DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment to the specification dated 1/16/2025 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign mentioned in the description:
50 referring to a printed circuit board as seen in paragraph [11].
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains legal phraseology in the form of the word “means.” A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because they include reference characters which are not enclosed within parentheses.
Reference characters corresponding to elements recited in the detailed description of the drawings and used in conjunction with the recitation of the same element or group of elements in the claims should be enclosed within parentheses so as to avoid confusion with other numbers or characters which may appear in the claims. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 3 line 4 the phrase “the outer circumference of a fitting hole” should instead be “an outer circumference of the fitting hole” to avoid a lack of antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites the claim limitation of “a rotor separation preventing and shock absorbing means” in line 10 which shall be interpreted to mean “a body of a washer shape having a fitting hole formed in the center; and upper and lower vibration isolating members coupled to the top and bottom surfaces of the body” as detailed in paragraph [12].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the fitting protrusion 82A of the upper vibration isolating member 82" in lines 2-3 and “the fitting protrusion 83A of the lower vibration isolating member 83” in lines 3-4. The fitting protrusion of the upper vibration isolating member and the fitting protrusion of the lower vibration isolating member are disclosed in claim 3 wherein claim 4 depends on claim 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, this shall be taken to read “a fitting protrusion 82A of the upper vibration isolating member 82” and “a fitting protrusion 83A of the lower vibration isolating member 83” respectively.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 2 recites the claim limitation of “wherein the rotor separation preventing and shock absorbing means 80 comprises a body 81 of a washer shape having a fitting hole 81’ formed in the center; and upper and lower vibration isolating members 82, 83 coupled to the top and bottom surfaces of the body 81.” All of these features are already claimed in claim 1 with the means-plus-function limitation of “a rotor separation preventing and shock absorbing means” referring to those features in paragraph [12].
Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0175696 to Jang et al. (hereinafter Jang) in view of Japanese Patent No. H07-22129 to Shuji and Chinese Patent No. 210074975 to Fu (provided by Applicant on 1/16/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Jang teaches a fan motor (FIG. 1, M) comprising: a rotor (FIG. 1, 10) formed by insert injection molding (Paragraph [0036]) in a shaft (FIG. 1, 30), rotating together with the shaft; a stator (FIG. 1, 20) installed to be oriented towards the rotor; an upper insulator constituting the stator and upper and lower insulators (FIG. 2; 21, 23) coupled to the upper and lower parts of a core (FIG. 2, 22) of the stator; a motor bracket (FIG. 2, 80) coupling the upper and lower insulators (Paragraph [0036]) and a printed circuit board (FIG. 2, 50); and a sleeve bearing (FIG. 8, 40) installed inside a fitting protrusion (FIG. 2, 81) protruding from a center of the motor bracket.
Jang does not teach a rotor separation preventing and shock absorbing means comprising a body of a washer shape having a fitting hole formed in the center; and upper and lower vibration isolating members coupled to the top and bottom surfaces of the body fitted to an annular groove having a recessed shape in the lower end of the shaft inserted into the sleeve bearing.
However, Shuji teaches a rotor separation preventing and shock absorbing means comprising a body of a washer shape having a fitting hole formed in the center (FIG. 1, 11; Paragraph [0013]) fitted to an annular groove having a recessed shape in the lower end of the shaft (FIG. 1, 2) inserted into a sleeve bearing (FIG. 1, 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fan motor of Jang with the teachings of Shuji to provide a rotor separation preventing and shock absorbing means to the shaft to further help axially locate the shaft (Paragraph [0013]).
Jang in view of Shuji does not teach upper and lower vibration isolating members coupled to the top and bottom surfaces of the body.
However, Shuji teaches upper (FIG. 2, 22) and lower (FIG. 2, 24) vibration isolating members (Paragraph [0025]) coupled to the top and bottom surfaces of a body (FIG. 2, 23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fan motor of Jang in view of Shuji with the teachings of Fu to provide upper and lower vibration isolating members to the body as it reduces the noise during operation of the motor (Paragraph [0014]).
Regarding claim 2, Jang in view of Shuji and Fu teaches the fan motor of claim 1, wherein Fu further teaches the rotor separation preventing and shock absorbing means comprising a body (FIG. 2, 23) of a washer shape having a fitting hole formed in the center; and upper (FIG. 2, 22) and lower (FIG. 2, 24) vibration isolating members (Paragraph [0025]) coupled to the top and bottom surface of the body.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang in view of Shuji and Fu and in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0180911 to Kaneko et al. (hereinafter Kaneko).
Regarding claim 3, Jang in view of Shuji and Fu teaches the fan motor of claim 2, wherein Fu further teaches a fitting hole (FIG. 2, 3) formed through between the outer circumference of a fitting hole of the body and the outer edge of the body.
Jang in view of Shuji and Fu does not teach a fitting protrusion of the upper vibration isolating member and a fitting protrusion of the lower vibration isolating member being fitted and coupled to the fitting hole.
However, Kaneko teaches a vibration isolating member (FIG. 7, 36) having a fitting protrusion (FIG. 7, 36b) fitted and coupled to a fitting hole (FIG. 7, 54b) of a rotor support portion (FIG. 7, 51).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fan motor of Jang in view of Shuji and Fu with the teachings of Kaneko to provide a fitting protrusion to the vibration isolating member so that the vibration isolating member can be fitted to the body without additional hardware like a bolt.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang in view of Shuji and Fu and in further view of Jang in view of Shuji and Fu and in further view of Kaneko and U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0007127 to Hong et al. (hereinafter Hong; cited by Applicant on 1/16/2025).
Regarding claim 4, Jang in view of Shuji and Fu teaches the fan motor of claim 2.
Jang in view of Shuji and Fu does not teach a noise absorbing member being installed between a fitting protrusion of the upper vibration isolating member and a fitting protrusion of the lower vibration isolating member.
However, Kaneko teaches a vibration isolating member (FIG. 7, 36) having a fitting protrusion (FIG. 7, 36b) fitted and coupled to a fitting hole (FIG. 7, 54b) of a rotor support portion (FIG. 7, 51).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fan motor of Jang in view of Shuji and Fu with the teachings of Kaneko to provide a fitting protrusion to the vibration isolating member so that the vibration isolating member can be fitted to the body without additional hardware like a bolt.
Jang in view of Shuji, Fu, and Kaneko does not teach a noise absorbing member being installed between the fitting protrusions.
However, Hong teaches a noise absorbing member (FIG. 3, 41) being installed on the surface of a sleeve bearing for a shaft (Paragraph [0022]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fan motor of Jang in view of Shuji, Fu, and Kaneko with the teachings of Hong to provide a noise absorbing member between the fitting protrusions to further provide vibration and shock absorption to the body.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang in view of Shuji and Fu and in further view of Chinese Patent No. 110350686 to Hatano.
Regarding claim 5, Jang in view of Shuji and Fu teaches the fan motor of claim 2.
Jang in view of Shuji and Fu does not teach the body being formed integrally with the upper and lower vibration isolating members by insert injection molding.
However, Hatano teaches a washer (FIG. 5, 101) being formed integrally with upper and lower vibration isolating members (FIG. 5; 100, 102) by insert injection molding (Paragraph [0098]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fan motor of Jang in view of Shuji and Fu with the teachings of Hatano to integrally form the body with the vibration isolating members by insert injection molding to fabricate a more resilient washer design.
Conclusion
/JOSHUA KIEL M RODRIGUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2834