Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 07/29/2022 and applicant has filed a certified copy of this Japanese application on 01/16/2025.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the Group I (claims 1-13) in the reply filed on 07/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected group.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(!) as being anticipated by Davi (US 20100244347 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Davi teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a support jig for supporting a tank (hollow body/work piece 13) that is cylindrical in shape (par. 0001: “hollow shells having a cylindrical and/or conical body suitable for the construction of tanks”) and is lying and for moving the tank rotationally (par. 0034: “for positioning and driving in rotation a circular work piece having a hollow body 13”), the support jig comprising: a plurality of bases (base frame 10) configured to abut (via support rolls 15) on an outer circumferential face of the tank slidably in a circumferential direction to the outer circumferential face; and at least one auxiliary member (auxiliary member comprises at least support roll 15, horizontal axis 16 and gear motor 17) provided to at least one of the plurality of bases, the auxiliary member being configured to abut on the outer circumferential face of the tank slidably in the circumferential direction to the outer circumferential face (par. 0037: “both rolls 15 come in contact with the hollow body 13 of the work piece to be supported”), wherein the plurality of bases and the auxiliary member are configured to support the tank that is lying such that the tank is allowed to move rotationally.
Regarding claim 2, Davi teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the auxiliary member comprises a plurality of mount sets (support roll 15, horizontal axis 16) that abuts on the outer circumferential face of the tank slidably in the circumferential direction to the outer circumferential face (par. 0037: “both rolls 15 come in contact with the hollow body 13 of the work piece to be supported”).
Regarding claim 3, Davi teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) each of the plurality of mount sets comprises at least one auxiliary-member roller (15) provided rotatably to one of the plurality of bases, and the auxiliary-member roller abuts on the outer circumferential face of the tank (par. 0037: “both rolls 15 come in contact with the hollow body 13 of the work piece to be supported”).
Regarding claim 5, Davi teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the auxiliary member is detachably provided to the at least one of the plurality of bases (by removal of the horizontal axis 16).
Regarding claim 6, Davi teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the auxiliary member is provided adjacent to the one of the plurality of bases in an axial direction of the tank (see auxiliary member 1 and base b in annotated Fig. 9 above).
Regarding claim 7, Davi teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the plurality of bases is arrayed along an axial direction of the tank and is mutually spaced in the axial direction of the tank (see annotated Fig. 9 above).
Regarding claim 8, Davi teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) each of the plurality of bases comprises: a base body (lateral walls 11 and bottom part); and a plurality of functional members (hydraulic cylinder 20 and support frame which supports rotational axis 16) that is provided to the base body and is arrayed along an outer circumferential direction of the tank, and the plurality of functional members abuts (via support rolls 15) on the outer circumferential face of the tank slidably in the circumferential direction to the outer circumferential face.
Regarding claim 9, Davi teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) each of the plurality of functional members comprises: a support frame (support frame which supports rotational axis 16) provided to the base body; and a plurality of base rollers (support rolls 15) provided rotatably to the support frame, and the plurality of base rollers abuts on the outer circumferential face of the tank (par. 0037: “both rolls 15 come in contact with the hollow body 13 of the work piece to be supported”).
Regarding claims 11 and 13, Davi teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the auxiliary member is provided with an auxiliary-member-roller control device (electronic control unit 35) that controls a rotation rate of the auxiliary-member roller (see entire par. 0051).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davi in view of Yoon (KR 20150004288 U).
Regarding claims 10 and 12, Davi does not teach the claimed protective tape.
Yoon teaches a support jig for a pipe having coated with layers of an elastic material such as urethane on rollers 120, to prevent damage such as scratches on the pipe.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to use protective coating on rollers. Doing so would prevent scratches on the tank.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davi in view of Teeza (US 20140301680 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Davi teaches the plurality of bases is provided with a plurality of the auxiliary members
Teeza teaches a load bearing device in which “the number of rollers in the second section may be reduced and the number of rollers 122a,b in the first half may be increased to account for an expected local load distribution due to the drop and impact of the shaft 102” (see par. 0039 and compare Figs. 2-5 below).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to use different number of rollers on different sections of the tank based on sectional load of the tank.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang (CN 110883719 A):
Mitsui (JP 51-13413A):
MAHDI H. NEJAD
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/MAHDI H NEJAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723