Amendments
Receipt is acknowledged of an amendment to claims, filed on 01/16/2025, which has been placed of record and entered in the file.
Status of the claims:
Claims 1-14.
Information Disclosure Statement
Receipt is acknowledged of an Information Disclosure Statement, filed 01/16/2025, which has been placed of record in the file. An initialed, signed and dated copy of the PTO-1449 or PTO-SB-08 form is attached to this Office action.
Claim Interpretation – 35 USC §112f
The following elements are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph:
For convenience, reference to the PG Publication US 20240253320 A1 will be made for support for the following claimed elements interpreted under 35 USC 112(f).
Movement means– Claim 1. The structure of this element is insufficiently described in the specification, and there is no recited structure for performing the claimed function;
If the applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre -AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre –AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “Helical development” as claimed in claim 14 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The claim limitation “Movement means” as set forth in claim 133, invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function, and the corresponding structure for the various means plus function limitation cannot be ascertained. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites in part “characterised in that it comprises a second cutting tool” in line 15, renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what “it” is referring to. Is it referring to the beam, first roller unit or combination of both. Clarification is required. For examination purposes, the “it” is interpreted as either the beam or the roller unit.
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites in part “another roller unit” in line 2, renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what “another roller unit” is referring to. Is it referring to the same other roller unit introduced in claim 1 or an entirely different one. Clarification is required. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as other roller unit introduced in claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, the claim recites in part “a method for varying the length of the sheet articles of the interfolded packs of sheet articles produced by an interfolding machine in a system according to claim 7” (emphasis added) which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether claim 8 positively depends from claim 7 and incorporates its limitation or claim 8 is independent from claim 7. Additionally, it is improper to combine two different statutory classes in a single claim.
Regarding claim 10, the claim recites in part “wherein: in the step of fixing the beam to the frame in the second position the beam is rotated about the axis up to orientating the second cutting tool with respect to the axis and as in the relative second position” (emphasis added). However, considering the claims as a whole, and in light of the specification and drawings, the boundaries of the protected subject matter are not clearly delineated and the scope of the claimed subject matter is unclear. For instance, it is unclear as to what is meant by the beam is rotated about the axis up to orientationg the second cutting tool with respect to the axis and as in the relative second position. Given the aforementioned ambiguity, the claims are rendered indefinite. Clarification is required.
Regarding claim 14, the claim recites in part “wherein the first support part and the second support part both have a helical development and wherein the first cutting tool and the second cutting tool comprise blades, or counter-blades” (emphasis added). However, considering the claims as a whole, and in light of the specification and drawings, the boundaries of the protected subject matter are not clearly delineated and the scope of the claimed subject matter is unclear. For instance, it is unclear as to what is meant by helical development, and if the blades are the same blade and counterblade as introduced in claim 13 or a different blade. Given the aforementioned ambiguity, the claims are rendered indefinite. Clarification is required.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors. Revision and correction is required. The above rejections are some of the more pertinent examples.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-8 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE MATTEIS (US 20070203007 A1; Hereinafter referred to as Matteis).
Regarding claim 1, Matteis discloses an interfolding machine (100) for production of interfolded packs of sheet articles (1) from strips (2; [0001],[0014]) comprising:
a first roller unit (16, 17) which comprises a cutting tool (17) and a first roller (16), for guiding a strip (2), which bears the cutting tool (17);
a frame (21, 21a, 21b) which comprises a seat (Fig. 3; [0037] “an opening or a recess with complementary shape for introducing the or each removable portion”) which houses the first roller unit (16, 17);
movement means (gearings, bearings; Abstract and [0059]) which move the first roller (16) in rotation with respect to the frame (21) about a rotation axis (Rotational axis of 16; Fig. 3); a first cutting tool (3); a beam (25, 30, 35 and/or 36) which bears the first cutting tool (3) and which is fixed to the frame (21) in a first position in which the first cutting tool (3) has a relative first position with respect to the rotation axis (Rotational axis of 16; Fig. 3) so as to cut or score the strip with the cutting tool (17) of the first roller unit (16, 17; Matteis teaches that the cutter (17) with blade (3) is mounted on the removable modular portion (30), which includes plates (31a, 31b) interconnected by transversal beams (35) ([0056], Figs. 2, 3, 8). When the modular portion (30) is fully inserted into the frame recess and seated on guides (36), the blade (3) is positioned at a precise relative distance and orientation with respect to the axis of cutting roller (16) to effect cutting cooperation ([0057], Figs. 2, 6). The transversal beams (35) of the portion function as a support structure analogous to a beam bearing the cutting tool in a first (operating/inserted) position relative to the roller axis);
wherein the first roller unit (16, 17 unit of 30) is interchangeable with another roller unit (16’, 17’ unit of 30’) so as to vary the distance between the cuts or scores on the strip and therefore the length of the sheet articles (Abstract, [0001], and [0009]-[0012], [0060]-[0065]; Matteis teaches that the removable modular portion (30) can be replaced with an equivalent portion (30′) having rollers (16′, 5′) of different diameter corresponding to a different desired length of the interfolded sheets ([0060], [0010]). The length of the sheets is responsive to the circumference of the cutting roller ([0009], [0010]). Multiple removable portions with different-diameter rollers are provided and can be selectively mounted ([0034], [0064])).
characterised in that it comprises a second cutting tool (cutting tool of 30’) and in that the beam (25, 30, 35 and/or 36) brings the second cutting tool (cutting tool of 30’) into a different position with respect to the first cutting tool (cutting to of 30; since the rollers have different dimension) and is fixable to the frame (21) in a second position (Fig. 6) in which the second cutting tool (cutting tool of 30’) has a relative second position with respect to the rotation axis (Fig. 6), different to the relative first position (Fig. 3), so as to cut or score the strip with the cutting tool of the other roller unit (Fig. 6).
Matteis further discloses:
Regarding claim 6, wherein the beam (25, 30, 35 and/or 36) is translatable with respect to the frame (21) in moving towards or away from the rotation axis (Fig. 3) between a working position (Fig. 2) in which the first cutting tool (3) cooperates with the cutting tool (17) and a rest position (Fig. 3) in which the first cutting tool (3) is by a side of the first roller (16) so as to enable the change with the other roller unit (roller unit of 30’).
Regarding claim 7, A system comprising an interfolding machine (100) according to claim 1, and another roller unit (roller unit of 30’) which comprises a dedicated cutting tool (cutting tool of 30’) and another roller (roller of 30’), for guiding a strip (1), which bears a dedicated cutting tool (17’),
wherein the first roller (roller of 30) is configured to rotate about a first axis (Fig. 2) and brings the dedicated cutting tool (17 of 30) to a first distance from the first axis (Axis of 17) and wherein the other roller (roller of 30’) is configured to rotate about a second axis (Axis of 30) and brings the dedicated cutting tool (17’) to a second distance from the second axis (Axis of 17’), different to the first distance (Different removable portions, different distances).
Regarding claim 8, a method for varying the length of the sheet articles of the interfolded packs of sheet articles produced by an interfolding machine (100) in a system according to claim 7 (See claim 7 rejection above) comprising steps of: providing a system according to claim 7 (See claim 7 rejection above); removing the beam (30, 35) from the first position (Fig.3); removing the first roller unit (Fig. 3) from the seat (Fig. 3; [0037] “an opening or a recess with complementary shape for introducing the or each removable portion”); positioning the other roller unit (Fig. 6) in the seat (Fig. 3; [0037] “an opening or a recess with complementary shape for introducing the or each removable portion”); fixing the beam (Fig. 7) to the frame (21) in the second position (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 13, wherein: the first cutting tool (Cutting tool of 30) and the second cutting tool (Cutting tool of 30’) both comprise a blade (3), or counter- blade; the beam (see at least 35, 36) comprises a first support part which houses the blade of the first cutting tool (Cutting tool of 30) and a second support part which houses the blade of the second cutting tool (Cutting tool of 30’); the first support part and the second support part are configured so as to adapt the blades to the cutting tool respectively of the first roller unit (Roller unit of of 30) or the other roller unit (Roller unit of 30’).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE MATTEIS (US 20070203007 A1; Hereinafter referred to as Matteis) in view of Montagnani (US 20210252728 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Matteis discloses the interfolding machine (100) wherein the first support part (part of 35/36 attached to 31b) and the second support part (part of 35/36 attached to 31a) wherein the first cutting tool (cutting tool of 30) and the second cutting tool (cutting tool of 30’) comprise blades (3) (Fig. 1);
However, Matteis is silent with regards to first and second support part having helical development and blades fixed resting on the respective support part.
Montagnani a beam structure having first (21B) and second support part (21C) having helical development ([0060]-[0067]) and blades (19) fixed resting on the respective support part (Fig. 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the machine of Matteis by incorporating the beam structure as taught by Montagnani in order to make the operation of the perforating device more uniform and to reduce the stresses on the web material ([0062]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, and 9-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Notice of References Cited. Those references not relied upon are directed mainly toward the general field of Interfolding machines.
/NICHOLAS E IGBOKWE/Examiner, Art Unit 3731
/ANDREW M TECCO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731