DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. Claims 1-30 are presented for examination.
Specification
3. The objection of the specification is withdrawn in view of applicant's amendments/remarks.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The references listed in the information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/27/206 have been considered. The submission complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Form PTO- 1449 is signed and attached hereto.
Claim Objections
5. Claims 2 and 3 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In regards to claim 2, the claim recites “wherein the at least one processor is configured to add the CRC bits are to the set of information bits before performing the bit-shaping operation for the set of information bits.” The Examiner suggests strikethrough the word “ to the set of information bits before performing the bit-shaping operation for the set of information bits.”
In regards to claim 3, the claim recites similar feature of claim 2, and therefore need be corrected as the same manor. Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant’s argument filed on 07/27/2026 with respect claims 1-30 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant contends that the office action fails to teach or suggest the limitation of " perform a bit-shaping operation for a set of information bits for a quadrature amplitude modulated (QAM) transmission to generate a set of shaped bits." As recited in claim 1, and similar limitation in claims 9, 17, and 24.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and asserts the reference of Yang et al. (US 2021/0084654 A1) in paragraphs [0069]-[0072], and Fig. 6 teaches such limitation. For example, this disclosure provides methods, devices and systems for encoding data for wireless communication to achieve a desired amplitude distribution. Some implementations more specifically relate to performing an encoding operation to shape the amplitudes of the resultant symbols such that the amplitudes have a non-uniform distribution. In some implementations of the non-uniform distribution, the probabilities associated with the respective amplitudes generally increase with decreasing amplitude. Some implementations enable the tracking of MPDU boundaries to facilitate successful decoding by a receiving device. Additionally or alternatively, some implementations enable the determination of a packet length after performing the amplitude shaping, which enables a transmitting device to determine the number of padding bits to add to the payload and to signal the packet length to a receiving device so that the receiving device may determine the duration of the packet. See paragraph [0069].
FIG. 6 shows a flowchart illustrating an example process 600 for wireless communication that supports amplitude shaping according to some implementations. The operations of the process 600 may be implemented by a transmitting device or its components as described herein. For example, the process 600 may be performed by a wireless communication device such as the wireless communication device 400 described with reference to FIG. 4. In some implementations, the process 600 may be performed by a wireless communication device operating as or within an AP, such as one of the APs 102 and 502 described with reference to FIGS. 1 and 5A, respectively. In some other implementations, the process 600 may be performed by a wireless communication device operating as or within a STA, such as one of the STAs 104 and 504 described with reference to FIGS. 1 and 5B, respectively. See paragraph [0070].
In block 602, the wireless communication device performs a first encoding operation on a plurality of amplitude bits that generates a plurality of amplitude-shaped bits that indicate amplitudes of a plurality of symbols. In some implementations, the first encoding operation encodes the plurality of amplitude bits to generate the plurality of amplitude-shaped bits such that the amplitudes of the resultant symbols have a non-uniform distribution. In block 604, the wireless communication device performs a second encoding operation on the plurality of amplitude-shaped bits that generates a codeword that includes the plurality of amplitude-shaped bits and a plurality of parity bits based at least in part on the plurality of amplitude-shaped bits. In block 606, the wireless communication device arranges the plurality of amplitude-shaped bits and the plurality of parity bits into the plurality of symbols, the respective amplitude of each of the symbols being based at least in part on the respective amplitude-shaped bits ordered in the symbol. In block 608, the wireless communication device transmits the plurality of symbols on a plurality of subcarriers to at least one receiving device in a wireless packet. See paragraph [0071].
In some implementations, the performance of the first encoding operation (also referred to herein as an “amplitude-shaping encoding operation” or simply an “amplitude shaping operation”) in block 602 encodes the plurality of amplitude bits to generate the plurality of amplitude-shaped bits such that the non-uniform distribution of the amplitudes of the symbols is a distribution in which the probabilities associated with the respective amplitudes generally increase with decreasing amplitude. For example, the non-uniform distribution may be approximately Gaussian centered around the center point (0,0) of the modulation constellation. As described above, such amplitude shaping may be used to increase the SNR and the channel capacity enabling greater throughput. See paragraph [0072]. Also see Fig. 6 is printed below for your convenience.
Also, the applicant contends that the cited references fail to teaches or suggest “add cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits before forward error correction (FEC) on a combination of the set of information bits and the CRC bits.” As recited in claim 1, and similar limitation in claims 9, 17, and 24.
The Examiner notes that the applicant’s arguments regarding to the above limitation have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. In addition to, the Examiner maintained the reference of Yang et al. (US 2021/0084654 A1) since there is no further argument/s regarding to this reference.
Further, the Examiner notes that the applicant’s arguments regarding claims 5, 6, 17, 18, 21 and 24 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
7. Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
As per claim 1:
The claim recites “An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory, the at least one processor is configured to: perform a bit-shaping operation for a set of information bits for a quadrature amplitude modulated (QAM) transmission to generate a set of shaped bits; add cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits before forward error correction (FEC) on a combination of the set of information bits and the CRC bits; and transmit the QAM transmission.”
At Step 1, is the claim directed to a processor, machine, manufacture or composition of matter? Yes, see MPEP 2106.03. The claim recites an apparatus for wireless communication and, therefore, is a machine/manufacture, and thus directed to a statutory category. At step 2A Prong One, Does the claim recite an abstract idea law of nature or natural phenomenon? Yes, see MPEP 2106.04. The claim recites “perform a bit-shaping operation for a set of information bits for a quadrature amplitude modulated (QAM) transmission to generate a set of shaped bits; add cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits before forward error correction (FEC) on a combination of the set of information bits and the CRC bits,” as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the human mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. At step 2A Prong Two, Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? NO, see MPEP 2106.04(d). The claim recites additional element/s of “at least in part on information stored in the memory---; and transmit the QAM transmission” and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because are generic computer function merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(f). At step 2B, Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than judicial exception? NO, see MPEP 2106.05. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional element/s “wireless communication,” “memory,” and “at least one processor” are generic components that are well understood, routine and conventional and do not result in the claim as a whole amounting to significantly more than the abstract idea. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. In Berkheimer v. HP, Inc., 881 F.3d 1360, 125 USPQ2d 1649 (Fed. Cir. 2018), in which the patentee claimed methods for parsing and evaluating data using a computer processing system. See the prior arts Yang et al. US 2021/0084654 A1, Yung et al. US 20190245651 A1, and Lefevre et al. US 10,200,231 teach well known elements. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
As per claim 9:
The claim recites “An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory, the at least one processor is configured to: receive a quadrature amplitude modulated (QAM) transmission; perform a forward error correction (FEC) decoding on the QAM transmission; obtain cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits from the QAM transmission after the FEC decoding; and perform a bit level de-shaping operation on a set of shaped bits to obtain a set of information bits.”
At Step 1, is the claim directed to a processor, machine, manufacture or composition of matter? Yes, see MPEP 2106.03. The claim recites an apparatus for wireless communication and, therefore, is a machine/manufacture, and thus directed to a statutory category. At step 2A Prong One, Does the claim recite an abstract idea law of nature or natural phenomenon? Yes, see MPEP 2106.04. The claim recites “perform a forward error correction (FEC) decoding on the QAM transmission; obtain cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits from the QAM transmission after the FEC decoding; and perform a bit level de-shaping operation on a set of shaped bits to obtain a set of information bits,” as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the human mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. At step 2A Prong Two, Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? NO, see MPEP 2106.04(d). The claim recites additional element/s of “at least in part on information stored in the memory ---; receive a quadrature amplitude modulated (QAM) transmission” and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because are generic computer function merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(f). At step 2B, Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than judicial exception? NO, see MPEP 2106.05. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional element/s “wireless communication,” “memory,” and “at least one processor” are generic components that are well understood, routine and conventional and do not result in the claim as a whole amounting to significantly more than the abstract idea. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. In Berkheimer v. HP, Inc., 881 F.3d 1360, 125 USPQ2d 1649 (Fed. Cir. 2018), in which the patentee claimed methods for parsing and evaluating data using a computer processing system. See the prior arts Yang et al. US 2021/0084654 A1, Yung et al. US 20190245651 A1, and Lefevre et al. US 10,200,231 teach well known elements. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
As per claim 17:
The claim recites “An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory, the at least one processor s configured to: perform a bit-shaping operation for a set of information bits to generate a set of shaped information bits; map the set of shaped information bits, non-shaped information bits, shaping bits, and parity bits to symbols based on a bit-to-symbol mapping for block-code based shaping in an order based on one or more rules; and transmit a quadrature amplitude modulated (QAM) transmission..”
At Step 1, is the claim directed to a processor, machine, manufacture or composition of matter? Yes, see MPEP 2106.03. The claim recites an apparatus for wireless communication and, therefore, is a machine/manufacture, and thus directed to a statutory category. At step 2A Prong One, Does the claim recite an abstract idea law of nature or natural phenomenon? Yes, see MPEP 2106.04. The claim recites “perform a bit-shaping operation for a set of information bits to generate a set of shaped information bits; map the set of shaped information bits, non-shaped information bits, shaping bits, and parity bits to symbols based on a bit-to-symbol mapping for block-code based shaping in an order based on one or more rules,” as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the human mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. At step 2A Prong Two, Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? NO, see MPEP 2106.04(d). The claim recites additional element/s of “at least in part on information stored in the memory---; and transmit the QAM transmission” and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because are generic computer function merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(f). At step 2B, Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than judicial exception? NO, see MPEP 2106.05. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional element/s “wireless communication,” “memory,” and “at least one processor” are generic components that are well understood, routine and conventional and do not result in the claim as a whole amounting to significantly more than the abstract idea. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. In Berkheimer v. HP, Inc., 881 F.3d 1360, 125 USPQ2d 1649 (Fed. Cir. 2018), in which the patentee claimed methods for parsing and evaluating data using a computer processing system. See the prior arts Yang et al. US 2021/0084654 A1, Yung et al. US 20190245651 A1, and Lefevre et al. US 10,200,231 teach well known elements. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
As per claim 24:
The claim recites “An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory, the at least one processor is configured to: receive an indication of a set of one or more rules for a bit-to-symbol mapping for block-code based shaping of a set of shaped information bits, non-shaped information bits, shaping bits, parity bits, and cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits to symbols; receive a quadrature amplitude modulated (QAM) transmission; perform a decoding on the QAM transmission; and perform a bit level de-shaping operation on a set of shaped bits included in the QAM transmission to obtain a set of information bits based on the indication of the set of one or more rules.”
At Step 1, is the claim directed to a processor, machine, manufacture or composition of matter? Yes, see MPEP 2106.03. The claim recites an apparatus for wireless communication and, therefore, is a machine/manufacture, and thus directed to a statutory category. At step 2A Prong One, Does the claim recite an abstract idea law of nature or natural phenomenon? Yes, see MPEP 2106.04. The claim recites “receive an indication of a set of one or more rules for a bit-to-symbol mapping for block-code based shaping of a set of shaped information bits, non-shaped information bits, shaping bits, parity bits, and cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits to symbols---; perform a decoding on the QAM transmission; and perform a bit level de-shaping operation on a set of shaped bits included in the QAM transmission to obtain a set of information bits based on the indication of the set of one or more rules,” as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the human mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. At step 2A Prong Two, Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? NO, see MPEP 2106.04(d). The claim recites additional element/s of “receive a quadrature amplitude modulated (QAM) transmission” and does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because is generic computer function merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(f). At step 2B, Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than judicial exception? NO, see MPEP 2106.05. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional element/s “wireless communication,” “memory,” and “at least one processor” are generic components that are well understood, routine and conventional and do not result in the claim as a whole amounting to significantly more than the abstract idea. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. In Berkheimer v. HP, Inc., 881 F.3d 1360, 125 USPQ2d 1649 (Fed. Cir. 2018), in which the patentee claimed methods for parsing and evaluating data using a computer processing system. See the prior arts Yang et al. US 2021/0084654 A1, Yung et al. US 20190245651 A1, and Lefevre et al. US 10,200,231 teach well known elements. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible. Dependent claims 2-8, 10-16, 18-23, and 25-30 are extended elements of the abstract idea of the independent claims and the claims are abstract in nature falling withing Mental Processes. The dependent claims do not add any meaningful limits to the abstract idea to improve the technology or the computer component and fails to add significantly more than the abstracts idea. Therefore, the dependent claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 2021/0084654 A1) "herein after as Yang" in view of Yuan et al. (US 2019/0245651 A1) "herein after as Yuan."
As per claim 1:
Yang substantially teaches or discloses an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising (see Fig. 4, wireless communication device 400): a memory (see Fig. 4, memory 402); and at least one processor (see Fig. 4, processor 404) coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory, the at least one processor is configured to (see paragraph [0059], herein the wireless communication device 400 also includes one or more processors, processing blocks or processing elements 404 (collectively “the processor 404”) coupled with the modem 402): perform a bit-shaping operation for the set of information bits to generate a set of shaped bits (see paragraph [0071], herein the wireless communication device performs a first encoding operation on a plurality of amplitude bits that generates a plurality of amplitude-shaped bits that indicate amplitudes of a plurality of symbols; paragraph [0077], herein perform the first encoding operation in block 602, and in particular, to obtain the set of n amplitude bits (eight in the 1024-QAM example) that indicate the first and the second amplitude components; paragraph [0071]-[0071], and Fig. 6, step 602);and transmit the QAM transmission (see paragraph [0071], herein the wireless communication device transmits the plurality of symbols on a plurality of subcarriers to at least one receiving device in a wireless packet).
Yang does not explicitly teach add cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits before forward error correction (FEC) on a combination of the set of information bits and the CRC bits. However, Yuan in the same the field of endeavor teaches add cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits before forward error correction (FEC) on a combination of the set of information bits and the CRC bits (see paragraph [0044], herein the receiver performs the previously described type check on the FEC decoder output to generate ACK/NACK (Acknowledged/Not Acknowledged) signals which are used for HARQ. If the sequence at the FEC decoder output does not have the correct type, a NACK message is fed back to the transmitter to request a retransmission. In order to improve the error detection performance, the scheme can be combined with an additional CRC code. Only if both (i) the type check matches the expected distribution and (ii) a CRC value computed by the receiver for the candidate received codeword matches the received CRC the decoder output is regarded as correct. In that case the candidate codeword is passed for further processing at the receiver and an ACK message may be sent. FIG. 4 shows two possible implementations of such a receiver. Example (a) is suitable for the situation where, at the transmitter, a CRC is added before the distribution matcher 1 of FIG. 2. In this example the decoder input passes to a FEC decoder 20, and Fig. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Yang with the teachings of Yuan by adding cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits before forward error correction (FEC) on a combination of the set of information bits and the CRC bits. This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the adding cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits before forward error correction (FEC) on a combination of the set of information bits and the CRC bits would have improved the efficiency of probability-shaped coding schemes, especially for short block lengths (see paragraph [0007 of Yuan).
As per claim 2:
Yuan teaches that wherein the at least one processor is configured to add the CRC bits are to the set of information bits before performing the bit-shaping operation for the set of information bits (see paragraph [0044], herein the receiver performs the previously described type check on the FEC decoder output to generate ACK/NACK (Acknowledged/Not Acknowledged) signals which are used for HARQ. If the sequence at the FEC decoder output does not have the correct type, a NACK message is fed back to the transmitter to request a retransmission. In order to improve the error detection performance, the scheme can be combined with an additional CRC code. Only if both (i) the type check matches the expected distribution and (ii) a CRC value computed by the receiver for the candidate received codeword matches the received CRC the decoder output is regarded as correct. In that case the candidate codeword is passed for further processing at the receiver and an ACK message may be sent. FIG. 4 shows two possible implementations of such a receiver. Example (a) is suitable for the situation where, at the transmitter, a CRC is added before the distribution matcher 1 of FIG. 2. In this example the decoder input passes to a FEC decoder 20, and Fig. 2).
As per claim 3:
Yuan teaches that wherein the at least one processor is configured to add the CRC bits are to the set of information bits after performing the bit-shaping operation for the set of information bits (see paragraph [0044], at the transmitter, a CRC is added before the distribution matcher 1 of FIG. 2. In this example the decoder input passes to a FEC decoder 20. Then a type check is performed in block 21. Depending on the result of that type check a NACK message may be returned to the transmitter. Then in block 22 an inverse CCDM process is performed. Then the CRC is decoded in block 23. If the CRC does not match then a NACK may be returned to the transmitter. Otherwise the codeword may be passed for further processing and an ACK may be returned. Example (b) is suitable for the situation where, at the transmitter, a CRC is added after the distribution matcher 1).
As per claim 4:
Yuan teaches that wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: map the set of shaped information bits, non-shaped information bits, shaping bits, and parity bits to symbols based on a bit-to-symbol mapping for block-code based shaping in an order based on one or more rules (see paragraph [0035], herein the transmit symbols are subsequently scaled multiplicatively by a value A to fulfil a certain transmit power constraint targeting a desired power distribution. In an alternative embodiment, the distribution matcher directly generates bit tuples b.sub.1 . . . b.sub.n with a desired distribution, which are then mapped together with the parity bits generated by the FEC (forward error correction) encoder onto transmit symbols using a standard QAM symbol mapper. It is also possible to replace some of the parity bits by uniformly distributed data bits in combination with a higher FEC code rate. At the receiver, bit-wise log-likelihood ratios (LLRs) are calculated based on the observed receive signal, taking the non-uniform transmit symbol distribution into account. These LLRs are fed to the FEC decoder 6. It outputs an estimate of the bit tuples b.sub.1 . . . b.sub.n or, equivalently, the amplitudes A.sub.1 . . . A.sub.n, which are finally mapped back to data bits by the inverse distribution matcher 7,and paragraph [0033]).
As per claim 5:
Yuan teaches that wherein the bit-to-symbol mapping comprises mapping the non-shaped information bits to a set of sign bits and the set of shaped information bits to a set of most significant bits (MSBs) and a mapping of remaining non-shaped information bits and shaping bits and the parity bits to a set of remaining bits (see paragraph [0033], herein Incoming data at 1 is mapped by a distribution matcher (DM) 1 onto a sequence of amplitudes A.sub.1 . . . A.sub.n with a desired distribution P.sub.A. The mapping may be performed to map the symbols to the Gaussian distribution, and paragraph [0035]).
As per claim 6:
Yuan teaches that wherein the bit-to-symbol mapping comprises mapping the shaping bits and a first set of bits of the parity bits to a set of sign bits, a mapping of the set of shaped information bits to a set of most significant bits (MSBs), and mapping a second set of bits of the parity bits to a set of least significant bits (LSBs) (see paragraph [0033], herein Incoming data at 1 is mapped by a distribution matcher (DM) 1 onto a sequence of amplitudes A.sub.1 . . . A.sub.n with a desired distribution P.sub.A. The mapping may be performed to map the symbols to the Gaussian distribution, and paragraph [0035]).
As per claim 7:
Yuan teaches that wherein the bit-to-symbol mapping further comprises a mapping of the non-shaped information bits to a set of bits between the MSBs to which the set of shaped information bits is mapped and the LSBs to which the second set of bits of the parity bits is mapped (see paragraph [0033], herein Incoming data at 1 is mapped by a distribution matcher (DM) 1 onto a sequence of amplitudes A.sub.1 . . . A.sub.n with a desired distribution P.sub.A. The mapping may be performed to map the symbols to the Gaussian distribution, and paragraph [0035]).
As per claim 8:
Yang teaches that a transceiver or an antenna (see Fig. 5, wireless communication device 510) coupled to the at least one processor (see Fig. 5, processor 530), wherein the at least one processor is configured to transmit the QAM transmission via the transceiver or the antenna (see paragraph [0065], herein the AP 502 also includes multiple antennas 520 coupled with the wireless communication device 510 to transmit and receive wireless communications. In some implementations, the AP 502 additionally includes an application processor 530 coupled with the wireless communication device 510; and paragraph [0071], herein in block 608, the wireless communication device transmits the plurality of symbols on a plurality of subcarriers to at least one receiving device in a wireless packet).
As per claim 9:
Yang substantially teaches or discloses an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising (see Fig. 4, wireless communication device 400): memory (see Fig. 4, memory 402); and at least one processor (see Fig. 4, memory 404) coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory, the at least one processor is configured to (see paragraph [0059], herein the wireless communication device 400 also includes one or more processors, processing blocks or processing elements 404 (collectively “the processor 404”) coupled with the modem 402): receive a quadrature amplitude modulated (QAM) transmission (see paragraph [0097], herein the wireless communication device receives, in block 802, a wireless packet 902 including the plurality of modulated symbols 734 that were transmitted from the transmitting wireless communication device in block 608 of the process 600, and Fig. 8, step 802); and perform a bit level de-shaping operation on a set of shaped bits to obtain a set of information bits (see paragraph [0102], herein a shaping decoder 926 performs the second decoding operation (also referred to herein as the “amplitude de-shaping operation”) to remove redundancy from the amplitude-shaped bits 918 to generate the de-shaped amplitude bits 928 such that the number (numerical quantity) of de-shaped amplitude bits 928 is less than the number of amplitude-shaped bits 918). Yang does not explicitly teach perform a forward error correction (FEC) decoding on the QAM transmission; obtain cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits from the QAM transmission after the FEC decoding.
However, Yuan in the same the field of endeavor teaches perform a forward error correction (FEC) decoding on the QAM transmission (see paragraph [0035], herein the distribution matcher directly generates bit tuples b.sub.1 . . . b.sub.n with a desired distribution, which are then mapped together with the parity bits generated by the FEC (forward error correction) encoder onto transmit symbols using a standard QAM symbol mapper); obtain cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits from the QAM transmission after the FEC decoding (see paragraph [0044], at the transmitter, a CRC is added before the distribution matcher 1 of FIG. 2. In this example the decoder input passes to a FEC decoder 20. Then a type check is performed in block 21. Depending on the result of that type check a NACK message may be returned to the transmitter. Then in block 22 an inverse CCDM process is performed. Then the CRC is decoded in block 23. If the CRC does not match then a NACK may be returned to the transmitter. Otherwise the codeword may be passed for further processing and an ACK may be returned. Example (b) is suitable for the situation where, at the transmitter, a CRC is added after the distribution matcher 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Yang with the teachings of Yuan by performing a forward error correction (FEC) decoding on the QAM transmission; and obtaining cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits from the QAM transmission after the FEC decoding. This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the performing a forward error correction (FEC) decoding on the QAM transmission; and obtaining cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits from the QAM transmission after the FEC decoding would have improved the efficiency of probability-shaped coding schemes, especially for short block lengths (see paragraph [0007 of Yuan).
As per claim 10:
Yuan teaches that wherein the CRC bits are obtained and CRC check are performed after the bit level de-shaping operation (see see paragraph [0044], at the transmitter, a CRC is added before the distribution matcher 1 of FIG. 2. In this example the decoder input passes to a FEC decoder 20. Then a type check is performed in block 21. Depending on the result of that type check a NACK message may be returned to the transmitter. Then in block 22 an inverse CCDM process is performed. Then the CRC is decoded in block 23. If the CRC does not match then a NACK may be returned to the transmitter. Otherwise the codeword may be passed for further processing and an ACK may be returned. Example (b) is suitable for the situation where, at the transmitter, a CRC is added after the distribution matcher 1).
As per claim 11:
Yuan teaches that wherein the CRC bits are obtained and CRC check are performed before the bit level de-shaping operation (see paragraph [0044], herein the receiver performs the previously described type check on the FEC decoder output to generate ACK/NACK (Acknowledged/Not Acknowledged) signals which are used for HARQ. If the sequence at the FEC decoder output does not have the correct type, a NACK message is fed back to the transmitter to request a retransmission. In order to improve the error detection performance, the scheme can be combined with an additional CRC code. Only if both (i) the type check matches the expected distribution and (ii) a CRC value computed by the receiver for the candidate received codeword matches the received CRC the decoder output is regarded as correct. In that case the candidate codeword is passed for further processing at the receiver and an ACK message may be sent. FIG. 4 shows two possible implementations of such a receiver. Example (a) is suitable for the situation where, at the transmitter, a CRC is added before the distribution matcher 1 of FIG. 2. In this example the decoder input passes to a FEC decoder 20, and Fig. 2).
As per claim 12:
Yang teaches that wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: de-map a set of symbols into the set of shaped information bits, non-shaped information bits, shaping bits, and parity bits based on a bit-to-symbol mapping for block-code based shaping in an order based on one or more rules (see paragraph [0099], a constellation reverse-mapper (for example, a QAM reverse-mapper) 908 may then reverse map the complex number representations 906 from the respective points in the (for example, QAM) modulation constellation to obtain the demodulated symbols 910).
As per claim 13:
Yang teaches that wherein the bit-to-symbol mapping comprises a mapping of the non-shaped information bits to a set of sign bits and the set of shaped information bits to a set of most significant bits (MSBs) and a mapping of remaining non-shaped information bits, shaping bits and the parity bits to a set of remaining bits (see paragraph [0089], herein depending on the LDPC coding rate and QAM constellation size, it may be possible that all of the parity bits 722, as well as some unshaped data bits (for example, the sign bits 708), are used as sign bits in the symbols 726. This may be desirable because it means that the amplitudes of all of the M symbols 726 can be shaped; and paragraph [0090], herein the wireless communication device transmits the M symbols 726 on a plurality of subcarriers to the receiving device in a wireless packet. In some implementations, to transmit each of the symbols 726 in block 610, a constellation mapper (for example, a QAM mapper) 728 maps each of the symbols 726 to a point in a (for example, QAM) modulation constellation to obtain, for example, complex number representations 730 indicating the amplitudes and phases of the symbols 726. In some implementations, the constellation mapper 728 includes a plurality of constellation mappers, one for each of a plurality of streams of the symbols 726).
As per claim 14:
Yang teaches that wherein the bit-to-symbol mapping comprises a mapping of the shaping bits and a first set of bits of the parity bits to a set of sign bits, a mapping of the set of shaped information bits to a set of most significant bits (MSBs), and a mapping of a second set of bits of the parity bits to a set of least significant bits (LSBs) (see paragraph [0090], herein , a constellation mapper (for example, a QAM mapper) 728 maps each of the symbols 726 to a point in a (for example, QAM) modulation constellation to obtain, for example, complex number representations 730 indicating the amplitudes and phases of the symbols 726. In some implementations, the constellation mapper 728 includes a plurality of constellation mappers, one for each of a plurality of streams of the symbols 726, and Fig. 7B).
As per claim 15:
Yang teaches that wherein the bit-to-symbol mapping further comprises a mapping of the non-shaped information bits to a set of bits between the MSBs to which the set of shaped information bits is mapped and the LSBs to which the second set of bits of the parity bits is mapped(see paragraph [0091], herein After spatial stream parsing and bandwidth segment parsing (if performed), each of the different streams of parsed symbols 726 may be provided to a respective one of the constellation mappers that maps the symbols to points in the modulation constellation to obtain a respective stream of complex number representations 730, and Fig. 7B).
As per claim 16:
Yang teaches that a transceiver or an antenna coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive the QAM transmission via the transceiver or the antenna (see paragraph [0066], herein the wireless communication device 515 may be an example implementation of the wireless communication device 400 described with reference to FIG. 4. The STA 504 also includes one or more antennas 525 coupled with the wireless communication device 515 to transmit and receive wireless communications).
As per claim 17:
Yang teaches or discloses an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising (see Fig. 4, wireless communication device 400): memory (see Fig. 4, memory 402); and at least one processor (see Fig. 4, memory 404) coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory, the at least one processor is configured to (see paragraph [0059], herein the wireless communication device 400 also includes one or more processors, processing blocks or processing elements 404 (collectively “the processor 404”) coupled with the modem 402): perform a bit-shaping operation for a set of information bits to generate a set of shaped information bits (see paragraph [0071], herein the wireless communication device performs a first encoding operation on a plurality of amplitude bits that generates a plurality of amplitude-shaped bits that indicate amplitudes of a plurality of symbols; paragraph [0077], herein perform the first encoding operation in block 602, and in particular, to obtain the set of n amplitude bits (eight in the 1024-QAM example) that indicate the first and the second amplitude components; and Fig. 6, step 602); and transmit a quadrature amplitude modulated (QAM) transmission (see paragraph [0071], herein the wireless communication device transmits the plurality of symbols on a plurality of subcarriers to at least one receiving device in a wireless packet). Yang does not explicitly teach map the set of shaped information bits, non-shaped information bits, shaping bits, and parity bits to symbols based on a bit-to-symbol mapping for block-code based shaping in an order based on one or more rules.
However, Yuan in the same the field of endeavor teaches map the set of shaped information bits, non-shaped information bits, shaping bits, and parity bits to symbols based on a bit-to-symbol mapping for block-code based shaping in an order based on one or more rules (see paragraph [0035], herein the transmit symbols are subsequently scaled multiplicatively by a value A to fulfil a certain transmit power constraint targeting a desired power distribution. In an alternative embodiment, the distribution matcher directly generates bit tuples b.sub.1 . . . b.sub.n with a desired distribution, which are then mapped together with the parity bits generated by the FEC (forward error correction) encoder onto transmit symbols using a standard QAM symbol mapper. It is also possible to replace some of the parity bits by uniformly distributed data bits in combination with a higher FEC code rate. At the receiver, bit-wise log-likelihood ratios (LLRs) are calculated based on the observed receive signal, taking the non-uniform transmit symbol distribution into account. These LLRs are fed to the FEC decoder 6. It outputs an estimate of the bit tuples b.sub.1 . . . b.sub.n or, equivalently, the amplitudes A.sub.1 . . . A.sub.n, which are finally mapped back to data bits by the inverse distribution matcher 7, and paragraph [0033]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Yang with the teachings of Yuan by mapping the set of shaped information bits, non-shaped information bits, shaping bits, and parity bits to symbols based on a bit-to-symbol mapping for block-code based shaping in an order based on one or more rules. This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the mapping the set of shaped information bits, non-shaped information bits, shaping bits, and parity bits to symbols based on a bit-to-symbol mapping for block-code based shaping in an order based on one or more rules would have improved the efficiency of probability-shaped coding schemes, especially for short block lengths (see paragraph [0007 of Yuan).
As per claim 18:
Yang teaches that wherein the bit-to-symbol mapping comprises a mapping of the non-shaped information bits to a set of sign bits and the set of shaped information bits to a set of most significant bits (MSBs) and mapping remaining non-shaped information bits and shaping bits and the parity bits to a set of remaining bits (see paragraph [0089], herein depending on the LDPC coding rate and QAM constellation size, it may be possible that all of the parity bits 722, as well as some unshaped data bits (for example, the sign bits 708), are used as sign bits in the symbols 726. This may be desirable because it means that the amplitudes of all of the M symbols 726 can be shaped; and paragraph [0090], herein the wireless communication device transmits the M symbols 726 on a plurality of subcarriers to the receiving device in a wireless packet. In some implementations, to transmit each of the symbols 726 in block 610, a constellation mapper (for example, a QAM mapper) 728 maps each of the symbols 726 to a point in a (for example, QAM) modulation constellation to obtain, for example, complex number representations 730 indicating the amplitudes and phases of the symbols 726. In some implementations, the constellation mapper 728 includes a plurality of constellation mappers, one for each of a plurality of streams of the symbols 726).
As per claim 19:
Yuan teaches that wherein the bit-to-symbol mapping comprises a mapping of the shaping bits and a first set of bits of the parity bits to a set of sign bits, a mapping of the set of shaped information bits to a set of most significant bits (MSBs), and mapping a second set of bits of the parity bits to a set of least significant bits (LSBs) (see paragraph [0033], herein Incoming data at 1 is mapped by a distribution matcher (DM) 1 onto a sequence of amplitudes A.sub.1 . . . A.sub.n with a desired distribution P.sub.A. The mapping may be performed to map the symbols to the Gaussian distribution, and paragraph [0035]).
As per claim 20:
Yang teaches that wherein the bit-to-symbol mapping further comprises a mapping of the non-shaped information bits to a set of bits between the MSBs to which the set of shaped information bits is mapped and the LSBs to which the second set of bits of the parity bits is mapped (see paragraph [0091], herein After spatial stream parsing and bandwidth segment parsing (if performed), each of the different streams of parsed symbols 726 may be provided to a respective one of the constellation mappers that maps the symbols to points in the modulation constellation to obtain a respective stream of complex number representations 730, and Fig. 7B).
As per claim 21:
Yang-Yuan as combined teaches that the at least one processor is further configured to add cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits to the set of information bits before performing the bit-shaping operation for the set of information bits (Yuan, see paragraph [0044], herein the receiver performs the previously described type check on the FEC decoder output to generate ACK/NACK (Acknowledged/Not Acknowledged) signals which are used for HARQ. If the sequence at the FEC decoder output does not have the correct type, a NACK message is fed back to the transmitter to request a retransmission. In order to improve the error detection performance, the scheme can be combined with an additional CRC code. Only if both (i) the type check matches the expected distribution and (ii) a CRC value computed by the receiver for the candidate received codeword matches the received CRC the decoder output is regarded as correct. In that case the candidate codeword is passed for further processing at the receiver and an ACK message may be sent. FIG. 4 shows two possible implementations of such a receiver. Example (a) is suitable for the situation where, at the transmitter, a CRC is added before the distribution matcher 1 of FIG. 2. In this example the decoder input passes to a FEC decoder 20, and Fig. 2) and wherein to perform the bit-shaping operation the at least one processor is configured to perform the bit-shaping operation for the set of information bits and the CRC bits to generate the set of shaped information bits (yang, see paragraph [0071], herein the wireless communication device performs a first encoding operation on a plurality of amplitude bits that generates a plurality of amplitude-shaped bits that indicate amplitudes of a plurality of symbols; paragraph [0077], herein perform the first encoding operation in block 602, and in particular, to obtain the set of n amplitude bits (eight in the 1024-QAM example) that indicate the first and the second amplitude components; and Fig. 6, step 602).
As per claim 22:
Yang teaches that wherein the bit-to-symbol mapping further comprises a mapping of cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits to symbols based on the bit-to-symbol mapping for block-code based shaping in the order based on the one or more rules (see paragraph [0060], herein the coded bits may then be mapped to a number N.sub.SS of spatial streams for spatial multiplexing or a number N.sub.STS of space-time streams for space-time block coding (STBC). The coded bits in the streams may then be mapped to points in a modulation constellation (using a selected MCS) to provide modulated symbols; paragraph [0090], a constellation mapper (for example, a QAM mapper) 728 maps each of the symbols 726 to a point in a (for example, QAM) modulation constellation to obtain, and Fig. 7B).
As per claim 23:
Yang teaches that a transceiver or an antenna coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to transmit the QAM transmission via the transceiver or the antenna (see paragraph [0065], herein the AP 502 also includes multiple antennas 520 coupled with the wireless communication device 510 to transmit and receive wireless communications. In some implementations, the AP 502 additionally includes an application processor 530 coupled with the wireless communication device 510; and paragraph [0071], herein in block 608, the wireless communication device transmits the plurality of symbols on a plurality of subcarriers to at least one receiving device in a wireless packet).
As per claim 24:
Yang teaches or discloses an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising (see Fig. 4, wireless communication device 400): memory (see Fig. 4, memory 402); and at least one processor (see Fig. 4, memory 404) coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory, the at least one processor is configured to (see paragraph [0059], herein the wireless communication device 400 also includes one or more processors, processing blocks or processing elements 404 (collectively “the processor 404”) coupled with the modem 402): receive a quadrature amplitude modulated (QAM) transmission; (see paragraph [0097], herein the wireless communication device receives, in block 802, a wireless packet 902 including the plurality of modulated symbols 734 that were transmitted from the transmitting wireless communication device in block 608 of the process 600, and Fig. 8, step 802); perform a decoding on the QAM transmission (see paragraph [0096], herein in block 806, the wireless communication device performs a first decoding operation on at least the plurality of amplitude-shaped bits based on the plurality of parity bits to generate a first plurality of decoded data bits. In block 808, the wireless communication device performs a second decoding operation on the first plurality of decoded data bits that generates a plurality of de-shaped amplitude bits, and Fig. 8 step 806); and perform a bit level de-shaping operation on a set of shaped bits included in the QAM transmission to obtain a set of information bits based on the indication of the one or more rules (see paragraph [0102], herein the wireless communication device performs a second decoding operation in block 808 on the amplitude-shaped bits 918 to generate de-shaped amplitude bits. In some implementations, a shaping decoder 926 performs the second decoding operation (also referred to herein as the “amplitude de-shaping operation”) to remove redundancy from the amplitude-shaped bits 918 to generate the de-shaped amplitude bits 928 such that the number (numerical quantity) of de-shaped amplitude bits 928 is less than the number of amplitude-shaped bits 918).
Yang does not explicitly teaches receive an indication of a set of one or more rules for a bit-to-symbol mapping for block-code based shaping of a set of shaped information bits, non-shaped information bits, shaping bits, parity bits, and cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits to symbols.
However, Yuan in the same the field of endeavor teaches receive an indication of a set of one or more rules for a bit-to-symbol mapping for block-code based shaping of a set of shaped information bits, non-shaped information bits, shaping bits, parity bits, and cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits to symbols (see paragraph [0035], herein the transmit symbols are subsequently scaled multiplicatively by a value A to fulfil a certain transmit power constraint targeting a desired power distribution. In an alternative embodiment, the distribution matcher directly generates bit tuples b.sub.1 . . . b.sub.n with a desired distribution, which are then mapped together with the parity bits generated by the FEC (forward error correction) encoder onto transmit symbols using a standard QAM symbol mapper. It is also possible to replace some of the parity bits by uniformly distributed data bits in combination with a higher FEC code rate. At the receiver, bit-wise log-likelihood ratios (LLRs) are calculated based on the observed receive signal, taking the non-uniform transmit symbol distribution into account. These LLRs are fed to the FEC decoder 6. It outputs an estimate of the bit tuples b.sub.1 . . . b.sub.n or, equivalently, the amplitudes A.sub.1 . . . A.sub.n, which are finally mapped back to data bits by the inverse distribution matcher 7, and paragraph [0033]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the system of Yang with the teachings of Yuan by receiving an indication of a set of one or more rules for a bit-to-symbol mapping for block-code based shaping of a set of shaped information bits, non-shaped information bits, shaping bits, parity bits, and cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits to symbols. This modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the receiving an indication of a set of one or more rules for a bit-to-symbol mapping for block-code based shaping of a set of shaped information bits, non-shaped information bits, shaping bits, parity bits, and cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits to symbols would have improved the efficiency of probability-shaped coding schemes, especially for short block lengths (see paragraph [0007 of Yuan).
As per claim 25:
Yuan teaches that wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: obtaining CRC bits for error detection after the bit level de-shaping operation (see paragraph [0044], at the transmitter, a CRC is added before the distribution matcher 1 of FIG. 2. In this example the decoder input passes to a FEC decoder 20. Then a type check is performed in block 21. Depending on the result of that type check a NACK message may be returned to the transmitter. Then in block 22 an inverse CCDM process is performed. Then the CRC is decoded in block 23. If the CRC does not match then a NACK may be returned to the transmitter. Otherwise the codeword may be passed for further processing and an ACK may be returned. Example (b) is suitable for the situation where, at the transmitter, a CRC is added after the distribution matcher 1).
As per claim 26:
Yang teaches that wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: obtaining CRC bits for error detection before the bit level de-shaping operation (see paragraph [0100], herein in block 804, the wireless communication device reorders the sets of amplitude bits and the sign bits for all of the symbols into at least a plurality of amplitude-shaped bits and a plurality of parity bits); and performing an error detection operation based on the CRC bits before performing the bit level de-shaping operation (see paragraph [0102], herein the wireless communication device performs a second decoding operation in block 808 on the amplitude-shaped bits 918 to generate de-shaped amplitude bits. In some implementations, a shaping decoder 926 performs the second decoding operation (also referred to herein as the “amplitude de-shaping operation”) to remove redundancy from the amplitude-shaped bits 918 to generate the de-shaped amplitude bits 928 such that the number (numerical quantity) of de-shaped amplitude bits 928 is less than the number of amplitude-shaped bits 918).
As per claim 27:
Yang teaches that wherein the bit-to-symbol mapping comprises a mapping of the non-shaped information bits to a set of sign bits and the set of shaped information bits to a set of most significant bits (MSBs) and a mapping of remaining non-shaped information bits, shaping bits and the parity bits to a set of remaining bits (see paragraph [0089], herein depending on the LDPC coding rate and QAM constellation size, it may be possible that all of the parity bits 722, as well as some unshaped data bits (for example, the sign bits 708), are used as sign bits in the symbols 726. This may be desirable because it means that the amplitudes of all of the M symbols 726 can be shaped; and paragraph [0090], herein the wireless communication device transmits the M symbols 726 on a plurality of subcarriers to the receiving device in a wireless packet. In some implementations, to transmit each of the symbols 726 in block 610, a constellation mapper (for example, a QAM mapper) 728 maps each of the symbols 726 to a point in a (for example, QAM) modulation constellation to obtain, for example, complex number representations 730 indicating the amplitudes and phases of the symbols 726. In some implementations, the constellation mapper 728 includes a plurality of constellation mappers, one for each of a plurality of streams of the symbols 726).
As per claim 28:
Yang teaches that wherein the bit-to-symbol mapping comprises a mapping of the shaping bits and a first set of bits of the parity bits to a set of sign bits, a mapping of the set of shaped information bits to a set of most significant bits (MSBs), and a mapping of a second set of bits of the parity bits to a set of least significant bits (LSBs) (see paragraph [0090] herein, a constellation mapper (for example, a QAM mapper) 728 maps each of the symbols 726 to a point in a (for example, QAM) modulation constellation to obtain, for example, complex number representations 730 indicating the amplitudes and phases of the symbols 726. In some implementations, the constellation mapper 728 includes a plurality of constellation mappers, one for each of a plurality of streams of the symbols 726, and Fig. 7B).
As per claim 29:
Yang teaches that wherein the bit-to-symbol mapping further comprises a mapping of the non-shaped information bits to a set of bits between the MSBs to which the set of shaped information bits is mapped and the LSBs to which the second set of bits of the parity bits is mapped (see paragraph [0091], herein After spatial stream parsing and bandwidth segment parsing (if performed), each of the different streams of parsed symbols 726 may be provided to a respective one of the constellation mappers that maps the symbols to points in the modulation constellation to obtain a respective stream of complex number representations 730, and Fig. 7B).
As per claim 30:
Yang teaches that a transceiver or an antenna coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive the QAM transmission via the transceiver or the antenna (see paragraph [0066], herein the wireless communication device 515 may be an example implementation of the wireless communication device 400 described with reference to FIG. 4. The STA 504 also includes one or more antennas 525 coupled with the wireless communication device 515 to transmit and receive wireless communications).
Examiner Notes
9. When amending the claims, applicants are respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Prior Art
10. The prior art of record, considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure, is listed in the attached PTO-892 form.
Conclusion
11. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to OSMAN ALSHACK whose telephone number is (571)272-2069. The examiner can normally be reached on MON-FRI 8:30 AM-5:00 PM EST, also please fax interview request to (571) 273- 2069. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, ALBERT DECADY can be reached on 5712723819. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/OSMAN M ALSHACK/Examiner, Art Unit 2112