DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-12, 15, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 is not clearly understood because “i.e. a first movable guide rail and a second movable guide rail” is unclear.
Claim 4 is not clearly understood because “i.e. a first extension portion and a second extension portion” is unclear.
Claim 6 is not clearly understood because “i.e. a third movable guide rail and a fourth movable guide rail” is unclear.
Claim 11 is not clearly understood “the other side”, both instances, lack a clear antecedent basis.
Claim 15 is not clearly understood because “i.e. a third extension portion and a fourth extension portion” is unclear.
Claim 18 is not clearly understood because “the other end” lacks a clear antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bortell (US 2004/0094983) in view of Cantin et al. (US 2014/0001786).
Bortell, in reference to claim 1, discloses a pullable-foldable combined rear expansion structure for recreational vehicles comprising side plates (56,58), a rear plate (68), a bottom plate (74), a top plate (76), and a guide rail (94), as shown in Figures 1-6 and 9. The side plates (56,58) comprise a left side plate (56) and a right side plate (58), as shown in Figure 4. The side plates (56,58) are connected to the rear plate (68) to form a rigid frame, as shown in Figure 9. A rear end of the bottom plate (74) is rotatably connected to the frame (56,58,68), as shown in Figure 3 and disclosed in paragraph [0024]. The frame (56,58,68) is connected to the compartment through the guide rail (94), as shown in Figures 1-6. The top plate (76) is positioned at an outer side of the frame (56,58,68) such that an upper end of the top plate (76) is rotatably connected to a top of the compartment (10), as shown in Figure 3.
However, Bortell does not disclose the bottom plate comprises a front plate and a rear plate.
Cantin et al. teaches forming a floor (332) of an expansion structure from a front bottom panel (342) and a rear bottom panel (340), as shown in Figures 2A-8. A front end (343B) of the front bottom plate (342) is rotatably connected to a bottom of a compartment, as disclosed in paragraph [0042]. A rear end (343A) of the front bottom plate (342) is rotatably connected to a front end (341A) of the rear bottom plate (340), as shown in Figure 8. A rear end (341B) of the rear bottom plate (340) is rotatably connected to the frame, as shown in Figure 8.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the bottom plate of Bortell as a front and rear bottom plate rotatably connected to the frame, each other, and the bottom of the compartment, as taught by Cantin et al., with a reasonable expectation for success to reduce the volume taken up by the expansion structure in the retracted position to prevent interference with items within the compartment of the vehicle while in the retracted position.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Bortell (US 2004/0094983) and Cantin et al. (US 2014/0001786), as applied to claim 1, in view of McNamee (3,408,102), further in view of Ksiezopolski et al. (7,614,676).
Bortell, as modified, does not disclose the flanges.
Ksiezopolski et al. teaches forming outward flanges (32) on the front portions of the left and right side walls (24), as shown in Figures 2 and 3.
McNamee teaches forming inward flanges (33) on the left end, right end, and lower end of the top plate (C), as shown in Figures 4, 7, and 8 and disclosed on lines 5-10 of column 4.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to:
provide outward flanges on front portions of the left and right side plates of Bortell, as modified, as taught by Ksiezopolski et al., with a reasonable expectation for success to provide a surface that can interact with a seal to prevent ingress of the elements; and,
provide inward flanges to the left end, right end, and the lower end of the top plate of Bortell, as modified, as taught by McNamee, with a reasonable expectation for success, to direct water away from the intersection of the side plates and top plate to prevent leaks.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 13, 14, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 3-12, 15, 16, 18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
GREGORY A. BLANKENSHIP
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3612
/GREGORY A BLANKENSHIP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612 February 17, 2026