DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 6-8, 12-13, 15 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities.
Claim 1 recites “one or more wind capture funnels located at a first location of the existing structure; a plurality of air pressure powered rotors each mounted to a shaft of a respective generator at a second location of the existing structure, the air pressure powered rotors and generators being arranged in series inside a casing and reducing in diameter along the series; and a conduit fluidly connecting the one or more wind capture funnels at the first location of the existing structure to the casing, air pressure powered rotors and generators at the second location of the existing structure; wherein each generator is held centrally within the casing by struts and the casing tapers between each rotor to account for the reducing diameter of the rotors along the series and to funnel air in the casing as the rotors reduce in size” (emphasis added); for claim terminology consistency purposes, the examiner recommends reciting “one or more wind capture funnels located at a first location of the existing structure; a plurality of air pressure powered rotors each mounted to a shaft of a respective generator at a second location of the existing structure, the plurality of air pressure powered rotors and respective generators being arranged in series inside a casing and reducing in diameter along the series; and a conduit fluidly connecting the one or more wind capture funnels at the first location of the existing structure to the casing, the plurality of air pressure powered rotors and respective generators at the second location of the existing structure; wherein each of the respective generators is held centrally within the casing by struts and the casing tapers between each of the plurality of air pressure powered rotors to account for the reducing diameter of the plurality of air pressure powered rotors along the series and to funnel air in the casing as the plurality of air pressure powered rotors reduce in size”.
Claim 6 recites “the plurality of air pressure powered rotors and generators”; for claim terminology consistency purposes, the examiner recommends reciting “the plurality of air pressure powered rotors and respective generators”.
Claim 7 recites “its own generator”; for claim terminology consistency purposes, the examiner recommends reciting “its own respective generator”.
Claim 8 recites “the air pressure powered rotor comprises”; for claim terminology consistency purposes, the examiner recommends reciting “each of the plurality of air pressure powered rotors comprise[[s]]”.
Claim 12 recites “each generator is coaxially arranged with each air pressure powered rotor”; for claim terminology consistency purposes, the examiner recommends reciting “each respective generator is coaxially arranged with each of the plurality of air pressure powered rotors”.
Claim 13 recites “each air pressure powered rotor and generator are colocated on a single shaft that is separate and independent from the next rotor and generator combination in the same series”; for claim terminology consistency purposes, the examiner recommends reciting “each of the plurality of air pressure powered rotors and respective generator are colocated on a single shaft that is separate and independent from an adjacent air pressure powered rotor and respective generator combination in the same series”.
Claim 15 recites “fluidly connecting a casing containing a plurality of air pressure powered rotors to an outlet of the conduit at a second location of the existing structure, the air pressure powered rotors being arranged in series inside the casing and reducing in diameter along the series with the casing tapering between each rotor to account for the reducing diameter of the rotors along the series and to funnel air in the casing as the rotors reduce in size; and generating electricity using wind pressure received by the one or more wind capture funnels using a plurality of generators each having an air pressure powered rotor mounted to its shaft and being held centrally within the casing by struts”; for claim terminology consistency purposes, the examiner recommends reciting “fluidly connecting a casing containing a plurality of air pressure powered rotors to an outlet of the conduit at a second location of the existing structure, the plurality of air pressure powered rotors being arranged in series inside the casing and reducing in diameter along the series with the casing tapering between each of the plurality of air pressure powered rotors to account for the reducing diameter of the plurality of air pressure powered rotors along the series and to funnel air in the casing as the plurality of air pressure powered rotors reduce in size; and generating electricity using wind pressure received by the one or more wind capture funnels using a plurality of generators each having an air pressure powered rotor mounted to its shaft and being held centrally within the casing by struts”.
Claim 17 recites “generated by the generator(s)”; for claim terminology consistency purposes, the examiner recommends reciting “generated by the plurality of generators
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the phrase "such as" which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 2-14 depend from claim 1 and fail to remedy its deficiencies.
Claim 4 recites “the one or more wind capture funnels comprise a filter at the wind capture funnel entrance”; it is not clear how the claimed invention is configured in a way the only one filter is capable of being placed at the wind capture funnel entrance of more than one wind capture funnel.
Claim 4 further recites the limitation “the wind capture funnel entrance”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Additionally, note that the claim recites a potential of more than one wind capture funnels and the recitation of the wind capture funnel entrance is singular which also renders the claim indefinite.
Claim 10 recites “the first location is at or near a roof of the building” and depends from claim 1 which recites “an existing structure such as a building”; since it is not clear if a building is part or not of the claimed invention, see claim 1 rejection above, claim 10 is rendered indefinite because there is insufficient antecedent basis for the building limitation in claim 10.
Claim 14 recites “a plurality of wind capture funnels” and depends from claim 1 which recites “one or more wind capture funnels”; it is not clear if a plurality of wind capture funnels in claim 14 refer to the wind capture funnels in claim 1 or to different and additional ones.
Claim 15 recites the phrase "such as" which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 15 further recites “a plurality of air pressure powered rotors” and also recites “an air pressure powered rotor”; it is not clear if an air pressure powered rotor is included in a plurality of air pressure powered rotors or is a different and additional one.
Claim 15 further recites “mounted to its shaft”; it is not clear what shaft the claim recitation refers to since no shaft has been previously introduced in the claim.
Claims 16-17 and 19 depend from claim 15 and fail to remedy its deficiencies.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the step of mounting a conduit”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “the step of transmitting electricity”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites “a plurality of wind capture funnels” and depends from claim 15 which recites “one or more wind capture funnels”; it is not clear if a plurality of wind capture funnels in claim 19 refer to the wind capture funnels in claim 15 or to different and additional ones.
Clarification and/or amendment is respectfully requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 5-7, 9-10, 12-17 and 19 (as far as the claim(s) are definite and understood) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allaei (US 20150152849 A1) in view of KR 20140003891 U – hereafter KR – and Pickett (US 8,727,698 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Allaei teaches a diversely useful wind power generation system (Fig.1-3 and 8-9) for use with an existing structure such as a building (¶73), the diversely useful wind power generation system comprising:
one or more wind capture funnels (Fig.1/3/8 and ¶74, note 120/332) located at a first location of the existing structure (Fig.8);
a plurality of air pressure powered rotors (Fig.2, 210) at a second location of the existing structure (Fig.1/2/8, note energy extraction section), and
a conduit fluidly connecting the one or more wind capture funnels at the first location of the existing structure to a casing (Fig.1/2/8).
Allaei does not explicitly teach each of the plurality of air pressure powered rotors being mounted to a shaft of a respective generator, the air pressure powered rotors and generators being arranged in series inside a casing and reducing in diameter along the series; air pressure powered rotors and generators at the second location of the existing structure; wherein each generator is held centrally within the casing by struts and the casing tapers between each rotor to account for the reducing diameter of the rotors along the series and to funnel air in the casing as the rotors reduce in size.
KR teaches a wind power generation system (Fig.4/6) including a plurality of air pressure powered rotors (20/21) being mounted to a shaft of a respective generator (20/23), the air pressure powered rotors and generators being arranged in series inside a casing (10); wherein each generator is held centrally within the casing by struts (Fig.4, not labeled). KR’s configuration allows generating more electricity when compared to a single rotor/generator system.
Pickett teaches a wind power generation system (Fig.1-4) including a plurality of air pressure powered rotors (T1-T3) and generators (column 6 line 1-2, note “generate electric power using wind turbines and electric generators”), the air pressure powered rotors and generators being arranged in series (Fig.4) inside a casing and reducing in diameter along the series (Fig.4); the air pressure powered rotors and generators at a second location of a structure (Fig.3/4); wherein the casing tapers between each rotor to account for the reducing diameter of the rotors along the series and to funnel air in the casing as the rotors reduce in size (Fig.4); said configuration is advantageous when extracting energy from the wind with a plurality of air pressure powered rotors aligned in series (column 4 line 33-44).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the wind power generation system of Allaei by having the plurality of air pressure powered rotors being mounted to a shaft of a respective generator, the air pressure powered rotors and generators being arranged in series inside a casing; wherein each generator is held centrally within the casing by struts based on the teachings of KR because this configuration allows generating more electricity when compared to a single rotor/generator system; and to further modify the wind power generation system of Allaei and KR by having the air pressure powered rotors and generators being arranged in series inside a casing and reducing in diameter along the series; the air pressure powered rotors and generators at a second location of a structure; wherein the casing tapers between each rotor to account for the reducing diameter of the rotors along the series and to funnel air in the casing as the rotors reduce in size based on the teachings of Pickett said configuration is advantageous when extracting energy from the wind with a plurality of air pressure powered rotors aligned in series.
Regarding claim 2, Allaei, KR and Pickett further teach the conduit is attached and extends externally to the existing structure (Allaei Fig.9, see bottom portion of units 805).
Regarding claim 3, Allaei, KR and Pickett further teach the one or more wind capture funnels are rotatably attached to the conduit (Allaei Fig.1 and ¶23, note “Nozzle 122 may be rotatably coupled to duct 125”).
Regarding claim 4, Allaei, KR and Pickett further teach the one or more wind capture funnels comprise a filter at the wind capture funnel entrance (Allaei ¶25 and Fig.1, 130).
Regarding claim 5, Allaei, KR and Pickett further teach one or more pressure release valves (KR Fig.7, 15) in fluid communication with the conduit, the one or more pressure release valves being configured to release air pressure from inside the conduit when the air pressure exceeds a predetermined maximum (KR machine translation page 4 line 1-2, note “one or more pressure release valves in fluid communication with the conduit, the one or more pressure release valves being configured to release air pressure from inside the conduit when the air pressure exceeds a predetermined maximum”).
Regarding claim 6, Allaei, KR and Pickett further teach the plurality of air pressure powered rotors and generators arranged in series are axially aligned (Pickett Fig.4).
Regarding claim 7, Allaei, KR and Pickett further teach each of the plurality of air pressure powered rotors are mechanically coupled to its own generator at the second location (Pickett Fig.4).
Regarding claim 9, Allaei, KR and Pickett further teach the existing structure is a building and the conduit is mounted to one or more of a wall and a roof of the building (Allaei Fig.8/9).
Regarding claim 10, Allaei, KR and Pickett further teach the first location is at or near a roof of the building (Allaei Fig.8/9) and the second location is located inside the building or adjacent to the building (Allaei Fig.8, see bottom of unit 805 where second location is adjacent to the building; Fig.9, see bottom portion of units 805 where second location is inside the building).
Regarding claim 12, Allaei, KR and Pickett further teach each generator is coaxially arranged with each air pressure powered rotor (Pickett Fig.4).
Regarding claim 13, Allaei, KR and Pickett further teach each air pressure powered rotor and generator are colocated on a single shaft that is separate and independent from the next rotor and generator combination in the same series (Pickett Fig.4).
Regarding claim 14, Allaei, KR and Pickett further teach a plurality of wind capture funnels are fluidly connected at different locations to the same conduit (Allaei ¶49 and Fig.3, note plural funnels 332/342 connect to conduit 125).
Regarding claim 15, Allaei teaches a method of installing and using a diversely useful wind power generation system (Fig.1-3 and 8-9) to an existing structure such as a building (¶73), the method comprising:
mounting a conduit to one or more of a wall and a roof of the existing structure (Fig.8-9);
installing one or more wind capture funnels to one or more inlets of the conduit at a first location of the existing structure (Fig.1/3/8 and ¶74, note 120/332); and
fluidly connecting a casing containing a plurality of air pressure powered rotors (Fig.2, casing unlabeled, rotors 210) to an outlet of the conduit at a second location of the existing structure (Fig.1/8).
Allaei does not explicitly teach the air pressure powered rotors being arranged in series inside the casing and reducing in diameter along the series with the casing tapering between each rotor to account for the reducing diameter of the rotors along the series and to funnel air in the casing as the rotors reduce in size; and generating electricity using wind pressure received by the one or more wind capture funnels using a plurality of generators each having an air pressure powered rotor mounted to its shaft and being held centrally within the casing by struts.
KR teaches a wind power generation system (Fig.4/6) including a plurality of air pressure powered rotors (20/21) being arranged in series inside the casing (10); wherein each generator is held centrally within the casing by struts (Fig.4, not labeled). KR’s configuration allows generating more electricity when compared to a single rotor/generator system.
Pickett teaches a wind power generation system (Fig.1-4) including a plurality of air pressure powered rotors (T1-T3) and generators (column 6 line 1-2, note “generate electric power using wind turbines and electric generators”), the air pressure powered rotors and generators being arranged in series (Fig.4) inside a casing and reducing in diameter along the series with the casing tapering between each rotor to account for the reducing diameter of the rotors along the series and to funnel air in the casing as the rotors reduce in size (Fig.4); the air pressure powered rotors and generators at a second location of a structure (Fig.3/4); wherein the casing tapers between each rotor to account for the reducing diameter of the rotors along the series and to funnel air in the casing as the rotors reduce in size (Fig.4), and generating electricity using wind pressure using a plurality of generators each having an air pressure powered rotor mounted to its shaft; said configuration is advantageous when extracting energy from the wind with a plurality of air pressure powered rotors aligned in series (column 4 line 33-44).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the wind power generation system of Allaei by having the air pressure powered rotors being arranged in series inside the casing, generating electricity using generators being held centrally within the casing by struts based on the teachings of KR because this configuration allows generating more electricity when compared to a single rotor/generator system; and to further modify the wind power generation system of Allaei and KR by having reducing in diameter along the series with the casing tapering between each rotor to account for the reducing diameter of the rotors along the series and to funnel air in the casing as the rotors reduce in size; and generating electricity using wind pressure received by the one or more wind capture funnels using the plurality of generators each having an air pressure powered rotor mounted to its shaft based on the teachings of Pickett said configuration is advantageous when extracting energy from the wind with a plurality of air pressure powered rotors aligned in series.
Regarding claim 16, Allaei, KR and Pickett further teach mounting the conduit externally to the existing structure (Allaei Fig.9, see bottom portion of units 805).
Regarding claim 17, Allaei, KR and Pickett further teach transmitting electricity generated by the generator(s) to one or more of storage batteries or an electricity grid (Allaei ¶22, note “electrical power may be delivered to a storage battery, directly to an electrical load, and/or to a power grid”).
Regarding claim 19, Allaei, KR and Pickett further teach a plurality of wind capture funnels are fluidly connected at different locations to the same conduit (Allaei ¶49 and Fig.3, note plural funnels 332/342 connect to conduit 125).
Claim(s) 8 (as far as the claim(s) are definite and understood) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allaei, KR and Pickett as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Birkestrand (US 11,384,734 B1).
Regarding claim 8, Allaei, KR and Pickett teach all the limitations of claim 1, see above, however, do not explicitly teach the air pressure powered rotor comprises at least three blades that are curved or angled and have overlapping portions.
Birkestrand teaches a wind power generation system (Fig.4-6) including an air powered rotor (410/415/420). Birkestrand further teaches the air powered rotor comprises at least three blades that are curved or angled and have overlapping portions (Fig.4-6, column 5 line 31-34); this configuration allows capturing of additional lift forces to improve the overall efficiency of the wind power generation system (column 5 line 31-34).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the wind power generation system of Allaei, KR and Pickett by having the air pressure powered rotor comprises at least three blades that are curved or angled and have overlapping portions based on the teachings of Birkestrand because this configuration allows capturing of additional lift forces to improve the overall efficiency of the wind power generation system.
Claim(s) 11 (as far as the claim(s) are definite and understood) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allaei, KR and Pickett as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Park (KR 20120022298 A).
Regarding claim 11, Allaei, KR and Pickett teach all the limitations of claim 1, see above, however, do not explicitly teach each of the one or more wind capture funnels each comprise a rudder.
Park teaches a wind power generation system (Fig.1) including one or more wind capture funnels (61) each comprise a rudder (62); this configuration allows the rudder to always face the air inlet of the one or more wind capture funnels in the direction of blowing wind (machine translation page 2 line 36-37).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the wind power generation system of Allaei, KR and Pickett by having each of the one or more wind capture funnels each comprise a rudder based on the teachings of Park because this configuration allows the rudder to always face the air inlet of the one or more wind capture funnels in the direction of blowing wind.
Conclusion
/JUAN G FLORES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745