DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “further attachment device made double-ended and employed to join first and second cladding elements edge-to-edge, said linear channels being provided in edges of said first and second cladding elements” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 33-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 33, line 27, the recitation “a transverse, cross-sectional aspect ratio of height to width in a range 2:1 to 2.5:1” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what the recitation is referring to. What part of the structure has the defined aspect ratio? The limitation appears to be inserted into the claim but the limitation is not connected to any of the elements of the claim.
Regarding claim 41, the claim recites wherein the engagement elements are formed as square or rectangular teeth, but claim 33 recites the engagement elements as ratchet teeth. Ratchet teeth are not well known to be rectangular or square since a ratchet as well known in the art is capable of rotating in one direction and the shape of the teeth prevent rotation in the opposite direction.
Regarding claim 48, lines 2-3, the claim recites wherein the linear channels are formed in the edges of the cladding elements but claim 1 recites wherein the linear channels are provided in the underside of the cladding elements. Further, nothing is shown with the figures to support linear channels in the edges of the cladding panels.
Regarding claim 50, line 27, the recitation “a transverse, cross-sectional aspect ratio of height to width in a range 2:1 to 2.5:1” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what the recitation is referring to. What part of the structure has the defined aspect ratio? The limitation appears to be inserted into the claim but the limitation is not connected to any of the elements of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 33-40, 42, 43, and 49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 1 691 002 A2 to Hudel in view of WO 2015/170205 A1 to Aquilani.
Regarding claim 33, Hudel discloses a fixing system for employment in building construction, the fixing system comprising: at least one cladding element (2), each cladding element comprising two or more parallel, linear channels (6, 7) formed in an underside (5) of the cladding element, said linear channels being orientated parallel to a longitudinal axis of the cladding element (Fig.12) and in spaced arrangement across a width of said cladding element such as to provide for secure attachment (Fig.12); at least one elongated supporting strip (24); a plurality of complementary attachment devices (3) being fixed to or formed on each elongated supporting strip which are, in turn, fixable to and alignable with longitudinal axes of structural elements used in building construction (Fig.12), said attachment devices being regularly positioned on said supporting strip so as to register with a transverse spacing of said linear channels (Fig.12), each of said attachment devices comprising: first and second elastic panels (13, Fig.16) arranged parallel to or divergent from one another (Fig.14 and 16) and provided on their lateral, exterior surfaces with a plurality of projecting engagement elements (29, 30) in the form of ratchet teeth, said first and second elastic panels being separated by a gap (area between 13 and 13) sufficient to allow inwards, elastic deflection of the first and second elastic panels as said projecting engagement elements of the elastic panels ride over the engagement elements on the interior side surfaces of the linear channel during penetration of said linear channel by said first and second elastic panels (Fig.16); a transverse, cross-sectional aspect ratio of height to width in a range 2:1 to 2.5:1 (Fig.13 and 14); each of the first and second elastic panels comprising a length such as to extend throughout the full depth of said linear channel (Fig.15) and such that when fully engaged with said linear channel said attachment device completely fills said linear channel (Fig.15), except at said gap (Fig.15).
Hudel discloses a couple engagement elements on the elastic panels of the attachment devices, but does not specifically disclose the channels having engagement elements complimentary to the engagement elements of the elastic panels, nor does Hudel disclose said ratchet teeth being distributed along full lengths of said elastic panels and full depth of said linear channel.
Aquilani discloses providing the linear channel with engagement elements along an entire length (17, Fig.4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have formed the engagement projections along an entire length of the elastic panels as well as along the entire length of the channels as taught by Aquilani so to ensure maximum engagement and security between the attachment device and the cladding elements, thereby preventing easy removal of the cladding elements.
Regarding claims 34-37, 42, and 43, Hudel does not disclose the specifics of the ratchet teeth.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have formed the ratchet teeth with the desired anglers and engaging surfaces so to provide the easiest insertion of the attachment devices within the channels and also to provide the desired engagement surface which would determine how hard it is to remove the cladding elements from the attachment devices.
Regarding claim 38, Hudel discloses wherein at least one of the linear channels comprises one or more wedges (33) on the inner end of said linear channel, positioned on or parallel to a longitudinal axis of said linear channel and projecting towards an opening of said linear channel (Fig.15), the one or more wedges or tongues having a length, width and degree of taper such that, with the ends of the first and second elastic panels abutting said inner end of said linear channel, said one or more wedges or tongues act to urge said projecting engagement elements into a position of full engagement with the engagement elements on the interior side surfaces of the linear channel and to maintain said projecting engagement elements in that position (Fig.15); said urging by said one or more wedges or tongues of said first and second elastic panels additionally acting to inhibit any tendency towards displacement of said linear channel on said attachment device (Fig.15).
Regarding claim 39, Hudel discloses in which the spaced arrangement of said linear channels in said at least one cladding element and said attachment devices on said at least one supporting strip allows said cladding element to be fixed in place by positioning the cladding element such that entry of at least one of said attachment devices into at least one of said linear channels can be effected and full penetration of said linear channels with full engagement of said engagement elements achieved, by application of pressure to an outer surface of said cladding element (Fig.12).
Regarding claim 40, in the at least one elongated supporting strip comprises first and second ends (Fig.17) having complementary shapings (27) that enable the at least one elongated supporting strip to be accurately joined end-to-end with at least one other elongated supporting strip whilst ensuring maintenance of center-line collinearity by the engagement of shapings formed on the ends of said supporting strips (Fig.17).
Regarding claim 49, Hudel discloses in which said attachment devices are intended for temporary fixing, and wherein: attachment points of said first and second elastic panels are made suitably fragile, such that the attachment points break away from said supporting strip when a separation force is applied (the elastic panels are thin and are capable of breaking off due to suitable force against the cladding elements).
Claim(s) 48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 1 691 002 A2 to Hudel in view of WO 2015/170205 A1 to Aquilani in view of US 2015/0176619 A1 to Baker.
Regarding claim 48, Hudel does not disclose further comprising a further attachment device made double-ended and employed to join first and second cladding elements edge-to-edge, said linear channels being provided in edges of said first and second cladding elements.
Baker discloses a further attachment device (Fig.4) made double-ended and employed to join first and second cladding elements edge-to-edge, said linear channels being provided in edges of said first and second cladding elements (Fig.4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided a connecting device inserted into linear channels on the edges of the cladding elements of Hudel as taught by Baker so to further ensure linear alignment of the cladding elements.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 50-52 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Claims 41 and 44-47 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
RDK
/RYAN D KWIECINSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635