DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21, 22, 25, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 21, it is unclear what layer thickness range limits the claim scope as three are mentioned.
Regarding Claim 22, it is unclear what aspect to the mentioned standard is being referred to. Is it that the thickness is to be from 1.0 mm to 2.2 mm? Is it this and something else? Is there some other meaning?
Regarding Claim 25, it is unclear what is meant by “at least in sections”. Does this mean the requirement is to be satisfied in at least two sections? Should the claim refer to “at least in one section”?
Regarding Claim 30, it is unclear how the adhesion promoter is to comprise both a Ni alloy and a CoCr alloy. Is this a contradiction? Are at least two different regions to be characterized with one being Ni alloy and the other CoCr alloy? Is there some other meaning?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 18, 19, and 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Endress+Hauser in “Level Measurement” downloaded from www.dk.endress.com on 10 Sept. 2021 (28 March 2014)(44 pages) (NPL No. 1 on IDS filed on 16 Jan. 2025) (hereinafter, Endress). Endress teaches field device for determining measured variable of liquid levels in a medium (Liquiphant Failsafe) having a SUS 318L sheet (Figures on page 26 and 27 show sheet), an adhesion promotor of alloy 22, and an enamel coating (page 27, rightmost column in bottom table). Alloy 22 is Hastelloy C-22, which is Ni(56)Cr(22)Mo(13), meeting requirements of Claims 16, 18, and 19. Regarding Claim 27, the device is characterized as tuning fork (vibratable unit) (page 26). Regarding Claim 28, the wetted part in this device is the measuring head (below the flange in photo of FTL80 on page 27).
Claim(s) 16, 23, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Osumi JP 08-315963. Osumi teaches stainless steel plate coated with NiCo alloy followed by enamel layer (page 3; Example 1). Regarding Claim 23, Osumi teaches powders are applied (top of page 6) by suspension in water and binder (middle page 6) to the stainless steel, which is a coating process. Osumi teaches plating in order of Claim 30.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endress+Hauser in “Level Measurement” downloaded from www.dk.endress.com on 10 Sept. 2021 (28 March 2014)(44 pages) (NPL No. 1 on IDS filed on 16 Jan. 2025) (hereinafter, Endress). Endress is relied upon as set forth above in the section 102 rejection over Endress. Endress does not specify the order of application of layers, but, as one of two possible ways, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to first apply the middle adhesion promoter Alloy 22 layer on the stainless steel and to second apply the enamel layer on the adhesion promoter Alloy 22 layer with the expectation that the resulting characterized laminate in Endress would result.
Claim(s) 16, 17, 21, 22, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshihiro CN 1443873. Yoshihiro teaches stainless steel material (Claim 1), which can be 19 mm body thickness (page 8) [a sheet] which can be further coated with NiCr alloy layer, and enamel layer (Claim 1). While this configuration may not be exemplified, Yoshihiro teaches that it is effective. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to prepare article with this configuration since Yoshihiro suggests it may be effective. Regarding Claim 17, Yoshihiro suggests claimed thicknesses (page 8, Embodiment 3: 40 to 70 microns; Claim 4), rendering this obvious. Regarding Claim 21, Yoshihiro suggests claimed thickness (Claim 3: 600 to 2500 microns), rendering this obvious. Regarding Claim 22, to the extent that this claim requires thickness from 1.0 mm to 2.2 mm, Yoshihiro suggests for same reasons as applicable to Claim 21. Regarding Claim 30, Yoshihiro teaches the sequence of steps (page 8).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osumi JP 08-315963. Osumi teaches stainless steel plate coated with NiCo alloy followed by enamel layer (page 3; Example 1). Osumi does not exemplify claimed Co amount in Claim 20. However, Osumi teaches Co alloy composition overlapping that claimed (Example 1), rendering it obvious. See MPEP 2145.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 24 and 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 25 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Regarding Claims 24, 25, and 29, the reviewed prior art does not teach or suggest the subject matter of these claims. Particularly, the reviewed prior art does not teach or suggest claimed Ra in claimed context of Claim 24 or the devices of Claims 25 and 19. For example, Yoshihiro CN 1443873 teaches or suggests many claimed features for the reasons set forth above in the section 103 rejection over Yoshihiro, but fails to expressly teach or suggest claimed Ra value or provide basis for establishing its inherency. Likewise, Endress+Hauser in “Level Measurement” downloaded from www.dk.endress.com on 10 Sept. 2021 (28 March 2014)(44 pages) (NPL No. 1 on IDS filed on 16 Jan. 2025) (hereinafter, Endress) teaches or suggests many claimed features for the reasons set forth above in the section 102 rejection over Endress, but fails to expressly teach or suggest claimed device features of Claims 25 and 29.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL E. LA VILLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784 13 June 2026