DETAILED ACTION
The IDS documents submitted on 01/16/2025, 04/13/2026, and 07/13/2026 have been received and considered by the Examiner.
Priority to PCT application JP2022/029006, dated 07/27/2022, is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: the “control section” and “communication section” in claim 1.
The “control section” mentioned in Claim 1 is interpreted in light of paragraph 0439 of the Applicant’s specification which states that “at least part of above-described control section 103 or control section 203, control section 303, and so on may be implemented by processor 1001” (Specification, 0439). In other words, the claimed “control section” is interpreted as a general-purpose processor.
The “communication section” mentioned in Claim 1 is interpreted in terms of paragraphs 0390 and 0443 of the Applicant’s specification which state that the “reception section 201 and transmission section 202 may be collectively referred to as a communication section” (Specification, 0390), and “the above-described transmission section 101, transmission section 202, transmission section 302, reception section 102, reception section 201, reception section 301, and the like, may be implemented realized by communication apparatus 1004”, and “[c]ommunication apparatus 1004 is hardware (transmitting/receiving device) for allowing inter-computer communication via at least one of wired and wireless networks, and may be referred to as, for example, a “network device,” a “network controller,” a “network card,” a “communication module,” and so on” (Specification, 0443). In other words, the “communication section” is interpreted as a “network controller” or similar hardware used for network communications.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cao et al. (US 2024/0421882 A1, hereinafter “Cao”).
As to Claim 1:
Cao describes a method for a network node to specify if a network repeater’s beams can operate simultaneously or if they must be time-domain multiplexed.
Specifically, Cao teaches:
A control section that controls, based on whether a simultaneous operation of a transmission operation or a reception operation in a first link between a base station and the communication apparatus and a transmission operation or a reception operation in a second link between the base station and the communication apparatus is supported, the transmission operation or the reception in the second link
Cao describes a “BS [base station]” that “may configure a list of beam information and a list of time domain information to the NCR [network-controlled repeater]”, and Cao clarifies that the “NCR” may “support[] communication with multiple beams at the same time” (Cao, 0075). This can include “a one to N (with N≥1) mapping between the beam information and the time domain information” or, “if the NCR supports communication with multiple beams at the same time, the BS may indicate an N-to-one (with N≥1) mapping between the beam information and the time domain information” (Cao, 0075).
Fig. 4 in Cao further shows that the NCR is connected to base station via a separate “control link (C-link)” and a “forwarding link (backhaul link)”.
Also, Cao specifies that “a general purpose processor” coupled to “antennas and/or transceivers to communicate” can be used “to perform the functions described herein” (Cao, 0088).
Here, the “general purpose processor” coupled to “antennas and/or transceivers” in the “NCR” pictured in Fig. 4 maps to “a control section that controls ... the transmission operation or the reception in the second link”,
the “NCR” acting on the indication of “a one to N (with N≥1) mapping” or “an N-to-one ... mapping” for beam information maps to “controls, based on whether a simultaneous operation of a transmission operation or a reception operation in a first link between a base station and the communication apparatus and a transmission operation or a reception operation in a second link between the base station and the communication apparatus is supported”,
“N-to-one mapping” for “beam information” maps to “a simultaneous operation of a transmission operation or a reception operation in a first link between a base station and the communication apparatus and a transmission operation or a reception operation in a second link between the base station”,
the “control link (C-link)” maps to “a first link between a base station and the communication apparatus”, and
the “forwarding link (backhaul link)” maps to “a second link between the base station and the communication apparatus”.
The second link being used for transfer between the base station and a terminal
Fig. 4 in Cao further shows that the NCR is connected to the base station via a separate “control link (C-link)” and a “forwarding link (backhaul link)”.
Here, “a forwarding link (backhaul link)” connecting the “BS” and the “NCR” which is used to forward data to the “UE” maps to “the second link being used for transfer between the base station and a terminal”.
A communication section that performs transmission or reception of a signal in the second link in accordance with the control by the control section
Cao teaches that “a general purpose processor” coupled to “antennas and/or transceivers to communicate” can be used “to perform the functions described herein” (Cao, 0088), and Fig. 4 in Cao further shows that the NCR is connected to base station via a separate “control link (C-link)” and a “forwarding link (backhaul link)”.
Here, the “antennas and/or transceivers” in the “NCR” in Fig. 4 map to “a communication section that performs transmission or reception of a signal”,
the “forwarding link (backhaul link)” maps to “a signal in the second link”, and
“a general purpose processor” maps to “in accordance with the control by the control section”.
As to Claim 2:
Cao teaches:
In a case where the simultaneous operation of the transmission operation in the first link and the transmission operation in the second link is not supported, the control section performs control such that a transmission operation is performed in one of the first link and the second link and a transmission operation is not performed in the other
Cao describes a “BS” that “may indicate a one-to-N (with N≥1) mapping between the beam information and the time domain information”, as opposed to a case where: “if the NCR supports communication with multiple beams at the same time” then “the BS may indicate a one-to-N (with N≥1) mapping between the beam information and the time domain information” (Cao, 0075). Also, Fig. 4 in Cao further shows that the NCR is connected to base station via a separate “control link (C-link)” and a “forwarding link (backhaul link)”.
Here, “a one-to-N (with N≥1) mapping between the beam information and the time domain information” maps to “In a case where the simultaneous operation of the transmission operation in the first link and the transmission operation in the second link is not supported, the control section performs control such that a transmission operation is performed in one of the first link and the second link and a transmission operation is not performed in the other” because in the “one-to-N” case, only one beam is active at a time; i.e. they are not both active simultaneously,
the uplink transmission (arrow number 2) in the “control link (C-link)” in Fig. 4 maps to “the transmission operation in the first link”, and
the downlink transmission (arrow number 1) in the “forwarding link (backhaul link)” in Fig. 4 maps to “the transmission operation in the second link”.
As to Claim 3:
Cao teaches:
In a case where the simultaneous operation of the reception operation in the first link and the reception operation in the second link is not supported, the control section performs control such that a reception operation is performed in one of the first link and the second link and a reception operation is not performed in the other
Cao describes a “BS” that “may indicate a one-to-N (with N≥1) mapping between the beam information and the time domain information” as opposed to when “if the NCR supports communication with multiple beams at the same time” then “the BS may indicate a one-to-N (with N≥1) mapping between the beam information and the time domain information” (Cao, 0075). Also, Fig. 4 in Cao further shows that the NCR is connected to base station via a separate “control link (C-link)” and a “forwarding link (backhaul link)”.
Here, “a one-to-N (with N≥1) mapping between the beam information and the time domain information” maps to “In a case where the simultaneous operation of the reception operation in the first link and the reception operation in the second link is not supported, the control section performs control such that a reception operation is performed in one of the first link and the second link and a reception operation is not performed in the other” because in the “one-to-N” case, only one beam is active at a time; i.e. they are not both active simultaneously,
the downlink transmission (arrow number 1) in the “control link (C-link)” in Fig. 4 maps to “the reception operation in the first link”, and
the uplink transmission (arrow number 2) in the “forwarding link (backhaul link)” in Fig. 4 maps to “the reception operation in the second link”.
As to Claim 4:
Cao teaches:
In a case where the simultaneous operation of the transmission operation in the first link and the transmission operation in the second link is supported, the control section controls the transmission operation in the second link based on an indication related to the transmission operation in the first link
Cao states that “if the NCR supports communication with multiple beams at the same time, the BS may indicate an N-to-one (with N≥1) mapping between the beam information and the time domain information” (Cao, 0075). Cao also specifies prior to this that “[t]he NCR may communicate with the BS and/or the UE according to information (e.g., time domain information or beam information) from the BS”, and “the time domain information in this disclosure can be used to indicate an applicable time for the NCR’s other operations (e.g., ... on-off)” (Cao, 0043).
Here, “the NCR supports communication with multiple beams at the same time” maps to “in a case where the simultaneous operation of the transmission operation in the first link and the transmission operation in the second link is supported”,
the uplink transmission (arrow number 2) in the “control link (C-link)” in Fig. 4 maps to “the transmission operation in the first link”,
the downlink transmission (arrow number 1) in the “forwarding link (backhaul link)” in Fig. 4 maps to “the transmission operation in the second link”,
“time domain information ... from the BS” maps to “an indication related to the transmission operation in the first link”, and
the “on-off” function in “time domain information” maps to “the control section controls the transmission operation in the second link based on an indication related to the transmission operation in the first link”.
As to Claim 5:
In a case where the simultaneous operation of the reception operation in the first link and the reception operation in the second link is supported, the control section controls the reception operation in the second link based on an indication related to the reception operation in the first link
Cao states that “if the NCR supports communication with multiple beams at the same time, the BS may indicate an N-to-one (with N≥1) mapping between the beam information and the time domain information” (Cao, 0075). Cao also specifies prior to this that “[t]he NCR may communicate with the BS and/or the UE according to information (e.g., time domain information or beam information) from the BS”, and “the time domain information in this disclosure can be used to indicate an applicable time for the NCR’s other operations (e.g., ... on-off)” (Cao, 0043).
Here, “the NCR supports communication with multiple beams at the same time” maps to “in a case where the simultaneous operation of the reception operation in the first link and the reception operation in the second link is supported”,
the downlink transmission (arrow number 1) in the “control link (C-link)” in Fig. 4 maps to “the reception operation in the first link”,
the uplink transmission (arrow number 2) in the “forwarding link (backhaul link)” in Fig. 4 maps to “the reception operation in the second link”,
“time domain information ... from the BS” maps to “an indication related to the reception operation in the first link”, and
The “on-off” function in “time domain information” maps to “the control section controls the reception operation in the second link based on an indication related to the reception operation in the first link”.
As to Claim 6:
Cao teaches:
Controlling, by a communication apparatus, based on whether a simultaneous operation of a transmission operation or a reception operation in a first link between a base station and the communication apparatus and a transmission operation or a reception operation in a second link between the base station and the communication apparatus is supported, the transmission operation or the reception in the second link
Cao describes a “BS [base station]” that “may configure a list of beam information and a list of time domain information to the NCR [network-controlled repeater]”, and Cao clarifies that the “NCR” may “support[] communication with multiple beams at the same time” (Cao, 0075). This can include “a one to N (with N≥1) mapping between the beam information and the time domain information” or, “if the NCR supports communication with multiple beams at the same time, the BS may indicate an N-to-one (with N≥1) mapping between the beam information and the time domain information” (Cao, 0075).
Fig. 4 in Cao further shows that the NCR is connected to base station via a separate “control link (C-link)” and a “forwarding link (backhaul link)”.
Cao also specifies that “a general purpose processor” coupled to “antennas and/or transceivers to communicate” can be used “to perform the functions described herein” (Cao, 0088).
Here, the “general purpose processor” coupled to “antennas and/or transceivers” in the “NCR” pictured in Fig. 4 maps to “controlling, by a communication apparatus ... the transmission operation or the reception in the second link”,
the “NCR” acting on the indication of “a one to N ... mapping” or “an N-to-one ... mapping” for beam information maps to “controlling, based on whether a simultaneous operation of a transmission operation or a reception operation in a first link between a base station and the communication apparatus and a transmission operation or a reception operation in a second link between the base station and the communication apparatus is supported”,
“N-to-one mapping” for “beam information” maps to “a simultaneous operation of a transmission operation or a reception operation in a first link between a base station and the communication apparatus and a transmission operation or a reception operation in a second link between the base station”,
the “control link (C-link)” maps to “a first link between a base station and the communication apparatus”,
the “forwarding link (backhaul link)” maps to “a second link between the base station and the communication apparatus”,
The second link being used for transfer between the base station and a terminal
Fig. 4 in Cao further shows that the NCR is connected to base station via a separate “control link (C-link)” and a “forwarding link (backhaul link)”.
Here, “a forwarding link (backhaul link)” connecting the “BS” and the “NCR” which is used to forward data to the “UE” maps to “the second link being used for transfer between the base station and a terminal”.
Performing, by the communication apparatus, transmission or reception of a signal in the second link in accordance with the control by the control section
Cao teaches that “a general purpose processor” coupled to “antennas and/or transceivers to communicate” can be used “to perform the functions described herein” (Cao, 0088), and Fig. 4 in Cao further shows that the NCR is connected to base station via a separate “control link (C-link)” and a “forwarding link (backhaul link)”.
Here, the “antennas and/or transceivers” in the “NCR” in Fig. 4 map to “performing, by the communication apparatus, transmission or reception of a signal”,
the “forwarding link (backhaul link)” maps to “a signal in the second link”, and
“a general purpose processor” maps to “in accordance with the control by the control section”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yin et al. (US 2026/0059513 A1) describes side control information for controlling a NCR (paragraphs 0197-0198). Li et al. (US 2023/0268982 A1) describes side control information for managing a control link and a backhaul link simultaneously.
BENJAMIN PETER WELTE
Examiner
Art Unit 2477
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477