DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 23 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, Species B-D, Subspecies i and iii, and Sub-subspecies b, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/13/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species A, Subspecies ii, and Sub-subspecies a directed to claims 1-5, 7-10, 12 and 14-22 in the reply filed on 2/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 7-10, 12, 17 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0285457 A1 to Lee et al.
As to claim 1, Lee discloses a display panel, comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 1, paragraph 0052, substrate (110));
a plurality of pixels disposed on a side of the substrate, wherein each of the plurality of pixels comprises a plurality of display sub-pixels for emitting different colors of visible light and at least one functional sub-pixel for emitting invisible light, the plurality of display sub-pixels being spaced apart from the at least one functional sub-pixel in any direction parallel to a bearing surface of the substrate (Fig. 2, paragraphs 0062-0063, where pixels (PXr, PXg, PXb) emit different colors of visible light from light-emitting elements (EDr, EDg, EDb) and pixel (PXuv) emits UV light from light-emitter (EDuv)); and
a light-absorbing layer disposed between a functional sub-pixel and a display sub-pixel adjacent to each other, wherein the light-absorbing layer is configured to absorb invisible light emitted from the functional sub-pixel (Fig. 3, paragraph 0083, where bank (350) is a black pixel definition layer (BPDL) which absorbs light).
As to claim 2, Lee discloses the display panel, wherein
a size of each of the at least one functional sub-pixel is smaller than a size of any one of the plurality of display sub-pixels (Fig. 2, paragraphs 0062-0063, where pixel (PXuv) is smaller than pixels (PXr, PXg, PXb)); and/or
the invisible light comprises ultraviolet light or infrared light (Fig. 2, paragraphs 0062-0063, where light-emitter (EDuv) emits ultraviolet light).
As to claim 7, Lee discloses the display panel, wherein each of the plurality of display sub-pixels and each of the at least one functional sub-pixel comprise an anode, a light-emitting layer, and a cathode layer that are laminated in a direction away from the substrate; at least the anodes and the light-emitting layers in the plurality of display sub-pixels and the at least one functional sub-pixel being respectively spaced apart from each other (Fig. 3, paragraphs 0081-0085, anodes (191r, 191g, 191b, 191uv), emission layers (370r, 370g, 370b, 370uv), cathodes (270), substrate (110));
wherein the light-absorbing layer is disposed between the anode of the at least one functional sub-pixel and the anodes of the plurality of display sub-pixels (Fig. 3, paragraph 0083, where bank (350) is the light-absorbing layer between anode (191uv) and pixel (PXuv)).
As to claim 8, Lee discloses the display panel, further comprising: a pixel defining layer disposed between an anode of a functional sub-pixel and an anode of a display sub-pixel that are adjacent to each other (Fig. 3, paragraph 0081, anodes (191r, 191g, 191b, 191uv); wherein
the pixel-defining layer is added with a light-absorbing material for absorbing invisible light emitted from the functional sub-pixel, the light-absorbing layer being the same as the pixel-defining layer (Fig. 3, paragraphs 0081-0083, where bank (350) is the light-absorbing material); or
the light-absorbing layer is disposed between the anodes and the pixel defining layer, and the light-absorbing layer is added with a light-absorbing material for absorbing invisible light emitted from the functional sub-pixel (Fig. 3, paragraphs 0081-0083, where bank (350) is between anodes (191r, 191g, 191b, 191uv)).
As to claim 9, Lee discloses the display panel, wherein the light-absorbing material comprises at least one of a compound based on benzotriazoles or a compound based on o-hydroxyphenyltriazines (Fig. 3, paragraph 0083, where bank (350) is made of phenol resin).
As to claim 10, Lee discloses the display panel, wherein there is one of:
in the functional sub-pixel and the display sub-pixel adjacent to each other, a spacing between a side of the anode of the functional sub-pixel away from the substrate and the substrate is greater than or equal to a spacing between a side of the anode of the display sub-pixel away from the substrate and the substrate (Fig. 3, paragraphs 0081-0083, where anode (191uv) and substrate (110) spacing is equal to anodes (191r, 191g, 191b) and substrate (110) spacing);
in the functional sub-pixel and the display sub-pixel adjacent to each other, the anode of the functional sub-pixel is inclined in a direction away from the anode of the display sub-pixel; or
the anode of the functional sub-pixel comprises a first portion close to a blue display sub-pixel in the plurality of display sub-pixels and a second portion away from the blue display sub-pixel in the plurality of display sub-pixels, wherein a spacing between a surface of the first portion away from the substrate and the substrate is greater than a spacing between a surface of the second portion away from the substrate and the substrate.
As to claim 12, Lee discloses the display panel, further comprising: a planarization layer disposed between the substrate and the anodes (Fig. 3, paragraph 0081, planarization layer (180), substrate (110), anodes (191r, 191g, 191b, 191uv)); wherein
a thickness of a portion of the planarization layer that overlaps the anode of the functional sub-pixel is greater than or equal to a thickness of a portion of the planarization layer that overlaps the anode of the display sub-pixel, such that in the functional sub-pixel and the display sub-pixel adjacent to each other, the spacing between the side of the anode of the functional sub-pixel away from the substrate and the substrate is greater than or equal to the spacing between the side of the anode of the display sub-pixel away from the substrate and the substrate (Fig. 3, paragraphs 0081-0083, where planarization layer (180) overlaps anodes (191r, 191g, 191b, 191uv) equally and the spacing is equal); and/or
the portion of the planarization layer that overlaps the anode of the functional sub-pixel is inclined away from the portion of the planarization layer that overlaps the anode of the display sub-pixel, such that in the functional sub-pixel and the display sub-pixel adjacent to each other, the anode of the functional sub-pixel is inclined in a direction away from the anode of the display sub-pixel.
As to claim 17, Lee discloses the display panel, wherein the substrate has a display region and a peripheral region at least partially surrounding the display region (Fig. 9, paragraph 0127, where substrate (110) has a display region (DA2) and a peripheral region (DA1));
wherein the plurality of display sub-pixels are disposed in the display region, and the at least one functional sub-pixel is disposed in at least one of the display region or the peripheral region (Fig. 9, paragraph 0127, where pixels (PX) are in regions (DA1, DA2) and ultraviolet pixels are in region (DA2)).
As to claim 20, Lee discloses a method for manufacturing a display panel, applicable for manufacturing the display panel; the method comprising:
providing a substrate (Fig. 1, paragraph 0052, substrate (110));
forming a plurality of pixels on a side of the substrate, wherein each of the plurality of pixels formed comprises a plurality of display sub-pixels for emitting different colors of visible light and at least one functional sub-pixel for emitting invisible light, the plurality of display sub-pixels being spaced apart from the at least one functional sub-pixel in any direction parallel to a bearing surface of the substrate (Fig. 2, paragraphs 0062-0063, where pixels (PXr, PXg, PXb) emit different colors of visible light from light-emitting elements (EDr, EDg, EDb) and pixel (PXuv) emits UV light from light-emitter (EDuv)); and
forming a light-absorbing layer between a functional sub-pixel and a display sub-pixel adjacent to each other, wherein the light-absorbing layer is configured to absorb invisible light emitted from the functional sub-pixel (Fig. 3, paragraph 0083, where bank (350) is a black pixel definition layer (BPDL) which absorbs light).
As to claim 21, Lee discloses the method, wherein each of the plurality of display sub-pixels and each of the at least one functional sub-pixel comprise an anode, a light-emitting layer, and a cathode layer that are laminated in a direction away from the substrate; at least the anodes and the light-emitting layers in the plurality of display sub-pixels and the at least one functional sub-pixel being respectively spaced apart from each other (Fig. 3, paragraphs 0081-0085, anodes (191r, 191g, 191b, 191uv), emission layers (370r, 370g, 370b, 370uv), cathodes (270), substrate (110)); the method further comprising:
forming a planarization layer between the substrate and the anodes using a halftone mask (Fig. 3, paragraph 0081, planarization layer (180), substrate (110), anodes (191r, 191g, 191b, 191uv)); wherein
a thickness of a portion of the formed planarization layer that overlaps the anode of the functional sub-pixel is greater than or equal to a thickness of a portion of the planarization layer that overlaps the anode of the display sub-pixel, such that in the functional sub-pixel and the display sub-pixel adjacent to each other, a spacing between a side of the anode of the functional sub-pixel away from the substrate and the substrate is greater than or equal to a spacing between a side of the anode of the display sub-pixel away from the substrate and the substrate (Fig. 3, paragraphs 0081-0083, where planarization layer (180) overlaps anodes (191r, 191g, 191b, 191uv) equally and the spacing is equal); and/or
the portion of the formed planarization layer that overlaps the anode of the functional sub-pixel is inclined away from the portion of the planarization layer that overlaps the anode of the display sub-pixel, such that in the functional sub-pixel and the display sub-pixel adjacent to each other, the anode of the functional sub-pixel is inclined in a direction away from the anode of the display sub-pixel.
As to claim 22, Lee discloses a method for driving a display panel, applicable for driving the display panel; the method comprising:
driving, in response to a received display instruction, a plurality of display sub-pixels in a pixel included in the display panel to emit different colors of visible light, such that the display panel displays an image (Fig. 2, paragraphs 0062-0066, where pixels (PXr, PXg, PXb) are driven to emit different colors of visible light); and
driving, in response to a received function instruction, at least one functional sub-pixel in the pixel to emit invisible light, such that the display panel performs a function matching the invisible light (Fig. 2, paragraphs 0062-0066, where pixel (PXuv) is driven to emit ultraviolet light).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0285457 A1 to Lee et al. in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2013/0321387 A1 to Ohe.
As to claim 18, Lee is deficient in disclosing the display panel, further comprising: a dummy pixel circuit disposed in the peripheral region;
wherein a pixel circuit included in each of the at least one functional sub-pixel is shared with the dummy pixel circuit.
However, Ohe discloses the display panel, further comprising: a dummy pixel circuit disposed in the peripheral region (Fig. 2, paragraph 0055, where dummy pixel region (22) is in the peripheral region);
wherein a pixel circuit included in each of the at least one functional sub-pixel is shared with the dummy pixel circuit (Fig. 4, paragraph 0069, where light-emitting layer (22b) of dummy pixel region (22) emits infrared light).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the display panel as taught by Lee by including a dummy pixel circuit as taught by Ohe. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to detect the temperature using the dummy pixel region (Ohe, Abstract).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0285457 A1 to Lee et al. in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0311369 A1 to Lius et al.
As to claim 19, Lee is deficient in disclosing the display panel, wherein the at least one functional sub-pixel is disposed in the display region; and the display region comprises a fingerprint region provided with a fingerprint sensor and a main display region at least partially surrounding the fingerprint region;
wherein the plurality of display sub-pixels are disposed in the fingerprint region and the main display region, and the at least one functional sub-pixel is disposed in the fingerprint region.
However, Lius discloses the display panel, wherein the at least one functional sub-pixel is disposed in the display region; and the display region comprises a fingerprint region provided with a fingerprint sensor and a main display region at least partially surrounding the fingerprint region (Fig. 14A and 14B, paragraphs 0061-0062, where display region (80) includes a fingerprint authentication region (70), which includes an IR pixel (232IR));
wherein the plurality of display sub-pixels are disposed in the fingerprint region and the main display region, and the at least one functional sub-pixel is disposed in the fingerprint region (Fig. 4A-4C, paragraphs 0042-0046, where pixels (232R, 232G, 232B) are display pixels and pixels (232IR) are functional pixels).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the display panel as taught by Lee by including a fingerprint region as taught by Lius. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to receive fingerprint data (Lius, Abstract).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 and 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record alone, or in combination, fail to teach, disclose, or render obvious, “the red display sub-pixel, the functional sub-pixel, and the green display sub-pixel are disposed in sequence in a first direction parallel to the bearing surface of the substrate, and each of the red display sub-pixel, the functional sub-pixel, and the green display sub-pixel is disposed in sequence with the blue display sub-pixel in a second direction parallel to the bearing surface of the substrate, the first direction intersecting the second direction; and an opening width of the functional sub-pixel, an opening width of the green display sub-pixel, an opening width of the red display sub-pixel, and an opening width of the blue display sub-pixel increase in sequence in the first direction; and an opening width of the functional sub-pixel, an opening width of the green display sub-pixel, an opening width of the red display sub-pixel, and an opening width of the blue display sub-pixel are all equal in the second direction”, in combination with the other limitations set forth in claim 3.
Claims 4 and 5 are dependent on claim 3.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record alone, or in combination, fail to teach, disclose, or render obvious, “the pixel circuit in each of the plurality of display sub-pixels and the pixel circuit in each of the at least one functional sub-pixel both comprising: a reset sub-circuit, coupled to a reset terminal, an initial power supply terminal, a first node, and the light-emitting element, and configured to control, based on a reset signal provided by the reset terminal, switching on and off of a connection between the initial power supply terminal and the first node and switching on and off of a connection between the initial power supply terminal and the light-emitting element; a light emission control sub-circuit, coupled to a light emission control terminal, a driving power supply terminal, a second node, a third node, and the light-emitting element, and configured to control, based on a light emission control signal provided by the light emission control terminal, switching on and off of a connection between the driving power supply terminal and the second node and switching on and off of a connection between the third node and the light-emitting element; a drive sub-circuit, coupled to the first node, the second node, and the third node, and configured to transmit a light emission driving signal to the third node based on a potential of the first node and a potential of the second node; and a potential adjustment sub-circuit, coupled to the first node and the driving power supply terminal, and configured to adjust the potential of the first node based on a driving power supply signal provided by the driving power supply terminal; the pixel circuit in each of the plurality of display sub-pixels further comprising: a data writing sub-circuit, coupled to a gate signal terminal, a data signal terminal, the first node, the second node, and the third node, and configured to control, based on a gate driving signal provided by the gate signal terminal, switching on and off of a connection between the data signal terminal and the second node and switching on and off of a connection between the third node and the first node; wherein in the pixel circuit of each of the plurality of display sub-pixels and the pixel circuit of each of the at least one functional sub-pixel, at least one of the reset sub-circuit, the drive sub- circuit, and the potential adjustment sub-circuit is shared”, in combination with the other limitations set forth in claim 14.
Claims 15 and 16 are dependent on claim 14.
Conclusion
ANEETA YODICHKAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2627
/ANEETA YODICHKAS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627