DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ando (JP 2021038604 A).
Regarding claim 1, Ando discloses “A work machine including a machinery compartment, the work machine comprising: a machinery compartment exterior that covers the machinery compartment (9; Ando Fig 1); and a detector that detects external information of the work machine (11; Ando Fig 1), wherein the machinery compartment exterior includes a cover member (9b; Ando Fig 2) extending in a frontward/rearward direction in an upper portion of the machinery compartment exterior, and the detector includes a portion (9c; Ando Fig 2) located on a side of the machinery compartment with respect to the cover member.”
With respect to claim 2, Ando discloses “The work machine according to claim 1, wherein the detector (11; Ando Fig 1) includes an imaging device including at least one constituent member of a lens (14; Ando Fig 6) and a cover (12; Ando Fig 6), the cover member includes a first inclined portion (12a; Ando Fig 6) and a second inclined portion (13a; Ando Fig 6) connected to the first inclined portion, the first inclined portion is inclined to protrude to an outside of the work machine downward from above (12a; Ando Fig 6), and the second inclined portion is inclined to protrude to the outside of the work machine upward from below (13a; Ando Fig 6), and the at least one constituent member of the imaging device (14; Ando Fig 6) is exposed to an outside of the cover member via a through hole (13b; Ando Fig 6) provided in the second inclined portion (13a; Ando Fig 6).”
In reference to claim 5, Ando discloses “The work machine according to claim 1, further comprising a support (12d; Ando Fig 4) that supports the detector (11; Ando Fig 4), wherein the support is located on the side of the machinery compartment (9; Ando Fig 4) with respect to the cover member (9b; Ando Fig 4).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ando (JP 2021038604 A) in view of Seki (US 20190352882 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Ando teaches “The work machine according to claim 1, wherein the machinery compartment exterior (9; Ando Fig 2) includes a door (9a; Ando Fig 2) located below the cover member (9b; Ando Fig 2)…”
Ando does not teach the cover member inside the door.
However, Seki teaches “… a position of an outermost end of the cover member (P2; Seki Fig 9) is located on an inner side of a position of an outermost end of the door (P1; Seki Fig 9) in a rightward/leftward direction.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the cover member of Ando set behind the door of Ando, as taught by Seki, with a reasonable expectation of success for a more well protected detector.
7. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ando (JP 2021038604 A) in view of Yamada et al. (US 20190027820 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Ando teaches a detector (11; Ando Fig 1) on a cover member (9b; Ando Fig 2) having a flat upper surface (As seen in Ando Annotated Fig 3).
Ando does not teach an antenna.
However, Yamada et al. teaches an antenna (9b; Yamada et al. Fig 4) disposed on the upper surface of a cover (6c; Yamada et al. Fig 4).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the antenna of Yamada et al. with the excavator of Ando with a reasonable expectation of success for an excavator configured to receive GPS information to pair with the sensor input and allow the work machine to further improve positioning determination.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ito (JP 2012184600 A) teaches a work machine with a machinery compartment exterior.
Manabe (JP 2013204288 A) teaches an excavator with a machinery compartment exterior comprising an imaging device.
/D.R.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612