DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2022-154410, filed on 09/28/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/16/2025 and 12/10/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed on 06/19/2025 is acknowledged.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1:
a candidate area determination unit that determines,
an action plan determination unit that determines,
a trajectory generation unit that generates,
an action plan update unit that can update, and
a travel control unit that controls.
Claim 4:
the candidate area determination unit determines, and
the action plan update unit determines.
Claim 5:
a behavior estimation unit that estimates, and
the action plan update unit determines.
Claim 6:
a candidate area determination unit that determines,
an action plan determination unit that sets,
a travel trajectory generation unit that generates,
an action plan update unit that updates, and
a travel control unit that performs.
Claim 7:
a vehicle control apparatus that sets.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. See Figure 1 – depicts a candidate area determination unit, an action plan determination unit, a trajectory generation unit, an action plan update unit, and a travel control unit on a processor 10 of the vehicle control apparatus 3 which is a control unit (ECU) (see Paragraph 0018). Therefore, the units are processor functions. A behavior estimation unit is also a part of the vehicle control apparatus (ECU) (see Paragraph 0115).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “an action plan update unit that can update”. It is unclear whether the update plan is updated or not according to the term “can”. Examiner suggests removing the word “can”.
Claims 4-5 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for depending on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsuchiya et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2019/0270447 A1) hereinafter Tsuchiya.
Regarding claim 1, Tsuchiya discloses a vehicle control apparatus, comprising:
a candidate area determination unit that determines a passable area, which is an area where a host vehicle and a moving object around the host vehicle can pass each other, on a road where there is an area where the host vehicle and the moving object cannot pass each other [see Paragraph 0065 - discusses determining that the vehicle cannot pass the other vehicle based on a width of an area of a road, see Paragraph 0066 - discusses determining that the vehicle can pass in an area GC when there is another vehicle];
an action plan determination unit that determines an action plan indicating a sequence of action steps of the host vehicle [see Paragraph 0050 - discusses that an action plan generation unit sets automated driving events, see Figure 4 below - depicts the vehicle steering toward the passable area (GCL), and then straightens the steering when the vehicle is over the passable area (automated driving events)];
Figure 4 of Tsuchiya
a trajectory generation unit that generates a travel trajectory of the host vehicle in the passable area [see Paragraph 0049 - discusses that the action plan generation unit generates a trajectory for the vehicle];
an action plan update unit that can update the action plan based on a position of the moving object within the passable area and a travel trajectory of the host vehicle generated by the trajectory generation unit [see Paragraph 0065-0066 - discusses determining a trajectory (K2) for the vehicle, and updating the trajectory (K3) based on the position of the other vehicle in the road (see Paragraph 0077 - discusses that the vehicle is moving/oncoming), and see Figure 4 below - depicts changing the trajectory from K2 to K3 and that the oncoming vehicle is located in the passable area, the vehicles automated driving events are changed from driving straight to steering toward the passable area and then straightening the steering when the vehicle is over the passable area]; and
Figure 4 of Tsuchiya
a travel control unit that controls travel of the host vehicle according to the action plan [see Paragraph 0044 - discusses an automated driving control device];
wherein the action plan update unit updates the action plan using a travel trajectory when the moving object is present within the passable area [see Paragraph 0065-0066 - discusses determining a trajectory (K2) for the vehicle, and updating the trajectory (K3) based on the position of the other vehicle in the road (see Paragraph 0077 - discusses that the vehicle is moving/oncoming), and see Figure 4 below - depicts changing the trajectory from K2 to K3 and that the oncoming vehicle is located in the passable area] and the host vehicle is capable of generating the travel trajectory for exiting the passable area [see Paragraphs 0065-0066 and 0077 - discusses that the vehicle continues driving on the road after the host vehicle passes, the trajectory for returning to the road is generated by the driving control unit], so that an action step of the host vehicle traveling along a travel trajectory generated by the trajectory generation unit and exiting the passable area is set as an action step to be executed next to an action step currently being executed [see Paragraph 0065-0066 - discusses that the trajectory K3 is generated for entering the passable area, and see Paragraph 0077- discusses after the oncoming vehicle passes, the trajectory for returning to the road is generated (exiting passable area)].
Figure 4 of Tsuchiya
Claims 6-7 are analogous to claim 1 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsuchiya.
Regarding claim 4, Tsuchiya discloses the invention with respect to claim 1. Tsuchiya further discloses wherein when the candidate area determination unit determines a plurality of passable areas [see Paragraph 0085 - discusses determining a passable area of area where the vehicle passes over the GCL or passes over the opposite lane (see Figure 4 below)], the action plan update unit determines whether to update the action plan by using a passable area among the plurality of passable areas through which the host vehicle and the moving object pass each other [see Paragraph 0085 - discusses determining whether to update the target trajectory (S130) based on the passable area (S126), the action plan is updated based on the generated target trajectory].
Figure 4 of Tsuchiya
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchiya in view of Komuro (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0385020 A1) hereinafter Komuro.
Regarding claim 5, Tsuchiya discloses the invention with respect to claim 1.
However, Tsuchiya fails to disclose wherein a behavior estimation unit that estimates a behavior of at least one of the moving object and a surrounding object of the host vehicle is further provided, and the action plan update unit determines whether to update the action plan depending on an estimation result of the behavior estimation unit.
Komuro discloses wherein a behavior estimation unit that estimates a behavior of at least one of the moving object and a surrounding object of the host vehicle is further provided [see Paragraph 0075 - discusses a second trajectory generator that generates a traveling trajectory of the oncoming vehicle], and the action plan update unit determines whether to update the action plan depending on an estimation result of the behavior estimation unit [see Paragraph 0076 - discusses determining whether the first trajectory of the vehicle interferes with the second trajectory when there is an obstacle on the road, and see Paragraph 0077 - discusses determining whether the vehicle is caused to travel or stop based on the determination result of interference].
Komuro suggests preventing the vehicle from coming in contact with the oncoming vehicle [see Paragraph 0076]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the vehicle control apparatus as taught by Tsuchiya to estimate a behavior of at least one of the moving object and a surrounding object of the host vehicle and determine whether to update the action plan depending on an estimation result of the behavior estimation unit as taught by Komuro in order to prevent the vehicle from coming in contact with the oncoming vehicle [see Komuro, see Paragraph 0076].
Conclusion
/SHAYNE M. GILBERTSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3665