on-demand content (e.g., corresponding to representations 1022-3, 1022-4 and 1022-5). In some embodiments, the watchlist content includes watched content items and unwatched content items (e.g., content item E, corresponding to representation 1022-5, is a previously-watched content item).” [0215], “In some embodiments, a user is able to select a content item in the content display area 1004 to play that content item in the content display area 1004.”);
displaying, on a personal homepage that displays a video that has been favorited by the current user, a preset first state identification for the video that has been favorited by the current user and a playback progress for which has not reached the preset progress ([0214], “FIG. 10E illustrates selection of watchlist section indicator 1008 in navigation bar 1002 (from, for example, FIG. 10A or 10D). When watchlist section indicator 1008 is selected, the electronic device optionally maintains display of navigation bar 1002 in the user interface, and optionally replaces display of the live content in the content display area 1004 with watchlist content (e.g., content selected based on prior user interactions with a collection of media content, such as content that a user of the electronic device has previously indicated should be added to the watchlist). The watchlist content optionally includes live content (e.g., corresponding to representations 1022-1 and 1022-2) and on-demand content (e.g., corresponding to representations 1022-3, 1022-4 and 1022-5). In some embodiments, the watchlist content includes watched content items and unwatched content items (e.g., content item E, corresponding to representation 1022-5, is a previously-watched content item).” [0215], “In some embodiments, a user is able to select a content item in the content display area 1004 to play that content item in the content display area 1004.”).
Beals teaches displaying, on a preset control within a video playback page of a video, information, and jumping from the video playback page of the video to a personal homepage of a current user in response to a trigger operation on the preset control ([0022], “In one example, the television receiver, or any device implementing the systems and methods disclosed herein, may monitor a television program of the received media content for highlight events in the media content. Such highlight events may be user-defined and may generally include specific portions and/or scenes of the television program that are of particular interest to the user, e.g. scoring plays in a soccer, football, and/or baseball game being received by the television receiver.” [0024], “The systems and methods disclosed herein may bookmark this segment as an ‘interesting’ segment. Such bookmarked segments may be any length as determined by the user….” [0078], “a BVR icon 610 is provided to indicate that the soccer game output for presentation is being monitored for bookmark video recording. In some examples, the BVR icon 610 may change color when a particular portion shown is actively being recorded and/or bookmarked. In other examples, the BVR icon 610 may be selectable and open up to the bookmarks display 602.” [0079], “The bookmarks display 602 may permit a user to scroll up and down through the listing of bookmarks 612a-d to select one or more trigger events for viewing.”).
In view of Beals’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Keighran to include displaying, on a preset control within a video playback page of the first video, the identification information, and jumping from the video playback page of the first video to a personal homepage of the current user in response to a trigger operation on the preset control. The modification would serve to facilitate user navigation to favorited content. The modification would thereby improve the user experience.
With respect to claim 1, Applicant additionally submits that, in Keighran, the interface described above does not display videos currently liked or favorited by the user, and that progress bar 1024 is not displayed on the current user's personal homepage that displays a video that has been favorited by the current user. Remarks, pp. 9-10.
As described in at least paragraph [0214] of Keighran, when a user selects watchlist section indicator 1008, the user interface displays watchlist content in display area 1004, wherein watchlist content may be “content selected based on prior user interactions with a collection of media content, such as content that a user of the electronic device has previously indicated should be added to the watchlist.”
In addition to the above, the examiner submits that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would construe Keighran as providing a teaching for displaying, on a personal homepage (i.e., watchlist) that displays a video that has been favorited by the current user (i.e., watchlist content), a preset first state identification for the video that has been favorited by the current user and a playback progress for which has not reached the preset progress (i.e., indication 1024 (e.g., a progress bar) of a current play position).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 7, 10-13, 15, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Keighran et al. (US 2017/0094360) and Beals et al. (US 2016/0203843).
Regarding claim 1, Keighran teaches a video processing method, comprising:
determining whether a first video in a current video stream carries a video identification, wherein the video identification is configured to identify a video that has been favorited by a current user and a playback progress for which has not reached a preset progress ([0214], “FIG. 10E illustrates selection of watchlist section indicator 1008 in navigation bar 1002 (from, for example, FIG. 10A or 10D). When watchlist section indicator 1008 is selected, the electronic device optionally maintains display of navigation bar 1002 in the user interface, and optionally replaces display of the live content in the content display area 1004 with watchlist content (e.g., content selected based on prior user interactions with a collection of media content, such as content that a user of the electronic device has previously indicated should be added to the watchlist). The watchlist content optionally includes live content (e.g., corresponding to representations 1022-1 and 1022-2) and on-demand content (e.g., corresponding to representations 1022-3, 1022-4 and 1022-5). In some embodiments, the watchlist content includes watched content items and unwatched content items (e.g., content item E, corresponding to representation 1022-5, is a previously-watched content item).” [0215], “In some embodiments, a user is able to select a content item in the content display area 1004 to play that content item in the content display area 1004.”);
displaying identification information corresponding to the video identification in response to the first video carrying the video identification, wherein the identification information is configured to prompt that the first video is a video that has been favorited by the current user and the playback progress for which has not reached the preset progress ([0214], “FIG. 10E illustrates selection of watchlist section indicator 1008 in navigation bar 1002 (from, for example, FIG. 10A or 10D). When watchlist section indicator 1008 is selected, the electronic device optionally maintains display of navigation bar 1002 in the user interface, and optionally replaces display of the live content in the content display area 1004 with watchlist content (e.g., content selected based on prior user interactions with a collection of media content, such as content that a user of the electronic device has previously indicated should be added to the watchlist). The watchlist content optionally includes live content (e.g., corresponding to representations 1022-1 and 1022-2) and on-demand content (e.g., corresponding to representations 1022-3, 1022-4 and 1022-5). In some embodiments, the watchlist content includes watched content items and unwatched content items (e.g., content item E, corresponding to representation 1022-5, is a previously-watched content item).” [0215], “In some embodiments, a user is able to select a content item in the content display area 1004 to play that content item in the content display area 1004.”);
displaying, on a personal homepage that displays a video that has been favorited by the current user, a preset first state identification for the video that has been favorited by the current user and a playback progress for which has not reached the preset progress ([0214], “FIG. 10E illustrates selection of watchlist section indicator 1008 in navigation bar 1002 (from, for example, FIG. 10A or 10D). When watchlist section indicator 1008 is selected, the electronic device optionally maintains display of navigation bar 1002 in the user interface, and optionally replaces display of the live content in the content display area 1004 with watchlist content (e.g., content selected based on prior user interactions with a collection of media content, such as content that a user of the electronic device has previously indicated should be added to the watchlist). The watchlist content optionally includes live content (e.g., corresponding to representations 1022-1 and 1022-2) and on-demand content (e.g., corresponding to representations 1022-3, 1022-4 and 1022-5). In some embodiments, the watchlist content includes watched content items and unwatched content items (e.g., content item E, corresponding to representation 1022-5, is a previously-watched content item).” [0215], “In some embodiments, a user is able to select a content item in the content display area 1004 to play that content item in the content display area 1004.”).
Keighran does not expressly teach displaying, on a preset control within a video playback page of the first video, the identification information. Keighran also does not expressly teach jumping from the video playback page of the first video to a personal homepage of the current user in response to a trigger operation on the preset control.
Beals teaches displaying, on a preset control within a video playback page of a video, information, and jumping from the video playback page of the video to a personal homepage of a current user in response to a trigger operation on the preset control ([0022], “In one example, the television receiver, or any device implementing the systems and methods disclosed herein, may monitor a television program of the received media content for highlight events in the media content. Such highlight events may be user-defined and may generally include specific portions and/or scenes of the television program that are of particular interest to the user, e.g. scoring plays in a soccer, football, and/or baseball game being received by the television receiver.” [0024], “The systems and methods disclosed herein may bookmark this segment as an ‘interesting’ segment. Such bookmarked segments may be any length as determined by the user….” [0078], “a BVR icon 610 is provided to indicate that the soccer game output for presentation is being monitored for bookmark video recording. In some examples, the BVR icon 610 may change color when a particular portion shown is actively being recorded and/or bookmarked. In other examples, the BVR icon 610 may be selectable and open up to the bookmarks display 602.” [0079], “The bookmarks display 602 may permit a user to scroll up and down through the listing of bookmarks 612a-d to select one or more trigger events for viewing.”).
In view of Beals’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Keighran to include displaying, on a preset control within a video playback page of the first video, the identification information, and jumping from the video playback page of the first video to a personal homepage of the current user in response to a trigger operation on the preset control. The modification would serve to facilitate user navigation to favorited content. The modification would thereby improve the user experience.
Regarding claim 10, Keighran teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, having instructions stored therein, wherein the instructions, when executed by a processor ([0027], [0127], Figs. 1A, 3, 5A). The grounds of rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC §103 are similarly applied to the remaining limitations of claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, Keighran teaches a video processing device, comprising:
a memory, a processor, wherein instructions are stored on the memory and executable by the processor ([0027], [0127], Figs. 1A, 3, 5A). The grounds of rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC §103 are similarly applied to the remaining limitations of claim 11.
Regarding claims 5 and 13, the combination further teaches further comprising:
acquiring the playback progress of the first video for the current user in response to the first video carrying the video identification; and displaying, on a playback progress bar of the first video, a node identification corresponding to the playback progress, wherein the node identification is configured to prompt the playback progress of the first video for the current user (Keighran: [0214], “FIG. 10E illustrates selection of watchlist section indicator 1008 in navigation bar 1002 (from, for example, FIG. 10A or 10D). When watchlist section indicator 1008 is selected, the electronic device optionally maintains display of navigation bar 1002 in the user interface, and optionally replaces display of the live content in the content display area 1004 with watchlist content (e.g., content selected based on prior user interactions with a collection of media content, such as content that a user of the electronic device has previously indicated should be added to the watchlist). The watchlist content optionally includes live content (e.g., corresponding to representations 1022-1 and 1022-2) and on-demand content (e.g., corresponding to representations 1022-3, 1022-4 and 1022-5). In some embodiments, the watchlist content includes watched content items and unwatched content items (e.g., content item E, corresponding to representation 1022-5, is a previously-watched content item).” [0215], “In some embodiments, a user is able to select a content item in the content display area 1004 to play that content item in the content display area 1004.”).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, the combination further teaches further comprising:
displaying a video cover of the first video at a preset playback position of the video playback page of the first video in response to the first video carrying the video identification (Keighran: [0214], “FIG. 10E illustrates selection of watchlist section indicator 1008 in navigation bar 1002 (from, for example, FIG. 10A or 10D). When watchlist section indicator 1008 is selected, the electronic device optionally maintains display of navigation bar 1002 in the user interface, and optionally replaces display of the live content in the content display area 1004 with watchlist content (e.g., content selected based on prior user interactions with a collection of media content, such as content that a user of the electronic device has previously indicated should be added to the watchlist). The watchlist content optionally includes live content (e.g., corresponding to representations 1022-1 and 1022-2) and on-demand content (e.g., corresponding to representations 1022-3, 1022-4 and 1022-5). In some embodiments, the watchlist content includes watched content items and unwatched content items (e.g., content item E, corresponding to representation 1022-5, is a previously-watched content item).” [0215], “In some embodiments, a user is able to select a content item in the content display area 1004 to play that content item in the content display area 1004.”); and
jumping from the video playback page of the first video to a personal homepage of the current user in response to a trigger operation on the video cover, wherein the personal homepage displays the video that has been favorited by the current user (Beals: [0074], “the bookmarks may be accessed via a bookmarks display window on the display screen, which might appear in response to the user selecting a button on the screen and/or pressing a button on a remote control.” [0078], “In other examples, the BVR icon 610 may be selectable and open up to the bookmarks display 602.”).
Regarding claims 7, 15, and 20, the combination further teaches wherein the preset first state identification is configured to prompt that the playback progress of the current user for the video does not reach the preset progress (Keighran: [0214], “FIG. 10E illustrates selection of watchlist section indicator 1008 in navigation bar 1002 (from, for example, FIG. 10A or 10D). When watchlist section indicator 1008 is selected, the electronic device optionally maintains display of navigation bar 1002 in the user interface, and optionally replaces display of the live content in the content display area 1004 with watchlist content (e.g., content selected based on prior user interactions with a collection of media content, such as content that a user of the electronic device has previously indicated should be added to the watchlist). The watchlist content optionally includes live content (e.g., corresponding to representations 1022-1 and 1022-2) and on-demand content (e.g., corresponding to representations 1022-3, 1022-4 and 1022-5). In some embodiments, the watchlist content includes watched content items and unwatched content items (e.g., content item E, corresponding to representation 1022-5, is a previously-watched content item).” [0215], “In some embodiments, a user is able to select a content item in the content display area 1004 to play that content item in the content display area 1004.”).
Claim(s) 4, 6, 8, 14, 16, 18-19, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Keighran, Beals, and Domm et al. (US 2020/0304863).
Regarding claims 4 and 18, the combination further teaches further comprising:
acquiring the playback progress of the first video for the current user in response to the first video carrying the video identification (Keighran: [0214], “FIG. 10E illustrates selection of watchlist section indicator 1008 in navigation bar 1002 (from, for example, FIG. 10A or 10D). When watchlist section indicator 1008 is selected, the electronic device optionally maintains display of navigation bar 1002 in the user interface, and optionally replaces display of the live content in the content display area 1004 with watchlist content (e.g., content selected based on prior user interactions with a collection of media content, such as content that a user of the electronic device has previously indicated should be added to the watchlist). The watchlist content optionally includes live content (e.g., corresponding to representations 1022-1 and 1022-2) and on-demand content (e.g., corresponding to representations 1022-3, 1022-4 and 1022-5). In some embodiments, the watchlist content includes watched content items and unwatched content items (e.g., content item E, corresponding to representation 1022-5, is a previously-watched content item).” [0215], “In some embodiments, a user is able to select a content item in the content display area 1004 to play that content item in the content display area 1004.”); and
However, the combination does not expressly teach resuming playback of the first video based on the playback progress.
Domm teaches resuming playback of a video based on playback progress ([0277], “In some embodiments, indicator 832-1 indicates that the user has partially watched ‘item B’ and selection of icon 815-2 will resume playback of item B (e.g., ‘Resume’).”).
In view of Domm’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination to include resuming playback of the first video based on the playback progress. The modification would enable users to resume viewing of preferred content at their convenience, thereby enhancing the user experience.
Regarding claims 6, 14, and 19, the combination further teaches wherein after the acquiring the playback progress of the first video for the current user, the method further comprises: displaying, on the video playback page of the first video, progress prompt information corresponding to the playback progress of the first video for the current user (Domm: [0316], “In FIG. 10E, user input 1003 corresponding to a rightward navigation (e.g., rightward swipe) is received. In some embodiments, in response to user input 1003, focus is moved to icon 1015-2 corresponding to item B. In some embodiments, because content display region 1014 is displaying a still frame of item A after fullscreen playback of item A, moving the focus to 1015-2 does not cause content display region 1014 to update or change to display content from item B. In some embodiments, content display region 1014 continues to display a still frame of item A at the 15 minute and 30 second playback position.”).
Regarding claims 8, 16, and 21, the combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach wherein after the jumping from the video playback page of the first video to the personal homepage of the current user, the method further comprises: displaying, on the personal homepage of the current user, a preset second state identification for the first video, wherein the preset second state identification is configured to prompt playback time information of the current user for the first video.
Domm teaches wherein displaying, on a personal homepage of a current user, a preset state identification for a video, wherein the preset state identification is configured to prompt playback time information of the current user for the video: Fig. 10E, element 1028-2 includes text “1 hr 5 min left”).
In view of Domm’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination wherein after the jumping from the video playback page of the first video to the personal homepage of the current user, the method further comprises: displaying, on the personal homepage of the current user, a preset second state identification for the first video, wherein the preset second state identification is configured to prompt playback time information of the current user for the first video. The modification would serve to enhance convenience for users.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL R TELAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426