DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: replace “a method of claim 1” by –the method of claim 1--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: replace “a method of claim 1” by –the method of claim 1--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al.(US 20220116902 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Liu et al. teach A wireless communication method, comprising:
determining, by a wireless device, a paging indication ([0008] a terminal device in an idle or inactive state receives a paging message from a base station); and
performing a positioning related operation ([0008] The terminal device transmits the uplink positioning reference signal using the configuration) in response to the determining the paging indication ([0008] in response to the paging message), wherein the positioning related operation is associated with the paging indication ([0008] The paging message includes a configuration related to an uplink positioning reference signal to trigger uplink positioning).
Regarding claim 2, Liu et al. teach The method of The method of claim 1,
wherein an association between the positioning related operation and the paging indication is included in a system information block (SIB) or a radio resource control (RRC) release signaling received by the communication device ([0078] The predefined configurations may be sent to the terminal device 205 through any suitable signaling, which may include but not be limited to system information or RRC signaling).
Regarding claim 3, Liu et al. teach The method of claim 1,
wherein the positioning related operation is performed by the wireless device in an inactive state or an idle state ([0008] The terminal device transmits the uplink positioning reference signal using the configuration or releasing the uplink positioning in response to the paging message while the terminal device is in the idle or inactive state), and
wherein the positioning related operation includes receiving or transmitting a reference signal ([0008] The terminal device transmits the uplink positioning reference signal using the configuration, [0059] the gNB to notify user equipment (UE) of transmitting Positioning Reference Signals (PRSs) such as a SRS), transmitting a measurement report, receiving a first shared channel, or transmitting a second shared channel.
Regarding claim 4, Liu et al. teach The method of claim 3, wherein the receiving or transmitting the reference signal includes receiving a positioning reference signal or transmitting a sounding reference signal ([0059] the gNB to notify user equipment (UE) of transmitting Positioning Reference Signals (PRSs) such as a SRS).
Regarding claim 18, Liu et al. teach The method of claim 1, wherein the wireless device includes a communication device ([0008] a terminal device), wherein the determining the paging indication includes receiving the paging indication ([0008] a terminal device in an idle or inactive state receives a paging message from a base station), and wherein the performing the positioning related operation includes receiving a positioning reference signal (([0008] The terminal device transmits the uplink positioning reference signal using the configuration).
Regarding claim 19, Liu et al. teach The method of claim 1, wherein the wireless device includes a base station ([0008] a base station), wherein the determining the paging indication includes transmitting the paging indication ([0008] a terminal device in an idle or inactive state receives a paging message from a base station), and wherein the performing the positioning related operation includes receiving a sounding reference signal [0059] the gNB to notify user equipment (UE) of transmitting Positioning Reference Signals (PRSs) such as a SRS).
Regarding claim 20, Liu et al. teach An apparatus for wireless communication comprising a processor ([0138] the device 900 includes a processor 910 ), configured to implement a method recited in one or more of claim 1.
Regarding claim 21, Liu et al. teach A non-transitory computer readable program storage medium ([0138] a memory 920) having code stored thereon ([038] The memory 920 stores at least a program 940.), the code, when executed by a processor , causing the processor to implement a method of claim 1 ([0139] The program 940 is assumed to include program instructions that, when executed by the associated processor 910, enable the device 900 to operate in accordance with the example embodiments of the present disclosure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. in view of Ma et al. (CN113163476A).
Regarding claim 6, Liu et al. teach The method of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the wireless device performs the positioning related operation in response to the receiving the paging indication (Liu [0008] The terminal device transmits the uplink positioning reference signal ... in response to the paging message)
Liu et al. do not teach
receiving, by the wireless device, a paging early indication (PEI) that indicates that the wireless device is expected to receive the paging indication,
In a similar Ma et al. endeavor, teach
receiving, by the wireless device, a paging early indication (PEI) that indicates that the wireless device is expected to receive the paging indication (Ma [0064] Receive a paging indication (PEI) signal before the paging opportunity (PO), wherein the PEI signal is used to indicate whether the terminal UE receives PO during the paging period),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Liu et al. by incorporating Ma et al. PEI to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have indicated to the UE whether it needs to be woken up to receive a paging message, thus conserving battery power.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Liu et al. and Ma et al. teaches The method of The method of claim 6,
wherein the wireless device receives a system information block (SIB) or a radio resource control (RRC) release signaling (Liu [0078] The predefined configurations may be sent to the terminal device 205 through any suitable signaling, which may include but not be limited to system information or RRC signaling ) that indicate:
(1) whether the PEI indicates that the wireless device is expected to receive the paging indication (Ma [0064] the PEI signal is used to indicate whether the terminal UE receives PO during the paging period), or
(2) whether one or more time windows for performing the positioning related operation is associated with the paging indication that is indicated by the PEI.
The motivation of doing so would have indicated to the UE whether it needs to be woken up to receive a paging message, thus conserving battery power.
Regarding claim 11, Liu et al. teach The method of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the wireless device receives a positioning reference signal in response to the receiving the paging indication (Liu [0008] The terminal device transmits the uplink positioning reference signal ... in response to the paging message)
Liu et al. do not teach
receiving, by the wireless device, a paging early indication (PEI) that indicates that the wireless device is expected to receive the paging indication
wherein the paging indication indicates that a time window is valid , and
wherein the wireless device receives a positioning reference signal in response to the receiving the paging indication and the PEI.
In a similar endeavor, Ma et al. teach
receiving, by the wireless device, a paging early indication (PEI) that indicates that the wireless device is expected to receive the paging indication (Ma [0064] Receive a paging indication (PEI) signal before the paging opportunity (PO), wherein the PEI signal is used to indicate whether the terminal UE receives PO during the paging period),,
wherein the paging indication indicates that a time window is valid (Ma [0075] the relevant information of the PEI receiving window is configured by the base station)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Liu et al. by incorporating Ma et al. PEI to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have indicated to the UE whether it needs to be woken up to receive a paging message, thus conserving battery power.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. in view of Zhang et al. (US 20240430857 A1)
Regarding claim 14, Liu et al. teach The method of claim 1, but do not teach further comprising:
receiving, by the wireless device, a control information or a paging related signaling that indicates to the communication to enter a sleep mode after:
a paging occasion,
receiving a positioning reference signal,
the paging occasion and the receiving the positioning reference signal,
a time duration after the paging occasion and the receiving the positioning reference signal,
a time duration after a reception of a paging early indication (PEI), or
transmission of a measurement report or a small data transmission.
In a similar endeavor, Zhang et al. teach
receiving, by the wireless device, a control information or a paging related signaling that indicates to the communication to enter a sleep mode (Zhang [0008] the PEI indicates the UE not to detect the PO. Therefore, the UE goes back to deep sleep mode after receiving the PEI) after:
a time duration after a reception of a paging early indication (PEI) (Zhang [0008] the PEI indicates the UE not to detect the PO. Therefore, the UE goes back to deep sleep mode after receiving the PEI))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified .. et al. by incorporating Zhang et al. indication by a PEI to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have conserved the power of the UE battery.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. in view of Wu et al. (US 11902935 B2)
Regarding claim 15, Liu et al. teach The method of claim 1,
wherein the paging indication is associated with one paging reception window (Liu [0008] The terminal device transmits the uplink positioning reference signal ... in response to the paging message), one periodic paging time window (PTW), one paging occasion (PO) , one paging frame (PF), one or more PO sub-groups, one or more PF sub-groups, one paging monitoring occasion (PMO), or one or more PMO sub-groups.
Liu et al. do not teach
wherein at least one of the one or more PO sub-groups includes one or more POs , at least one of the one or more PF sub-groups includes one or more PFs, or at least one of the one or more PMO sub-groups includes one or more PMOs.
In a similar endeavor, Wu et al. teach
wherein at least one of the one or more PO sub-groups includes one or more POs (Wu Fig. 12 , Wu col 5 lines 4-6 FIG. 12 illustrates a schematic diagram of the number of a plurality of POs indicated by a paging early indication (PEI)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Liu et al. by incorporating Wu et al. group of POs to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have reduced the number of PEI’s transmitted by the base station.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. in view of Ben et al. (US 20230299917 A).
Regarding claim 16, Liu et al. teach The method of claim 1, but do not teach
wherein the wireless device includes a base station, and wherein the method further comprises:
receiving, by the base station, a reference signal received power (RSRP) related information from a location management function (LMF) that includes any one or more of the following:
a RSRP value,
a positioning reference signal (PRS) resource and/or resource set configuration that includes a PRS time configuration or PRS frequency configuration, and/or a center frequency,
a time stamp, a reference signal time difference (RSTD) or a UE receive-transmit timing value,
a physical cell identifier,
a cell global identifier,
a downlink physical reference signal resource identifier.
In a similar endeavor, Ben et al. teach
wherein the wireless device includes a base station ([0285] the serving base station ), and wherein the method further comprises:
receiving, by the base station, a reference signal received power (RSRP) related information from a location management function (LMF) (Ben [0285] the LMF determines the SPS DL-PRS configuration information of the UE configured via SPS in response to receiving the positioning request sent by the UE, and sends the SPS DL-PRS configuration information to the UE, the serving base station and the non-serving base station) that includes any one or more of the following:
a positioning reference signal (PRS) resource and/or resource set configuration that includes a PRS time configuration or PRS frequency configuration (Ben [0065] a period and time-frequency resource information of the SPS DL-PRS determined from the SPS DL-PRS configuration information), and/or a center frequency .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Liu et al. by incorporating Ben configuration information to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have obtained positioning measurements using the configuration information.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 8-10, and 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: .
Regarding claim 5, Liu et al. teach The method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, by the wireless device, the paging indication in a in a paging window, the idle or inactive terminal device 205 may monitor the paging message), and
wherein the wireless device performs the positioning related operation The terminal device transmits the uplink positioning reference signal ... in response to the paging message).
Liu et al. do not teach
a periodic paging time window; and
wherein the wireless device performs the positioning related operation in the PTW in response to receiving the paging indication.
In similar endeavor, Ma et al. teach
a periodic paging time window (Ma [0325] The base station periodically transmits PEI within the PEI transmission window, and the UE can receive PEI at the corresponding location).
However, the combination of Liu et al. and Ma et al. fails to teach
wherein the wireless device performs the positioning related operation in the PTW in response to receiving the paging indication.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Liu et al. and Ma et al. teaches The method of claim 7, further comprising:
receiving, by the wireless device, a paging early indication (PEI) that indicates that the wireless device is expected to receive the paging indication (Ma [0064] the PEI signal is used to indicate whether the terminal UE receives PO during the paging period),
wherein the wireless device performs the positioning related operation in response to the receiving the paging indication (Liu [0008] The terminal device transmits the uplink positioning reference signal ... in response to the paging message)
However, the combination of Liu et al. and Ma et al. teaches does not teach
performs the positioning in response to one or more conditions between the one or more time windows for performing the positioning related operation and the paging indication being satisfied.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Liu et al. and Ma et al. does not teach The method of claim 8, wherein the one or more conditions is satisfied when the paging indication is received overlapping with a time window in time domain.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Liu et al. and Ma et al. does not teach The method of claim 8, wherein the one or more conditions is satisfied in response to a distance in time domain between the paging indication and a time window being less than a threshold.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Liu et al. and Ma et al. teaches the method of claim 7, but does not teach
further comprising:
receiving, by the communication device, a paging early indication (PEI) that indicates whether the communication device is expected to receive a synchronization signal block (SSB) and a positioning reference signal.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Liu et al. and Ma et al. does not teach The method of claim 12, wherein the wireless device determines not to detect or receive or monitor the SSB and/or the positioning reference signal in response to an absence of reception of the paging indication.
Conclusion
/SAID M ELNOUBI/Examiner, Art Unit 2644