DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-13 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over QUEST (DE 102018206784 A1).
Re claims 11-12, QUEST ‘784 discloses a prechamber spark plug 1, comprising:
a housing 2, 2a, 2b (see sole Figure);
a central electrode 4;
a ground electrode 5, wherein the central electrode 4 and the ground electrode 5 are arranged in a prechamber 81;
an isolator 31; and
a cap 80 that closes the prechamber 81 in a direction of a combustion chamber (implicit as it is disclosed to be used in an ICE; See also “USE”);
wherein the isolator 31 has a lateral wall region 70 (See annotated Figure below for better illustration) that extends substantially coaxially to a central axis (X-X) of the prechamber spark plug 1, an end region 71 that lies substantially perpendicular to a central axis (X-X) and from which the central electrode 4 protrudes, and a connection region 72 that connects the lateral wall region 70 to the end region 71;
wherein a first point K (again, see annotated Figure below) is defined at a transition between the lateral wall region 70 and the connection region 72;
wherein a second point M is defined at a transition between the connection region 72 and the end region 71;
wherein a third point I is defined at a free end 30a of the central electrode 4 that is a point farthest from an end region 40a of the ground electrode 40;
wherein a fourth point P is defined at a free end 40a of the ground electrode 5 that is a point farthest from the free end 30a of the central electrode 4;
wherein a first straight line KI passes through the first point K and the third point I;
wherein a second straight line KP passes through the first point K and the fourth point P;
wherein an angle bisector W passes between the first straight line KI and the second straight line KP,
wherein a third straight line KM passes through the first point K and the second point M on the isolator 31; and
wherein an angle “A” is provided between the angle bisector W and the third straight line KM.
The patent application to QUEST ‘784 appears to teach the angle “A” in the claimed range; however, QUEST ‘784 is silent regarding the angle “A” provided between the angle bisector W and the third straight line KM is in a range of +20°<A<-20° or +15°<A<-15°. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to provide the claimed angles “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Quest would not operate differently with the claimed angles. Further, it is well established in the art to adjust the geometry of spark plugs to achieve different spark patterns and efficiencies.
Re claim 13, QUEST ‘784 discloses a distance Q between the third point I and the fourth point P. QUEST ‘784 appears to teach the distance Q in the claimed range; however, it is silent to the distance Q in a range of 1 mm to 3 mm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to provide the claimed distance Q range “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Quest would not operate differently with the claimed distance Q range. Further, it is well established in the art to adjust the geometry of spark plugs to achieve different spark patterns and efficiencies.
Re claim 16, QUEST ‘784 discloses wherein the connection region 72 on the isolator 31 between the first point K and the second point M is straight in section (see 72 in the sole FIGURE) and/or is convex in section and/or is concave in section and/or is freely selectable in section (again, FIGURE also reads on this limitation).
Re claim 17, QUEST ‘784 discloses wherein a flow guide element (FGE; see annotated Figure below for illustration) is arranged on an inner wall (IW) of the housing 2.
Re claim 18, QUEST ‘784 discloses wherein the flow guide element (FGE) is a region protruding radially inward from the inner wall (IW) of the housing 2.
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over QUEST ‘784 in view of NIESSNER (DE 102017107679 A1).
Re claim 14, QUEST ‘784 is silent with respect to wherein a plurality of ground electrodes 5 are arranged on the housing, each having the fourth point P.
However, the patent application to NIESSNER ‘679 teaches that it is conventional in the art of pre-chamber spark plugs (see fig. 2) to provide a plurality of ground electrodes 20 (fig. 2) that are arranged on the housing 4. NIESSNER ‘679 explicitly teaches in “ADVANTAGE”: “The plug improves a lean-burn operation and enables a reliable large-volume ignition in the combustion chamber by ignition torches or flame jets that shoot out from the openings in the cap even when an exhaust recirculation rate is relatively high in petrol-powered spark-ignition engines.”.
In view of this, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the pre-chamber spark plug of QUEST ‘784, wherein a plurality of ground electrodes 5 are arranged on the housing, each having the fourth point P, as clearly suggested and taught by NIESSNER ‘679, in order to provide a plug that improves a lean-burn operation and enables a reliable large-volume ignition in the combustion chamber by ignition torches or flame jets that shoot out from the openings in the cap even when an exhaust recirculation rate is relatively high in petrol-powered spark-ignition engines (see ADVANTAGE).
Re claim 15, NIESSNER ‘679 discloses wherein: (i) the ground electrode 20 has a noble metal pin on which the free end is defined and/or (ii) the central electrode 10 has a noble metal pin on which the free end is defined (see fig. 2-4. “Each of the ground electrodes 20, 20' is in two parts from a carrier component 23 and a reinforcing member 24 formed and extends transversely to the center line 5, in particular perpendicular thereto. The reinforcement component 24 consists of a noble metal alloy, in particular platinum and / or iridium alloy.”).
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over QUEST ‘784 in view of Sotiropoulou (US 20160053670 A1).
Re claims 19-20, QUEST ‘784 discloses the invention as essentially claimed including wherein a plane E (see annotated Figure below) runs perpendicular to the central axis (X-X) of the prechamber spark plug 1 and passes through the second point M on the isolator 31.
However, QUEST ‘784 is completely silent to wherein the flow guide element is arranged on a plane E or between the ground electrode and the plane E, and wherein the flow guide element includes a recess in the inner wall of the housing.
The patent application to Sotiropoulou ‘670 teaches a pre-chamber spark plug wherein a flow guide element 120 (see annotated fig. 10 below) is arranged on a plane E or between the ground electrode 1010 and the plane E, and wherein the flow guide element 120 includes a recess (see fig. 10) in the inner wall of the housing 110.
Furthermore, Sotiropoulou ‘670 explicitly discloses: “The prechamber 100, the plurality of holes 320 and the prechamber volume 120 can be configured to achieve a rotational flow field 210 (FIG. 2) of the fuel-air in-filling streams 930 inside of the prechamber volume 120 which may include the radial and axial flow characteristics as further described herein. In certain embodiments as shown in FIGS. 9 and 10, higher fuel concentrations 940 may be achieved at the periphery 240 of the pre-combustion chamber volume 120 and towards the holes 320 than the fuel concentrations 950 found elsewhere in pre-combustion chamber volume 120.”.
In view of this teaching, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the pre-chamber spark plug of QUEST ‘784, such that wherein the flow guide element is arranged on a plane E or between the ground electrode and the plane E, and wherein the flow guide element includes a recess in the inner wall of the housing, as clearly suggested and taught by Sotiropoulou ‘670, in order to allow for higher fuel concentrations at the periphery of the pre-chamber volume / flow guide element 120 to achieve particular combustion performance characteristics (see par. 0063 & 0068).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that “QUEST does not disclose or suggest any angle or its effect on spark deflection and gas flow”, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). Furthermore, the Examiner maintains the rejections of claims 11-13 and 16-18 under QUEST ‘784. Specifically, the Examiner maintains that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to provide the claimed angles “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of QUEST would not operate differently with the claimed angles. Further, it is well established in the art to adjust the geometry of spark plugs to achieve different spark patterns and efficiencies. Thus, the rejections of claims 11-20 are hereby upheld.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
HUNG Q. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3747
/HUNG Q NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747
