DETAILED ACTION
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 9/21/2026. Claim 14-15, 17-27, 29-34 remain pending for consideration on the merits.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: “the air blowing mode of the target indoor unit includes a first mode and a second mode; in response to the indoor humidity being less than a preset humidity threshold, the air blowing correction coefficient for the first mode and the air blowing correction coefficient for the second mode are zero; and in response to the indoor humidity being greater than or equal to the preset humidity threshold, the air blowing correction coefficient for the first mode and the air blowing correction coefficient for the second mode are non-zero and different from each other”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In claim 34, applicant has added the limitation “the air blowing mode of the target indoor unit includes a first mode and a second mode; in response to the indoor humidity being less than a preset humidity threshold, the air blowing correction coefficient for the first mode and the air blowing correction coefficient for the second mode are zero; and in response to the indoor humidity being greater than or equal to the preset humidity threshold, the air blowing correction coefficient for the first mode and the air blowing correction coefficient for the second mode are non-zero and different from each other”. Applicant provides in paragraph 0080 “When a flag bit corresponding to the gentle breeze mode of the target indoor unit is detected and the humidity is greater than 70%, the value in Table 1 above is applied. When the flag bit corresponding to the gentle breeze mode of the target indoor unit is not detected or the humidity is less than 70%, the value of Ca is directly set to zero. When a flag bit corresponding to the anti-direct blowing mode of the target indoor unit is detected and the humidity is greater than 70%, the value in Table 2 above is applied. When the flag bit corresponding to the anti-direct blowing mode of the target indoor unit is not detected or the humidity is less than 70%, Cb is directly set to zero. It can be understood that for any indoor unit, only one mode flag bit can exist at the same time, i.e., the value of at least one of Ca or Cb is set to zero”. However, neither the disclosure of the figures either explicitly or implicitly disclose the air blowing mode of the target indoor unit includes a first mode and a second mode; in response to the indoor humidity being less than a preset humidity threshold, the air blowing correction coefficient for the first mode and the air blowing correction coefficient for the second mode are zero; and in response to the indoor humidity being greater than or equal to the preset humidity threshold, the air blowing correction coefficient for the first mode and the air blowing correction coefficient for the second mode are non-zero and different from each other. There is nothing in the originally filed claims, specification or drawings to support this newly added limitation. Thus, the newly added limitation is deemed to be NEW MATTER.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-15, 18-21, 23-27, 30-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al (EP 2532992) in view of Kim (CN 1782581) and Zhen et al (CN 113391139).
Regarding claim 14, Sato teaches a method for controlling a multi-split air conditioning system (1) comprising: in response to a preset condition (outside air temperature and capacity, paragraph 0013) being met: determining a first degree of superheat (superheat, paragraphs 0013-0018, 0026-0033) of a target indoor unit (3a-f) in an air blowing mode (fans, paragraph 0022, 0026) of the multi-split air conditioning system according to a temperature characteristic value (detected values of 30a-f, paragraph 0037) of an evaporator coil (19a-f) of the target indoor unit, an evaporation outlet temperature value (29) of the target indoor unit, and adjusting an opening degree (opening, paragraph 0038) of a throttling element (8) of the target indoor unit according to the first degree of superheat (paragraphs 0013-0018, 0026-0033); and in response to the preset condition being not met: determining a second degree of superheat (repeated, paragraph 0038) of the target indoor unit according to the temperature characteristic value of the evaporator coil of the target indoor unit and the evaporation outlet temperature value of the target indoor unit (paragraph 0037-0041); and adjusting the opening degree of the throttling element of the target indoor unit according to the second degree of superheat (opening, paragraph 0030-0031 0033, 0038, 0041-0042, 0044-0045); the evaporation outlet temperature value is measured at a point on an outdoor unit side (fig. 1); and the preset condition includes that a compressor (4) of the multi-split air conditioning system has continuously operated for longer than a first preset time (period of time, paragraph 0025), the compressor has continuously been in a stable state for longer than a second preset time (0013-0018, 0026-0033, 0037-0044) and the temperature characteristic value of the target indoor unit is less than a target evaporation temperature (different, paragraph 0037) of the target indoor unit but fails to explicitly teach an air blowing correction coefficient; the air blowing correction coefficient is related to the air blowing mode of the target indoor unit and the compressor being in the stable state includes a frequency fluctuation amplitude of the compressor being less than a preset amplitude.
However, Kim teaches an air blowing correction coefficient (baseline superheat, paragraph 0018); the air blowing correction coefficient is related to the air blowing mode of the target indoor unit (1-3, paragraph 0018, 0073, 0084) to operate the indoor unit efficiently.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the multi-split air conditioning system of Sato to include an air blowing correction coefficient; the air blowing correction coefficient is related to the air blowing mode of the target indoor unit in view of the teachings of Kim to operate the indoor unit efficiently.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach the compressor being in the stable state includes a frequency fluctuation amplitude of the compressor being less than a preset amplitude.
However, Zhen teaches the compressor being in the stable state includes a frequency fluctuation amplitude (frequency fluctuation amplitude, paragraph 0019-0023) of the compressor being less than a preset amplitude (preset range, paragraph 0019-0023) to provide improving the accuracy of phase loss detection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the multi-split air conditioning system of the combined teachings to include the compressor being in the stable state includes a frequency fluctuation amplitude of the compressor being less than a preset amplitude in view of the teachings of Zhen to provide improving the accuracy of phase loss detection.
Regarding claims 15 and 27, the combined teachings teach the evaporation outlet temperature value is measured by a temperature sensor (29 of Sato) arranged at a refrigerant pipeline (fig. 1 of Sato) between an evaporator (19a-f) of the target indoor unit and an air inlet of the compressor (fig. 1 of Sato), and located on the outdoor unit side (fig. 1 of Sato).
Regarding claims 18 and 30, the combined teachings teach determining the second degree of superheat includes: obtaining the evaporation outlet temperature value of the target indoor unit (paragraphs 0013-0018, 0026-0033, 0037-0044 of Sato), and the temperature characteristic value of the evaporator coil of the target indoor unit (paragraphs 0013-0018, 0026-0033, 0037-0044 of Sato); and determining the second degree of superheat according to the evaporation outlet temperature value (paragraphs 0013-0018, 0026-0033, 0037-0044 of Sato), the temperature characteristic value (paragraphs 0013-0018, 0026-0033, 0037-0044 of Sato), a valve diameter of the throttling element of the target indoor unit (paragraphs 0013-0018, 0026-0033, 0037-0044 of Sato), and a pipe length between the target indoor unit and an outdoor unit of the multi-split air conditioning system (paragraphs 0013-0018, 0026-0033, 0037-0044 of Sato).
Regarding claims 19 and 31, the combined teachings teach adjusting the opening degree of the throttling element includes: determining an opening degree correction coefficient according to a current opening degree of the throttling element (paragraphs 0013-0018, 0026-0033, 0037-0044 of Sato); updating the current opening degree of the throttling element according to the first degree of superheat (paragraphs 0013-0018, 0026-0033, 0037-0044 of Sato) and the opening degree correction coefficient (paragraphs 0013-0018, 0026-0033, 0037-0044 of Sato); and maintaining the current opening degree of the throttling element for a preset duration (paragraphs 0013-0018, 0026-0033, 0037-0044 of Sato).
Regarding claims 20 and 32, the combined teachings teach adjusting the opening degree of the throttling element includes: determining an opening degree correction coefficient according to a current opening degree (paragraphs 0013-0018, 0026-0033, 0037-0044 of Sato) of the throttling element of the target indoor unit; updating the current opening degree of the throttling element according to the second degree of superheat (paragraphs 0013-0018, 0026-0033, 0037-0044 of Sato) and the opening degree correction coefficient (paragraphs 0013-0018, 0026-0033, 0037-0044 of Sato); and maintaining the current opening degree of the throttling element for a preset duration (paragraphs 0013-0018, 0026-0033, 0037-0044 of Sato).
Regarding claims 21 and 33, the combined teachings teach the evaporation outlet temperature value is measured by a temperature sensor (fig. 1 sensor arrangement of Sato) arranged in a middle portion of an evaporator (19a-f of Sato) of the target indoor unit.
Regarding claim 23, the combined teachings teach re-detecting (paragraphs 0013-0018, 0026-0033, 0037-0044 of Sato), based on a preset time interval (paragraphs 0013-0018, 0026-0033, 0037-0044 of Sato), whether the indoor unit satisfies the preset condition (paragraphs 0013-0018, 0026-0033, 0037-0044 of Sato).
Regarding claim 24, the combined teachings teach a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing one or more computer-executable instructions (paragraph 0026 of Kim) that, when executed by a processor (124-136 of Kim), cause the processor to perform the method of claim 14.
Regarding claim 25, the combined teachings teach all the limitations of claim 25. See rejections of claims 14 and 24.
Regarding claim 26, the combined teachings teach all the limitations of claim 25. See rejections of claims 14 and 24.
Claim(s) 17 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al (EP 2532992) in view of Kim (CN 1782581) and Zhen et al (CN 11331139) as applied to claim 14 in further view of Huerta-Ochoa (US 20120260679).
Regarding claims 17 and 29, the combined teachings teach determining the first degree of superheat includes: obtaining the evaporation outlet temperature value of the target indoor unit (paragraphs 0013-0018, 0026-0033, 0037-0044 of Sato), the temperature characteristic value of the evaporator coil of the target indoor unit (paragraphs 0013-0018, 0026-0033, 0037-0044 of Sato), and determining the air blowing correction coefficient the air blowing mode of the target indoor unit (paragraph 0018, 0073, 0084 of Kim); and determining the first degree of superheat according to the air blowing correction coefficient (paragraph 0018, 0073, 0084 of Kim), the evaporation outlet temperature value, the temperature characteristic value (paragraphs 0013-0018, 0026-0033, 0037-0044 of Sato), a valve diameter of the throttling element of the target indoor unit (paragraphs 0013-0018, 0026-0033, 0037-0044 of Sato), and a pipe length between the target indoor unit and an outdoor unit (7) of the multi-split air conditioning system (paragraphs 0013-0018, 0026-0033, 0037-0044 of Sato) but fails to explicitly teach an indoor humidity detected by the target indoor unit.
However, Huerto-Ochoa teaches the air blowing coefficient (496) according to an indoor humidity (494) detected by the target indoor unit to efficiently control the system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the multi-split air conditioning system of the combined teachings to include the air blowing coefficient according to an indoor humidity detected by the target indoor unit in view of the teachings of Huerto-Ochoa to efficiently control the system.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al (EP 2532992) in view of Kim (CN 1782581) as applied to claim 14 in further view of Kim et al (US 20230250976).
Regarding claim 22, the combined teachings teach the air blowing mode of the target indoor unit (paragraph 0018, 0073, 0084 of Kim) and an indoor temperature (indoor temperature, paragraph 0052 of Kim); but fails to explicitly teach the target evaporation temperature is determined according to a dew point temperature corresponding to the target indoor unit, the dew point temperature is related to an indoor humidity detected by the target indoor unit.
However, Kim teaches the target evaporation temperature is determined according to a dew point temperature (dew point temperature, paragraph 0089) corresponding to the target indoor unit, an evaporation temperature correction coefficient (evaporation temperature, paragraph 0089), and the dew point temperature is related to an indoor humidity (humidity, paragraph 0089) detected by the target indoor unit to prevent user discomfort.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the multi-split air conditioning system of the combined teachings to include the target evaporation temperature is determined according to a dew point temperature corresponding to the target indoor unit, the dew point temperature is related to an indoor humidity detected by the target indoor unit in view of the teachings of Kim to prevent user discomfort.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 34 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claims 34, the subject matter which is considered to distinguish from the closest prior art of record, Becky (US 4735054). The prior art of record teaches sensing the humidity of an indoor space to be cooled by the refrigeration system to determine whether the sensed humidity is below a preset humidity setpoint level or above the preset humidity level, and controlling an energization of an indoor coil fan during a time period starting with an energization of the compressor apparatus and ending after the deenergization of the compressor apparatus and having a fan energization duration during the time period dependent on the sensed humidity in contrast to the claimed features of the air blowing mode of the target indoor unit includes a first mode and a second mode; in response to the indoor humidity being less than a preset humidity threshold, the air blowing correction coefficient for the first mode and the air blowing correction coefficient for the second mode are zero; and in response to the indoor humidity being greater than or equal to the preset humidity threshold, the air blowing correction coefficient for the first mode and the air blowing correction coefficient for the second mode are non-zero and different from each other.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELIZABETH J MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763