Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 43-54, and 62-67 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (Zarzycki; US 5,947,534) in view of D2 (Holzer et al., EP 3 299 550).
For claim 43, D1 discloses, in Figures 1-19, an egress assembly configured for mounting to a moveable barrier (door 10) and structure (door jamb 22) to releasably secure the moveable barrier to the structure, the movable barrier being movable between a closed position and an open position relative to the structure, the egress assembly comprising:
a striker assembly (18) and a latch assembly (includes 16, 20, 232, 236), the striker assembly configured to co-operate with the latch assembly (Figures 7, 9, 12A, and 17-18), wherein the striker assembly is configured to be mountable to the structure, and the latch assembly is configured to be mounted to the moveable barrier (Figures 7 and 9);
the striker assembly (18) comprising a striker bolt, and a striker bolt housing (18 has a housing) containing at least a portion of the striker bolt, wherein the striker bolt is moveable between an extended position and a retracted position, the striker assembly including a biasing means that is adapted to urge the striker bolt towards the retracted position, wherein when the striker assembly and the latch assembly are in alignment the striker bolt extends from the striker bolt housing adopting the extended position, and when the striker assembly and the latch assembly are out of alignment the striker bolt retracts under the influence of the biasing means into the striker bolt housing adopting the retracted position;
the latch assembly (includes 16, 20, 232, 236) being operable to retain the striker bolt (16) in the extended position (Figure 9), the latch assembly comprising a keeper (236), a magnet, and a keeper latch member (220), the keeper having a latch face and a strike face, and the keeper being moveable between a first position and a second position relative to the magnet, wherein when the keeper is in the first position the strike face is engageable with the striker bolt, the magnet being positioned relative to the keeper to retain the striker bolt in the extended position when the striker assembly and the latch assembly are in alignment; and
an actuator assembly (includes 216 and the components within it) including an actuator (216) moveable relative to a depressed position, wherein when the actuator is pushed into the depressed position the actuator assembly actuates the latch assembly by engaging a first end of the keeper latch member to move the keeper latch member to a released position to allow the striker bolt to be able to move the keeper to the second position as the moveable barrier is moved towards the open position (By pressing the actuator 216 toward the door 10, the movement causes 216 to move toward the door 10 and away from the door jamb 22. The motion of 216 away from the door jamb 22 causes a pulling force on 232 to move the bolt 16 away from striker. Col.5, L 14-29);
wherein, in use, when the latch assembly is actuated, the striker bolt engages the strike face to move the keeper to the second position and allows the striker bolt to be movable to the retracted position under the influence of the biasing means when the striker bolt is out of alignment or substantially out of alignment with the latch assembly.
D2 teaches, in Figures 1-10, a door with Locking element (bolt) 11 operable by magnetic force. A latch assembly 20 includes magnet 32, keeper latch member 26, keeper 27. The bolt 11 has a first magnet 31, and the latch assembly has a second magnet 32. In the open position of the door the first magnet 31 is retracted into the housing 12 by the biasing elements 13. When latch assembly 20 is brought in alignment with the locking element, the locking element extends into the latch assembly (Figures 4-5. P6, para. [2-3].) D2 shows a latch assembly that operates with magnetic force and facilitates ease of operation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the latch assembly of D1 with a latch assembly comprising a keeper, a magnet, and a keeper latch member, the keeper having a latch face and a strike face, and the keeper being moveable between a first position and a second position relative to the magnet, wherein when the keeper is in the first position the strike face is engageable with the striker bolt, the magnet being positioned relative to the keeper to retain the striker bolt in the extended position when the striker assembly and the latch assembly are in alignment, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of having a latch assembly with ease of operation.
D1 modified with features of D2 teaches the claimed limitations.
For claim 44, the combination teaches the egress assembly according to claim 43, wherein the keeper of the latch assembly is rotatable between the first and second positions (Since 27 of D2 pivots, D1 modified with features of D2 teaches the claimed limitations.)
For claim 45, the combination of D1 and D2 teaches the egress assembly according to claim 44, wherein, the keeper latch member extends between a first end and a second end, and the keeper latch member is rotatable between an engaged position and the released position such that when the keeper latch member is in the engaged position, the second end of the keeper latch member engages the latch face of the keeper to retain the keeper in the first position (27 of D2 is pivotable. D1 modified with features of D2 teaches the claimed limitations.)
For claim 46, the combination teaches the egress assembly according to claim 45, wherein the keeper latch member further comprises a rotatable member provided at the second end, wherein the rotatable member engages the latch face of the keeper in the engaged position (Pivotable 27 of D2 has a second end engages with latch face. D1 modified with features of D2 teaches the claimed limitations.)
For claim 47, the combination teaches the egress assembly according to claim 45, wherein the latch assembly further comprises a second carriage extending between a second carriage first end and a second carriage second end, wherein the second carriage is moveable between an acting position and a neutral position, wherein, when the second carriage is in the acting position, the second carriage causes the keeper latch member to move to the released position (When 20 of D2 is not in line with 10, it is a released position. D1 modified with features of D2 teaches the claimed limitations.)
For claim 48, D1 discloses the egress assembly according to claim 47, wherein the second carriage is slideable between the acting position and the neutral position (216 and 218 are in neutral position prior to pressing 216. When 216 is pressed, 218 moves to acting position. Figure 9.)
For claim 49, D1 discloses the egress assembly according to claim 47, wherein the second carriage (218) includes an abutment face that abuts with the first end of the keeper latch member (220) to move the keeper latch member to the released position upon the second carriage moving to the acting position (When 216 is pressed 218 moves 220 to release the bolt 16. Col.5, L14-19.)
For claim 50, D1 discloses the egress assembly according to claim 43, wherein the latch assembly further comprises a biasing member (228) which biases the keeper to the first position (Figure 9.)
For claim 51, D1 discloses the egress assembly according to claim 43, wherein the keeper latch member further comprises a biasing member (238) which biases the keeper latch member to the engaged position (Figure 9.)
For claim 52, the combination teaches the egress assembly according to claim 51, wherein the magnet is adapted such that a magnetic force is greater than a biasing force produced by the biasing means so that the striker bolt moves towards the extended position when the latch assembly and the striker assembly are aligned (D2 teaches bolt 11 in retracted position by the spring 13, and magnets 31, 32 together extends the bolt 11 when in alignment. P6, para. [2-3]. D1 modified with features of D2 teaches the claimed limitations.)
For claim 53, the combination teaches the egress assembly according to claim 52, wherein the latch assembly includes a recess for receiving the striker bolt in the extended position, and the recess is in part defined by the strike face of the keeper and the magnet (D2 teaches magnets 31, 32, and a recess in 20 to receive the bolt 11. D1 modified with features of D2 teaches the claimed limitations.)
For claim 54, the combination teaches the egress assembly according to claim 53, wherein the recess is in juxtaposition or in axial alignment with the magnet (D2 teaches the bolt 11 operates due to magnetic force when in alignment, as in Figure 4. D1 modified with features of D2 teaches the claimed limitations.)
For claim 62, D1 discloses an egress assembly according to claim 43, wherein the actuator assembly further comprises: an elongate frame (212) extending along a longitudinal axis between a first end and a second end, wherein the actuator is mounted relative to the elongate frame and operative to be depressible relative to the elongate frame in a transverse direction to the longitudinal axis of the elongate frame to actuate the latch assembly (Figure 9); and a first carriage (the structure to which 238 is attached defines the first carriage) extending between a first carriage first end and a first carriage second end in the elongate frame, the first carriage being moveable between a driving position and a neutral position and the first carriage including an engagement face disposed at the first carriage second end to drive the keeper latch member to move to the released position when the first carriage is in the driving position (when 216 is pressed, it is driving position, and prior to pressing defines the neutral position. Figure 9.)
For claim 63, D1 discloses the egress assembly according to claim 47, wherein: the actuator assembly further comprises: an elongate frame (212, Figure 9) extending along a longitudinal axis between a first end and a second end, wherein the actuator (216) is mounted relative to the elongate frame and operative to be depressible relative to the elongate frame in a transverse direction to the longitudinal axis of the elongate frame to actuate the latch assembly; and a first carriage (the structure that holds the hook end of 238) extending between a first carriage first end and a first carriage second end in the elongate frame, the first carriage being moveable between a driving position and a neutral position and the first carriage including an engagement face disposed at the first carriage second end to drive the keeper latch member to move to the released position when the first carriage is in the driving position (When 216 is pressed the first carriage move to driving position, and when released move to neutral position.); and the engagement face of the first carriage engages an abutment face of the second carriage when the first carriage is in the driving position to cause the second carriage to move into the acting position of the second carriage (Figure 9.)
For claim 64, D1 discloses the egress assembly according to claim 62, wherein the actuator assembly further comprises at least one bell crank pivotally connected to the actuator and the first carriage to translate a transverse force transmitted through angular rotation of the bell crank to a force transmitted in a longitudinal direction of the elongate frame towards the engagement face at the first carriage second end and the second end of the elongate frame through depression of the actuator and initial movement of the movable barrier to an open position (The structures including 261a, 263a define the bell crank. Figure 12A.)
For claim 65, D1 discloses the egress assembly according to claim 63, wherein when the actuator is released, the actuator is biased to a raised position which causes the first carriage and second carriage to move to respective neutral positions, the keeper latch member to rotate to the engaged position, and the keeper to rotate to the first position (Spring 238 biases 216 away from door 10. Col.6, L19-22.)
For claim 66, D1 discloses the egress assembly according to claim 65, further comprising a remote actuator for allowing the latch assembly to be operated from an opposite side of the movable barrier, the remote actuator extending between a first remote actuator end and a second remote actuator end, the first remote actuator end being configured to be coupled to a remote driver which causes the remote actuator to rotate, and the second remote actuator end being coupled to the second carriage and including a cam such that rotation of the remote actuator translates to movement of the second carriage to the acting position which causes movement of the keeper latch member to the released position (Turning the door knob 14 will release the latch bolt from door jamb 22. Col.4, L29-31.)
For claim 67, D1 discloses, in Figures 5-19, an egress assembly for a movable barrier, the egress assembly comprising:
an actuator assembly (includes 216, and 218) and a latch arrangement (includes 16, 20, 230, 228, and 18);
the actuator assembly configured to be mounted to an elongate frame (212) extending between a first end and a second end, the actuator assembly including an actuator (216) operative to be depressible relative to the elongate frame to actuate the latch arrangement, the latch arrangement comprising a latch assembly (16, 20, 230,228) and a striker assembly (18), the latch assembly and the striker assembly configured to co-operate in latching engagement (Figures 7, 9, 12A, and 17), the latch assembly including a magnet and a keeper that is movable relative to the magnet on operation of the actuator, and the striker assembly including a striker bolt that is movable between an extended position and a retracted position that is attracted to the magnet to adopt the extended position, such that when the latch assembly and the striker assembly are aligned a magnetic force between the magnet and the striker bolt causes the striker bolt to move to the extended position and the latch assembly retains the striker bolt such that the latch arrangement is in a latched position;
wherein the actuator assembly and the latch assembly are mechanically connected and configured such that depression of the actuator and initial movement of the moveable barrier causes the magnet and striker bolt to move out of alignment which disengages the latch arrangement to allow the moveable barrier to move to the open position (When 216 is pressed toward the door 10, 216 moves horizontally, and 218 presses 220. Pressing of 220 exerts a pulling force on control arm 232, which in turn retract the bolt 16. Col.5, L14-29.)
D2 teaches, in Figures 1-10, a door with Locking element (bolt) 11 operable by magnetic force. A latch assembly 20 includes magnet 32, keeper latch member 26, keeper 27. The bolt 11 has a first magnet 31, and the latch assembly has a second magnet 32. In the open position of the door the first magnet 31 is retracted into the housing 12 by the biasing elements 13. When latch assembly 20 is brought in alignment with the locking element, the locking element extends into the latch assembly (Figures 4-5. P6, para. [2-3].) D2 shows a latch assembly that operates with magnetic force and facilitates ease of operation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the latch assembly of D1 with a latch assembly including a magnet and a keeper that is movable relative to the magnet on operation of the actuator, and the striker assembly including a striker bolt that is movable between an extended position and a retracted position that is attracted to the magnet to adopt the extended position, such that when the latch assembly and the striker assembly are aligned a magnetic force between the magnet and the striker bolt causes the striker bolt to move to the extended position and the latch assembly retains the striker bolt such that the latch arrangement is in a latched position, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of having a latch assembly with ease of operation.
D1 modified with D2 teaches the claimed limitations.
Claim(s) 55-61 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (Zarzycki; US 5,947,534) in view of D3 (Wuerl; US 2,486,772).
For claim 55, D1 discloses the egress assembly according to claim 43, wherein the striker assembly comprises a striker body (18) having an interior surface defining an interior cavity for receiving a striker bolt assembly (includes 16 and surrounding structures), the striker bolt assembly comprising the striker bolt housing (structures surrounding 16) and the striker bolt (16), the striker bolt housing being configured to be co-axial with the striker bolt (16) and configured for receiving the striker bolt (16) in the retracted position, wherein at least a portion of an external surface of the striker bolt housing is threaded to co-operate in threading engagement to allow the striker bolt assembly to be adjustable relative to the striker body to a selected position to allow alignment of the striker assembly and the latch assembly in latching engagement when the striker bolt is in the extended position.
D3 teaches an adjustable striker 10, which can be adjusted with screw 14 to the desired position for the latch (Col.2, L10-12.) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 with an adjustable striker assembly, as taught by D3 with a reasonable expectation of success of having an adjustable striker for the desired environment.
For claim 56, the combination of D1 and D3 teaches the egress assembly according to claim 55, further comprising a lock assembly including a locking member located in the interior cavity of the striker body, the locking member being moveable between a locked and an unlocked position, wherein when the locking member is in the locked position, the locking member engages the striker bolt housing to retain the striker bolt housing in the selected position, and when the locking member is in the unlocked position, the striker bolt housing is adjustable to a further selected position (D3 teaches the adjustable striker 10 with locking member 19. D1 modified with features of D3 teaches the claimed limitations.)
For claim 57, the combination of D1 and D3 teaches the egress assembly according to claim 56, wherein the locking member extends between a first and a second end in a longitudinal direction, the first end including an inclined surface, the inclined surface configured to mate with a corresponding inclined surface formed as part of the interior surface of the striker body, wherein the inclined surface and the corresponding inclined surface guide the locking member into the locked and unlocked positions, and the second end including an engagement surface for engaging an abutment surface of the striker bolt housing in the locked position (D3 teaches the locking member 19 with first and second ends. D1 modified with D3 teaches the claimed limitations.)
For claim 58, the combination of D1 and D3 teaches the egress assembly according to claim 57, wherein the lock assembly further comprises an externally threaded actuator for moving the locking member relative to the striker bolt housing into the locked and the unlocked positions, wherein the locking member includes an internally threaded passage for receiving the externally threaded actuator, wherein rotational movement of the actuator translates to movement of the locking member in a lateral direction guided by the inclined surface and the corresponding inclined surface between the locked and the unlocked positions (D3 teaches an externally threaded actuator 14 that engages the internally threaded locking member 19. D1 modified with D1 teaches the claimed limitations.)
For claim 59, the combination of D1 and D3 teaches the egress assembly according to claim 58, wherein the striker bolt housing extends between a distal and a proximal end, the distal end being disposed inside the striker body, and the proximal end including a non-circular end region to allow a tool to grip the end region and rotate the striker bolt housing relative to the striker body to provide an adjustment of the striker bolt housing relative to the striker body to a still further selected position (D3 teaches 22 allows a tool to grip and for manipulation. D1 modified with features of D1 teaches the claimed limitations.)
For claim 60, the combination of D1 and D3 teaches the egress assembly according to claim 59, wherein the striker bolt housing includes a flange extending at least in part around the proximal end, and the non-circular end region includes at least one flat face formed on the flange (D1 shows flange 18. D3 teaches 22 has a flat face. D1 modified with D3 teaches the claimed limitations.)
For claim 61, the combination of D1 and D3 teaches the egress assembly according to claim 55, wherein the striker assembly further comprises an insert disposed in the striker body, wherein at least a section of the external surface of the striker bolt housing is formed on the insert, the at least a section of the external surface formed on the insert including a threading for co-operating with the threading of the striker bolt housing (D3 teaches an insert 21. D1 modified with features of D3 teaches the claimed limitations.)
Claim(s) 68-74 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (Zarzycki; US 5,947,534) in view of D2 (Holzer et al., EP 3 299 550) and further in view of D3 (Wuerl; US 2,486,772).
For claim 68, D1 discloses, in Figures 5-19, a striker assembly (18) configured to co-operate with a latch assembly (includes 16, 20, 230, and 228) of a latch arrangement when used for an egress assembly, the latch assembly including a magnet and a keeper that is movable relative to the magnet, the striker assembly comprising:
a striker body (body of 18) including an interior surface defining an interior cavity (18 has a cavity to receive 16);
a striker bolt housing and a striker bolt, whereby the interior cavity of the striker body houses the striker bolt housing and the striker bolt, the striker bolt housing and the striker bolt being configured to be co-axial with one another, the striker bolt being moveable to an extended position under an influence of the magnet of the latch assembly such that in the extended position the striker bolt is engageable with the keeper of the latch assembly in latching engagement;
wherein at least part of an external surface of the striker bolt housing is threaded to co- operate in threading engagement to allow a striker bolt assembly to be adjustable relative to the striker body to a selected position to facilitate alignment of the striker assembly and the latch assembly in latching engagement.
D2 teaches, in Figures 1-10, a door with Locking element (bolt) 11 operable by magnetic force. A latch assembly 20 includes magnet 32, keeper latch member 26, keeper 27. The bolt 11 has a first magnet 31, and the latch assembly has a second magnet 32. In the open position of the door the first magnet 31 is retracted into the housing 12 by the biasing elements 13. When latch assembly 20 is brought in alignment with the locking element, the locking element extends into the latch assembly (Figures 4-5. P6, para. [2-3].) D2 shows a latch assembly that operates with magnetic force and facilitates ease of operation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the latch assembly of D1 with a latch assembly including a magnet and a keeper that is movable relative to the magnet, the striker assembly comprising a striker bolt housing and a striker bolt, whereby the interior cavity of the striker body houses the striker bolt housing and the striker bolt, the striker bolt housing and the striker bolt being configured to be co-axial with one another, the striker bolt being moveable to an extended position under an influence of the magnet of the latch assembly such that in the extended position the striker bolt is engageable with the keeper of the latch assembly in latching engagement, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of having a latch assembly with ease of operation.
D3 teaches an adjustable striker 10, which can be adjusted with screw 14 to the desired position for the latch (Col.2, L10-12.) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify D1 modified with D2 with an adjustable striker assembly such that at least part of an external surface of the striker bolt housing is threaded to co- operate in threading engagement to allow a striker bolt assembly to be adjustable relative to the striker body to a selected position to facilitate alignment of the striker assembly and the latch assembly in latching engagement, as taught by D3 with a reasonable expectation of success of having an adjustable striker for the desired latching environment.
D1 modified with features of D2 and D3 teaches the claimed limitations.
For claim 69, the combination teaches the striker assembly according to claim 68, further comprising a lock assembly including a locking member located in the interior cavity of the striker body, the locking member being moveable between a locked and an unlocked position, wherein when the locking member is in the locked position, the locking member engages the striker bolt housing to retain the striker bolt housing in the selected position, and when the locking member is in the unlocked position, the striker bolt housing is adjustable to a further selected position (D3 teaches a locking member 19 located in the interior cavity. D1 modified with D3 teaches the claimed limitations.)
For claim 70, the combination teaches the striker assembly according to claim 69, wherein the locking member extends between a first and a second end in a longitudinal direction, the first end including an inclined surface, the inclined surface configured to mate with a corresponding inclined surface formed as part of the interior surface of the housing, wherein the inclined surface and the corresponding inclined surface guide the locking member into the locked and unlocked positions, and the second end including an engagement surface for engaging an abutment surface of the striker bolt housing in the locked position (D3 teaches the locking member 19 extends in longitudinal direction. D1 modified with features of D3 teaches the claimed limitations.)
For claim 71, the combination teaches the striker assembly according to claim 70, wherein the lock assembly further comprises an externally threaded actuator for moving the locking member relative to the striker bolt housing into the locked and the unlocked positions, wherein the locking member includes an internally threaded passage for receiving the externally threaded actuator, wherein rotational movement of the actuator translates to movement of the locking member in a lateral direction guided by the inclined surface and corresponding inclined surface between the locked and the unlocked positions (D3 teaches an externally threaded structure 14. D1 modified with features of D3 teaches the claimed limitations.)
For claim 72, the combination teaches the striker assembly according to claim 71, wherein the striker bolt housing extends between a distal and a proximal end, the distal end being disposed inside the striker body, and the proximal end including a non-circular end region to allow a tool to grip the end region and rotate the striker bolt housing relative to the striker body to provide an adjustment of the striker bolt housing relative to the striker body to a still further selected position (D3 teaches 22 allows a tool to grip for desired manipulation. D1 modified with D3 teaches the claimed limitations.)
For claim 73, the combination teaches the striker assembly according to claim 72, wherein the striker bolt housing includes a flange extending at least in part around the proximal end, and the non-circular end region includes at least one flat face formed on the flange (D3 teaches 18 with flange and 22 with flat face. D1 modified with D3 teaches the claimed limitations.)
For claim 74, the combination teaches the striker assembly according to claim 68, wherein the striker assembly further comprises an insert disposed in the striker body, wherein at least a section of the external surface of the striker bolt housing is formed on the insert, the at least a section of the external surface formed on the insert including a threading for co-operating with the threading of the striker bolt housing (D3 teaches an insert 21. D1 modified with features of D3 teaches the claimed limitations.)
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and provides examples of similar inventions. There are no suggestions in the prior art of record for combining any of the references to arrive at as claimed. A few of the prior art cited but not applied includes Timothy (US 2010-0244463); Clark (US 9,790,708); and Frolov (US 6,390,514).
/NATHAN CUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675