DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretations - 35 USC § 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a first feature extractor, a second feature extractor, a third feature extractor in claims 1-6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-10 , 12-16, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu (“Lending Orientation to Neural Networks for Cross-view Geo-localization”, cited from IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches a training apparatus comprising:
at least one memory that is configured to store instructions; and
at least one processor that is configured to execute the instructions( Page 4320, right col., GTX1080Ti GPU) to:
acquire a training data including a first ground captured image, a first aerial captured image( Figure 2), and a first map image(Page 4324, left col., orientation maps);
input the first ground captured image to a first feature extractor to extract features of the first ground captured image( CNN in Figure 2);
input the first aerial captured image to a second feature extractor to extract features of the first aerial captured image( CNN in Figure 2);
input the first map image to a third feature extractor to extract features of the first map image( Page 4324, right col., injecting orientation information to the Siamese net at different layers);
compute a combined loss based on the features of the first ground captured image, the features of the first aerial captured image, and the features of the first map image ( Page 4325, left column, 4.3 Triplet loss); and
update the first feature extractor, the second feature extractor, and the third feature extractor based on the combined loss( Page 4325, right col., We train our 7-layer Siamese network…to maximize the number of triplets within each batch).
Regarding claim 2, Liu teaches the training apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the computation of the combined loss includes:
computing a first loss based on the features of the first ground captured image and the features of the first aerial captured image( Page 4325, left col.,
f
g
-
f
s
2);
computing a second loss based on the features of the first ground captured image and the features of the first map image( Page 4325, left col.,
f
g
-
f
s
*
2 );
computing a third loss based on the features of the first aerial captured image and the features of the first map image( Page 4325, left col.,
f
g
-
f
s
2 -
f
g
-
f
s
*
2 ) and
combining the first loss, the second loss, and the third loss into the combined loss (Page 4325, left col.,
log
{
1
+
e
x
p
[
α
(
f
g
-
f
s
2 -
f
g
-
f
s
*
2
)
}
).
Regarding claim 3, Liu teaches the training apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the combined loss is a weighted sum of the first loss, the second loss, and the third loss(Page 4325, left col.,
log
{
1
+
e
x
p
[
α
(
f
g
-
f
s
2 -
f
g
-
f
s
*
2
)
}
).
Regarding claim 4, Liu teaches the training apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the at least one process is further configured to:
generate an augmented training data based on the training data( Page 4325, we adopt ‘data augmentation’ strategy), the augmented training data including a second ground captured image, a second aerial captured image, and a second map image,
wherein the generation of the augmented training data includes:
blending a part of the first aerial captured image and a part of the first map image to generate an augmented image( page 4325, right col., circularly shifting the input ground-level panorama by a random relative angle); and
replacing the part of the first aerial captured image with the augmented image to obtain the second aerial captured image, replacing the part of the first map image with the augmented image to obtain the second map image, or doing both (page 4325, right col., resulting in a random rotation of the ground-level image along the azimuth direction ).
[Claim 5] (Original) The training apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the generation of the augmented training data further includes:
determining one or more partial image pairs each of which is a pair of a part of the first aerial captured image and a part of the first map image; and
generating the augmented image for each partial image pair, wherein the part of the first aerial captured image and the part of the first map image that are included in a partial image pair have a same position, a same shape, and a same size as each other, and
the determination of the partial image pair includes determining the position, the shape, and the size for the partial image pair.
Regarding claim 6, Liu teaches the training apparatus according to claim 4,
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
input the second ground captured image to a first feature extractor to extract features of the second ground captured image;
input the second aerial captured image to a second feature extractor to extract features of the second aerial captured image;
input the second map image to a third feature extractor to extract features of the second map image;
compute a second combined loss based on the features of the second ground captured image, the features of the second aerial captured image, and the features of the second map image; and
update the first feature extractor, the second feature extractor, and the third feature extractor based on the second combined loss. ( Repeating the steps in claim 1 for the augmented data in claim 4).
Claims 7-10 , 12 and 13-16, 18 recite the method and medium in the apparatus of claim 1-4, 6, and are also rejected.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 11 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
JIANGENG SUN
Examiner
Art Unit 2661
/Jiangeng Sun/Examiner, Art Unit 2671