DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/29/2026.
Claim Interpretation
Limitations that are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) are “engaging means” from claim 5.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “transmission means”, “gear means”, and “drive means” in claims 1-3.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Objections
The following claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
At least claim 1 recites “hollow traverse rotatable shaft”, “shaft”, and “transverse rotatable shaft” when refereeing to element 4. Please use consistent terminology.
Claim 1 recites “the outer circumferential surface” on line 21-22 and “the inner surface” on line 23. These should read “an outer circumferential surface”, and “an inner surface” respectively.
Claim 4 recites “the electrical energy”, but should recite “electrical energy”
Claim 6 recites “the movement”, but should recite “movement”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hannan (US 20160236550) in view of Aimaq (US 20200031210), and Feldstein (US 20130126107).
Regarding claim 1, Hannan teaches a roll-up cover assembly for a truck bed including a rollable curtain (26) formed of a plurality of adjacent transverse panels (as shown in figs. 1 and 18) and a housing box (42) adapted to be mounted at the forward end of the truck bed (fig. 1) for receiving and storing said rollable curtain,
said housing box (42) comprising a hollow transverse rotatable shaft (44) mounted therein,
an electric motor assembly (48) adapted to be mounted by a user (the motor assembly is considered adapted to be mounted by a user, as it is mounted in the assembly), coaxially and slidably within the hollow transverse rotatable shaft (44, see fig. 11b), through an opening (on 132) arranged on a side wall of the housing box (42), to rotate said shaft (44);
a smart AI controller circuit board (162, it is noted that the term Smart-AI is intended use language and does not contribute to the structure of the apparatus) adapted to be mounted on the housing box (42) for receiving commanding signals from a remote controller or a smartphone device and driving the electric motor assembly (48) accordingly; and
a wiring harness (it is well understood that motors have at least two wires for power and ground and connectors, paragraph 126) comprising a plurality of connectors and wires, to connect the electric motor assembly to the controller circuit board (162) and to a power system of the vehicle (paragraph 126);
said electric motor assembly (48) comprising a substantially cylindrical outer housing (148), an electric motor (48) arranged within said outer housing and a transmission means (made of the gear means) comprising gear means (144) mounted to a first end section (left end) of said outer housing (148).
Hannan does not explicitly teach that the device is a conversion kit for converting a manually operated roll-up cover assembly for a truck bed to a motorized roll-up cover assembly, nor that the transmission means further comprises drive means mounted on said gear means for driving the transverse rotatable shaft; and wherein the drive means comprise engagement notches spaced about the outer circumferential surface thereof designed to be in driving engagement with depending portions arranged on the inner surface of the transverse rotatable shaft.
Aimaq teaches a conversion kit for converting a manually operated roll-up cover assembly for a truck bed to a motorized roll-up cover assembly (paragraph 42). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hannan so that the device is a conversion kit from a manual cover to a motorized cover. This alteration provides the predictable and expected results of automating the device, reducing effort on the part of a user and increasing convenience.
Feldstein teaches a roller device with a transmission means (shown in fig. 3) that comprises drive means (122) mounted on gear means (104 is considered the gear means) for driving a transverse rotatable shaft (114); and wherein the drive means comprise engagement notches (129) spaced about the outer circumferential surface thereof designed to be in driving engagement with depending portions arranged on the inner surface of the transverse rotatable shaft (as shown in fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hannan with teachings of Feldstein so that the transmission means further comprises drive means mounted on said gear means for driving the transverse rotatable shaft; and wherein the drive means comprise engagement notches spaced about the outer circumferential surface thereof designed to be in driving engagement with depending portions arranged on the inner surface of the transverse rotatable shaft. This alteration provides the predictable and expected results of improving the connection between the components.
Regarding claim 2, modified Hannan includes the teachings of Feldstein and teaches that the drive means (122) are removably mounted on said gear means (104).
Regarding claim 3, modified Hannan includes the teachings of Feldstein and teaches that the drive means (122) comprise an internal shape (308 as shown in fig. 3 of Feldstein) that matches an external shape (124) of the gear means (104, see fig. 3), said shapes comprising tapered shapes or U-shapes (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, although modified Hanna does not explicitly teach that the electric motor assembly comprises a DC electric motor for converting the electrical energy of the vehicle into mechanical energy, Aimaq further teaches an electric motor that is direct current (per paragraph 45). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Hannan so that the electric motor assembly comprises a DC electric motor for converting the electrical energy of the vehicle into mechanical energy. This alteration provides the predictable and expected results of simplifying the device and allowing it to run off the vehicle battery.
Regarding claims 6-7, modified Hannan does not explicitly teach that the kit further comprises a remote-control element for remotely controlling the movement of the rollable curtain or any other electrical elements arranged on the rollable curtain, wherein the remote-control element includes a plurality of buttons allowing multiple inputs from the user.
Aimaq further teaches a remote-control element for remotely controlling the movement of the rollable curtain or any other electrical elements arranged on the rollable curtain (paragraphs 39-40), wherein the remote-control element includes a plurality of buttons allowing multiple inputs from the user (open and close are different buttons per paragraph 40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Hannan with teachings of Aimaq so that the kit further comprises a remote-control element for remotely controlling the movement of the rollable curtain or any other electrical elements arranged on the rollable curtain, wherein the remote-control element includes a plurality of buttons allowing multiple inputs from the user. This alteration provides the predictable and expected results of making the device easier to use.
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hannan (US 20160236550) in view of Aimaq (US 20200031210), and Feldstein (US 20130126107) as applied above, and further in view of Brondex (US 20160376842).
Regarding claim 5, modified Hannan does not explicitly teach that a second end section of said outer housing comprises engaging means for engaging a side wall of said housing box.
Brondex teaches a roller unit with a second end section (left end in fig. 4) of an outer housing comprises engaging means for engaging a side wall of a housing box (described in paragraphs 103-106).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Hannan so that a second end section of said outer housing comprises engaging means for engaging a side wall of said housing box. This alteration provides the predictable and expected results of further securing the device.
Conclusion
/M.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634