Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 16, & 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 114560407 A) in view of Zhou (CN 113086870 A).
Regarding claim 1, the telescoping boom of a crane of Li teaches
a telescopic mechanism (19),
a first boom-extension rope (14), a second boom-extension rope (16), a third boom-extension rope (18),
a basic boom (1), and a second boom (2), a third boom (3), a fourth boom (4) and a fifth boom (5) which are sequentially inlaid in the basic boom (Fig 1);
a movable tail end of the telescopic mechanism is connected to the basic boom (Annotated Fig 1 below; Pg 4, Specific implementation examples, body 5, ln 4), a stationary tail end of the telescopic mechanism is connected to the second boom (Annotated Fig 1 below; Pg 4, Specific implementation examples, body 5, ln 5-6), a first boom-extension steering mechanism (6) is mounted at a stationary front end of the telescopic mechanism (Fig 1; Pg 4, Specific implementation examples, body 5, ln 5), one end of the first boom-extension rope (14) is fixedly connected to the third boom (Fig 1),
an other end of the first boom-extension rope (14) is wound around the first boom-extension steering mechanism (6) and then fixedly connected to the basic boom (Fig 1; Pg 4, Specific implementation examples, body 5, ln 7-9),
a first boom-extension steering assembly (8+9) is mounted between the third boom and the fourth boom (Fig 1), one end of the second boom-extension rope (16) is fixedly connected to the basic boom (1, Fig 1),
an other end of the second boom-extension rope (16) is wound around the first boom-extension steering assembly (8+9) and then fixedly connected to the third boom (3, Fig 1),
a second boom-extension steering assembly (12+13) is mounted between the fourth boom (4) and the fifth boom (5, Fig 1), and
an other end of the third boom-extension rope is wound around the second boom-extension steering assembly (Fig 1).
Li does not teach the one end of the third boom-extension rope is not fixedly connected to the fifth boom and the other end of the third boom-extension rope is not fixedly connected to the basic boom. However, the telescopic arm device of Zhou teaches
a second boom-extension steering assembly (72+73+74) is mounted between the fourth boom (4) and the fifth boom (5, Fig 2), one end of the third boom-extension rope (82) is fixedly connected to the fifth boom (5, Fig 2), and
an other end of the third boom-extension rope (82) is wound around the second boom-extension steering assembly (72+73+74) and then fixedly connected to the basic boom (1, Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to improve the telescopic boom of Li by replacing the third boom-extension rope and second boom-extension steering assembly with the assembly of Zhou to telescopically drive the fifth boom ([0034] ln 3-5).
Regarding claim 2, the combination teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, Li further teaches the movable tail end of the telescopic mechanism is connected to a boom tail of the basic boom (1, Fig 1; Pg 4, Specific implementation examples, body 5, ln 4),
the stationary tail end of the telescopic mechanism is connected to a boom tail of the second boom (2, Fig 1; Pg 4, Specific implementation examples, body 5, ln 5-6),
the one end of the first boom-extension rope (14) is fixedly connected to a boom tail of the third boom (3, Fig 1),
the other end of the first boom-extension rope (14) is wound around the first boom-extension steering mechanism (6) and then fixedly connected to the boom tail of the basic boom (1, Fig 1; Pg 4, Specific implementation examples, body 5, ln 7-9),
the first boom-extension steering assembly (8+9) is mounted between a boom head of the third boom and a boom tail of the fourth boom (4, Fig 1),
the one end of the second boom-extension rope (16) is fixedly connected to the boom tail of the basic boom (1, Fig 1), the other end of the second boom-extension rope (16) is wound around the first boom-extension steering assembly (8+9) and then fixedly connected to the boom head of the third boom (3, Fig 1).
Zhou further teaches the second boom-extension steering assembly (72+73+74) is mounted between a boom head of the fourth boom (4) and a boom tail of the fifth boom (5, Fig 2),
the one end of the third boom-extension rope (82) is fixedly connected to the boom tail of the fifth boom (5, Fig 2), and the other end of the third boom-extension rope (82) is wound around the second boom-extension steering assembly (72+73+74) and then fixedly connected to the boom tail of the basic boom (1, Fig 2).
Regarding claim 3, the combination teaches the limitations of claim 2 as described above, Li further teaches
the first boom-extension steering assembly (8+9) comprises
a second boom-extension steering mechanism (8) and
a third boom-extension steering mechanism (9),
the second boom-extension steering mechanism is mounted on the third boom (3, Fig 1),
the third boom-extension steering mechanism is mounted on the fourth boom (4, Fig 1), and
the other end of the second boom-extension rope (16) is sequentially wound around the second boom-extension steering mechanism (8) and the third boom-extension steering mechanism (9) and then fixedly connected to the third boom (3, Fig 1).
Regarding claim 4, the combination teaches the limitations of claim 3 as described above, Li further teaches the second boom-extension steering mechanism (8) is mounted at the boom head of the third boom (3, Fig 1),
the third boom-extension steering mechanism (9) is mounted at the boom tail of the fourth boom (4, Fig 1), and
the other end of the second boom-extension rope (16) is sequentially wound around the second boom-extension steering mechanism (8) and the third boom-extension steering mechanism (9) and then fixedly connected to the boom head of the third boom (3, Fig 1).
Regarding claim 16, the combination teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, Li further teaches the telescopic mechanism is a telescopic cylinder (Pg 2, last body, ln 1),
a tail end of a piston of the telescopic cylinder is the movable tail end of the telescopic mechanism (Pg 2, last body; Annotated Fig 1 above),
a tail end of a cylinder barrel of the telescopic cylinder is the stationary tail end of the telescopic mechanism (Pg 3, body 1, ln 1; Annotated Fig 1 above), and
a front end of the cylinder barrel of the telescopic cylinder is the stationary front end of the telescopic mechanism (Pg 3, body 1, ln 1; Annotated Fig 1 above).
Regarding claim 17, the combination teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, Li further teaches a crane, comprising the multi-pulley telescopic mechanism according to Claim 1 (Pg 3, last 2 bodies; Pg 2, Background).
Claims 5-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li & Zhou in view of Green (US 2023/0278835 A1).
Regarding claim 5, the combination teaches the limitations of claim 3 as described above, Li further teaches the second boom-extension steering assembly (72+73+74) comprises
a fourth boom-extension steering mechanism (73),
a fifth boom-extension steering mechanism (72) and
a sixth boom-extension steering mechanism (74),
the fourth boom-extension steering mechanism (73) and the sixth boom-extension steering mechanism (74) are mounted on the fourth boom (4, Fig 2), and
the other end of the third boom-extension rope is sequentially wound around the fourth boom-extension steering mechanism (73), the fifth boom-extension steering mechanism (72) and the sixth boom-extension steering mechanism (74) and then fixedly connected to the basic boom (1, Fig 2).
The combination does not teach the fifth boom-extension steering mechanism is mounted on the fifth boom. However, the telescopic boom of Green teaches
the second boom-extension steering assembly (346+348+352) comprises
a fourth boom-extension steering mechanism (346),
a fifth boom-extension steering mechanism (348) and
a sixth boom-extension steering mechanism (350),
the fourth boom-extension steering mechanism (346) and the sixth boom-extension steering mechanism (350) are mounted on the fourth boom (360, Fig 8; [0086] ln 12-14),
the fifth boom-extension steering mechanism (348) is mounted on the fifth boom (342, Fig 8; [0086] ln 12-14), and
the other end of the third boom-extension rope (328) is sequentially wound around the fourth boom-extension steering mechanism (346), the fifth boom-extension steering mechanism (348) and the sixth boom-extension steering mechanism (350, Fig 8; [0086] ln 7-12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to improve the telescoping boom of the combination by mounting the fourth, fifth, and sixth boom-extension steering mechanism to the fourth boom and fifth boom to prioritize the extension of the fifth boom relative to the fourth boom.
Regarding claim 6, the combination teaches the limitations of claim 5 as described above, Green further teaches the fourth boom-extension steering mechanism (346) and the sixth boom-extension steering mechanism (350) are mounted at the boom head of the fourth boom (360, Fig 8; [0086] ln 12-14),
the fifth boom-extension steering mechanism (348) is mounted at the boom tail of the fifth boom (342, Fig 8; [0086] ln 12-14), and
the other end of the third boom-extension rope (328) is sequentially wound around the fourth boom-extension steering mechanism (346), the fifth boom-extension steering mechanism (348) and the sixth boom-extension steering mechanism (350, Fig 8). Zhou additionally teaches the third boom-extension rope (82) is fixedly connected to the boom tail of the basic boom (1, Fig 2).
Regarding claim 7, the combination teaches the limitations of claim 6 as described above, Green further teaches the sixth boom-extension steering mechanism (350) is located on an outer side of the third boom-extension rope (328) wound around the fourth boom-extension steering mechanism (346) and the fifth boom-extension steering mechanism (348, Fig 8). The sixth boom-extension steering mechanism does not sit within the rope, therefore the sixth boom-extension steering mechanism (350) is on an outer side of the third boom-extension rope (328, Fig 8).
Regarding claim 8, the combination teaches the limitations of claim 6 as described above, Green further teaches the sixth boom-extension steering mechanism (350) is located on an inner side of the third boom-extension rope (328) wound around the fourth boom-extension steering mechanism (346) and the fifth boom-extension steering mechanism (348, Fig 8). The sixth boom-extension mechanism is located within the curvature of the third boom-extension rope (328), therefore the sixth boom-extension mechanism (350) is located on the inner side of the third boom-extension rope (328, Fig 8)
Regarding claim 9, the combination teaches the limitations of claim 6 as described above, Zhou further teaches a spatial size of the fourth boom-extension steering mechanism (73) is greater than a spatial size of the sixth boom-extension steering mechanism (74, Fig 2).
Regarding claim 10, the combination teaches the limitations of claim 6 as described above, Li teaches a first boom-retraction rope (15), wherein a first boom-retraction steering mechanism (7) is mounted at the boom tail of the second boom (2, Fig 1),
one end of the first boom-retraction rope (15) is fixedly connected to a boom head of the basic boom (1, Fig 1),
an other end of the first boom-retraction rope (15) is wound around the first boom-retraction steering mechanism (7) and then fixedly connected to the boom tail of the third boom (3, Fig 1).
Li does not teach a second and third boom-retraction mechanism and rope. However, the telescopic arm device of Zhou teaches a second boom-retraction rope (84) and a third boom-retraction rope (85),
a second boom-retraction steering mechanism (76) is mounted at the boom tail of the third boom (3, Fig 2), one end of the second boom-retraction rope (76) is fixedly connected to the boom head of the second boom (2, Fig 2),
an other end of the second boom-retraction rope (84) is wound around the second boom-retraction steering mechanism (76) and then fixedly connected to the boom tail of the fourth boom (4, Fig 2),
a third boom-retraction steering mechanism (77) is mounted at the boom tail of the fourth boom (4, Fig 2),
one end of the third boom-retraction rope (85) is fixedly connected to the boom head of the third boom (3, Fig 2), and
an other end of the third boom-retraction rope (85) is wound around the third boom-retraction steering mechanism (77) and then fixedly connected to the boom tail of the fifth boom (5, Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to improve the telescopic boom of the combination with a second and third boom-retraction rope and mechanism to retract the fifth boom relative to the fourth boom and retract the fourth boom relative to the third boom ([0036] ln 2-5).
Regarding claim 11, the combination teaches the limitations of claim 6 as described above,
Li further teaches a fourth boom-retraction rope (15) and a fifth boom-retraction rope (17),
wherein a fourth boom-retraction steering mechanism (7) is mounted at the boom tail of the second boom (2, Fig 1), one end of the fourth boom-retraction rope (15) is fixedly connected to a boom head of the basic boom (1, Fig 1),
an other end of the fourth boom-retraction rope (15) is wound around the fourth boom-retraction steering mechanism (7) and then fixedly connected to the boom tail of the third boom (3, Fig 1),
a fifth boom-retraction steering mechanism (11) is mounted at the stationary front end of the telescopic mechanism (Fig 1)
a sixth boom-retraction steering mechanism (10) is mounted at the boom tail of the third boom (3, Fig 1),
one end of the fifth boom-retraction rope (17) is fixedly connected to the boom tail of the third boom (3, Fig 1), and an other end of the fifth boom-retraction rope (17) is sequentially wound around the fifth boom-retraction steering mechanism (11) and the sixth boom-retraction steering mechanism (10) and then fixedly connected to the boom tail of the fifth boom (5, Fig 1).
Regarding claims 12-14, the combination teaches the limitations of claims 6, 10, and 11 respectively as described above, Li further teaches the steering structures are all pulleys to reduce friction force corresponding to the rope movement, improve the service life of the rope, and reduce the load on the telescopic cylinder (Pg 7, body 4). Additionally, Zhou teaches each arm wheel is a pulley ([0018]), and Green teaches each sheave is a pulley that a cable wraps around ([0031] ln 2-5).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li & Zhou in view of JP 2801649 B2 (Hereinafter “JP ‘649”).
Regarding claim 15, the combination teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above, Li further teaches
a hinge base is mounted at a boom tail of the basic boom, the movable tail end of the telescopic mechanism is hinged to the hinge base (Annotated Fig 1 above), and
a stationary base is mounted at a boom tail of the second boom (Annotated Fig 1 above).
The combination is silent on the details of a hinge pin in the hinge base. Additionally, the combination does not teach the stationary tail end of the telescopic mechanism hinged to the stationary base by means of a hinge pin. However, the 5 stage telescopic boom of JP ‘649 teaches
a hinge is mounted at a boom tail of the basic boom (Annotated Fig 1 below), the movable tail end of the telescopic mechanism is hinged to the hinge base by means of a hinge pin (22, Fig 1; Pg 3, body 3, ln 2), a stationary base is mounted at a boom tail of the second boom (Annotated Fig 1 below), and
the stationary tail end of the telescopic mechanism is hinged to the stationary base by means of a hinge pin (24, Fig 1; Pg 3, body 3, ln 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to improve the telescoping boom of the combination by using a hinge pin to connect the hinge base and telescopic mechanism tail and by using a hinge pin to connect the stationary tail end of the telescopic mechanism to the stationary base to allow for swaying movement of the boom while the telescopic mechanism extends and retracts, relieving stress on the telescopic mechanism.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent 4,166,542 A discloses multiple pulley mechanisms to telescope crane booms.
CN 102774790 B discloses a telescopic arm with a telescopic cylinder and pulleys.
CN 113086870 A discloses a 5 link telescopic crane boom with a telescopic oil cylinder and pulley assemblies.
CN 201433061 Y discloses a 4 link telescopic crane boom with a cylinder and pulley assemblies.
/RALPH D WILKINSON/ Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/Victoria P Augustine/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654