DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1,3,4, 5, and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JPH1199536 (machine English translation provided herewith).
1. A molding die (JPH1199536: fig 3), comprising one die (JPH1199536: fig 3; male mold 25) and an other die (JPH1199536: fig 3; female mold 12) arranged opposing the one die, the other die having a cavity (JPH1199536: fig 3; cavity C) where a release film (JPH1199536: fig 3; sheet S) is arranged, wherein
the other die comprises a main surface member forming a main surface of the cavity and a side surface member forming a side surface of the cavity (JPH1199536: fig 3; cavity C has a main bottom surface and a side surface);
on an opposing surface of the side surface member that opposes the one die, a release film adsorption hole (JPH1199536: fig 3; groove 16 constitutes the film adsorption hole) that adsorbs the release film is formed comprising a plurality of first suction holes (JPH1199536: fig 2; portions of groove 16 that are perpendicular to the side surface of the cavity constitute the first suction hole) and a second suction hole connecting adjacent ones of the first suction holes (JPH1199536: fig 3; portions of groove 16 that are parallel to the side surface of the cavity constitute the second suction hole);
on the opposing surface, the first suction hole is larger than the second suction hole in terms of a length in a direction perpendicular to a direction in which the second suction hole extends to connect adjacent ones of the first suction holes (JPH1199536: fig 3; the portion of groove 16 that is perpendicular to the side surface of the cavity has a larger length in a direction perpendicular to a direction in which the second suction hole extends to connect adjacent ones of the first suction holes),
the first suction hole is formed to protrude to at least one of a side closer to the cavity and a side opposite to the cavity with respect to the second suction hole (JPH1199536: figs 2 and 4; the portion of groove 16 that is perpendicular to the side surface of the cavity has a portion that is closer to the cavity and an opposing portion that is farther or opposite to the cavity),
; and
the first suction hole and the second suction hole are through holes that each open at the opposing surface and extend in an up-down direction from the opposing surface to a suction channel formed inside the side surface member (JPH1199536: figs 3 and 5; groove 16, which constitutes the claimed release film adsorption hole, constitutes a through-hole since both ends of the groove, top and bottom, are open with the bottom end opening to vacuum suction hole 17).
3. The molding die according to claim 1 [[ or 2]], wherein the release film adsorption hole is formed to be continuously connected and surround a periphery of the cavity (JPH1199536: fig 3).
4. The molding die according to claim 3, wherein
the side surface member comprises:
an inner member constituting a portion closer to the cavity side than the release film adsorption hole (JPH1199536: fig 3; the portion comprising groove 43/46 constitute the inner member); and
an outer member composed of a different member from the inner member, and constituting a portion closer to a side opposite to the cavity than the release film adsorption hole (JPH1199536: fig 3; the portion comprising groove 16 constitutes the outer member).
5. The molding die according to claim 4, wherein the first suction hole is formed in the outer member (JPH1199536: fig 3).
11. The molding die according to claim 1, wherein adjacent ones of the first suction holes are arranged to be spaced apart by a distance of 0.05 mm or more (JPH1199536: fig 4 clearly shows the distance between the first suction holes being more than 0.05mm).
12. The molding die according to claim 1, wherein the first suction holes and the second suction hole are formed to be connected in an alternate manner in plan view (JPH1199536: figs 2 and 4 clearly show the first and second suction holes being arranged in an alternating manner).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JPH1199536 (machine English translation provided herewith) as applied to claim 1 above. The above teachings of JPH1199536 are incorporated hereinafter.
7. A resin molding apparatus, comprising the molding die according to claim 1 (JPH1199536: figs 1-3).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JPH1199536 (machine English translation provided herewith) as applied to claim 1 above. The above teachings of JPH1199536 are incorporated hereinafter.
8. A method for producing a resin molded product using the resin molding apparatus according to claim 7, comprising:
arranging the release film on the other die (JPH1199536: fig 3; sheet S is placed on the female mold); and
performing resin molding using the other die on which the release film is arranged (JPH1199536: fig 3; resin is injected into the mold onto sheet S).
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPH1199536 as applied to claim 1 above. The above teachings of JPH1199536 are incorporated hereinafter.
Regarding claim 9, JPH1199536 does not teach the claimed width of the second suction hole. The width of a vacuum channel is well-known in the vacuum molding art as an important molding parameter and the desired width would have been obviously and readily determined through routine experimentation by one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention. Since the claimed width is
generally well-known in the molding art and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to design the second suction hole of JPH1199536 to have the claimed width in order to ensure sufficient suctioning of the film.
Regarding claim 10, JPH1199536 does not teach the area of the first suction hole. The area of a vacuum channel is well-known in the vacuum molding art as an important molding parameter and the desired area would have been obviously and readily determined through routine experimentation by one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention. Since the claimed area is
generally well-known in the molding art and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to design the first suction hole of JPH1199536 to have the claimed area in order to ensure sufficient suctioning of the film.
Claims 6 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art of record including the closest prior art JPH1199536neither teaches nor renders obvious every claimed limitation including the molding die, on the opposing surface of the side surface member, on the cavity side of the release film adsorption hole, a concave part and a third suction hole capable of suctioning air inside the concave part are formed.
Applicant's arguments filed 7/30/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues JPH1199536 does not teach first and second suction holes being a through hole that extend from the opposing surface to a suction channel inside the side surface member. This argument is misplaced since groove 16 of JPH1199536, which constitutes the claimed release film adsorption hole, constitutes a through-hole since both ends of the groove, top and bottom, are open with the bottom end opening to vacuum suction hole 17.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. JP2009272398 teaches a mold having vacuum holes.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
EHL
/EDMUND H LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744