DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's submission filed on 07/14/2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PG Pub. US 2021/0155086 A1 – Pattabhiraman et al., hereinafter Pattabhiraman in view of PG Pub. US 2022/0134851 A1 – Lin et al., hereinafter Lin.
Regarding claim 1.
Pattabhiraman discloses a cover assembly (See at 110, fig 1a) for the truck bed of a pick-up type vehicle (See fig 1a), said assembly comprising
a motorized rollable curtain (110, fig 1a) formed by
a plurality of adjacent transverse panels (310, fig 3), continuously connected along their transverse length by hinge joints (315, fig 3), and
an end slat (Paragraph [0039]; movable portion 310 closest to the tailgate 108.),
said curtain (110, fig 1a) coupled at one end to
a transverse rotatable shaft (Paragraph [0037]; In one embodiment, the motor 320 is connected to the tonneau cover 110 via a central rotating drum) located within a housing box (Paragraph [0027]; the tonneau cover 110 is stored in or below the opening 130 or in a structure disposed between the cab and the bed of a vehicle.) to allow winding and unwinding of said curtain (Compare figs 1a and 1b), wherein
the end slat (Paragraph [0039]; movable portion 310 closest to the tailgate 108.) comprises one or more electric elements (Paragraph [0039]; In one embodiment, a pinch sensor can be integrated into a carrier that is attached to the movable portion 310 closest to the tailgate 108.) movable with the rollable curtain and electrically connected by one or more cable wires (Paragraph [0048]; electronic circuitry) to
circuitry (Paragraph [0048]; electronic circuitry), wherein the one or more electric elements (Paragraph [0039]; In one embodiment, a pinch sensor can be integrated into a carrier that is attached to the movable portion 310 closest to the tailgate 108.) are continuously powered during operation of the cover assembly by electrical power from the power source transmitted through the cable wires via the circuitry. (Paragraph [0039]; In one embodiment, the drive system associated with the movement of the tonneau cover 110 uses multiple systems for parallel safety measures. In one embodiment, one such system is driven primarily with two (2) microswitches confirming the specific open and the specific closed positions. In one embodiment, a high-resolution encoder constantly monitors the position of the tonneau cover 110. In one embodiment, the motor 320 is capable of providing a force-feedback function, which enables disabling power to the motor 320 at a specified application of force and therefore electrical current to the motor. In an alternate embodiment, an edge of the tonneau cover 110 is fitted with a multi-conductor pinch sensor which is able to pause the automatic movement of the tonneau cover 110 at any point in its routine travel when the sensor is activated.).
Pattabhiraman does not explicitly disclose said end slat having a unique geometry when compared to the plurality of adjacent transverse panels, or a smart-AI control circuit board (9) which is configured to receive electrical power from a power source (8), said smart-AI control circuit board being a stationary electric element mounted on the housing box (7).
However, Lin teaches an end slat (23, fig 2) having a unique geometry when compared to the plurality of adjacent transverse panels (21, fig 2; see also fig 4), and a smart-AI (Examiner notes that the term smart-AI is intended use language, and does not contribute to the structure of the apparatus.) control circuit board (70, fig 1) which is configured to receive electrical power from a power source (Examiner notes that the control circuit board must receive electrical power from a power source in order to function), said smart-AI control circuit board being a stationary electric element mounted on the housing box (50, fig 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Pattabhiraman with the unique end slat and circuit board and placement of Lin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications in order to yield the predictable results of preventing overwinding of the cover assembly, as suggested by fig 4 of Lin, and allowing for modular assembly as shown in fig 1 of Lin.
Regarding claim 2.
The combination of Pattabhiraman and Lin teaches all limitations of claim 1.
Pattabhiraman further discloses said one or more electric elements is a sensor or sensors (Paragraph [0039]; In one embodiment, a pinch sensor can be integrated into a carrier that is attached to the movable portion 310 closest to the tailgate 108.) and/or a light signal or signals.
Regarding claims 3 and 4.
The combination of Pattabhiraman and Lin teaches all limitations of claim 2.
As the limitations of claims 3 and 4 are directed to an alternative limitation of a light signal or signals and the other alternative of a sensor or sensors was chosen for examination and art application for claim 2, the further limitations of the unselected alternative limitation will not be addressed and claims 3 and 4 are rejected with claim 2.
Regarding claim 5.
The combination of Pattabhiraman and Lin teaches all limitations of claim 2.
Pattabhiraman further discloses the sensor or sensors (Paragraph [0039]; In one embodiment, a pinch sensor can be integrated into a carrier that is attached to the movable portion 310 closest to the tailgate 108.) is a push switch (Examiner notes that the “pinch sensor” disclosed is interpreted as a push switch.) or switches.
Regarding claim 6.
The combination of Pattabhiraman and Lin teaches all limitations of claim 5.
Pattabhiraman further discloses the sensor or sensors (Paragraph [0039]; In one embodiment, a pinch sensor can be integrated into a carrier that is attached to the movable portion 310 closest to the tailgate 108.) is configured to operate as an actuator of the rollable curtain 1 and/or as an obstacle detector (Paragraph [0039]; In one embodiment, such technology of the drive system can enable the tonneau cover 110 to have an auto-reversing capability through its entire operating range when an obstacle is detected.).
Regarding claim 7.
The combination of Pattabhiraman and Lin teaches all limitations of claim 1.
Pattabhiraman further discloses the cover assembly further comprises a plurality of solar panels (Paragraph [0040]; the tonneau cover 110 comprises solar electric cells that are electrically connected to a photovoltaic charging system and battery.) arranged on at least part of the plurality of adjacent transverse panels or integrated therein (Paragraph [0040]; When the tonneau cover 110 is deployed to cover the bed 104 and the solar electric cells that make up the slats are facing the sun, the battery within the electric vehicle can be charged by the solar electric cells.).
Regarding claim 8.
The combination of Pattabhiraman and Lin teaches all limitations of claim 1.
Pattabhiraman further discloses the power source is a rechargeable battery (Paragraph [0040]; the battery within the electric vehicle can be charged by the solar electric cells.) or batteries arranged in the rollable curtain 1.
Regarding claim 9.
The combination of Pattabhiraman and Lin teaches all limitations of claim 8.
Pattabhiraman further discloses the rechargeable battery or batteries is charged by means of said solar panels (Paragraph [0040]; the battery within the electric vehicle can be charged by the solar electric cells.).
Regarding claim 10.
The combination of Pattabhiraman and Lin teaches all limitations of claim 1.
Pattabhiraman further discloses the power source is the vehicle's battery (Paragraph [0040]; the battery is the vehicle battery).
Regarding claim 14.
The combination of Pattabhiraman and Lin teaches all limitations of claim 1.
Pattabhiraman further discloses the one or more electric elements (Paragraph [0039]; In one embodiment, a pinch sensor can be integrated into a carrier that is attached to the movable portion 310 closest to the tailgate 108.) are configured to be remotely controlled (Paragraph [0039]; the tonneau cover 110 may be opened or closed using a wireless device, such as a cellular telephone, which can be used to access an application program configured to control the movement of the tonneau cover 110.).
Claim(s) 11-13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Pattabhiraman and Lin as applied to the claims above, and further in view of PG Pub. US 2018/0126833 A1 – Hannan et al., hereinafter Hannan.
Regarding claim 11.
The combination of Pattabhiraman and Lin teaches all limitations of claim 1.
The combination does not disclose
a plurality of cable guiding elements (5) mounted to at least part of the plurality of adjacent transverse panels (2) and configured to receive the cable wires therethrough, such that the cable wires can be supported and guided in a defined manner along at least one longitudinal length of the rollable curtain (1), for providing a wired connection between the electric elements (16, 17, 18, 19), the smart-AI control circuit board (9) and the vehicle battery.
However, Hannan teaches
a plurality of cable guiding elements (84, fig 9) mounted to at least part of the plurality of adjacent transverse panels (30, fig 9) and configured to receive the cable wires (78, fig 9) therethrough, such that the cable wires can be supported and guided in a defined manner along at least one longitudinal length of the rollable curtain (See figs 7 and 9), for (Examiner notes that the following is intended use, and the art applied meets the limitation as claimed.) providing a wired connection between the electric elements, the smart-AI control circuit board and the vehicle battery.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combination of Pattabhiraman and Lin with the cable guiding elements of Hannan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of providing communication channels through the longitudinal length of the panels of the curtain.
Regarding claim 12.
The combination of Pattabhiraman, Lin, and Hannan teaches all limitations of claim 11.
The combination, in Hannan, further teaches the cable guiding elements (84, fig 8) comprise an inner wall (See annotated fig 9), an outer wall (See annotated fig 9), a top wall (See annotated fig 8), a bottom wall (See annotated fig 8), a distal end (See annotated fig 9) and a proximal end (See annotated fig 9) defining a through channel (86, fig 8) over the entire length of the cable guiding elements (See fig 9 for cable wires to be supported and guided as they pass longitudinally through the cable guiding elements (See fig 9).
Regarding claim 13.
The combination of Pattabhiraman, Lin, and Hannan teaches all limitations of claim 11.
The combination, in Hannan an inner wall (See annotated fig 9) comprises a passageway (See annotated fig 9) through which cable wires may be passed out of the through channel (86, fig 8) laterally (See annotated fig 9), with respect to the cable guiding element (84, fig 9), to and/or from the transverse panel to which the guiding element is mounted to.
Regarding claim 15.
The combination of Pattabhiraman, Lin, and Hannan teaches all limitations of claim 13.
Pattabhiraman further discloses the one or more electric elements (Paragraph [0039]; In one embodiment, a pinch sensor can be integrated into a carrier that is attached to the movable portion 310 closest to the tailgate 108.) are remotely controlled by means of a remote-control element or an app installed in a smartphone (Paragraph [0039]; the tonneau cover 110 may be opened or closed using a wireless device, such as a cellular telephone, which can be used to access an application program configured to control the movement of the tonneau cover 110.).
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Pattabhiraman and Lin as applied to the claims above, and further in view of US Pat. 10,005,347 – Singer.
Regarding claim 16.
The combination of Pattabhiraman and Lin teaches all limitations of claim 1.
The combination does not teach said one or more electric elements is a light signal or signals (17, 18, 19).
However, Singer teaches said one or more electric elements is a light signal or signals (17, fig 6).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Pattabhiraman and Lin with the light signal of Singer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of enhancing driving safety by providing increased visual feedback to following vehicles when brakes are activated.
Regarding claim 17.
The combination of Pattabhiraman, Lin, and Singer teaches all limitations of claim 16.
The combination, in Singer, further teaches the light signal or signals (17, fig 6) is an extra brake lamp (Column 9, line 66- column 10, line 4; The cover 16, 116 may have an integrated third brake light 17, 117. The third brake light 17, 117 may be in electrical communication with the electrical system of the truck so that the third brake light 17, 117 is illuminated when brakes of the truck are actuated.) and/or an extra driving beam light and/or an emergency light.
Regarding claim 18.
The combination of Pattabhiraman, Lin, and Singer teaches all limitations of claim 16.
The combination, in Singer, further teaches the light signal or signals (17, fig 6) is a light strip (See fig 6).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the modification of Pattabhiraman based on teachings from Lin would render Pattabhiraman unsatisfactory for its intended purpose. This is not persuasive, as the intended purpose of Pattabhiraman is to provide weather protection to a vehicle bed. Applicant further argues that the combination with Lin would prevent the cover from being stored completely behind or below the rear wall of the truck’s cab. This is not persuasive, as both Pattabhiraman and Lin disclose covers which are stored in a retracted state at least completely behind the rear wall of their respective truck’s cabs. It would further have been within the abilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the system of the cover of Pattabhiraman to accommodate the modification suggested by Lin without significant redesign. Furthermore, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.W.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634